Skip to content
Child care center 

Smithfield Learning Center

25 Main St Ste 6, Smithfield, PA 154784.3· 3 reviews
licensed capacity
47
open each week
5 days

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Certified by the stateInspection record

About

About Smithfield Learning Center

Smithfield Learning Center is a child care center in Smithfield, Pennsylvania. It is certified by the state, for up to 47 children, serving school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 6:00 AM to 6:00 PM.

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning made 4 visits in the last 3 years and cited 39 rules across 4 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

School-ageAccepts child care subsidyOpens before 7 AM

Ages served: school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
School-age children
Hours today
6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Licensed capacity
47 children

Hours

Hours

MondayToday6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Tuesday6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Wednesday6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Thursday6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Friday6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

AgesSchool-age childrenFrom the state license
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Licensed capacity47 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

Smithfield Learning Center has not listed its tuition.

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition.

State record

Inspection reports for Smithfield Learning Center

License

Status
Certified by the state and operating
License type
Certificate of Compliance
Capacity
47 children
Ages
School-age children
License number
#CER-00251502
See the state's record

Summary

4 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Nov 21, 2025: 13 rules cited

Rules cited on 4 of 4 visits · 39 rules in all · 37 corrected

  • Safety and hazards 11
  • Staff training and qualifications 9
  • Building, equipment and play areas 9
  • Records and paperwork 4
  • Health, medication and illness 3
  • Discipline and child guidance 2
  • Supervision and ratios 1

For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 6 visits
  1. Nov 21, 2025Inspection13 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.32(a)/3270.192(2)(iii) Comply with CPSL/Exp, educ., training at facility

      “Staff #1 and #2 did not renew mandated reporter training within 60 months. The training certificates were dated 5/18/20 and 9/26/25 for staff #1 and 5/16/20 and 10/26/25 for staff #2. Current mandated reporter training is now on file for both staff.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 21, 2025

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.34(a)(6) Staff evaluations

      “The files for staff #3 and #4 contained consecutive staff evaluations dated more than 12 months apart. The evaluations were dated 12/05/23 and 8/25/25 for both staff. Current evaluations are now on file.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 21, 2025

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.66(d) Toxic plants not permitted

      “An Oxalis/shamrock plant was observed on an accessible windowsill in the front hall near one of two entrances to the facility, Oxalis is considered toxic.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 21, 2025

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.76 Building Surfaces

      “Stained ceiling tiles were observed in the following areas; 1 in the infant/toddler room near the windows and 1 in the toddler restroom above a sink. A protruding trim nail was observed on the inside frame of the door to the preschool restroom. A loop of wire was observed at the base of the fence in the preschool playground. The loop is located on the portion of fencing that faces the parking lot.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 1, 2026

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.82(g)/3270.102(a) Clean and good repair/Clean and good repair

      “Bolts on the bases of 3 toilets were exposed. The bolts were over 2 inches long and protruding up from the bases of the toilets.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 1, 2026

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.102(a) Clean and good repair

      “A broken yellow plastic basket was observed on a low shelf in the crib area of the infant/toddler room. A broken plastic bin containing Barbie dolls and accessories was observed in the preschool room.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 21, 2025

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.103 Small Toys and Objects

      “Plastic spiders, measuring less than 1 inch in diameter, were observed in the sensory activity bins in the infant/toddler room.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 21, 2025

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.104(a) Clean, good repair, proper size

      “A flat screen television sitting on a cabinet in the preschool room was not anchored creating a tipping hazard.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 21, 2025

    • Discipline and child guidance

      3270.123(a)(3) Services proceeded

      “The files for children #1-4 lacked documentation of sharing a child service report with parents in over 6 months.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 1, 2026

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.131(b)(2)/3270.182(1) Toddler/preschool: updated health report every 12 months/Initial and subsequent health reports

      “The file for child #3 does not contain a current health report. The most recent health report is dated 10/17/24. The files for children #2 and #4 contain consecutive health reports dated more than 12 months apart, but are now current.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 1, 2026

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.135(a)(3) Disposable diapers

