Skip to content
Child care center 

Brownstown Elementary

51 School Ln, Brownstown, PA 17508

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Certified by the stateInspection record

About

About Brownstown Elementary

Brownstown Elementary is a child care center in Brownstown, Pennsylvania. It is certified by the state.

It is open Monday to Friday, 6:30 AM to 9:00 AM.

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning made 6 visits in the last 3 years and cited 43 rules across 5 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

School-ageAccepts child care subsidyOpens before 7 AM

Ages served: school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
School-age children
Hours today
Closed today
Capacity
Not listed

Hours

Hours

Monday6:30 AM to 9:00 AM
Tuesday6:30 AM to 9:00 AM
Wednesday6:30 AM to 9:00 AM
Thursday6:30 AM to 9:00 AM
Friday6:30 AM to 9:00 AM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayTodayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

AgesSchool-age childrenFrom the state license
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license

Cost

Tuition and costs

Brownstown Elementary has not listed its tuition.

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition.

State record

Inspection reports for Brownstown Elementary

License

Status
Certified by the state and operating
License type
Certificate of Compliance
Ages
School-age children
License number
#CER-00256519
See the state's record

Summary

6 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit May 8, 2026: 2 rules cited

Rules cited on 5 of 6 visits · 43 rules in all · 40 corrected

  • Records and paperwork 14
  • Safety and hazards 13
  • Health, medication and illness 7
  • Background checks 3
  • Supervision and ratios 3
  • Discipline and child guidance 1
  • Food and nutrition 1
  • Building, equipment and play areas 1

For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 10 visits
  1. May 8, 2026Inspection2 rules cited
    • Background checks

      3270.32(a) Comply with CPSL

      “The record for staff person #1 did not include the applicable out of state clearances. (CORRECTED ON SITE) The mandated reporter trainings on file for staff person #2 were dated 1/16/2021 and subsequently more than 60 months later on 2/17/26.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 14, 2026

    • Discipline and child guidance

      3270.123(a)(3) Services proceeded

      “The record for child #1 did not include a completed Child Service Report (or another approved used to provide information to the family about the child's growth and development in the context of the services being provided.) The child has been enrolled for more than 6 months.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 14, 2026

  2. Aug 29, 2025Inspection2 rules cited
    • Records and paperwork

      3270.25(a) Availability of certificate of compliance and applicable regulations

      “The facility's current certificate of compliance was not posted in a conspicuous location used by parents. An expired certificate was posted.”

      Correction date in the state record: Sep 2, 2025

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.133(2) Written instructions

      “An epi-pen was on site for child #1. The medication was not accompanied by written instructions from the individual who prescribed the information nor a prescription label.”

      Correction date in the state record: Sep 19, 2025

  3. May 20, 2025Inspection13 rules cited
    • Food and nutrition

      3270.107 Refrigerator

      “A spilled sticky substance was observed on the bottom of the fridge.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 3, 2025

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(1) Amount of fee

      “The agreements on file for child #4 and child #5 did not specify the amount of the fee to be charged per day or per week.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 27, 2025

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(4) Arrival/departure times

      “The agreement on file for child #4 did not specify the child's arrival and departure times.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 27, 2025

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(6) Admission date

      “The agreement on file for child #3 did not specify the date of the child's admission.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 27, 2025

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.124(b)(2) Physician name, address, phone

      “The emergency contact information on file for child #1 did not include a complete address for the child's physician.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 27, 2025

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.131(c) Completed or signed by physician, PA, or CRNP

      “The health report on file for child #5 was not signed by a physician, physician's assistant or a CRNP.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 27, 2025

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.181(c) Emergency info/agreement updated 6 mos

      “Updates of agreements and emergency contact forms for children #2 and #5 were not done timely during the previous year. Child 1 - The emergency contact form was signed/dated by a parent in July of 2024 and subsequently more than 6 months later in February of 2025. The agreement on file was signed/dated by a parent in July of 2024 and subsequently more than March of 2025. Child 5 - The emergency contact form was signed/dated by a parent in June of 2024 and subsequently more than 6 months later in February of 2025. The agreement on file was signed/dated by a parent in June of 2024 and subsequently more than March of 2025.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 3, 2025

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.181(c)/3270.181(e) Emergency info/agreement updated 6 mos/Emergency master file updated

      “A portion of the emergency contact forms present with the group were past due to be updated (parent signatures more than 6 months old).”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 3, 2025

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.27(a)(6) Emergency plan

      “According to documentation on file at the time of inspection, more than 12 months had lapsed since the last emergency drill (dated 4/2024).”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 3, 2025

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.102(c) Outdoor equip.- protective surfacing

