Red Lion Elementary School
256 Geiger Rd, Philadelphia, PA
We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.
Own this daycare? Claim itAbout
St Alphonsas is a child care center in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It is certified by the state, for up to 120 children, serving school-age children.
It is open Monday to Friday, 6:30 AM to 6:00 PM.
Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning made 3 visits in the last 3 years and cited 21 rules across 3 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.
Hours
| Monday | 6:30 AM to 6:00 PM |
|---|---|
| Tuesday | 6:30 AM to 6:00 PM |
| Wednesday | 6:30 AM to 6:00 PM |
| Thursday | 6:30 AM to 6:00 PM |
| Friday | 6:30 AM to 6:00 PM |
| Saturday | Not listed |
| SundayToday | Not listed |
Programs
| Ages | School-age childrenFrom the state license |
|---|---|
| Child care subsidy | Accepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license |
| Licensed capacity | 120 childrenFrom the state license |
Cost
St Alphonsas has not listed its tuition.
State record
3 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit May 18, 2026: 12 rules cited
Rules cited on 3 of 3 visits · 21 rules in all · 21 corrected
For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14.
A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.
Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record
3270.123(a)(5) Designated release persons
“Fee agreement for child 3,4 and 5 did not specify the persons designated by a parent to whom the child may be released.”
Correction date in the state record: May 18, 2026
3270.181(c) Emergency info/agreement updated 6 mos
“Fee agreement for child 1 and 2 were expired”
Correction date in the state record: May 20, 2026
3270.31(f) Health and Safety Training
“Staff 1 has first aid CPR on file but it is not from an approved curriculum/ PQAS certified trainer.”
Correction date in the state record: Jun 8, 2026
3270.66(a) Locked or inaccessible
“Cleaning wipes was accessible in preschool classroom. Diaper cream was accessible in the first and second bathroom on the 2nd floor. Lysol was accessible in the second bathroom on the second floor.”
Correction date in the state record: May 18, 2026
3270.77(a) No peeling paint or plaster
“Chipped paint was observed in PHLprek 2”
Correction date in the state record: May 29, 2026
3270.124(b)(7) Name/address/phone release person
“Emergency contact for child 4 and 5 was missing the address of the individual designated by the parent to whom the child may be released.”
Correction date in the state record: May 20, 2026
3270.124(b)(3) Parent home/work address, phone
“Emergency contact for child 1,2,3,4 and 5 was missing work addresses and telephone numbers of the enrolling parent.”
Correction date in the state record: May 19, 2026
3270.123(a)(7) Services considered extra
“Fee agreement for child 3 and 5 did not specify the services which are to be considered as extra.”
Correction date in the state record: May 19, 2026
3270.82(h) Handwashing signs
“Handwashing signs were missing in both bathrooms on the second floor.”
Correction date in the state record: May 18, 2026
3270.107 Refrigerator
“A thermometer was missing in the refrigerator in Phlprek 1”
Correction date in the state record: May 18, 2026
3270.123(a)(6) Admission date
“Fee agreement for child 3 and 5 did not specify the date of the child's admission.”
Correction date in the state record: May 18, 2026
3270.131(b)(2) Toddler/preschool: updated health report every 12 months
“Health assessment for child 5 was expired (dated January 2025)”
Correction date in the state record: May 29, 2026
3270.32(a)/3270.192(4) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information
“The state police clearance in the file for staff #1 was in pending status at the time of inspection.”
Correction date in the state record: Jul 25, 2025
3270.107/3270.161(d) Refrigerator/Potentially hazardous food refrigerated
“The refrigerator in the classroom used to store facility children's food was dirty at the time of inspection.”
Correction date in the state record: Jul 25, 2025
3270.91(a) Stairs, exits, etc. unobstructed
“During the inspection on 7/15/24, the main entrance was cluttered with various items that blocked access to the doors. There was a large stroller, pieces of wood, boxes of blinds, and other items.”
Correction date in the state record: Jul 17, 2024
3270.171(b)/3270.171(c) Safe pick-up and drop-off in writing/Safe routes posted
“The safe routes were not posted for parent's use at the time of inspection.”
Correction date in the state record: Jul 31, 2024
3270.75(c) Has all items
“The first aid kits in the pre-school and camp classrooms did not have all seven items required by the DHS-OCDEL regulations.”
Correction date in the state record: Jul 19, 2024
3270.76 Building Surfaces
“At the time of inspection, peeling paint and rust was observed on the door in the play space leading to the second level of the facility.”
