Skip to content
Child care center 

Rising Scholars

9307 Banes St, Philadelphia, PA 191154.1· 42 reviews
licensed capacity
18
open each week
5 days

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Certified by the stateInspection record

About

About Rising Scholars

Rising Scholars is a child care center in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It is certified by the state, for up to 18 children, serving school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM.

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning made 4 visits in the last 3 years and cited 20 rules across 4 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

School-ageAccepts child care subsidy

Ages served: school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
School-age children
Hours today
7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Licensed capacity
18 children

Hours

Hours

MondayToday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Tuesday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Wednesday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Thursday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Friday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

AgesSchool-age childrenFrom the state license
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Licensed capacity18 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

Rising Scholars has not listed its tuition.

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition.

State record

Inspection reports for Rising Scholars

License

Status
Certified by the state and operating
License type
Certificate of Compliance
Capacity
18 children
Ages
School-age children
License number
#CER-00253000
See the state's record

Summary

4 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Feb 10, 2026: 14 rules cited

Rules cited on 4 of 4 visits · 20 rules in all · 20 corrected

  • Records and paperwork 5
  • Safety and hazards 4
  • Health, medication and illness 3
  • Staff training and qualifications 2
  • Transportation 1
  • Background checks 1
  • Supervision and ratios 1
  • Safe sleep 1
  • Food and nutrition 1
  • Building, equipment and play areas 1

For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 6 visits
  1. Feb 10, 2026Inspection14 rules cited
    • Transportation

      3270.182(5)/3270.182(6) Consent for administration of minor first-aid required prior to admission/Signed parental consent for transportation, walking excursions, swimming and wading

      “Observed 2/10/2026 child # 1 and 5 emergency contact form did not contain signed parental consent for administration of minor first-aid procedures by facility staff and signed parental consent for transportation, walking excursions, swimming and wading.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 17, 2026

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.31(e)(4)(ii) Fire safety - 1 yr.

      “Observed 2/10/2026 staff #2 did not contain annual fire safety training in their file.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 17, 2026

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a)/3270.192(4) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information

      “Observed 2/10/2026 staff #3 has not completed their National Sex Offender Registry clearance within the last 60 months. This is evidenced by the previously documented National Sex Offender Registry clearance on file being dated (2-3-2020).”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 17, 2026

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.66(b) Original container

      “Observed 2/10/2026 there was Purell surface disinfectant spray labeled "Keep out of Reach of Children" located in the childcare areas where children handwash that were not locked and made inaccessible to children.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 17, 2026

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a) Signed

      “Observed 2/10/2026 child #4 agreement form was not signed by the operator.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 17, 2026

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(1) Amount of fee

      “Observed 2/10/2026 child #4 agreement form did not specify the amount of the fee to be charged per day or per week.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 17, 2026

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(6)/3270.182(2) Admission date/Application, admission, withdrawal dates

      “Observed 2/10/2026 child # 4 agreement form did not specify the date of the child's admission.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 17, 2026

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(b)(6) Insurance coverage information

      “Observed 2/10/2026 in child # 1,3 and 4 file the health insurance information was incomplete from the emergency contact form.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 17, 2026

    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.124(b)(7) Name/address/phone release person

      “Observed 2/10/2026 child # 1 file was missing the name, telephone and addresses of the individuals designated by the parent to whom the child may be released to on the emergency contact form”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 17, 2026

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(f)/3270.181(c) Updated every 6 months/Emergency info/agreement updated 6 mos

      “Observed 2/10/2026 child #3 file did not contain a review and update on the emergency contact at and agreement form that is conducted once in a 6-month period or as soon as there is a change in the information.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 17, 2026

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.151(c)(2)/3270.192(3) Mantoux TB/Health assessment, TB test

      “Observed 2/10/2026 staff #4 tuberculosis screening by the Mantoux method test did not include the date the test was interpreted by a physician, physician's assistant, CRNP, the Department of Health or a local health department.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 17, 2026

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.182(3)/3270.182(4) Consent for emergency medical care required prior to admission/Consent for administration of medications or special dietary needs

      “Observed 2/10/2026 child # 1 and 5 emergency contact form did not contain signed parental consent for emergency medical care for the child and signed parental consent for administration of medications or special dietary needs.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 17, 2026

