Skip to content
Child care center 

YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center

503 Castroville Rd, San Antonio, TX 782373.7· 29 reviews
licensed capacity
129
open each week
5 days
a week, county median
$171
year first permitted
1986

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Licensed by the stateInspection record

About

About YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center

YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center is a licensed child care center in San Antonio, Texas. The state has permitted it since April 11, 1986, for up to 129 children, serving infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 7:00 AM to 5:30 PM.

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation made 27 visits in the last 3 years and cited 17 rules across 9 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

InfantsSchool-ageAccepts child care subsidy

Ages served: infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Hours today
7:00 AM to 5:30 PM
Licensed capacity
129 children

Hours

Hours

MondayToday7:00 AM to 5:30 PM
Tuesday7:00 AM to 5:30 PM
Wednesday7:00 AM to 5:30 PM
Thursday7:00 AM to 5:30 PM
Friday7:00 AM to 5:30 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

AgesInfants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age childrenFrom the state license
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Licensed capacity129 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center has not listed its tuition. For comparison, full-time infant care at a child care center in Bexar County has a median price of $171 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition. The county medians below are a starting point.
Bexar County medians, full time, per week

Infant

Center$171
Home daycare$154

Toddler

Center$160
Home daycare$148

Preschool

Center$156
Home daycare$146

School age

Center$149
Home daycare$139

County median full-time prices at centers and home daycares, U.S. Department of Labor, National Database of Childcare Prices, 2022 (the latest year). Not this daycare's rates; prices have risen since.

State record

Inspection reports for YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center

License

Status
Licensed and operating
License type
Full Permit
Capacity
129 children
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Permit issued
1986
License number
#63207
See the state's record

Summary

27 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Jun 16, 2026: no rules cited

Rules cited on 9 of 27 visits · 17 rules in all · 17 corrected

  • Health, medication and illness 4
  • Records and paperwork 4
  • Safety and hazards 3
  • Discipline and child guidance 2
  • Supervision and ratios 1
  • Staff training and qualifications 1
  • Transportation 1
  • Food and nutrition 1

For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 36 visits
  1. Jun 16, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Jun 11, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  3. May 28, 2026Inspection1 rule cited
    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.3401(a) - Annual Sanitation Inspection

      “A current sanitation inspection was not available for review.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 5, 2026

  4. May 18, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  5. May 14, 2026Visit2 rules cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.301(2) - Notification of Change in Space

      “During an investigation, it was determined the operation did not notify Child Care Regulation of a classroom being set up in the gym of the operation.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 11, 2026

    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.1205(a)(4) - Supervision ensures each child’s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child’s on going activity

      “During an investigation, it was determined a child was left unsupervised in a restroom.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 11, 2026

  6. Jan 28, 2026Inspection1 rule cited
    • Safety and hazardsMedium risk

      746.4135(b) - Children's Products- Annual Certification

      “The annual certification of the children's products recall form was expired. It was last signed and certified on 11/12/24. Note: This was CORRECTED AT INSPECTION when the director signed and posted a new form.”

      Corrected during the visit

  7. Dec 1, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  8. Nov 4, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  9. Oct 27, 2025Visit1 rule cited
    • Discipline and child guidanceHigh risk

      746.2805(3) - Prohibited Punishments - Grabbing and Pulling

      “It was determined that prohibited punishment was utilized when a caregiver was observed grabbing and pulling three children.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 1, 2025

  10. Sep 17, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
Show 26 earlier visits
  1. Aug 18, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Aug 7, 2025VisitNo rules cited
  3. Jul 21, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  4. Jul 16, 2025Visit1 rule cited
    • Discipline and child guidanceMedium High risk

      746.1203(5) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Interact positively with children

      “Based on information gathered, caregiver did not interact with child in a positive manner, when caregiver began to roughly pick up child by one arm, then continued to pick up child under other arm.”

      The state verified the correction on Sep 17, 2025

  5. Feb 4, 2025Inspection2 rules cited
    • Health, medication and illnessMedium risk

      746.603(a)(3) - Children's Records - Health Statement

      “2 of 10 child's records are missing the health statement. 1 of 10 child's records is missing an updated immunization record.”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 3, 2025

    • Records and paperworkMedium High risk

      746.605(6) - Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact

      “3 of the 10 children records are missing emergency contact information. 2 of the 10 children records were missing an admission date. 7 of the 10 childrens records were missing a special care statement.”

