Skip to content
Child care center 

Elizabeth Seton Center-Childrens Program

1900 Pioneer Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 152264.6· 88 reviews
licensed capacity
205
open each week
5 days

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Certified by the stateInspection record

About

About Elizabeth Seton Center-Childrens Program

Elizabeth Seton Center-Childrens Program is a child care center in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. It is certified by the state, for up to 205 children, serving school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM. It describes a Faith-based approach, with after-school care, before-school care, infant care and preschool. It says it provides meals.

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning made 9 visits in the last 3 years and cited 49 rules across 8 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

InfantsBefore- and after-schoolSummer campFaith-basedMeals providedAccepts child care subsidy

Ages served: school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
School-age children
Hours today
Closed today
Licensed capacity
205 children

Hours

Hours

Monday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Tuesday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Wednesday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Thursday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Friday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayTodayNot listed
From the state licenseHours it lists: “Infant & Toddler Care: year-round, 7:00AM to 6:00PM Monday through Friday”

Programs

Programs and care

AgesSchool-age childrenFrom the state license
ProgramsAfter-school care, before-school care, infant care, preschool, summer camp and toddler care
ApproachFaith-based (Sisters of Charity of Seton Hill)
Daily lifeMeals provided
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
AccreditationOther accreditation (PA Keystone Stars program - Rated 4 Star)
Licensed capacity205 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

Elizabeth Seton Center-Childrens Program has not listed its tuition.

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition.

State record

Inspection reports for Elizabeth Seton Center-Childrens Program

License

Status
Certified by the state and operating
License type
Certificate of Compliance
Capacity
205 children
Ages
School-age children
License number
#CER-00247839
See the state's record

Summary

9 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Jul 15, 2026: no rules cited

Rules cited on 8 of 9 visits · 49 rules in all · 48 corrected

  • Staff training and qualifications 14
  • Safety and hazards 9
  • Records and paperwork 9
  • Health, medication and illness 5
  • Supervision and ratios 5
  • Background checks 3
  • Discipline and child guidance 3
  • Building, equipment and play areas 1

For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 15 visits
  1. Jul 15, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Oct 17, 2025Inspection17 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(e)(4)(ii)/3270.192(2)(iii) Fire safety - 1 yr./Exp, educ., training at facility

      “The file for Staff #19 contained documentation of Fire Safety training on 11.7.23 and 12.10.24, which exceeded the annual requirement.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2025

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(e)(4)(i)/3270.192(2)(iii) Age and Training/Exp, educ., training at facility

      “The file for Staff #12 contained documentation of Pediatric First-Aid/CPR training which expired on 5.16.25, and it was not renewed until 7.2.25. The file for Staff #17 contained documentation of Pediatric First-Aid/CPR training which expired on 8.9.24, and it was not renewed until 10.13.24.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2025

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.27(c)/3270.192(2)(iii) Training regarding plan/Exp, educ., training at facility

      “The file for Staff #14 contained documentation of Emergency Plan training on 8.4.24 and 9.8.25, which exceeded the annual requirement.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2025

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(f) Health and Safety Training

      “The file for Staff #15 (see IS Code Sheet) contained documentation of Health and Safety training, Part 1 and Part 2, on 10.1.25, which exceeded the 90 days of hire requirement.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2025

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.95(a)/3270.95(b) Devices must be compliant/Director or designated staff person ensure compliance

      “The Fire System Testing Log contained documentation of testing on 3.7.25 and 4.13.25, which exceeded the 30-day requirement.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2025

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(f)(10) Health and Safety Training - Pediatric First Aid and CPR

      “The file for Staff #14 (see IS Code Sheet) contained documentation of Pediatric First-Aid/CPR training on 2.18.25, which exceeded the 90 days of hire requirement.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 5, 2025

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.151(a)/3270.192(3) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter/Health assessment, TB test

      “The two (2) most recent Health Assessments, in the files for Staff #3 and Staff #5, exceeded the 24-month renewal requirement.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2025

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.131(b)(2)/3270.182(1) Toddler/preschool: updated health report every 12 months/Initial and subsequent health reports

      “The Health Assessment in the file for Child #3, a preschool child, exceeded the 12-month renewal requirement.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2025

