Skip to content
Child care center 

Bright Stars Academy

712 E Tidwell Rd Ste J, Houston, TX 770224.1· 9 reviews
licensed capacity
78
open each week
5 days
a week, county median
$185
year first permitted
2006

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Licensed by the stateInspection record

About

About Bright Stars Academy

Bright Stars Academy is a licensed child care center in Houston, Texas. The state has permitted it since March 22, 2006, for up to 78 children, serving infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 6:00 AM to 6:00 PM.

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation made 8 visits in the last 3 years and cited 9 rules across 4 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

InfantsSchool-ageAccepts child care subsidyOpens before 7 AM

Ages served: infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Hours today
6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Licensed capacity
78 children

Hours

Hours

MondayToday6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Tuesday6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Wednesday6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Thursday6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Friday6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

AgesInfants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age childrenFrom the state license
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Licensed capacity78 childrenFrom the state license

Cost

Tuition and costs

Bright Stars Academy has not listed its tuition. For comparison, full-time infant care at a child care center in Harris County has a median price of $185 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition. The county medians below are a starting point.
Harris County medians, full time, per week

Infant

Center$185
Home daycare$164

Toddler

Center$172
Home daycare$155

Preschool

Center$167
Home daycare$153

School age

Center$156
Home daycare$144

County median full-time prices at centers and home daycares, U.S. Department of Labor, National Database of Childcare Prices, 2022 (the latest year). Not this daycare's rates; prices have risen since.

State record

Inspection reports for Bright Stars Academy

License

Status
Licensed and operating
License type
Full Permit
Capacity
78 children
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Permit issued
2006
License number
#854203
See the state's record

Summary

8 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Aug 14, 2026: no rules cited

Rules cited on 4 of 8 visits · 9 rules in all · 9 corrected

  • Staff training and qualifications 4
  • Records and paperwork 3
  • Building, equipment and play areas 1
  • Supervision and ratios 1

For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

The state lists conditions on this permit.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 14 visits
  1. Aug 14, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Jul 17, 2026Inspection4 rules cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium High risk

      746.605(6) - Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact

      “Four of the reviewed children files did not have a completed emergency contact address.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 21, 2026

    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium High risk

      746.3407 - Maintenance of Building, Grounds and Equipment

      “A pole on a table in the outdoor play area was cracked with a hole. The padding in the outdoor play area was torn with exposed padding.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 21, 2026

    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.1205(a)(4) - Supervision ensures each child’s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child’s on going activity

      “A classroom was left unsupervised when the sole caregiver in the classroom left the classroom to open the door of the operation and to transfer a child to another classroom. Another classroom was left unsupervised when the caregiver left the classroom to retrieve a sign in sheet log.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 14, 2026

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium High risk

      746.1315(b) - Each Caregiver and the Director Must Have Current Training in pediatric CPR

      “A caregiver had a CPR certificate that expired on 5.2026. Two caregivers did not have a current CPR certificate.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 1, 2026

  3. Jul 21, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  4. Jan 21, 2025Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2024 data from January 17, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 23, 2025

  5. Aug 6, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  6. Aug 4, 2024VisitNo rules cited
  7. Jul 24, 2024Inspection3 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1311(e) - Director Annual Training - Additional required topics

      “The director's annual training for the month of 0ct 2022-Oct 2023 is missing the following required training. Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous. Understanding building and physical premises safety. Administering medication. Make-up training will not count towards the current training year.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 2, 2024

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium High risk

      746.1315(a) - Each Caregiver and the Director Must Have Current Training in pediatric first aid with rescue breathing and choking.

      “The directorand three caregivers are missing their CPR and First-Aid training.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 2, 2024

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1309(e) - Documented Annual Training- Required Content

      “The infant caregiver annual training for the month of 9/21/22-09/21/23 is missing the following required training. Understanding building and physical premises safety Administering medication. The after-school caregiver annual training for the months of 9/7/22-9/7/23 is missing the following required training. Understanding building and physical premises safety Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materials. Make-up training will not count towards the current training year.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 2, 2024

  8. Jan 19, 2024Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023 data from January 17, 2024, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2023 by January 15, 2024, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 22, 2024

  9. Aug 2, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  10. Apr 13, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
Show 4 earlier visits
  1. Apr 3, 2023Inspection1 rule cited
    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.1205(a)(4) - Supervision ensures each child’s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child’s on going activity

      “The caregiver walked out the classroom and left five children unattended.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 13, 2023

  2. Mar 30, 2023VisitNo rules cited
  3. Aug 10, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  4. Oct 28, 2021InspectionNo rules cited

Copied from Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation on October 1, 2026; the state's records start around Sep 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Bright Stars Academy

FAQ

Questions about Bright Stars Academy

Is Bright Stars Academy licensed?

Yes. Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists it as licensed and operating, with a permit issued March 22, 2006.

When was Bright Stars Academy last inspected?

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists the most recent visit on August 14, 2026, with no rules cited. It lists 8 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Bright Stars Academy had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 9 rules across 4 of 8 visits in the last 3 years; 9 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Bright Stars Academy care for?

78, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

Does Bright Stars Academy accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Bright Stars Academy's hours?

Monday to Friday, 6:00 AM to 6:00 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Bright Stars Academy cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (713) 695-8994 to ask.

What is Bright Stars Academy's phone number?

(713) 695-8994.

Where is Bright Stars Academy?

712 E Tidwell Rd Ste J, Houston, TX 77022. The nearest other daycare we list is Something Special Children's Center, 0.6 miles away.

Sources: Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation (license and visits) · U.S. Department of Labor, 2022 (county prices).