      “During a diaper change, staff #4 was observed placing the soiled diaper directly on the changing surface after removing it from the child. Staff #4 then placed soiled wipes on the diaper before throwing the diaper and wipes in the trash.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 21, 2025

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.66(a) Locked or inaccessible

      “Wet Ones brand antibacterial wipes, labeled keep out of reach of children, were accessible to children in the preschool room on the teacher's desk.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 21, 2025

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(e)(1)(iv)/3270.192(2)(iii) Age and Training/Exp, educ., training at facility

      “The files for staff #3 and #4 lacked documentation of completing 12 annual hours of training. The file for staff #1 contained 5.5 of 12 hours of training completed from 12/19/23 to 12/19/24, 6.5 additional hours are required.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 1, 2026

  2. Nov 6, 2024Inspection15 rules cited
    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.21 General Health and Safety

      “A pair of adult scissors were accessible to children in a cup on the teacher's desk in the PS room.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 3, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.27(a)(3)/3270.27(a)(4) Contact when arises/Contact when ended

      “Based on statements made by the operator, communication with parents during and after an emergency would be conducted through a social networking app and by cell phone, The emergency plan presented for review did not include these details,”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 13, 2025

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.27(b) Plan reviewed/updated annually

      “Based on documentation at the facility, the emergency plan has not been reviewed in over 12 months. The most recent documentation of an annual review was dated 1/26/23.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 13, 2025

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.27(c)/3270.192(2)(iii) Training regarding plan/Exp, educ., training at facility

      “The files for staff #1-5 lacked documentation of emergency plan training completed in the last 12 months. The most recent training on file was dated 1/26/23. The file for staff #6, hired over 90 days ago, did not contain documentation of emergency plan training.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 13, 2025

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.27(e) Letter to parents

      “The facility's letter to parents explaining the emergency procedures did not include the accommodations made for infants and toddlers. The letter also lacked details regarding communication with parents during and after the emergency via social networking app and cell phones.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 13, 2025

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(e)(4)(ii)/3270.192(2)(iii) Fire safety - 1 yr./Exp, educ., training at facility

      “The files for staff #1-5 did not contain documentation of fire safety training completed in 2023. Current training dated 1/27/24 is on file for all 5 staff.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 6, 2024

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.34(a)(6) Staff evaluations

      “The file for staff #2 contained evaluations dated more than 12 months apart; 10/29/22 and 11/17/23. The most recent evaluation on file is current.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 6, 2024

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.76 Building Surfaces

      “Four stained ceiling tiles were observed in the PS room and hallway area where children eat meals. Two were observed in the infant/toddler room.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 4, 2024

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.103 Small Toys and Objects

      “A metal bolt, approximately 2 inches long was observed in the paint tray of an easel in the infant/toddler room. Multiple small pieces of torn gray foam were observed in the outdoor toddler play space.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 6, 2024

    • Discipline and child guidance

      3270.123(a)(3) Services proceeded

      “The file for child #1, enrolled for over 6 months, did not contain documentation of a child service report completed by staff and shared with the parents.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 13, 2025

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(6)/3270.182(2) Admission date/Application, admission, withdrawal dates

      “The agreement for child #1 did not specify the child's date of admission.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 6, 2024

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(c) Each child care space

      “The emergency contact form for child #2 was not present in the infant/toddler room where the child was observed in care.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 6, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.27(a)(5) Emergency plan

      “The emergency plan presented for review did not include details regarding accommodations for infants and toddlers.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 4, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.27(a)(6) Emergency plan

      “The facility lacked documentation of emergency drills conducted in 2023 or 2024.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 13, 2025

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.65 Protective Outlet Covers 5 yrs. or less

      “An electrical outlet in the infant/toddler room, accessible to children 5 years of age or younger, lacked a protective cover.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 6, 2024

  3. Jul 26, 2024Inspection2 rules cited
    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.102(a) Clean and good repair

      “Two broken sand shovels were observed in the sand box in the outdoor play space. The plastic was cracked creating pinch points.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jul 26, 2024