    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.124(b)(7) Name/address/phone release person

      “The Emergency Contact form, in the file for Child #7, did not include the name of the release person.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2025

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(b)(3) Parent home/work address, phone

      “The Emergency Contact form, in the file for Child #8, did not include the work phone number of the enrolling parent. The Emergency Contact form, in the file for Child #9, did not include the work address or work phone number of the enrolling parent.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2025

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(2) Date fee to be paid

      “The Agreement in the file for Child #1, Child #4, Child #5, and Child #6, did not specify the date on which the fee is to be paid.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2025

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(6)/3270.182(2) Admission date/Application, admission, withdrawal dates

      “The Agreement in the file for Child #9, did not specify the date of the child's admission.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2025

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a) Comply with CPSL

      “The file for Staff #1 contained Child Abuse Clearances dated 1.18.19 and 9.23.24, which exceeded the 60-month renewal requirement. The file for Staff #2 contained State Police Clearances dated 5.18.20 and 7.30.25, and Child Abuse Clearances dated 6.1.20 and 8.7.25, both of which exceeded the 60-month renewal requirement. The file for Staff #4 did not contain a Disclosure Statement. The file for Staff #6 contained NSOR Certificates dated 6.4.20 and 7.3.25, which exceeded the 60-month renewal requirement. The file for Staff #7 contained State Police Clearances dated 3.3.20 and 4.14.25, Child Abuse Clearances dated 3.17.20 and 4.10.25, and NSOR Certificates dated 6.4.20 and 7.30.25, each of which exceeded the 60-month renewal requirement. The file for Staff #8 contained State Police Clearances dated 3.3.20 and 4.14.25, Child Abuse Clearances dated 3.27.20 and 4.11.25, and NSOR Certificates dated 6.4.20 and 7.23.25, each of which exceeded the 60-month renewal requirement. The file for Staff #9 contained valid, FBI Clearances dated 5.21.19 and 7.8.25, which exceeded the 60-month renewal requirement. The file for Staff #10 contained State Police Clearances dated 4.6.20 and 4.7.25, and Child Abuse Clearances dated 5.29.20 and 7.31.25, both of which exceeded the 60-month renewal requirement. The file for Staff #11 contained NSOR Certificates dated 6.4.20 and 7.30.25, which exceeded the 60-month renewal requirement. The file for Staff #13 contained NSOR Certificates dated 6.4.20 and 7.8.25, which exceeded the 60-month renewal requirement. The file for Staff #18 contained State Police Clearances dated 5.18.20 and 7.29.25, and Child Abuse Clearances dated 3.20.20 and 8.5.25, both of which exceeded the 60-month renewal requirement. The file for Staff #19 contained State Police Clearances dated 4.6.20 and 10.1.25, FBI Clearances dated 8.7.15 and 10.20.20 with none thereafter, NSOR Certificates dated 6.3.20 and 10.7.25, each of which exceeded the 60-month renewal requirement, and no Disclosure Statement. The file for Staff #2 contained documentation of Mandated Reporter training on 5.29.20 and 9.15.25, which exceeded the 60-month renewal requirement. The file for Staff #6 contained documentation of Mandated Reporter training on 3.13.20 and 5.15.25, which exceeded the 60-month renewal requirement. The file for Staff #7 contained documentation of Mandated Reporter training on 3.16.20 and 4.10.25, which exceeded the 60-month renewal requirement. The file for Staff #8 contained documentation of Mandated Reporter training on 3.14.20 and 4.9.25, which exceeded the 60-month renewal requirement. The file for Staff #16 contained documentation of Mandated Reporter training on 6.25.20 and 7.25.25, which exceeded the 60-month renewal requirement. The file for Staff #19 contained documentation of Mandated Reporter training on 7.18.20 and 10.3.25, which exceeded the 60-month renewal requirement.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2025

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.72(d) Above ground window opening restricted to 6"

      “In Room 8, which is above the ground floor, had a broken stopper on the window to the far left of the back wall, allowing the window to fully open, which was not limited to six (6) or fewer inches.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2025

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(1) Amount of fee

      “The Agreement, in the files for Child #1, Child #3, Child #4, Child #5, Child #6, Child #7, and Child #8, did not specify the amount of the fee to be charged.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2025

