Skip to content
Child care center 

Spring-Mar Cooperative Preschool

10125 Lakehaven Court, Burke, VA 220155.0· 25 reviews
licensed capacity
40
open each week
5 days
monthly, posted tuition
$318

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Licensed by the stateInspection record

About

About Spring-Mar Cooperative Preschool

Spring-Mar Cooperative Preschool is a licensed child care center in Burke, Virginia. It is licensed by the state, for up to 40 children, serving toddlers and preschoolers.

It is open Monday to Friday, 9:15 AM to 1:15 PM. It describes a Play-based approach, with part-time care and preschool. It lists monthly tuition from $318 to $506.

Virginia Department of Education, Office of Child Care Health and Safety made 5 visits in the last 3 years and cited 6 rules across 3 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

Posts tuition

Ages served: toddlers and preschoolers

From the state license. Ages it lists: 2 through 5 years old
Ask when you call: current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Toddlers and preschoolers
Hours today
9:15 AM to 1:15 PM
Licensed capacity
40 children

Hours

Hours

MondayToday9:15 AM to 1:15 PM
Tuesday9:15 AM to 1:15 PM
Wednesday9:15 AM to 1:15 PM
Thursday9:15 AM to 1:15 PM
Friday9:15 AM to 1:15 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayNot listed
From the state licenseHours it lists: “classes 9:15 am - 12:15 pm (Inventors B until 1:15 pm)”

Programs

Programs and care

AgesToddlers and preschoolersFrom the state license. It lists: 2 through 5 years old
ProgramsPart-time care and preschool
ApproachPlay-based
Class sizeExplorers (2-year-olds): Class Size 6-8
SafetyOutdoor playground
Discounts$10 off registration fee for AUUC members; 5% tuition reduction for AUUC members
MoreFounded 1963
Licensed capacity40 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

Spring-Mar Cooperative Preschool lists monthly tuition from $318 to $506.

Monthly · program, in its own wordsPrice
Explorers (2-year-olds) Wednesday/Friday, 2026-2027 monthly tuition$318
Inventors (Pre-K) 3-day or 4-day, 2026-2027 monthly tuition$506
Navigators (3 and 4-year-olds) Monday/Wednesday/Friday, 2026-2027 monthly tuition$427
registration fee for each additional child$85
Registration Fee for first child - returning members$95
Registration Fee for first child - new members and Playschool members$145
3 posted prices. Rates change, so confirm before you enroll.

State record

Inspection reports for Spring-Mar Cooperative Preschool

License

Status
Licensed and operating
License type
License (Two Year)
Capacity
40 children
Ages
Toddlers and preschoolers
License number
#1040034
See the state's record

Summary

5 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Mar 25, 2026: no rules cited

Rules cited on 3 of 5 visits · 6 rules in all

  • Health, medication and illness 2
  • Building, equipment and play areas 1
  • Records and paperwork 1
  • Safety and hazards 1
  • Staff training and qualifications 1

For comparison: 91% of Virginia daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 8.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 10 visits
  1. Mar 25, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Sep 16, 2025Inspection2 rules cited
    • Building, equipment and play areas

      8VAC20-780-270-A

      “Areas and equipment of the center, inside and outside, shall be maintained in a safe condition. The toilet lid located in the red classroom had a crack with a sharp edge.”
    • Records and paperwork

      8VAC20-780-60-A

      “Each center shall maintain and keep at the center a separate record for each child enrolled which shall contain parents work addresses. Child #2's record contained only one work address for a parent. Child # 3 and # 4's record did not contain work addresses for parents.”
  3. Apr 21, 2025Inspection2 rules cited
    • Health, medication and illness

      8VAC20-780-510-G

      “Medication shall be labeled with the child's name. A medication for Child #6 was not labeled with the child's name.”
    • Safety and hazards