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.131(a)/3270.182(1) Health information/Initial and subsequent health reports

      “Observed 2/10/2026 children# 1 and 4 did not contain health reports in their files.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 17, 2026

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(e) Age and Training

      “Observed 2/10/2026 Staff #1 and 2 was missing 12 hours from their annual 12 hours of childcare training.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 17, 2026

  2. Jun 30, 2025Inspection2 rules cited
    • Safe sleep

      3270.106(a)/3270.106(f) Clean, age appropriate/2 feet apart

      “During nap, at the time of inspection, the rest equipment was not spaced adequately.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 30, 2025

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.36(b)(5)/3270.192(5) HS/GED + 2 yrs/Two written references

      “At the time of inspection, the file for staff #1 did not have written proof of required 2-yrs experience on file.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jul 7, 2025

  3. Feb 10, 2025Inspection2 rules cited
    • Safety and hazards

      3270.69(b) 110º F or less

      “When checked at the time of inspection, the water temperature at the sink used by facility children to wash their hands was 120 degrees.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 24, 2025

    • Food and nutrition

      3270.107/3270.161(d) Refrigerator/Potentially hazardous food refrigerated

      “The lunch for two facility children (1) Mac & Cheese and (2) Meatballs was observed in a lunch bag not refrigerated at the time of inspection.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 24, 2025

  4. Feb 26, 2024Inspection2 rules cited
    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.102(a)/3270.108(c) Clean and good repair/No styrofoam

      “The mats (rest equipment) used for napping were cracked with exposed foam at the time of inspection. The foam could pose a chocking hazard.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 1, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.69(b) 110º F or less

      “When checked with a thermometer at the time of inspection, the water temperature at a sink used by the facility children was 123 degrees.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 1, 2024

  5. Dec 22, 2022Inspection5 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.192(5) Two written references

      “At time of inspection, staff person #1 only had 1 nonfamily reference documented in their record.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 3, 2023

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.151(c)(2)/3270.192(3) Mantoux TB/Health assessment, TB test

      “At time of inspection, staff person # 2 did not have date of negative TB screening and/or x-ray documented in her record.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 3, 2023

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(b)(6)/3270.124(b)(7) Insurance coverage information/Name/address/phone release person

      “At time of inspection, the parents of child #3 did not have name of health care provider documented on their child's emergency contact form. In addition, the parents of children # 1 and #3 did not have the address of release person documented on their child's emergency contact form.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 3, 2023

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a)/3270.192(4) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information

      “At time of inspection, staff person #2 did not have required FBI clearance documented in her record.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 10, 2023

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.182(3)/3270.182(5) Consent for emergency medical care required prior to admission/Consent for administration of minor first-aid required prior to admission

      “The parents of child # 2 and #4 did not provide written parental consent for emergency medical care and/or administration of minor first aid.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 3, 2023

  6. Dec 2, 2021Inspection2 rules cited
    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.124(b)(7) Name/address/phone release person

      “The emergency contact form for child #1 did not have the address listed for the persons the child is permitted to be released to in the event of an emergency.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 4, 2022

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.181(c) Emergency info/agreement updated 6 mos

      “The parents of child #2 did not have an updated signed agreement form documented in their file. (last agreement dated 6/22/21)”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 4, 2022

Copied from Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning on October 2, 2026; the state's records start around Jun 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Rising Scholars

FAQ

Questions about Rising Scholars

Is Rising Scholars licensed?

Yes. Rising Scholars is certified by the state and operating. This is how Pennsylvania authorizes this type of child care.

When was Rising Scholars last inspected?

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning lists the most recent visit on February 10, 2026, with 14 rules cited. It lists 4 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Rising Scholars had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 20 rules across 4 of 4 visits in the last 3 years; 20 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Rising Scholars care for?

18, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve school-age children.

Does Rising Scholars accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Rising Scholars' hours?

Monday to Friday, 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Rising Scholars cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (215) 464-3150 to ask.

What is Rising Scholars' phone number?

(215) 464-3150.

Where is Rising Scholars?

9307 Banes St, Philadelphia, PA 19115. The nearest other daycare we list is Alphabet Alley, 0.2 miles away.

Sources: Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning (license and visits).