Skip to content
Child care center 

Little People's Learning Tree

457 Pickering St, Houston, TX 770914.4· 7 reviews
licensed capacity
62
open each week
5 days
a week, county median
$185
year first permitted
2008

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Licensed by the stateInspection record

About

About Little People's Learning Tree

Little People's Learning Tree is a licensed child care center in Houston, Texas. The state has permitted it since August 28, 2008, for up to 62 children, serving infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 6:00 AM to 6:00 PM.

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation made 17 visits in the last 3 years and cited 10 rules across 7 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

InfantsSchool-ageAccepts child care subsidyOpens before 7 AM

Ages served: infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Hours today
Closed today
Licensed capacity
62 children

Hours

Hours

Monday6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Tuesday6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Wednesday6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Thursday6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Friday6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayTodayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

AgesInfants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age childrenFrom the state license
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Licensed capacity62 childrenFrom the state license

Cost

Tuition and costs

Little People's Learning Tree has not listed its tuition. For comparison, full-time infant care at a child care center in Harris County has a median price of $185 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition. The county medians below are a starting point.
Harris County medians, full time, per week

Infant

Center$185
Home daycare$164

Toddler

Center$172
Home daycare$155

Preschool

Center$167
Home daycare$153

School age

Center$156
Home daycare$144

County median full-time prices at centers and home daycares, U.S. Department of Labor, National Database of Childcare Prices, 2022 (the latest year). Not this daycare's rates; prices have risen since.

State record

Inspection reports for Little People's Learning Tree

License

Status
Licensed and operating
License type
Full Permit
Capacity
62 children
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Permit issued
2008
License number
#878474
See the state's record

Summary

17 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Sep 29, 2026: no rules cited

Rules cited on 7 of 17 visits · 10 rules in all · 10 corrected

  • Records and paperwork 3
  • Staff training and qualifications 2
  • Supervision and ratios 1
  • Safety and hazards 1
  • Transportation 1
  • Building, equipment and play areas 1
  • Discipline and child guidance 1

For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

The state lists conditions on this permit.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 28 visits
  1. Sep 29, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Aug 11, 2026VisitNo rules cited
  3. Jul 15, 2026Inspection3 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualificationsLow risk

      746.1329(c)(1)(B) - Documentation pediatric CPR-1st aid includes renewal date and expiration date

      “The infant caregiver did not have an official copy of the CPR and First Aid certificate showing the expiration date.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 19, 2026

    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.605(7) - Required Admission Information - Release Information

      “A child's file was reviewed and found to be missing information about who else is allowed to pick up the child.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 29, 2026

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1311(e) - Director Annual Training - Additional required topics

      “CCR reviewed the director's training and found the following required trainings were missing: Emergency preparedness. Controlling the spread of communicable diseases. Administering medication. Food allergies. Understanding building and physical premises safety. Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materials.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 21, 2026

  4. Apr 10, 2026Inspection1 rule cited
    • Safety and hazardsHigh risk

      746.5101(a) - Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months

      “The operation does not have an updated fire inspection; the last fire inspection was on 01/31/2025.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 28, 2026

  5. Apr 8, 2026Complaint investigation1 rule cited
    • TransportationMedium risk

      746.605(14) - Required Admission Information - Special School-age Permissions

      “CCR reviewed a child’s file and found that the section indicating which school the child attends was left blank.”

      The state verified the correction on May 11, 2026

  6. Oct 15, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  7. Aug 8, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  8. Jul 21, 2025Inspection1 rule cited
    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium High risk

      746.4907(a)(1) - Installation and Maintenance of Loose-fill Surfacing - Six Inches if Equipment 5 Ft or Less

      “The loose fill on the playgrounds is less than six inches.”

      The state verified the correction on Sep 15, 2025

  9. Jun 28, 2025VisitNo rules cited
  10. Jan 13, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
Show 18 earlier visits
  1. Dec 5, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Dec 2, 2024Complaint investigation2 rules cited
    • Records and paperworkHigh risk

      746.305(a)(6) - Report Situation Placing Children at Risk

      “The operation reported the incident more than two days after the incident.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 13, 2025

    • Discipline and child guidanceHigh risk

      746.2805(3) - Prohibited Punishments - Grabbing and Pulling

      “The caregiver was seen grabbing and pulling a child by the arm.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 13, 2025

  3. Jul 31, 2024Inspection1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium High risk

      746.3403 - Documentation of Annual Sanitation Inspection

      “During the inspection the operation was not able to provide documentation of the health inspection conducted.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 31, 2024

  4. Jul 24, 2024VisitNo rules cited
  5. Jan 23, 2024Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023 data from January 17, 2024, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2023 by January 15, 2024, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 29, 2024