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.104(a) Clean, good repair, proper size

      “A broken area of wood was observed on the seat of an adult rocking chair in the infant/toddler room.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jul 26, 2024

  4. Nov 29, 2023Inspection9 rules cited
    • Safety and hazards

      3270.75(b) Inaccessible to children

      “The first aid kit located in the preschool room was located on the outside cart which was accessible to the children in care.”
    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.14/3270.21 Pertinent Laws & Regulations/General Health and Safety

      “Staff #2 lacked documentation of completion of the Pennsylvania Health and Safety Update 2022 by December 30, 2022, as per Announcement C-22-06. Staff file did contain documentation Get Started with Center-Based Care-Revised 2022 on 11/22/2023.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 21, 2023

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.95(a)/3270.95(b) Devices must be compliant/Director or designated staff person ensure compliance

      “The facility's documentation showed testing of the fire detection system completed on 8/15/23 and 9/20/23 which was not conducted within the 30 days as required by section 1016(c) of the act (62 P.S. § 1016(c)).”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 29, 2023

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.27(a)(6) Emergency plan

      “The facility lacked documentation of conducting an emergency drill annually since 6/9/22.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 10, 2024

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(e) Age and Training

      “Staff file #1 contained documentation of 6 hours of childcare training completed during 12/19/21-12/19/22 not the required 12 hours of childcare training.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 19, 2023

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.27(d) Plan posted

      “The facility lacked the emergency plan posted in a conspicuous location.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 10, 2024

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.75(c) Has all items

      “The infant toddler room lacked tweezers in first aid kit.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 29, 2023

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.166(1) Written statement

      “Child #1 lacked a written feeding schedule obtained from the parent with the formula and feeding schedule for the infant while in care.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 10, 2024

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.34(a)(6) Staff evaluations

      “Staff files #2, #3, #4, and #5 lacked documentation of staff evaluations completed by the director every 12 months as required.”
  5. Nov 28, 2022Inspection12 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.14/3270.21 Pertinent Laws & Regulations/General Health and Safety

      “The facility lacked a policy on the Prevention of Shaken Baby Syndrome, Abusive Head Trauma, and Child Maltreatment Requirements that includes but is not limited to recognition of potential signs and symptoms of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma; strategies for coping with a crying, fussing or distraught child; and how to address the prevention and identification of child maltreatment.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 3, 2023

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.27(c) Training regarding plan

      “Staff files #1 and #3 lacked documentation of emergency plan training annually or when the emergency plan was updated.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 10, 2023

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(f) Health and Safety Training

      “Staff file #2 contained certificate for completion of the health and safety professional development dated 11/8/22 which was more than 90 days after hire. (See LIS CODE SHEET) Staff file #3 lacked documentation of completion of the health and safety professional development within 90 days of hire. (See LIS CODE SHEET)”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 20, 2023

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.34(a)(6) Staff evaluations

      “Staff file #3 contained copies of staff evaluations dated 3/16/20 and 12/6/21 which exceeded the 12 months as required.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 30, 2022

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.131(e)(1) Exemption documentation from parent/guardian

      “Child files #1 and #2 lacked documentation of the influenza vaccination administered yearly in accordance with the schedule recommended by the ACIP.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 3, 2023

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.27(a)(5) Emergency plan

      “The facility lacked a procedure for accommodations for infants, toddlers, children with disabilities, and children with chronic medical conditions during an emergency in the emergency plan.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 10, 2023

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(f)(10) Health and Safety Training - Pediatric First Aid and CPR

      “Staff file #2 contained documentation of completion of pediatric first aid and pediatric cardiopulmonary resuscitation dated 8/31/22 which was not completed within 90 days of hire. (See LIS CODE SHEET)”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 30, 2022

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.27(a)(1) Emergency plan

      “The facility lacked an emergency plan that included accommodations for shelter during lockdown in the plan.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 10, 2023

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.27(f) Emergency plan

      “The facility lacked documentation of the emergency plan being sent to the local municipality and county emergency management agency when updated.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 10, 2023

