Skip to content
Child care center 

Kissel Hill After School Kids and Early Birds

215 Landis Valley Rd, Lititz, PA 17543

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Certified by the stateInspection record

About

About Kissel Hill After School Kids and Early Birds

Kissel Hill After School Kids and Early Birds is a child care center in Lititz, Pennsylvania. It is certified by the state.

It is open Monday to Friday, 6:40 AM to 7:45 AM.

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning made 4 visits in the last 3 years and cited 28 rules across 4 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

School-ageAccepts child care subsidyOpens before 7 AM

Ages served: school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
School-age children
Hours today
6:40 AM to 7:45 AM
Capacity
Not listed

Hours

Hours

MondayToday6:40 AM to 7:45 AM
Tuesday6:40 AM to 7:45 AM
Wednesday6:40 AM to 7:45 AM
Thursday6:40 AM to 7:45 AM
Friday6:40 AM to 7:45 AM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

AgesSchool-age childrenFrom the state license
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license

Cost

Tuition and costs

Kissel Hill After School Kids and Early Birds has not listed its tuition.

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition.

State record

Inspection reports for Kissel Hill After School Kids and Early Birds

License

Status
Certified by the state and operating
License type
Certificate of Compliance
Ages
School-age children
License number
#CER-00251806
See the state's record

Summary

4 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Feb 6, 2026: 6 rules cited

Rules cited on 4 of 4 visits · 28 rules in all · 28 corrected

  • Staff training and qualifications 10
  • Records and paperwork 6
  • Health, medication and illness 6
  • Background checks 2
  • Supervision and ratios 2
  • Building, equipment and play areas 1
  • Safety and hazards 1

For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 7 visits
  1. Feb 6, 2026Inspection6 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(e) Age and Training

      “Staff person #2 completed 6 annual training hours during their previous training year.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 10, 2026

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.183(a) Locked cabinet

      “Contents of child records were stored in an unlocked backpack. (CORRECTED ON SITE)”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 10, 2026

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.34(a)(6) Staff evaluations

      “The most recent staff evaluations on file for staff person #2 were dated in April of 2024 and subsequently more than 12 months later in January of 2026.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 9, 2026

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a) Comply with CPSL

      “Upon beginning work in the facility, the record for staff person #1 did not contain completed a completed DHS FBI clearance as required under the CPSL. The record also did not include documentation the facility person had requested the outstanding clearance as required for provisional hiring under the CPSL. The record included a PDE FBI clearance in-lieu of the required DHS FBI clearance.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 9, 2026

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.151(a) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter

      “The most recent health assessments on file for staff person #2 were dated in August of 2023 and subsequently more than 12 months later in January of 2026.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 10, 2026

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.133(7)/3270.133(7)(ii) Medication log/Name of child receiving medication

      “A single medication log was on file for child #1. The medication log listed 3 separate medications with no way to differentiate which medication was to be use, or which had been administered.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 10, 2026

  2. Nov 21, 2025Inspection4 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.14/3270.21 Pertinent Laws & Regulations/General Health and Safety

      “A full mop bucket containing cleaning solution, spray bottles with sanitizing cleaning solution, and mops with attached cleaning solution were observed in the cafeteria in an area accessible to the children in care.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 3, 2025

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a) Comply with CPSL

      “Upon beginning work in the facility, the record for staff person #1 did not contain completed a completed DHS FBI clearance as required under the CPSL. The record also did not include documentation the facility person had requested the outstanding clearance as required for provisional hiring under the CPSL. The staff person was observed working unsupervised with children. The record included a PDE FBI clearance in-lieu of the required DHS FBI clearance.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 3, 2025

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.102(c) Outdoor equip.- protective surfacing

      “The depth of the mulch measured at less than 9 inches in multiple spots near the fire pole and between the slides.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 3, 2025

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(f)(10) Health and Safety Training - Pediatric First Aid and CPR