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(4) Arrival/departure times

      “The Agreement in the files for Child #5 and Child #9, did not specify the child's arrival and departure times.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2025

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.124(b)(2) Physician name, address, phone

      “The Emergency Contact form, in the file for Child #2, did not include address or phone number of the child's physician or source of medical care. The Emergency Contact form, in the file for Child #6, did not include the address of the child's physician or source of medical care.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2025

  3. Oct 16, 2025Complaint investigation6 rules cited
    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.51 Similar Age Level

      “Staff #1 placed Child #1 in the back storage room/closet, in the back of Room 5, leaving the door slightly ajar, and walked away from it. The Staff:Child ratio was 0:1.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2025

    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.113(a)(1) Staff assigned to specific children

      “Staff #1 placed Child #1 in the back storage room/closet, in the back of Room 5, leaving the door slightly ajar, and walked away from it. Staff #1 was not physically present with Child #1.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2025

    • Discipline and child guidance

      3270.113(b) No physical punishment

      “Staff #1 grabbed Child #1 by the arm and head/hair area and dragged the child and aggressively put the child in a chair. Staff #1 then grabbed the child again and dragged the child back to the storage room/closet.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2025

    • Discipline and child guidance

      3270.113(d) No harsh language

      “Staff #1 yelled at Child #1 who was crying in the doorway of Room 5. Staff #1 used harsh language towards Child #1.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2025

    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.113(e) Restraints prohibited

      “Staff #1 placed Child #1 in the back storage room/closet, in the back of Room 5, leaving the door slightly ajar, and walked away from it. Staff #1 placed child #1 in a confined space/closet.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2025

    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.113(a) Supervised at all times

      “Staff #1 placed Child #1 in the back storage room/closet, in the back of Room 5, leaving the door slightly ajar, and walked away from it. Child #1 was not supervised by a staff person.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2025

  4. Aug 5, 2025Complaint investigation1 rule cited
    • Discipline and child guidance

      3270.113(c) No ridicule or threaten harm

      “During a complaint investigation conducted on 8/5/25, based on information obtained during staff interviews, it was determined that Staff #1 singled out and expressed a negative attitude towards a specific child in front of other children and staff. On July 30th, when Staff #1 had been given the option to supervise children on a swim outing, Staff person #1 was overheard saying that 'if Child #1 is not going to swim, I will go swimming but if Child #1 is going swimming I do not want to go'. Staff person #1 has also been heard saying things such as, 'have fun with Child #1' or 'watch out for Child #1'. During transition times, Staff person #1 has been heard saying that they 'do not want to deal with Child #1 so [Child #1] can stay in the room'.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 3, 2025

  5. Jul 2, 2025Visit5 rules cited
    • Safety and hazards

      3270.66(a) Locked or inaccessible

      “According to staff statements, children apply sunscreen at the facility prior to going to the pool, but some children take sunscreen to the pool and keep it in their possession, making it accessible to children in care.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jul 11, 2025

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.32(a)/3270.192(2)(iii) Comply with CPSL/Exp, educ., training at facility

      “Staff person #1 has not completed the mandated reporter training within 90 days of their date of hire (see LIS code sheet).”

      Correction date in the state record: Jul 11, 2025

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.115(a)(6) Lifeguard training/supervision

      “During an unannounced monitoring visit at a swimming activity, it was observed that the LE had children and staff from 2 separate locations at the pool, with only one lifeguard present, supervising swimming activity for 2 locations simultaneously.”
    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.27(c)/3270.192(2)(iii) Training regarding plan/Exp, educ., training at facility

      “The file for Staff person #1 does not include verification of emergency plan training completed within 90 days of hire (See LIS Code Sheet).”