      8VAC20-780-40-J

      “Injury prevention procedures shall be updated at least annually based on documentation of injuries and a review of the activities and services. The injury prevention procedures were not updated for over 12 months.”
  4. Nov 14, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  5. Mar 6, 2024Inspection2 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualifications

      8VAC20-780-245-J-3

      “Based on review of medication, one child who has an emergency medication is not in the care of a staff member who meets the requirements of medication administration. Evidence: An Auvi Q epinephrine is onsite for one child. No staff have completed the additional Auvi Q training requirement.”
    • Health, medication and illness

      8VAC20-780-40-M

      “Based on observation of the center, a written list of children's allergies was not kept confidential. Evidence: The allergy list located in the yellow classroom was hanging on a wall in the room and was visible.”
  6. Oct 17, 2023Inspection3 rules cited
    • Background checks

      22.1-289.035-B-4

      “Based on staff record review, background checks for one staff were not obtained prior to volunteering. Evidence: Volunteer #1 has lived outside of the state of Virginia in the past 5 years. An out of state Central Registry search and an out of state criminal background search has not been obtained.”
    • Health, medication and illness

      8VAC20-780-510-E

      “Based on review of medications, the center failed to follow their own medication policy. Evidence: The medication authorization for a long term prescribed medication for Child #1 was not signed by a physician.”
    • Records and paperwork

      8VAC20-780-70

      “Based on staff record review, one staff record was incomplete. Evidence: Staff #2 is in a lead teacher capacity. Documentation to demonstrate that the individual possesses the education, certification for the position was not maintained.”
  7. Apr 11, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  8. Nov 9, 2022Inspection1 rule cited
    • Discipline and child guidance

      8VAC20-780-80-B

      “Based on review of the center's injury reports, an injury to a child that occurred while a child was under the supervision of the center and required outside medical attention was not reported. Evidence: On 10/19/22, a documented injury occurred on the playground which required one child to be seen in the ER. This injury was not reported to the Department.”
  9. May 12, 2022Inspection1 rule cited
    • Building, equipment and play areas

      8VAC20-780-330-B

      “Based on observation of the larger newly installed playground, the resilient surfacing has hazardous obstacles within a fall zone. Evidence: The fall zone located at the base of the climbing structure has a fabricated tree stump structure and a fabricated boulder rock obstructing the resilient surface creating a hazard.”
  10. Nov 10, 2021InspectionNo rules cited

Copied from Virginia Department of Education, Office of Child Care Health and Safety on October 2, 2026; the state's records start around Oct 2012. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Spring-Mar Cooperative Preschool

FAQ

Questions about Spring-Mar Cooperative Preschool

Is Spring-Mar Cooperative Preschool licensed?

Yes. Virginia Department of Education, Office of Child Care Health and Safety lists it as licensed and operating.

When was Spring-Mar Cooperative Preschool last inspected?

Virginia Department of Education, Office of Child Care Health and Safety lists the most recent visit on March 25, 2026, with no rules cited. It lists 5 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Spring-Mar Cooperative Preschool had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 6 rules across 3 of 5 visits in the last 3 years. For comparison: 91% of Virginia daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 8. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Spring-Mar Cooperative Preschool care for?

40, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve toddlers and preschoolers.

Does Spring-Mar Cooperative Preschool accept child care subsidies?

The state record does not list it as accepting subsidies. Ask the provider directly.

What are Spring-Mar Cooperative Preschool's hours?

Monday to Friday, 9:15 AM to 1:15 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Spring-Mar Cooperative Preschool cost?

Monthly tuition from $318 to $506, as it lists it.

What is Spring-Mar Cooperative Preschool's phone number?

(703) 239-1213.

Where is Spring-Mar Cooperative Preschool?

10125 Lakehaven Court, Burke, VA 22015. The nearest other daycare we list is Fairfax Baptist Temple, 0.3 miles away.

Sources: Virginia Department of Education, Office of Child Care Health and Safety (license and visits).