      “Staff person #1 did not complete professional development in the topic of pediatric first aid and pediatric cardiopulmonary resuscitation within 90 days of hire. The documentation of the completed training on file was dated 138 days after the date of hire.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 3, 2025

  3. Feb 12, 2025Inspection11 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.192(5) Two written references

      “The record for staff person #1 contained just one written, nonfamily reference.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 21, 2025

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.192(2)(ii) Exp, educ., training prior to facility

      “The record for staff person #1 did not include verification of the individual's high school diploma.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 13, 2025

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.181(c) Emergency info/agreement updated 6 mos

      “Emergency contact forms on file for children 2 and 3 were not updated timely during the previous year. Child 2 - Reviews completed in February of 2024, and subsequently more than 6 months later in January of 2025. Child 3 - Reviews completed in March of 2024, and subsequently more than 6 months later in January of 2025.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 17, 2025

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.151(a) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter

      “The most recent health assessment on file for staff person #3 was more than 24 months old (dated in January 2023). The most recent health assessment on file for staff person #4 was more than 24 months old (dated in May of 2022).”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 31, 2025

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.151(a)/3270.151(c)(3) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter/Exam communicable disease

      “The health assessment on file for staff person #2 stated "yes" to the question that asked in the individual has a communicable disease.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 26, 2025

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.133(6) Written consent

      “Child #1 had an epi-pen and Benadryl on site for emergency use. The paperwork the facility had on file did not include written parental consent for the administration of the medications.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 26, 2025

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.34(a)(6) Staff evaluations

      “The staff evaluations on file for staff person #2 were dated in February of 2023, and subsequently more than 12 months later in October of 2024. The staff evaluations on file for staff person #5 were dated in March of 2023, and subsequently more than 12 months later in February of 2025.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 17, 2025

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.32(a)/3270.192(2)(iii) Comply with CPSL/Exp, educ., training at facility

      “Staff person #1 has not completed mandated reporter training within 90 days of their date of hire (see LIS code sheet). A completed training was not on file at the time of inspection.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 21, 2025

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(f)(10)/3270.192(2)(iii) Health and Safety Training - Pediatric First Aid and CPR/Exp, educ., training at facility

      “Staff person #1 has not completed pediatric first aid and CPR within 90 days of their date of hire (see LIS code sheet): pediatric first aid and CPR. A completed training was not on file at the time of inspection.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 26, 2025

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.94(a)(4) Hypothetical locations

      “The hypothetical location for all fire drills so far this school year was the cafeteria.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 14, 2025

    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.113(a)(1) Staff assigned to specific children

      “Staff persons #1 and #2 were present at the facility with 20 children when certification staff arrived for the inspection. 18 of the 20 children were accounted for in care groups when staff were asked to identify which specific children they were each responsible for.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 17, 2025

  4. Feb 23, 2024Inspection7 rules cited
    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.241(c)(1)(i) 30 or fewer hours a week, director or director/GS present at least 20% of operational hours.

      “A director or director/group supervisor has not been present at a facility at least 20% of the program's operational hours. The facility operates 30 or fewer hours a week.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 28, 2024

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(f) Updated every 6 months

      “The emergency contact forms on file for children 1 and 3 were not updated timely during the previous year. Child 1 - Emergency contact form updates - dated in March of 2023 and more than 6 months later in October of 2023. Child 3 - Emergency contact form updates - dated in February of 2023 and more than 6 months later in December of 2023.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 26, 2024

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(b) Parent receives original

      “Originals of agreements were on file for children 1, 3, and 4.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 26, 2024

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.34(a)(6) Staff evaluations

      “The record for staff person 1 did not include a written evaluation from the previous year. The staff evaluation was due in May of 2023.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 26, 2024

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.18(a) On file at facility

      “A current copy of the comprehensive general liability insurance policy was not on file at the facility.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 26, 2024

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.94(a)(9) Written record

      “A written record of fire drills for the time period prior to 12/11/23 was not on file at the facility.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 26, 2024