      “The mulch underneath the monkey bars on the preschool playground did not meet the recommendations of the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission. The mulch measured at 7-8 inches, short of the 9 inch requirement.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 20, 2025

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.75(b) Inaccessible to children

      “The first aid kit was stored in an area accessible to children. (CORRECTED ON SITE)”

      Correction date in the state record: May 20, 2025

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.94(a)(1) Every 60 days

      “According to the log on file at the time of inspection, fire drills were completed on 7/31/24 and subsequently more than 60 days later on 10/3/24.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 3, 2025

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a) Comply with CPSL

      “Staff person #1 did not have a DHS child care approved mandated reporter on file. (CORRECTED ON SITE)”

      Correction date in the state record: May 20, 2025

  4. Jun 3, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  5. May 31, 2024Inspection5 rules cited
    • Safety and hazards

      3270.66(a) Locked or inaccessible

      “At the time of the follow up visit for the renewal inspection, continued non-compliance was observed. On 5/10/24, hand sanitizer and a bottle of disinfectant spray were observed in an area accessible to the children in the cafeteria. On 5/31/24, the hand sanitizer and a bottle of disinfectant spray were again observed in an area accessible to the children in the cafeteria. (CORRECTED ON SITE)”

      Correction date in the state record: May 31, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.75(b) Inaccessible to children

      “First aid kits were stored in areas accessible to children.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 31, 2024

    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.124(b)(7) Name/address/phone release person

      “At the time of the follow up visit for the renewal inspection, continued non-compliance was observed. On 5/10/24, the emergency contact information on file for children 1-3 did not include addresses for listed release persons. On 5/31/24, the emergency contact information on file for children 2-3 still did not include addresses for listed release persons.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 31, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.95(a) Devices must be compliant

      “At the time of the follow up visit for the renewal inspection, continued non-compliance was observed. On 5/10/24, the proof and date of purchase of the interconnected fire detection device was not on file with the facility's fire drill logs. On 5/31/24, the proof and date of purchase of the interconnected fire detection device still were not on file with the facility's fire drill logs.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 31, 2024

    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.54(a) Two facility persons present in facility

      “At the time of arrival for the inspection, a single facility/staff person was present at the facility with 5 children.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 31, 2024

  6. May 10, 2024Inspection21 rules cited
    • Safety and hazards

      3270.95(a) Devices must be compliant

      “The proof and date of purchase of the interconnected fire detection device was not on file with the facility's fire drill logs.”
    • Records and paperwork

      3270.94(a)(1)/3270.94(a)(9) Every 60 days/Written record

      “More than 60 days have passed since the last fire drill was logged (2/29/24).”

      Correction date in the state record: May 17, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.27(a)(6) Emergency plan

      “The facility did not have documentation on file that an emergency drill had been completed during the previous year.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 17, 2024

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.181(c)/3270.181(e) Emergency info/agreement updated 6 mos/Emergency master file updated

      “Emergency contact forms located with the group were past due for updates (parent signatures were more than 6 months old).”

      Correction date in the state record: May 17, 2024

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.131(a)(4)/3270.182(1) Initial health report for school age; accordance with school attendance/Initial and subsequent health reports

      “Child 3 has been enrolled since September of 2023. The child's record did not include a health report.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 17, 2024

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(f) Updated every 6 months

      “The emergency contact information on file for child 3 was updated in September of 2023 and more than 6 months later in April of 2024.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 17, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.124(e) Written emergency plan posted

      “The written plan identifying the means of transporting a child to emergency care and staffing provisions in the event of an emergency was not displayed in the pre-k room, the lobby, the STEM room, and the gym.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 17, 2024

    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.124(b)(7) Name/address/phone release person

      “The emergency contact information on file for children 1-3 did not include addresses for listed release persons.”
    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(b)(6) Insurance coverage information

      “The emergency contact information on file for child 1 did not include the child's health insurance coverage and policy number.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 17, 2024

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(b)(3) Parent home/work address, phone

      “The emergency contact information on file for children 1, and 5 did not include a work address for the enrolling parent.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 17, 2024

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.124(b)(2) Physician name, address, phone

      “The emergency contact information on file for children 1, 3, and 5 did not include the address of the child's physician or source of medical care.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 17, 2024

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.111(b) Posted in group space

      “The written plan of daily activities was not posted in the cafeteria, the STEM room, and the lobby.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 17, 2024

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.82(h) Handwashing signs

      “Handwashing signs were not posted in the bathrooms.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 17, 2024

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.75(c) Has all items

      “The first aid kit in the cafeteria did not include disposable, nonporous gloves. The first aid kit in the pre-k room did not contain soap, tweezers, and scissors.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 17, 2024

