Skip to content
Child care center 

Penn Children's Center

3160 Chestnut St Left Bank Commons Ste 100, Philadelphia, PA 191045.0· 8 reviews
licensed capacity
187
open each week
5 days
monthly, posted tuition
$2,544

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Certified by the stateInspection record

About

About Penn Children's Center

Penn Children's Center is a child care center in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It is certified by the state, for up to 187 children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 7:30 AM to 6:00 PM. It describes a Play-based approach, with drop-in care, infant care, preschool and toddler care. It lists monthly tuition from $2,544 to $2,842.

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning made 6 visits in the last 3 years and cited 4 rules across 2 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

InfantsAccepts child care subsidyPosts tuition
Ask when you call: current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
12 weeks through 5 years
Hours today
7:30 AM to 6:00 PM
Licensed capacity
187 children

Hours

Hours

MondayToday7:30 AM to 6:00 PM
Tuesday7:30 AM to 6:00 PM
Wednesday7:30 AM to 6:00 PM
Thursday7:30 AM to 6:00 PM
Friday7:30 AM to 6:00 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

Ages12 weeks through 5 years
ProgramsDrop-in care, infant care, preschool and toddler care
ApproachPlay-based
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Licensed capacity187 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

Penn Children's Center lists monthly tuition from $2,544 to $2,842.

Monthly · program, in its own wordsPrice
Infants 4 Days – Regular Rate$2,544
Infants 5 Days – Regular Rate$2,842
Toddlers – Regular Rate$2,644
3 posted prices. Rates change, so confirm before you enroll.

State record

Inspection reports for Penn Children's Center

License

Status
Certified by the state and operating
License type
Certificate of Compliance
Capacity
187 children
License number
#CER-00256469
See the state's record

Summary

6 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Apr 21, 2026: no rules cited

Rules cited on 2 of 6 visits · 4 rules in all · 4 corrected

  • Safe sleep 2
  • Discipline and child guidance 1
  • Staff training and qualifications 1

For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 11 visits
  1. Apr 21, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Feb 18, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  3. Feb 6, 2026Complaint investigation3 rules cited
    • Safe sleep

      3270.119 Infant sleep position

      “On February 3, 2026, a child was accepted into care asleep in a car seat and remained asleep in the car seat for approximately 30 minutes while under staff supervision.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 6, 2026

    • Safe sleep

      3270.106(a) Clean, age appropriate

      “On February 3, 2026, a child was accepted into care asleep in a car seat and remained asleep in the car seat for approximately 30 minutes while under staff supervision.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 6, 2026

    • Discipline and child guidance

      3270.112 Infant/Toddler Stimulation

      “On February 3, 2026, a child was accepted into care asleep in a car seat and remained asleep in the car seat for approximately 30 minutes while under staff supervision.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 6, 2026

  4. Apr 24, 2025Inspection1 rule cited
    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.37(b)(1)/3270.192(2)(ii) HS/GED/Exp, educ., training prior to facility

      “At the time of inspection, staff person #1 did not have verification of education prior to service at the facility.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 27, 2025

  5. Sep 18, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  6. Apr 17, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  7. Oct 18, 2023Visit2 rules cited
    • Food and nutrition

      3270.161(b) Food

      “Per the director's admission, a bottle was served to the incorrect child.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 18, 2023

    • Food and nutrition

      3270.161(b) Food

      “Per the director's admission, a bottle was served to the incorrect child.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 18, 2023

  8. Oct 18, 2023Visit2 rules cited
    • Food and nutrition

      3270.161(b) Food

      “Per the director's admission, a bottle was served to the incorrect child.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 18, 2023

    • Food and nutrition

      3270.161(b) Food

      “Per the director's admission, a bottle was served to the incorrect child.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 18, 2023

  9. Jun 7, 2023Inspection9 rules cited
    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.113(a) Supervised at all times

      “Self-reported noncompliance was received regarding incident that occurred on 05/29/23. During transition from outdoor play area back into the building staff member #1 accidentally left child #1 on outdoor play area unsupervised.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 29, 2023

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(1)/3270.123(a)(2) Amount of fee/Date fee to be paid

      “During the renewal inspection on 06/07/23 the fee agreement reviewed for child #7 and child #10 did not specify fee amount and date on which the fee is to be paid.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 14, 2023

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.76 Building Surfaces

      “During the renewal inspection on 06/07/23 a section of the outdoor play surface rubber material was in need of repair.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 7, 2023

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.131(b)(2)/3270.182(1) Toddler/preschool: updated health report every 12 months/Initial and subsequent health reports

      “During the renewal inspection on 06/07/23 the health report reviewed for child #12 was not updated within 12-month time period. Health report reviewed was dated 04/20/22.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 12, 2023

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.65 Protective Outlet Covers 5 yrs. or less

      “During the renewal inspection on 06/07/23 there were missing electrical outlet covers observed in front hallway and in Penguins classroom.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 7, 2023

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.27(c) Training regarding plan

      “During the renewal inspection on 06/07/23 the file reviewed for staff #1 and staff #2 did not include documentation of emergency plan training at the time of hire.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 12, 2023

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.182(5) Consent for administration of minor first-aid required prior to admission

      “During the renewal inspection on 06/07/23 the emergency contact form reviewed for child #1, child #8, child #9, and child #12 did not include signed parental consent for administering minor first-aid.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 14, 2023

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(b)(4)/3270.182(3) Written consent/Consent for emergency medical care required prior to admission