      Correction date in the state record: Jul 11, 2025

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a)/3270.192(4) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information

      “The file for Staff person #1 includes an incomplete criminal history clearance that did not include a dissemination date, (See LIS Code Sheet), making it invalid; the previous Criminal History clearance is dated 5.8.19, more than 60 months ago. The file for Staff person #1 includes an FBI clearance dated 5.21.19, more than 60 months ago and also included an FBI clearance obtained through the PA Department of Education, dated 7.31.24, which is not valid for employment in a childcare facility.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jul 11, 2025

  6. May 14, 2025Complaint investigation4 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.32(a)/3270.192(2)(iii) Comply with CPSL/Exp, educ., training at facility

      “Staff person #2 completed current mandated reporter training on 4.9.25, more than 60 months after the previous training dated 3.14.20. Staff person #3 completed current mandated reporter training on 4.10.25, more than 60 months after the previous training dated 3.16.20. Staff person #4 has not completed mandated reporter training within the last 60 months; the previously documented mandated reporter training on file is dated 3.13.20.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 15, 2025

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(f) Health and Safety Training

      “Staff person #1 has not completed the following required pre-service training within 90 days of their date of hire (see LIS code sheet): Pediatric First Aid/CPR; the training was completed on 2.18.25.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 14, 2025

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.72(b) Screened

      “According to staff statements, on 4.30.25, the front door was propped open for a portion of the day when there was a power outage, due to the security system not working. It was observed, however, that there is no screen on the door that was open for several hours.”

      Correction date in the state record: Aug 6, 2025

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.73 Telephone

      “According to staff statements, on 4.30.25, the facility telephone system was not functioning for a portion of the day when there was a power outage.”

      Correction date in the state record: Aug 6, 2025

  7. May 14, 2025Inspection4 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.32(a)/3270.192(2)(iii) Comply with CPSL/Exp, educ., training at facility

      “Staff person #2 completed current mandated reporter training on 4.9.25, more than 60 months after the previous training dated 3.14.20. Staff person #3 completed current mandated reporter training on 4.10.25, more than 60 months after the previous training dated 3.16.20. Staff person #4 has not completed mandated reporter training within the last 60 months; the previously documented mandated reporter training on file is dated 3.13.20.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 15, 2025

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(f) Health and Safety Training

      “Staff person #1 has not completed the following required pre-service training within 90 days of their date of hire (see LIS code sheet): Pediatric First Aid/CPR; the training was completed on 2.18.25.”

      Correction date in the state record: May 14, 2025

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.72(b) Screened

      “According to staff statements, on 4.30.25, the front door was propped open for a portion of the day when there was a power outage, due to the security system not working. It was observed, however, that there is no screen on the door that was open for several hours.”

      Correction date in the state record: Aug 6, 2025

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.73 Telephone

      “According to staff statements, on 4.30.25, the facility telephone system was not functioning for a portion of the day when there was a power outage.”

      Correction date in the state record: Aug 6, 2025

  8. Oct 28, 2024Inspection15 rules cited
    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.131(b)(2)/3270.182(1) Toddler/preschool: updated health report every 12 months/Initial and subsequent health reports

      “The file for Child #9 contained documentation of a Health Assessment on 5.19.23, and none thereafter, which is required at least every 12 months.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 2, 2025

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(e)(4)(i)/3270.192(2)(iii) Age and Training/Exp, educ., training at facility

      “The file for Staff #1, Staff #5, Staff #6, Staff #7, Staff #8, Staff #9, Staff #10, Staff #11, Staff #12, Staff #15, Staff #16, Staff #17, Staff #18, Staff #19, Staff #20, Staff #22, Staff #24, Staff #25, Staff #27, Staff #29, Staff #30, Staff #31, Staff #32, Staff #33, Staff #34, and Staff #35 contained Pediatric First-Aid/CPR training which expired on 11.2.23, and it was not renewed until 11.7.23.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 23, 2024

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(f)(10) Health and Safety Training - Pediatric First Aid and CPR

      “The file for Staff #21 (see IS Code Sheet) contained documentation of Pediatric First-Aid/CPR training on 5.16.23, which exceeded 90 days of hire. The file for Staff #23 (see IS Code Sheet) contained documentation of Pediatric First-Aid/CPR training on 2.11.23, which exceeded 90 days of hire. The file for Staff #28 (see IS Code Sheet) contained documentation of Pediatric First-Aid/CPR training on 11.7.23, which exceeded 90 days of hire.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 23, 2024

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.151(a)/3270.192(3) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter/Health assessment, TB test

      “The two (2) most recent Health Assessments in the file for Staff #1, Staff #6, Staff #9, Staff #11, Staff #18, Staff #30, and Staff #34 exceeded the 24-month renewal requirement.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 23, 2024