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.75(a) In child care spaces

      “The STEM room and the lobby childcare space were not equipped with first aid kits.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 17, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.71 Heat Source

      “Working stoves were observed in an area that will be accessible to the children in care.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 17, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.66(a) Locked or inaccessible

      “Hand sanitizer and a bottle of disinfectant spray were observed in an area accessible to the children in the cafeteria.”
    • Safety and hazards

      3270.65 Protective Outlet Covers 5 yrs. or less

      “Uncovered outlets were observed throughout the facility in the childcare spaces and in hallways.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 17, 2024

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a) Comply with CPSL

      “The previous DHS FBI clearance on file for staff person 3 expired 1/10/24, and the update clearance was not obtained until 2/5/24.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 17, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.31(e)(4)(ii) Fire safety - 1 yr.

      “Fire safety training updates were not obtained timely during the previous year for staff persons 1-3. Staff person 1 - Due in December of 2023, but was not completed until May of 2024. Staff person 2 - Due in March of 2024, but was not completed until May of 2024. Staff person 3 - Due in May of 2023, but was not completed until February of 2024.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 17, 2024

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.74 Emergency Numbers Posted

      “The telephone number of the nearest hospital, police department, fire department, ambulance and poison control center were not posted by the phones in the cafeteria, the pre-k room, the STEM room, and the gym.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 17, 2024

  7. May 18, 2023Inspection9 rules cited
    • Supervision and ratios

      3280.113(a)/3280.113(a)(1) Supervised at all times /Staff assigned to specific children

      “Multiple supervision lapses were observed during the renewal inspection. Upon arrival to the facility, the staff person left the children unsupervised to answer the door. Children were observed walking out of the room and into the storage closet without staff supervision (observed twice). Another child walked out of the cafeteria and into the restroom without staff supervision (staff unable to see door to restroom from position in room).”

      Correction date in the state record: May 26, 2023

    • Records and paperwork

      3280.111(b) Posted in area used by parents

      “The written plan of daily activities and routines was not posted in a traffic area used by parents.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 23, 2023

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3280.102(c) Outdoor equip.- protective surfacing

      “The mulch underneath the swings and the tall spinner (embedded equipment) did not meet the depth recommendations of the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission (9 inches). The depth of the mulch measured at 2-3 inches.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 25, 2023

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3280.192(5) Two written references

      “The record for staff person 1 included just 1 written, nonfamily reference from individuals attesting to the person's suitability to serve as a facility person.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 25, 2023

    • Records and paperwork

      3280.181(c) Emergency info/agreement updated 6 mos

      “The agreements and emergency contact forms on file for children 1 and 2 were not updated timely during the previous year. Updates Child 1 -Agreement 5/2/22 and subsequently 4/28/23 -Emergency contact form 5/2/22 and subsequently 2/24/23 Child 2 -Agreement 5/1/22 and subsequently 4/28/23 -Emergency contact form 4/11/22 and subsequently 2/24/23”

      Correction date in the state record: May 25, 2023

    • Health, medication and illness

      3280.151(a)/3280.151(c)(2) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter/Mantoux TB

      “The initial health assessment on file for staff person 1 was more than 12 months old when the staff person began working at the facility.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 22, 2023

    • Records and paperwork

      3280.124(f)/3280.181(e) Updated every 6 months/Emergency master file updated

      “Emergency contact forms on site for at least 8 children were past due to be updated (parent signatures more than 6 months old).”

      Correction date in the state record: May 25, 2023

    • Records and paperwork

      3280.124(c) Each child care space

      “The backpack taken with the group outside did not include emergency contact forms for all of the children that were present with the group.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 25, 2023

    • Records and paperwork

      3280.124(b)(2) Physician name, address, phone

      “The emergency contact information on file for child 3 did not include a complete address for the child's physician or source of medical care.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 25, 2023

  8. Oct 4, 2022Inspection12 rules cited
    • Records and paperwork

      3280.124(b)(6) Insurance coverage information

      “The emergency contact information on file for children 1, 3, and 4 did not include complete health insurance information. The forms for children 1 and 3 were missing the policy number, and the form for child 4 was missing the health insurance coverage information.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 21, 2022

    • Records and paperwork

      3280.124(b)(3) Parent home/work address, phone

      “The emergency contact information on file for child 4 did not include the enrolling parent's work address, and work telephone number.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 21, 2022

    • Records and paperwork

      3280.123(b) Parent receives original

      “The original agreements were on file for children 2 and 3.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 21, 2022

    • Records and paperwork

      3280.123(a)(6) Admission date

      “The agreements on file for children 1-5 did not specify the date of the child's admission.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 21, 2022