      “During the renewal inspection on 06/07/23 the emergency contact form reviewed for child #8, child #9 and child #12 did not include signed parental consent for emergency medical care.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 14, 2023

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(6)/3270.182(2) Admission date/Application, admission, withdrawal dates

      “During the renewal on 06/07/23 the fee agreement reviewed for child #4, child #7, and child #10 did not specify the date of child's admission.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 14, 2023

  10. Jun 7, 2023Visit9 rules cited
    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.113(a) Supervised at all times

      “Self-reported noncompliance was received regarding incident that occurred on 05/29/23. During transition from outdoor play area back into the building staff member #1 accidentally left child #1 on outdoor play area unsupervised.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 29, 2023

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(1)/3270.123(a)(2) Amount of fee/Date fee to be paid

      “During the renewal inspection on 06/07/23 the fee agreement reviewed for child #7 and child #10 did not specify fee amount and date on which the fee is to be paid.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 14, 2023

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.76 Building Surfaces

      “During the renewal inspection on 06/07/23 a section of the outdoor play surface rubber material was in need of repair.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 7, 2023

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.131(b)(2)/3270.182(1) Toddler/preschool: updated health report every 12 months/Initial and subsequent health reports

      “During the renewal inspection on 06/07/23 the health report reviewed for child #12 was not updated within 12-month time period. Health report reviewed was dated 04/20/22.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 12, 2023

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.65 Protective Outlet Covers 5 yrs. or less

      “During the renewal inspection on 06/07/23 there were missing electrical outlet covers observed in front hallway and in Penguins classroom.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 7, 2023

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.27(c) Training regarding plan

      “During the renewal inspection on 06/07/23 the file reviewed for staff #1 and staff #2 did not include documentation of emergency plan training at the time of hire.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 12, 2023

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.182(5) Consent for administration of minor first-aid required prior to admission

      “During the renewal inspection on 06/07/23 the emergency contact form reviewed for child #1, child #8, child #9, and child #12 did not include signed parental consent for administering minor first-aid.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 14, 2023

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(b)(4)/3270.182(3) Written consent/Consent for emergency medical care required prior to admission

      “During the renewal inspection on 06/07/23 the emergency contact form reviewed for child #8, child #9 and child #12 did not include signed parental consent for emergency medical care.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 14, 2023

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(6)/3270.182(2) Admission date/Application, admission, withdrawal dates

      “During the renewal on 06/07/23 the fee agreement reviewed for child #4, child #7, and child #10 did not specify the date of child's admission.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 14, 2023

Show 1 earlier visit
  1. Jun 15, 2022Inspection7 rules cited
    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.76 Building Surfaces

      “On 6/15/2022 observed Secret Garden room locks were defective. The locks on the doors only locks from the inside preventing exiting from the room.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 17, 2022

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.82(g) Clean and good repair

      “On 6/15/2022 observed Pre-School Olympians bathroom sink located on the left side entrance of the bathroom were defective. The faucet wouldn't shut off, the faucet handle was malfunction and needed to be operated manually under the sink.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 21, 2022

    • Food and nutrition

      3270.166(4) Bottles labeled

      “On 6/15/2022 observed in infants Ladybug's room Child # 1 bottle located in the refrigerator was not labeled indicating that it belongs to the child. . Pre School Explorer's room child # 4 and 5 water bottles were not labeled to indicate which child it belongs to in classroom refrigerator. Toddler's Penguin's room Child # 6 and 7 water bottles were not labeled to indicate which child it belongs to in classroom refrigerator.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 15, 2022

    • Food and nutrition

      3270.161(a)/3270.161(d) Wholesome/Potentially hazardous food refrigerated

      “On 6/15/2022 observed Preschool Rockets room Child # 2 food was not labeled in the refrigerator, also there were food stored in child's #2 backpack that required refrigeration.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 12, 2022

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.133(1) Original container

      “On 6/15/2022 observed Preschool Rockets room Child #3 asthma medication was not in its original container.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 15, 2022

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.131(c) Completed or signed by physician, PA, or CRNP

      “On 6/15/2022 observed child # 8 health assessment was incomplete and not signed by a physician/ CRNP.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 16, 2022

    • Food and nutrition

      3270.107 Refrigerator

      “On 6/15/2022 observed Infant Room Frisky Fish refrigerator thermometer were defective with the incorrect reading of the temperature. Pre School Olympians room refrigerator were missing a thermometer in the children's refrigerator.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 15, 2022

Copied from Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning on October 2, 2026; the state's records start around Jun 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Penn Children's Center

FAQ

Questions about Penn Children's Center

Is Penn Children's Center licensed?

Yes. Penn Children's Center is certified by the state and operating. This is how Pennsylvania authorizes this type of child care.

When was Penn Children's Center last inspected?

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning lists the most recent visit on April 21, 2026, with no rules cited. It lists 6 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Penn Children's Center had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 4 rules across 2 of 6 visits in the last 3 years; 4 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Penn Children's Center care for?

187, the licensed capacity on the state record.

Does Penn Children's Center accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Penn Children's Center's hours?

Monday to Friday, 7:30 AM to 6:00 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Penn Children's Center cost?

Monthly tuition from $2,544 to $2,842, as it lists it.

What is Penn Children's Center's phone number?

(215) 898-5268.

Where is Penn Children's Center?

3160 Chestnut St Left Bank Commons Ste 100, Philadelphia, PA 19104. The nearest other daycare we list is Sound Start Child Care Center, 0.2 miles away.

Sources: Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning (license and visits).