Correction date in the state record: Jul 31, 2024
3270.76/3270.77(a) Building Surfaces/No peeling paint or plaster
“There were gap in the (Turf) flooring on the outdoor playground which could pose a tripping hazard to the facility children in care.”
Correction date in the state record: Aug 8, 2024
3270.76/3270.77(a) Building Surfaces/No peeling paint or plaster
“At the entrance to the facility, at the time of inspection, there was damaged wood and peeling paint on the lower section of the wall.”
Correction date in the state record: Aug 8, 2024
3270.69(b) 110º F or less
“When tested with a thermometer at the time of inspection the water temperature at sinks used by facility children was 135 degrees.”
Correction date in the state record: Aug 8, 2024
3270.124(b)(7) Name/address/phone release person
“At time of inspection, child #1 did not have the address of release person documented on their emergency contact form.”
Correction date in the state record: Jun 30, 2023
3270.192(5) Two written references
“At time of inspection, staff person #2 only had one of the two required nonfamily reference documented in her record.”
Correction date in the state record: Jun 30, 2023
3270.113(a) Supervised at all times
“During time of inspection, there was an older toddler in the main 1st floor room able to elope out of the sight of supervising staff into an adjacent hallway unsupervised for approximately 30 seconds.”
Correction date in the state record: Jun 30, 2023
3270.151(c)(2)/3270.192(3) Mantoux TB/Health assessment, TB test
“Staff person # 1 and #2 did not have TB screenings, x-ray and/or medical documentation to confirm they are free from TB documented in their records.”
Correction date in the state record: Jun 30, 2023
3270.124(b)(4)/3270.182(3) Written consent/Consent for emergency medical care required prior to admission
“At time of inspection, child # 2 did not have signed parental consent for emergency medical care documented in their record.”
Correction date in the state record: Jun 30, 2023
3270.151(a)/3270.192(3) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter/Health assessment, TB test
“At time of inspection, staff person #1 and #2 both newly hired did not have current health assessments documented in their file.”
Correction date in the state record: Jun 30, 2023
3270.131(d)(5)/3270.131(e)(2)(i) Immunization record/Exemption documentation from parent/guardian
“At time of inspection, child # 1-4 did not have updated immunization for influenza documented in their records and/or written exemption letters signed by the parent.”
Correction date in the state record: Jun 30, 2023
3270.76/3270.77(a) Building Surfaces/No peeling paint or plaster
“During time of inspection, the play table used by the children in the main childcare space had chipped paint and was in need of repainting.”
Correction date in the state record: Aug 5, 2022
3270.32(a)/3270.192(4) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information
“Staff person # 4 did not have FBI clearance and NSOR certificate documented in their record.”
Correction date in the state record: Aug 5, 2022
3270.31(e)(4)(ii) Fire safety - 1 yr.
“Staff person # 1-3 (all working at facility over 1 year) didn't have fire safety training documented in their records.”
Correction date in the state record: Aug 5, 2022
3270.27(c)/3270.192(2)(iii) Training regarding plan/Exp, educ., training at facility
“Staff person #1-4 did not have annual emergency plan training completed and documented in their records.”
Correction date in the state record: Jul 29, 2022
3270.151(a)/3270.192(3) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter/Health assessment, TB test
“At time of inspection, staff person #4 did not have an health assessment documented in their record.”
Correction date in the state record: Aug 5, 2022
3270.124(b)(6) Insurance coverage information
“At time of inspection, child #1 did not have the name of health care provider documented on their emergency contact form.”
Correction date in the state record: Jul 29, 2022
Reviews
If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.
256 Geiger Rd, Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA 19115 · Home daycare: the provider shares the address with families
1701 Welsh Rd, Philadelphia, PA
9365 Old Bustleton Ave, Philadelphia, PA
9356 Old Bustleton Ave, Philadelphia, PA
9307 Banes St, Philadelphia, PA
9313 Old Bustleton Ave, Philadelphia, PA
2000 Bowler St, Philadelphia, PA
9331 Krewstown Rd, Philadelphia, PA
FAQ
Yes. St Alphonsas is certified by the state and operating. This is how Pennsylvania authorizes this type of child care.
Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning lists the most recent visit on May 18, 2026, with 12 rules cited. It lists 3 visits in the last 3 years.
Yes. Inspectors cited 21 rules across 3 of 3 visits in the last 3 years; 21 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.
120, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve school-age children.
Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.
Monday to Friday, 6:30 AM to 6:00 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.
It has not listed its tuition. Call (215) 673-3800 to ask.
(215) 673-3800.
9551 Bustleton Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19115. The nearest other daycare we list is Rising Scholars, 0.2 miles away.