    • Supervision and ratios

      3280.123(a)(5) Designated release persons

      “The agreement on file for child 4 did not specify the persons designated by a parent to whom the child may be released.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 21, 2022

    • Records and paperwork

      3280.123(a) Signed

      “The agreements on file for children 1, 2, 4, and 5 were not signed by the operator.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 21, 2022

    • Records and paperwork

      3280.123(a)(2) Date fee to be paid

      “The agreements on file for children 2, 4, and 5 did not specify the date on which the fee is to be paid.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 21, 2022

    • Discipline and child guidance

      3280.123(a)(3) Services proceeded

      “The agreements on file for children 1, and 5 did not specify the services to be provided to the family and the child.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 21, 2022

    • Records and paperwork

      3280.123(a)(4) Arrival/departure times

      “The agreements on file for children 3 and 5 did not specify the child's arrival and departure times.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 21, 2022

    • Safety and hazards

      3280.26(a)(6) Emergency plan

      “At the time of inspection, the operator was unable to provide documentation that an emergency drill was completed during the previous year. (CORRECTED ON SITE)”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 4, 2022

    • Records and paperwork

      3280.181(c) Emergency info/agreement updated 6 mos

      “The agreement and emergency contact information on file for child 3 have not been updated in the past 6 months.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 21, 2022

    • Records and paperwork

      3280.123(a)(1) Amount of fee

      “The agreements on file for children 2 and 5 did not specify the amount of the fee to be charged per day or per week.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 21, 2022

  9. May 20, 2022Inspection1 rule cited
    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.113(a) Supervised at all times

      “During the follow up visit to verify corrections had been made from the renewal inspection, continued non-compliance was observed in regard to supervision. A school-age child was observed walking out of a room off the hallway near the entrance. The child was without staff supervision while in the room.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 26, 2022

  10. May 9, 2022Inspection9 rules cited
    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.113(a) Supervised at all times

      “At the time of inspection, children were observed in areas of the room where staff were unable to supervise (see) the children. The training will be completed by the end of the day on 5/20/22.”
    • Records and paperwork

      3270.111(b) Posted in group space

      “The written plan of daily activities was not posted in the group space.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 16, 2022

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a) Comply with CPSL

      “Staff person 1 began working for Steps to Success without complete provisional hire paperwork on file. At the time she began working in a child care position, her record did not include either a complete DHS FBI clearance or a PA state police clearance.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 16, 2022

    • Discipline and child guidance

      3270.123(a)(3) Services proceeded

      “The agreements on file for children 1 and 4 did not specify the services to be provided to the family and the child.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 16, 2022

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.134(a) Child's hands washed

      “A child did not wash hands prior to eating a snack.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 16, 2022

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.131(d)(5) Immunization record

      “The health report on file for child 5 did not include the immunization record.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 16, 2022

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(6) Admission date

      “The agreement on file for child 3 did not specify the date of the child's admission.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 16, 2022

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.181(c) Emergency info/agreement updated 6 mos

      “The emergency contact forms and financial agreements on file for children 1-5 were not updated timely during the previous year (updated after a period of six months). Child 1 - Both signed 9/21/21 and subsequently 4/26/22 Child 2 - Emergency contact form signed 8/19/21 and subsequently 4/11/22 Child 3 - Both sidned 8/22/21 and subsequently 4/12/22 Child 4 - Both signed 9/21/21 and subsequently 4/11/22 Child 5 - Emergency contact form signed 9/23/21 and subsequently 4/12/22”

      Correction date in the state record: May 16, 2022

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.94(a)(1) Every 60 days

      “According to the log on file at the time of inspection, a fire drill was conducted on 10/4/21 and then subsequently on 12/21/21. More than 60 days lapsed between the fire drills.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 16, 2022

Copied from Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning on October 2, 2026; the state's records start around Jun 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Brownstown Elementary

FAQ

Questions about Brownstown Elementary

Is Brownstown Elementary licensed?

Yes. Brownstown Elementary is certified by the state and operating. This is how Pennsylvania authorizes this type of child care.

When was Brownstown Elementary last inspected?

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning lists the most recent visit on May 8, 2026, with 2 rules cited. It lists 6 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Brownstown Elementary had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 43 rules across 5 of 6 visits in the last 3 years; 40 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Does Brownstown Elementary accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Brownstown Elementary's hours?

Monday to Friday, 6:30 AM to 9:00 AM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Brownstown Elementary cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (717) 656-3363 to ask.

What is Brownstown Elementary's phone number?

(717) 656-3363.

Where is Brownstown Elementary?

51 School Ln, Brownstown, PA 17508. The nearest other daycare we list is U-Gro Learning Centres, 0.6 miles away.

Sources: Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning (license and visits).