      The state verified the correction on Feb 21, 2025

  6. Dec 9, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  7. Dec 5, 2024Complaint investigation1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkHigh risk

      746.307(b)(4) - Parental Communication - Situation that Placed a Child at Risk

      “Based on the interview conducted the operation failed to notify the parent immediately after a situation that placed a child at risk when a tablet was found in a child's hand.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 18, 2024

  8. Jun 27, 2024Inspection7 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium High risk

      746.1301(a)(7)(A) - Training Requirements for Employees, Caregivers, and Directors - Transportation training

      “Two of the staff who transport didn't have required transportation training available at inspection.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 11, 2024

    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.5202(1) - Emergency Preparedness Plan - Evacuation, relocation, and sheltering/lock-down procedures

      “The emergency preparedness plan did not specify procedures for evacuating infants under 24 months of age, who have limited mobility, or who otherwise may need assistance in an emergency, such as children who have mental, visual, or hearing. The emergency preparedness plan did not specify procedures for how the staff will continue to care for the children until each child has been released. The emergency preparedness plan did not specify procedures for how the children will be ununified with their parents when evacuating.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 26, 2024

    • TransportationMedium High risk

      746.5619 - Plan to Handle Transportation Emergencies

      “A written policy on a plan to handle a transportation emergency was unavailable at the time of inspection.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 26, 2024

    • Food and nutritionMedium risk

      746.2421(b) - Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days

      “Two of the infant children did not have an undated feeding schedule at the time of the inspection.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 11, 2024

    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.3401(a) - Annual Sanitation Inspection

      “The last health inspection posted was conducted on 3.22.23.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 30, 2024

    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.613(b) - Immunization Records, Exceptions, and Exemptions Current

      “Four of the ten children files didn't have an updated immunization records at the time of inspection.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 26, 2024

    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.5205(2) - Sheltering Drill For Severe Weather-Four times a calendar year

      “No documentation for shelter/weather and lockdown available at the time of inspection. No documentation for May's fire drills.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 30, 2024

  9. Apr 26, 2024VisitNo rules cited
  10. Jan 30, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  11. Jan 29, 2024VisitNo rules cited
  12. Jan 22, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  13. Jan 19, 2024Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “The operation did not report the number of employees who ceased employment in 2023 by the required date.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 23, 2024

  14. Jan 16, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  15. Dec 20, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  16. Dec 13, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  17. Dec 5, 2023VisitNo rules cited
  18. Sep 13, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  19. Jul 27, 2023Inspection1 rule cited
    • Health, medication and illnessMedium risk

      746.603(a)(4) - Children's Records - Immunizations

      “Two of six child files did not have an up to date immunization record.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 4, 2023

  20. Jul 11, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  21. Jul 7, 2023Complaint investigation1 rule cited
    • Discipline and child guidanceHigh risk

      746.1201(1) - Responsibilities of Employees and Caregivers -Demonstrate Competency, Good Judgment, Self-control

      “During an investigation, it has been determined that caregivers did not portray good judgement while allowing a nine-year-old child to be present in the infant classrooms with the infant children.”

      The state verified the correction on Sep 13, 2023

  22. Dec 13, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  23. Nov 10, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  24. Nov 8, 2022Complaint investigation1 rule cited
    • Discipline and child guidanceHigh risk

      746.2805 - Prohibited Punishments - No Harsh, Cruel or Unusual

      “During an investigation, it has been determined that there was an incident of harsh treatment conducted toward a child while in care.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 13, 2022

  25. Aug 2, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  26. Feb 2, 2022InspectionNo rules cited

Copied from Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation on October 1, 2026; the state's records start around Sep 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center

FAQ

Questions about YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center

Is YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center licensed?

Yes. Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists it as licensed and operating, with a permit issued April 11, 1986.

When was YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center last inspected?

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists the most recent visit on June 16, 2026, with no rules cited. It lists 27 visits in the last 3 years.

Has YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 17 rules across 9 of 27 visits in the last 3 years; 17 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center care for?

129, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

Does YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center's hours?

Monday to Friday, 7:00 AM to 5:30 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (210) 433-9922 to ask.

What is YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center's phone number?

(210) 433-9922.

Where is YWCA Olga H. Madrid Center?

503 Castroville Rd, San Antonio, TX 78237. The nearest other daycare we list is Beanie Learning Center, 0.1 miles away.

Sources: Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation (license and visits) · U.S. Department of Labor, 2022 (county prices).