Skip to content
Child care center 

Good Samaritan Center

1600 Saltillo St, San Antonio, TX 78207
licensed capacity
95
open each week
5 days
a week, county median
$171
year first permitted
1985

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Licensed by the stateInspection record

About

About Good Samaritan Center

Good Samaritan Center is a licensed child care center in San Antonio, Texas. The state has permitted it since November 7, 1985, for up to 95 children, serving infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM.

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation made 12 visits in the last 3 years and cited 7 rules across 3 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

InfantsSchool-ageAccepts child care subsidy

Ages served: infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Hours today
7:30 AM to 5:30 PM
Licensed capacity
95 children

Hours

Hours

MondayToday7:30 AM to 5:30 PM
Tuesday7:30 AM to 5:30 PM
Wednesday7:30 AM to 5:30 PM
Thursday7:30 AM to 5:30 PM
Friday7:30 AM to 5:30 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

AgesInfants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age childrenFrom the state license
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Licensed capacity95 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

Good Samaritan Center has not listed its tuition. For comparison, full-time infant care at a child care center in Bexar County has a median price of $171 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition. The county medians below are a starting point.
Bexar County medians, full time, per week

Infant

Center$171
Home daycare$154

Toddler

Center$160
Home daycare$148

Preschool

Center$156
Home daycare$146

School age

Center$149
Home daycare$139

County median full-time prices at centers and home daycares, U.S. Department of Labor, National Database of Childcare Prices, 2022 (the latest year). Not this daycare's rates; prices have risen since.

State record

Inspection reports for Good Samaritan Center

License

Status
Licensed and operating
License type
Full Permit
Capacity
95 children
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Permit issued
1985
License number
#31441
See the state's record

Summary

12 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Aug 20, 2026: no rules cited

Rules cited on 4 of 12 visits · 7 rules in all · 7 corrected

  • Health, medication and illness 3
  • Safety and hazards 2
  • Supervision and ratios 1
  • Records and paperwork 1

For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 18 visits
  1. Aug 20, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Aug 12, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  3. Aug 10, 2026VisitNo rules cited
  4. May 8, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  5. May 1, 2026Inspection1 rule cited
    • Supervision and ratiosMedium High risk

      746.1605(1) - Child/Caregiver Ratio - 18 Months Difference in Age

      “At time of inspection one infant was observed to be in class with children 18 months older than the youngest. This was corrected at inspection when the 15 month old was placed in the infant's classroom.”

      The state verified the correction on May 8, 2026

  6. May 1, 2026Inspection1 rule cited
    • Supervision and ratiosMedium High risk

      746.1605(1) - Child/Caregiver Ratio - 18 Months Difference in Age

      “At time of inspection one infant was observed to be in class with children 18 months older than the youngest. This was corrected at inspection when the 15 month old was placed in the infant's classroom.”

      The state verified the correction on May 8, 2026

  7. Apr 21, 2026VisitNo rules cited
  8. Aug 11, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  9. Jul 28, 2025VisitNo rules cited
  10. May 13, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
Show 8 earlier visits
  1. May 5, 2025Inspection3 rules cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium High risk

      746.605(12) - Required Admission Information - Special Needs Statement

      “Five of the ten child files were missing special care information on the child enrollment form. One of the ten child files was missing release information. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection.”

      Corrected during the visit

    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.3505(e) - Diapering Procedures - Sanitizing Diaper Changing Area

      “In the infant classroom the changing table wasn't observed sanitized before changing another child. NOTE: This was correct at inspection.”

      The state verified the correction on May 13, 2025

    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.3417(3) - Children Handwashing After Toileting or Diapering

      “In the infant classroom a child's hands weren't washed after a diaper change. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection.”

      The state verified the correction on May 13, 2025

  2. Jun 24, 2024Inspection3 rules cited
    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.613(b) - Immunization Records, Exceptions, and Exemptions Current

      “One of the ten children records didn't have an updated immunization record.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 26, 2024

    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.5205(2) - Sheltering Drill For Severe Weather-Four times a calendar year

      “No documentation at the time of inspection for sheltering/severe weather drill.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 26, 2024

    • Safety and hazardsMedium risk

      746.4135(b) - Children's Products- Annual Certification

      “The annual consume product form was last reviewed on 6.6.23. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection.”

      Corrected during the visit

  3. Sep 6, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  4. Jul 18, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  5. Jun 26, 2023VisitNo rules cited
  6. Jun 26, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  7. Sep 30, 2022VisitNo rules cited
  8. Aug 15, 2022Inspection5 rules cited
    • Health, medication and illnessMedium risk

      746.603(a)(4) - Children's Records - Immunizations

      “One of the eight children did not have a current immunization record available.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 17, 2022

    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.3701(7) - Safety - Hinged Lid Storage Containers Safe

      “Two brown storage bins on the PreK playground were not equipped with ventilation holes.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 17, 2022

    • Safety and hazardsHigh risk

      746.5101(a) - Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months

      “Last fire inspection was conducted on 8.12.22”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 18, 2022

    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.5202(4) - Emergency Preparedness Plan-Continuity of Care Until Children Released

      “The emergency preparedness plan did not specify procedures for continuing care and relocation diagram.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 23, 2022

    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.501(a)(18) - Written Operational Policies - Promotion of Physical Activity

      “The operational policy did not specify the Benefits of physical activity Duration of physical activity for all ages Types of structured/unstructured activities Each setting that physical activity takes place Recommended clothing and footwear and Plans to continue physical activity when weather permits In addition to the Licensing website and intake number.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 23, 2022

Copied from Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation on October 1, 2026; the state's records start around Sep 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Good Samaritan Center

FAQ

Questions about Good Samaritan Center

Is Good Samaritan Center licensed?

Yes. Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists it as licensed and operating, with a permit issued November 7, 1985.

When was Good Samaritan Center last inspected?

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists the most recent visit on August 20, 2026, with no rules cited. It lists 12 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Good Samaritan Center had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 7 rules across 4 of 12 visits in the last 3 years; 7 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Good Samaritan Center care for?

95, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

Does Good Samaritan Center accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Good Samaritan Center's hours?

Monday to Friday, 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Good Samaritan Center cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (210) 434-5531 to ask.

What is Good Samaritan Center's phone number?

(210) 434-5531.

Where is Good Samaritan Center?

1600 Saltillo St, San Antonio, TX 78207. The nearest other daycare we list is Little Smiles Day Care, 0.6 miles away.

Sources: Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation (license and visits) · U.S. Department of Labor, 2022 (county prices).