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(f)(10) Health and Safety Training - Pediatric First Aid and CPR

      “The file for Staff #21 (see IS Code Sheet) contained documentation of Health & Safety training 10-hour, on 10.31.22, which exceeded 90 days of hire. The file for Staff #31 (see IS Code Sheet) contained documentation of Health & Safety training 10-hour, on 5.7.21, which exceeded 90 days of hire.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 23, 2024

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(3)/3270.124(f) Services proceeded/Updated every 6 months

      “The files for Child #8 and Child #9 did not contain Child Service Reports every 6 months.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 2, 2024

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(4) Arrival/departure times

      “The Agreements in the files for Child #1, Child #2, Child #3, Child #4, Child #5, Child #6, Child #7, Child #8, Child #9, and Child #10 did not specify the child's arrival and departure times.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 2, 2024

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(6)/3270.182(2) Admission date/Application, admission, withdrawal dates

      “The Agreements in the files for Child #5 and Child #9 did not specify the date of the child's admission.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 2, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.124(e) Written emergency plan posted

      “In Room 5 and Room 11, an Emergency Transportation Plan was not displayed.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 23, 2024

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a) Comply with CPSL

      “The file for Staff #2 (see IS Code Sheet) contained a State Police Clearance dated 7.29.24, with no application available, which was after the first date caring for children. The file for Staff #3 (see IS Code Sheet), contained a State Police Clearance dated 11.14.24, with no application available, which was after the first date caring for children. The file for Staff #4 contained Child Abuse Clearances dated 11.1.19 and 11.4.24, which exceeded 60 months. The file for Staff #6 contained FBI Clearances dated 8.7.15 and 9.14.20, which exceeded 60 months. The file for Staff #7 contained FBI Clearances dated 8.7.15 and 10.11.20, which exceeded 60 months. The file for Staff #11 contained FBI Clearances dated 10.6.15 and 10.15.20, with an application dated 10.12.20, which exceeded 60 months. The file for Staff #14 (see IS Code Sheet) contained a Child Abuse Clearance dated 11.28.23, which was after the first date caring for children. The file for Staff #16 contained FBI Clearances dated 8.7.15 and 8.19.20, with no application available, which exceeded 60 months. The file for Staff #17 (see IS Code Sheet) contained documentation of Mandated Reporter training dated 8.23.20, which exceeded 90 days after hire. The file for Staff #19 contained Child Abuse Clearances dated 9.2.18 and 9.21.23, which exceeded 60 months. The file for Staff #20 contained FBI Clearances dated 8.7.17 and 10.10.22, with an application dated 10.6.22, which exceeded 60 months. The file for Staff #21 (see IS Code Sheet) contain an NSOR Certificate dated 9.19.22, with no application available, which was after the first date caring for children. The file for Staff #24 (see IS Code Sheet) contained a State Police Clearance dated 1.14.20, with no application available, which exceeded the first date caring for children. The file for Staff #25 contained FBI Clearances dated 8.7.15 and 9.6.20, with no application available, which exceeded 60 months. The file for Staff #27 contained FBI Clearances dated 8.7.15 and 10.20.20, with no application available, which exceeded 60 months. The file for Staff #31, contained documentation of Mandated Reporter training on 3.6.19 and 7.23.24, which exceeded 60 months. The file for Staff #33 contained documentation of Mandated Reporter training on 5.18.15 and 5.29.20, which exceeded 60 months.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 23, 2024

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(f)/3270.181(c) Updated every 6 months/Emergency info/agreement updated 6 mos

      “The file for Child #8 did not contain documentation that the Emergency Contact Form and Agreement were reviewed/updated at least every six (6) months.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 2, 2025

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.14/3270.21 Pertinent Laws & Regulations/General Health and Safety

      “The file for Staff #21 did not contain documentation of the Health and Safety 1-Hour Update training.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 2, 2025

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.27(c) Training regarding plan

      “The file for Staff #26 contained documentation of Emergency Plan training on 5.17.23 and 10.1.24, which exceeded 12 months. The file for Staff #28 contained documentation of Emergency Plan training on 9.26.23 and 10.9.24, which exceeded 12 months.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 23, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.31(e)(4)(ii) Fire safety - 1 yr.

