Skip to content
Child care center 

The Village Child Development Center

402 S Kaufman St, Newton, TX 75966
licensed capacity
75
open each week
5 days
a week, county median
$129
year first permitted
2011

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Licensed by the stateInspection record

About

About The Village Child Development Center

The Village Child Development Center is a licensed child care center in Newton, Texas. The state has permitted it since July 1, 2011, for up to 75 children, serving infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 6:30 AM to 6:00 PM.

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation made 8 visits in the last 3 years and cited 5 rules across 4 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

InfantsSchool-ageAccepts child care subsidyOpens before 7 AM

Ages served: infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Hours today
Closed today
Licensed capacity
75 children

Hours

Hours

Monday6:30 AM to 6:00 PM
Tuesday6:30 AM to 6:00 PM
Wednesday6:30 AM to 6:00 PM
Thursday6:30 AM to 6:00 PM
Friday6:30 AM to 6:00 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayTodayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

AgesInfants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age childrenFrom the state license
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Licensed capacity75 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

The Village Child Development Center has not listed its tuition. For comparison, full-time infant care at a child care center in Newton County has a median price of $129 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition. The county medians below are a starting point.
Newton County medians, full time, per week

Infant

Center$129
Home daycare$117

Toddler

Center$121
Home daycare$112

Preschool

Center$118
Home daycare$110

School age

Center$112
Home daycare$105

County median full-time prices at centers and home daycares, U.S. Department of Labor, National Database of Childcare Prices, 2022 (the latest year). Not this daycare's rates; prices have risen since.

State record

Inspection reports for The Village Child Development Center

License

Status
Licensed and operating
License type
Full Permit
Capacity
75 children
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Permit issued
2011
License number
#1347009
See the state's record

Summary

8 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Feb 3, 2026: 2 rules cited

Rules cited on 4 of 8 visits · 5 rules in all · 5 corrected

  • Safety and hazards 2
  • Records and paperwork 2
  • Health, medication and illness 1

For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 13 visits
  1. Feb 3, 2026Inspection2 rules cited
    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.3401(a) - Annual Sanitation Inspection

      “The most recent health inspection was conducted on 10/1/2024. The director will make contact with the health inspector so that a new inspection can be completed by the compliance date.”

      The state verified the correction on Feb 17, 2026

    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.5101(b) - Annual Fire Inspection - Conducted by Fire Marshal

      “The most recent fire inspection was conducted on 4/4/2024. The director will make contact with the fire marshal so a new inspection can be completed by the compliance date.”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 6, 2026

  2. Jan 23, 2026Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “The operation did not report via online provider account the number of employees who ceased working at the operation during the previous calendar year by January 15th, 2026 as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Feb 3, 2026

  3. Apr 24, 2025VisitNo rules cited
  4. Feb 13, 2025Inspection1 rule cited
    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.5205(3) - Sheltering Drills for Lock-Down-4 times in a calendar year

      “The operation has not been conducting lock-down drills as required by standards. Documentation of a completed drill will be sent to CCR staff by the compliance date.”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 10, 2025

  5. Jan 24, 2025Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A Review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2024 data from January 22, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 27, 2025

  6. Dec 30, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  7. Dec 23, 2024VisitNo rules cited
  8. Apr 9, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  9. May 5, 2023Inspection1 rule cited
    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.5101(b) - Annual Fire Inspection - Conducted by Fire Marshal

      “The most recent fire inspection was conducted on 4/5/2022. The director will schedule a new inspection to be completed by a certified inspector by the compliance date.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 26, 2023

  10. Jun 13, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
Show 3 earlier visits
  1. Mar 2, 2022Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22nd, 2022, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 4, 2022

  2. Dec 22, 2021InspectionNo rules cited
  3. Dec 21, 2021VisitNo rules cited

Copied from Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation on October 1, 2026; the state's records start around Sep 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near The Village Child Development Center

FAQ

Questions about The Village Child Development Center

Is The Village Child Development Center licensed?

Yes. Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists it as licensed and operating, with a permit issued July 1, 2011.

When was The Village Child Development Center last inspected?

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists the most recent visit on February 3, 2026, with 2 rules cited. It lists 8 visits in the last 3 years.

Has The Village Child Development Center had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 5 rules across 4 of 8 visits in the last 3 years; 5 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can The Village Child Development Center care for?

75, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

Does The Village Child Development Center accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are The Village Child Development Center's hours?

Monday to Friday, 6:30 AM to 6:00 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does The Village Child Development Center cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (409) 379-2083 to ask.

What is The Village Child Development Center's phone number?

(409) 379-2083.

Where is The Village Child Development Center?

402 S Kaufman St, Newton, TX 75966. The nearest other daycare we list is Newton Head Start, 3.1 miles away.

Sources: Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation (license and visits) · U.S. Department of Labor, 2022 (county prices).