Skip to content
Child care center 

Primrose School of Upper Kirby

3001 Richmond Ave, Houston, TX 770984.1· 110 reviews
licensed capacity
207
open each week
5 days
a week, county median
$185
year first permitted
2016

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Licensed by the stateInspection record

About

About Primrose School of Upper Kirby

Primrose School of Upper Kirby is a licensed child care center in Houston, Texas. The state has permitted it since October 21, 2016, for up to 207 children, serving infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 6:30 AM to 6:30 PM. It describes its programs: after-school care, before-school care, infant care and pre-k.

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation made 21 visits in the last 3 years and cited 10 rules across 9 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

InfantsPreschool / pre-KBefore- and after-schoolSummer campOpens before 7 AM

Ages served: infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: rates, current openings and staff-to-child ratio.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Hours today
6:30 AM to 6:30 PM
Licensed capacity
207 children

Hours

Hours

MondayToday6:30 AM to 6:30 PM
Tuesday6:30 AM to 6:30 PM
Wednesday6:30 AM to 6:30 PM
Thursday6:30 AM to 6:30 PM
Friday6:30 AM to 6:30 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayNot listed
From the state licenseHours it lists: “M-F 6:30 am-6:30 pm”

Programs

Programs and care

AgesInfants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age childrenFrom the state license
ProgramsAfter-school care, before-school care, infant care, pre-k, preschool, summer camp and toddler care
CurriculumPrimrose Schools Balanced Learning®
StaffBackground check; CPR and first-aid certified
Parent updatesParent app (Procare)
Licensed capacity207 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

Primrose School of Upper Kirby has not listed its tuition. For comparison, full-time infant care at a child care center in Harris County has a median price of $185 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition. The county medians below are a starting point.
Harris County medians, full time, per week

Infant

Center$185
Home daycare$164

Toddler

Center$172
Home daycare$155

Preschool

Center$167
Home daycare$153

School age

Center$156
Home daycare$144

County median full-time prices at centers and home daycares, U.S. Department of Labor, National Database of Childcare Prices, 2022 (the latest year). Not this daycare's rates; prices have risen since.

State record

Inspection reports for Primrose School of Upper Kirby

License

Status
Licensed and operating
License type
Full Permit
Capacity
207 children
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Permit issued
2016
License number
#1623720
See the state's record

Summary

21 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Jul 27, 2026: no rules cited

Rules cited on 10 of 21 visits · 10 rules in all · 10 corrected

  • Supervision and ratios 4
  • Discipline and child guidance 3
  • Safety and hazards 2
  • Records and paperwork 1

For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

The state lists conditions on this permit.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 26 visits
  1. Jul 27, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Jul 16, 2026Visit1 rule cited
    • Safety and hazardsHigh risk

      746.5101(a) - Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months

      “Documentation showing a fire inspection has been conducted was unavailable for review upon request.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 23, 2026

  3. Jul 16, 2026Visit1 rule cited
    • Safety and hazardsHigh risk

      746.5101(a) - Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months

      “Documentation showing a fire inspection has been conducted was unavailable for review upon request.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 23, 2026

  4. May 14, 2026Inspection1 rule cited
    • Safety and hazardsHigh risk

      746.5101(a) - Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months

      “Documentation showing a fire inspection has been conducted was unavailable for review upon request.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 16, 2026

  5. May 1, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  6. Apr 27, 2026VisitNo rules cited
  7. Feb 24, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  8. Jan 16, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  9. Jan 15, 2026Visit1 rule cited
    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.1205(a)(4) - Supervision ensures each child’s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child’s on going activity

      “Based upon the information obtained, there is sufficient evidence to support a child was left on the playground unsupervised.”

      The state verified the correction on Feb 24, 2026

  10. Aug 5, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
Show 16 earlier visits
  1. Jul 8, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Jun 27, 2025Inspection1 rule cited
    • Discipline and child guidanceHigh risk

      746.2805(3) - Prohibited Punishments - Grabbing and Pulling

      “A caregiver was observed grabbing a child during the follow-up inspection.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 8, 2025

  3. Jun 17, 2025Inspection1 rule cited
    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.1205(a)(1) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know children responsible for

      “A caregiver did know the number of children in care. The caregiver stated there were 6 children present and there was only 5 children.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 27, 2025

  4. Jun 13, 2025Inspection1 rule cited
    • Supervision and ratiosMedium High risk

      746.1205(a)(3) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know children's names and ages