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(e) Age and Training

      “Staff file #3 lacked documentation of completion of 12 hours of child care training completed between 12/19/20 and 12/19/21 in the file.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 30, 2022

    • Transportation

      3270.171(a) Pick-up and drop-off points

      “The facility lacked documentation of the annual letter sent to the local traffic safety authorities to notify them of the routes utilized around the facility.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 10, 2023

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a)/3270.192(4) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information

      “Staff file #2 lacked criminal history record and child abuse registry clearance information from the state of West Virginia where staff person resided within the last 5 years. (See LIS CODE SHEET)”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 30, 2022

  6. Nov 8, 2021Inspection10 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.32(a)/3270.192(2)(iii) Comply with CPSL/Exp, educ., training at facility

      “The file for Staff #2 contained Mandated Reporter Training that was not completed within 90 days of hire.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 29, 2021

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(e)(4)(i)/3270.31(h) Age and Training/Health and Safety Training

      “The file for Staff #3 lacked competence in the completion of training by a professional in the field of Pediatric first-aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) before the requirement of compliance on 6/17/21. The First Aid and CPR obtained on 10/26/21 did not specify it was in the field of Pediatric First Aid and CPR.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 15, 2022

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(f) Health and Safety Training

      “The file for Staff #3, an existing staff member, lacked documentation of health and safety training numbers 1 - 9, as listed in the regulation 3270.31(f). Training was required within 180 days following the implementation of the current regulations.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 10, 2021

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a)/3270.192(4) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information

      “The file for Staff #1 contained a State Police clearance that was not obtained within 60 months of the previous clearance (7/13/15 and 7/15/20). The file for Staff #3 lacked a timely National Sex Offender Registry (NSOR) certificate required under the CPSL. The staff file contained NSOR certificates dated 8/23/21, after the required date of compliance.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 29, 2021

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.65 Protective Outlet Covers 5 yrs. or less

      “In the Preschool Room under the window there was an electrical outlet that lacked protective receptacle covers. The outlet was accessible to children 5 years of age and younger.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 15, 2021

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.34(a)(6) Staff evaluations

      “The file for Staff #3 did not contain an evaluation completed within the previous 12 months.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 10, 2021

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.151(a)/3270.192(3) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter/Health assessment, TB test

      “The file for Staff #2 did not contain a Health Assessment at the time of hire.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 15, 2021

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.76 Building Surfaces

      “In the Preschool Room there was a loose wood piece of trim that was hanging from the wall creating a tripping or scraping hazard for the children in care.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 10, 2021

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.27(c) Training regarding plan

      “The file for Staff #1 and Staff #3 did not contain documentation of receiving training regarding the emergency plan within the past 12 months.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 15, 2021

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(f)(10) Health and Safety Training - Pediatric First Aid and CPR

      “The file for Staff #2 contained First Aid and CPR that was obtain after 90 days of hire. The file for Staff # 2 contained First Aid and CPR that did not specify it was in the field of Pediatric First Aid and CPR.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 15, 2022

Copied from Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning on October 2, 2026; the state's records start around Jun 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Smithfield Learning Center

FAQ

Questions about Smithfield Learning Center

Is Smithfield Learning Center licensed?

Yes. Smithfield Learning Center is certified by the state and operating. This is how Pennsylvania authorizes this type of child care.

When was Smithfield Learning Center last inspected?

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning lists the most recent visit on November 21, 2025, with 13 rules cited. It lists 4 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Smithfield Learning Center had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 39 rules across 4 of 4 visits in the last 3 years; 37 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Smithfield Learning Center care for?

47, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve school-age children.

Does Smithfield Learning Center accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Smithfield Learning Center's hours?

Monday to Friday, 6:00 AM to 6:00 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Smithfield Learning Center cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (724) 569-0824 to ask.

What is Smithfield Learning Center's phone number?

(724) 569-0824.

Where is Smithfield Learning Center?

25 Main St Ste 6, Smithfield, PA 15478. The nearest other daycare we list is The Learning Lamp Center for Children at Fayette, 5.2 miles away.

Sources: Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning (license and visits).