  6. Nov 29, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  7. Nov 27, 2023VisitNo rules cited
  8. Aug 1, 2023Inspection1 rule cited
    • Safety and hazardsHigh risk

      746.5101(a) - Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months

      “The operation was found to not have a current fire inspection.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 9, 2023

  9. Jul 21, 2023VisitNo rules cited
  10. Jul 7, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  11. Jun 23, 2023Inspection2 rules cited
    • Supervision and ratiosMedium risk

      746.1613(a) - Reduction of child/caregiver naptime ratio by 50% allowed, If 13 or more children in care, children are 18 mo. or older and other standards met

      “During the inspection I oberved one caregiver caring for 7 infants engaged in naptime with a SAG of 0-11 months. Ratio is 1:4. The caregiver was over ratio by 3. This was corrected when the diirector sent in another teacher in the classroom.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 7, 2023

    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.2401(7) - Basic Requirements for Infants - Never Unsupervised

      “During the walkthrough I observed a classroom with 7 infants ages 6m, 7m, 8m 11m,12m,14m and 17 months left unsupervised. This was corrected when the caregiver returned to the classroom.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 7, 2023

  12. Jun 20, 2023VisitNo rules cited
  13. Dec 29, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  14. Dec 16, 2022Inspection5 rules cited
    • Supervision and ratiosMedium High risk

      746.1605 - Child/Caregiver Ratio - 18 Months Difference in Age

      “A child in the infant room was 21 months older than the youngest child.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 29, 2022

    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.3701(1) - Safety - Electrical Outlets Covered

      “Two outlets were uncovered in the nap room. This was corrected at inspection when they covered the outlets.”

      Corrected during the visit

    • Supervision and ratiosMedium High risk

      746.1601 - Child/ Caregiver Ratio - 13 or More Children

      “There was one caregiver with 19 two and three year olds during lunch time. The specified age group of the children was 3 years old. This was corrected at inspection when the director joined the room.”

      Corrected during the visit

    • Supervision and ratiosMedium High risk

      746.1203(3) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know Children's Names and Ages

      “A caregiver did not know the ages of the children in care and did not have a list of names and ages posted. This was corrected at inspection when the caregiver wrote and posted the children's ages on their name cards.”

      Corrected during the visit

    • Safe sleepMedium risk

      746.4503(a) - Individual Cot, Bed, or Mat for Each Walking Child Through 4 Years of Age

      “Three nap mats were torn. One child was sleeping on a work-out mat. This was corrected at inspection when the maps were replaced.”

      Corrected during the visit

  15. Dec 8, 2022Complaint investigation2 rules cited
    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium High risk

      746.3407 - Maintenance of Building, Grounds and Equipment

      “A small nail was sticking out of the wall in the 2 year old room. There was a hole in the floor in the nap room.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 29, 2022

    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.3505(c) - Diapering Procedures - Use Disposable Gloves

      “A caregiver did not wash hands after disposing of gloves during diapering procedures.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 29, 2022

  16. Aug 2, 2022Inspection1 rule cited
    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.5305 - Mounting of Fire Extinguishers

      “The fire extinguisher in the infant room was located on top of a counter and not mounted. NOTE: The deficiency was corrected at inspection.”

      Corrected during the visit

  17. Feb 25, 2022Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required”

      The state verified the correction on Feb 25, 2022

  18. Nov 10, 2021Inspection2 rules cited
    • Food and nutritionMedium risk

      746.2421(b) - Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days

      “During review of infants the operation did not have curret feeding instructions for an infant not yet eating table food.”

      The state verified the correction on Nov 11, 2021

    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.501(b)(1) - Operational Policies - Inform Parents That They May Visit Center Anytime During Operating Hours

      “The operational policies did not inform the parents they are able to visit the center without prior approval.”

      Corrected during the visit

Copied from Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation on October 1, 2026; the state's records start around Sep 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Little People's Learning Tree

FAQ

Questions about Little People's Learning Tree

Is Little People's Learning Tree licensed?

Yes. Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists it as licensed and operating, with a permit issued August 28, 2008.

When was Little People's Learning Tree last inspected?

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists the most recent visit on September 29, 2026, with no rules cited. It lists 17 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Little People's Learning Tree had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 10 rules across 7 of 17 visits in the last 3 years; 10 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Little People's Learning Tree care for?

62, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

Does Little People's Learning Tree accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Little People's Learning Tree's hours?

Monday to Friday, 6:00 AM to 6:00 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Little People's Learning Tree cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (713) 694-0066 to ask.

What is Little People's Learning Tree's phone number?

(713) 694-0066.

Where is Little People's Learning Tree?

457 Pickering St, Houston, TX 77091. The nearest other daycare we list is Ages and Stages Child Care Center, 0.1 miles away.

Sources: Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation (license and visits) · U.S. Department of Labor, 2022 (county prices).