      “A caregiver did not know the ages of the children in care.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 17, 2025

  5. Jun 10, 2025Visit1 rule cited
    • Discipline and child guidanceHigh risk

      746.2805(3) - Prohibited Punishments - Grabbing and Pulling

      “Based upon the information obtained, there is sufficient evidence to support a child was pulled while in care.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 5, 2025

  6. Jun 6, 2025Inspection2 rules cited
    • Supervision and ratiosMedium High risk

      746.1205(a)(3) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know children's names and ages

      “A caregiver did not know the ages of the children in care.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 13, 2025

    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.801(6) - Required Records Maintained and Made Available - Liability Insurance

      “Proof of current liability insurance was unavailable upon request.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 11, 2025

  7. Jan 14, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  8. Dec 5, 2024Complaint investigation1 rule cited
    • Discipline and child guidanceHigh risk

      746.2805(3) - Prohibited Punishments - Grabbing and Pulling

      “Based on the information obtained during the DFPS investigation it was determined a caregiver used prohibited punishment by grabbing a child.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 14, 2025

  9. Nov 14, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  10. Jul 16, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  11. Jan 12, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  12. Jul 25, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  13. Oct 13, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  14. Oct 3, 2022Inspection2 rules cited
    • Background checksMedium risk

      745.651(1) - Background Check Validation - You must inactivate a subject who is no longer associated with your operation within 7 days of leaving

      “The operation failed to inactivate two staff members background checks who are no longer employed at the operation with seven days of leaving the operation. One staff member last date of employment was on 9/9/2022 and the other staff member last date of employment was on 9/13/2022. Note: The two staff members background check were inactivated during the inspection.”

      Corrected during the visit

    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.1203(2) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know Group Responsible For

      “A caregiver responsible for the 1yr. and 2yr. olds did not state the correct number of children currently present in the classroom. The caregiver stated there were 10 children. There were 9 children currently present.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 13, 2022

  15. Aug 25, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  16. Aug 9, 2022Inspection6 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1309(a) - Documented Annual Training Area - 24 Hours Required

      “Four personnel records evaluated were missing 24 annual training hours.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 9, 2022

    • Food and nutritionMedium risk

      746.2421(b) - Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days

      “Five infants who are not ready for table food did not have updated feeding instruction sheets. Note: The infant feeding sheets were updated during the inspection.”

      Corrected during the visit

    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.3819 - Food Allergy Emergency Plan Signed by Parents and Health Care Professional

      “A child with a diagnosed food allergy and that requires an epipen is missing their parent signature on the food allergy emergency form. Note: The food allergy emergency form was signed by the child's parent during the inspection.”

      Corrected during the visit

    • Records and paperworkMedium High risk

      746.605(6) - Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact

      “Six children records reviewed were missing the emergency contact information from their files.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 12, 2022

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1311(a) - Director Annual Training 30 Hours Required

      “The center director is missing 12 of 30 annual training hours.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 9, 2022

    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.1203(2) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know Group Responsible For

      “A caregiver in the infant room (3m to 7m) did not state the correct number of children present. The caregiver stated there were 8 children present but there were 7 children currently present.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 25, 2022

Copied from Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation on October 1, 2026; the state's records start around Sep 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Primrose School of Upper Kirby

FAQ

Questions about Primrose School of Upper Kirby

Is Primrose School of Upper Kirby licensed?

Yes. Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists it as licensed and operating, with a permit issued October 21, 2016.

When was Primrose School of Upper Kirby last inspected?

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists the most recent visit on July 27, 2026, with no rules cited. It lists 21 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Primrose School of Upper Kirby had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 10 rules across 10 of 21 visits in the last 3 years; 10 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Primrose School of Upper Kirby care for?

207, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

Does Primrose School of Upper Kirby accept child care subsidies?

The state record does not list it as accepting subsidies. Ask the provider directly.

What are Primrose School of Upper Kirby's hours?

Monday to Friday, 6:30 AM to 6:30 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Primrose School of Upper Kirby cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (713) 522-6700 to ask.

What is Primrose School of Upper Kirby's phone number?

(713) 522-6700.

Where is Primrose School of Upper Kirby?

3001 Richmond Ave, Houston, TX 77098. The nearest other daycare we list is LIPP-Upper Kirby, 0.4 miles away.

Sources: Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation (license and visits) · U.S. Department of Labor, 2022 (county prices).