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.124(b)(2) Physician name, address, phone

      “The emergency contact information on file for child 2 did not include the address of the child's physician or source of medical care.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 26, 2024

  5. Mar 13, 2023Inspection2 rules cited
    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.113(a)/3270.113(a)(1) Supervised at all times /Staff assigned to specific children

      “The sole staff person (staff #2) that was present with the group left the room to answer the door, leaving 16 children unsupervised in the gym.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 16, 2023

    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.51 Similar Age Level

      “Staff person 2 was the sole staff person present in the gym with 16 school-age children. Staff person 1 had left the gym and walked down the hallway to get balls for the children to play with.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 16, 2023

  6. Feb 10, 2023Inspection10 rules cited
    • Background checks

      3270.32(a) Comply with CPSL

      “The record for staff person 1 included a Department of Education FBI clearance in-lieu of the required DHS FBI clearance.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 16, 2023

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.34(a)(6) Staff evaluations

      “The most recent staff evaluation on file for staff person 2 was more than 12 months old (dated 12/29/2019).”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 16, 2023

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.102(c) Outdoor equip.- protective surfacing

      “The protective surfacing surrounding the embedded playground equipment did not meet the recommendations of the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission (9 inches of loose fill mulch). Multiple spots were measured in the fall zones under/near the equipment and the depth of the mulch varied from 3 inches to 6 inches.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 16, 2023

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(4) Arrival/departure times

      “The agreement on file for child 3 did not specify the child's arrival and departure times.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 16, 2023

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(6) Admission date

      “The agreement on file for child 4 did not specify the date of the child's admission.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 16, 2023

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(b)(3) Parent home/work address, phone

      “The emergency contact information on file for child 1 did not include the enrolling parent's work address.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 16, 2023

    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.124(b)(7) Name/address/phone release person

      “The emergency contact information on file for children 1 and 2 did not include addresses for listed release persons.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 16, 2023

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.151(a) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter

      “The health assessments on file for staff person 2 were dated 12/30/19 and subsequently 10/27/2022. More than 24 months lapsed before an updated health assessment was obtained and on file.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 16, 2023

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(e) Age and Training

      “The record for staff person 3 included 11 clock hours of child care training from the previous year.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 16, 2023

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.124(b)(2) Physician name, address, phone

      “The emergency contact information on file for child 3 did not include the telephone of the child's physician or source of medical care.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 16, 2023

  7. Jan 25, 2022Inspection2 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(e) Age and Training

      “The records for staff persons 1 and 2 did not include documentation of 12 clock hours of child care training.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 17, 2022

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.34(a)(6) Staff evaluations

      “The record for staff person 1 did not include an annual staff evaluation. She has been employed since 1/14/2019.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 28, 2022

Copied from Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning on October 2, 2026; the state's records start around Jun 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Kissel Hill After School Kids and Early Birds

FAQ

Questions about Kissel Hill After School Kids and Early Birds

Is Kissel Hill After School Kids and Early Birds licensed?

Yes. Kissel Hill After School Kids and Early Birds is certified by the state and operating. This is how Pennsylvania authorizes this type of child care.

When was Kissel Hill After School Kids and Early Birds last inspected?

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning lists the most recent visit on February 6, 2026, with 6 rules cited. It lists 4 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Kissel Hill After School Kids and Early Birds had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 28 rules across 4 of 4 visits in the last 3 years; 28 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Does Kissel Hill After School Kids and Early Birds accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Kissel Hill After School Kids and Early Birds' hours?

Monday to Friday, 6:40 AM to 7:45 AM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Kissel Hill After School Kids and Early Birds cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (717) 626-5096 to ask.

What is Kissel Hill After School Kids and Early Birds' phone number?

(717) 626-5096.

Where is Kissel Hill After School Kids and Early Birds?

215 Landis Valley Rd, Lititz, PA 17543. The nearest other daycare we list is Small Wonders Academy, 0.5 miles away.

Sources: Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning (license and visits).