Skip to content
Child care center 

Wynnefield Prep Academy

5359 Wynnefield Ave, Philadelphia, PA 191313.4· 15 reviews
licensed capacity
97
open each week
5 days

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Certified by the stateInspection record

About

About Wynnefield Prep Academy

Wynnefield Prep Academy is a child care center in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It is certified by the state, for up to 97 children, serving school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM. It describes its programs: after-school care and preschool.

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning made 3 visits in the last 3 years and cited 7 rules across 3 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

Before- and after-schoolAccepts child care subsidy

Ages served: school-age children

From the state license. Ages it lists: 12 months to 5 years (plus after school programs for school age children)
Ask when you call: rates, current openings and staff-to-child ratio.
Type
Child care center
Ages
School-age children
Hours today
7:30 AM to 5:30 PM
Licensed capacity
97 children

Hours

Hours

MondayToday7:30 AM to 5:30 PM
Tuesday7:30 AM to 5:30 PM
Wednesday7:30 AM to 5:30 PM
Thursday7:30 AM to 5:30 PM
Friday7:30 AM to 5:30 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayNot listed
From the state licenseHours it lists: “Mon-Fri 7 am - 6 pm”

Programs

Programs and care

AgesSchool-age childrenFrom the state license. It lists: 12 months to 5 years (plus after school programs for school age children)
ProgramsAfter-school care and preschool
EnrichmentMusic, foreign languages, art, games
StaffTeachers all trained and experienced in early childhood education
Daily lifeParents pack food
SafetyOutdoor playground
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Licensed capacity97 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

Wynnefield Prep Academy has not listed its tuition.

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition.

State record

Inspection reports for Wynnefield Prep Academy

License

Status
Certified by the state and operating
License type
Certificate of Compliance
Capacity
97 children
Ages
School-age children
License number
#CER-00255215
See the state's record

Summary

3 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Mar 26, 2026: 4 rules cited

Rules cited on 3 of 3 visits · 7 rules in all · 7 corrected

  • Records and paperwork 1
  • Safety and hazards 1
  • Background checks 1
  • Health, medication and illness 1
  • Food and nutrition 1
  • Supervision and ratios 1
  • Staff training and qualifications 1

For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 6 visits
  1. Mar 26, 2026Inspection4 rules cited
    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(f)/3270.181(c) Updated every 6 months/Emergency info/agreement updated 6 mos

      “During the renewal inspection on 03/26/26, Certification Representative reviewed the file for facility child #2 and found that the emergency contact form was not updated in a 6-month period.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 20, 2026

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.31(e)(4)(ii) Fire safety - 1 yr.

      “During the renewal inspection on 03/26/26, Certification Representative reviewed the file for staff member #1 and found that the fire safety training was not completed annually.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 20, 2026

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a)/3270.192(4) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information

      “During the renewal inspection on 03/26/26, Certification Representative reviewed the file for staff member #1 and found that the NSOR clearance was expired.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 20, 2026

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.131(b)(2) Toddler/preschool: updated health report every 12 months

      “During the renewal inspection on 03/26/26, Certification Representative reviewed the file for facility child #1 and found that the health assessment form on file was greater than one year. The last health assessment on file was dated 12/9/2024.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 20, 2026

  2. Mar 24, 2025Inspection1 rule cited
    • Food and nutrition

      3270.161(d) Potentially hazardous food refrigerated

      “During the renewal inspection on 3/25/25, Certification Representative observed a yogurt and a cheese stick sitting out in a child's cubby.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 24, 2025

  3. Feb 27, 2024Inspection2 rules cited
    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.123(a)(5) Designated release persons

      “During the renewal inspection on 02/27/24, the file for child #1 was reviewed and found that the agreement did not specify the persons designated by a parent to whom the child may be released.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 5, 2024

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.192(2)(i) Age

      “During the renewal inspection on 02/27/24, Certification Representative reviewed the file for staff #1 and found that the PA Driver's License was expired as of 05/10/2021.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 5, 2024

  4. Jan 18, 2023Inspection6 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.192(2)(i) Age

      “During a renewal inspection conducted on 1/18/2023, 3 staff files were reviewed. Staff member # 1 file contained a PA driver's license (DL) as proof of identification. The PA DL expired on 5/10/2021”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 31, 2023

    • Transportation

      3270.182(6) Signed parental consent for transportation, walking excursions, swimming and wading

      “During a renewal inspection conducted on 1/18/2023, 6 child files were reviewed. Child # 1,2 and3 files contained emergency contact form that did not have signed parental consent for transportation, swimming and wading”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 31, 2023

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a) Signed

      “During a renewal inspection conducted on 1/18/2023, 6 child files were reviewed. Child # 2 file contained a fee agreement that did not list the services to be provided.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 31, 2023

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(b)(4)/3270.182(3) Written consent/Consent for emergency medical care required prior to admission

      “During a renewal inspection conducted on 1/18/2023, 6 child files were reviewed. Child # 4 file contained an emergency contact from that did not have signed parental consent for emergency medical care”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 31, 2023

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.33(d) General requirements for facility persons

      “During a renewal inspection conducted on 1/18/2023, 3 staff files were reviewed. Staff member # 1 file did not contain verification of CPR/First Aid training.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 31, 2023

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.182(5) Consent for administration of minor first-aid required prior to admission

      “During a renewal inspection conducted on 1/18/2023, 6 child files were reviewed. Child # 4 file contained an emergency contact form that did not have signed parental consent for administration of minor first-aid procedures by facility staff”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 31, 2023

  5. Jun 23, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  6. Nov 15, 2021Inspection4 rules cited
    • Background checks

      3270.32(a)/3270.192(4) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information

      “During a renewal inspection conducted on 11/16/2021, 3 staff files were reviewed. Staff member # 1 file did not contain a National Sex Offender Registry Clearance. ** Facility Person # 1 may not work in a child care position at the facility.**”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 10, 2021

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(7) Services considered extra

      “During a renewal inspection conducted on 11/16/2021, 5 child files were reviewed. Child # 3 and 4 files contained fee agreements that did not specify the services which are to be considered as extra.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 10, 2021

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(b)(3) Parent home/work address, phone

      “During a renewal inspection conducted on 11/16/2021, 5 child files were reviewed. Child # 2 file contained an emergency contact form that did not list the enrolling parent's work address.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 28, 2021

    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.124(b)(7) Name/address/phone release person

      “During a renewal inspection conducted on 11/16/2021, 5 child files were reviewed. Child # 1 file contained an emergency contact form that did not list the address of the individual designated by the parent to whom the child may be released.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 28, 2021

Copied from Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning on October 2, 2026; the state's records start around Jun 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Wynnefield Prep Academy

FAQ

Questions about Wynnefield Prep Academy

Is Wynnefield Prep Academy licensed?

Yes. Wynnefield Prep Academy is certified by the state and operating. This is how Pennsylvania authorizes this type of child care.

When was Wynnefield Prep Academy last inspected?

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning lists the most recent visit on March 26, 2026, with 4 rules cited. It lists 3 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Wynnefield Prep Academy had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 7 rules across 3 of 3 visits in the last 3 years; 7 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Wynnefield Prep Academy care for?

97, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve school-age children.

Does Wynnefield Prep Academy accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Wynnefield Prep Academy's hours?

Monday to Friday, 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Wynnefield Prep Academy cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (215) 473-7041 to ask.

What is Wynnefield Prep Academy's phone number?

(215) 473-7041.

Where is Wynnefield Prep Academy?

5359 Wynnefield Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19131. The nearest other daycare we list is Gompers Samuel School, 0.2 miles away.

Sources: Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning (license and visits).