      “The file for Staff #13 contained documentation of Fire Safety training on 5.16.23 and 11.13.24, which exceeded 12 months. The file for Staff #14 contained documentation of Fire Safety training on 10.4.23 and 11.7.24, which exceeded 12 months. The file for Staff #21 contained documentation of Fire Safety training on 5.16.23 and 11.13.24, which exceeded 12 months. The file for Staff #23 contained documentation of Fire Safety training on 2.11.23 and 11.7.24, which exceeded 12 months. The file for Staff #26 (see IS Code Sheet) contained documentation of Fire Safety training on 9.10.24, which exceeded 12 months from date of hire. The file for Staff #27 contained documentation of Fire Safety training on 11.7.23 and none thereafter, which exceeded 12 months. The file for Staff #36 contained documentation of Fire Safety training on 2.11.23 and 11.11.24, which exceeded 12 months.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 23, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.27(e) Letter to parents

      “As confirmed by the operator, a Parent Letter was not provided to explain the emergency procedures.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 13, 2025

  9. Jun 24, 2024Inspection1 rule cited
    • Safety and hazards

      3270.95(a)/3270.95(b) Devices must be compliant/Director or designated staff person ensure compliance

      “The fire alarm 30-day test log includes test dates 1/30/24-3/1/24, more than 30 days apart.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 27, 2024

  10. Oct 12, 2023Inspection14 rules cited
    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.151(c)(2)/3270.192(3) Mantoux TB/Health assessment, TB test

      “The files for staff #5 and #9 lack current TB testing. The TB test on file for staff #5 was 14 months old rather than 12 months and the TB test on file for staff #9 was from 2007 when staff was an employee at the facility in the past.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 15, 2023

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(e)/3270.192(2)(iii) Age and Training/Exp, educ., training at facility

      “The files for staff #1 and #2 lack 12 hours of annual child care training for the 12/2021 to 12/2022 time period. Both staff completed part of their 12 hours late (after 12/2022) and are both still in need of 1.5 hours of annual child care training hours.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 15, 2023

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.27(c) Training regarding plan

      “The file for staff #9 contains emergency plan training that was obtained late. The training was due 2/2023 and obtained 9/2023.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 19, 2023

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a)/3270.192(4) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information

      “The files for staff #3, #4, #6, #11 contain clearances that were obtained or updated late. #3 - FBI obtained 9/2023 and due 7/2023; #4 - state police obtained 9/2023 and due 5/2023, child abuse obtained 9/2023 and due 5/2023, FBI obtained 9/2023 and due 12/2022; #6 - NSOR obtained 2/22/23 and due 2/13/23; #11 - state police obtained 9/2023 and due 8/2023.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 1, 2023

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(f) Health and Safety Training

      “The files for staff #9, #10, #12, #16, and #19 contain health and safety trainings that were obtained late. #9 - FA/CPR due 1/29/23 and obtained 2/11/23, mandated reporter training due 1/29/22 and obtained 10/5/23; #10 FA/CPR and mandated reporter due 7/2023 and obtained 10/2023; #12 health and safety update training due 12/2022 and obtained 10/2023; #16 health and safety update training due 12/2022 and obtained 11/2023;”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 1, 2023

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a)/3270.192(4) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information

      “The file for staff #7 indicates that staff #7 was improperly provisionally hired. The NSOR was requested 4 days late (9/21/23) after staff #7 started.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 7, 2023

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.76 Building Surfaces

      “Observed several damaged areas on the playground surfacing in the school aged playground.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 20, 2023

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a)/3270.192(4) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information

      “The file for staff #8 lacks a valid NSOR certificate.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 7, 2023

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(f) Health and Safety Training

      “Staffs persons #8 and #18 have not completed the following required pre-service training within 90 days of their date of hire (see LIS code sheet): #8 - first aid and cpr and health and safety training; #18 - health and safety update.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 1, 2023

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a) Comply with CPSL

      “The files for staff #4 and #9 contain mandated reporter training that was obtained/updated late. #4 due 5/2023 and obtained 9/2023; #9 due 1/29/23 and obtained 10/5/23.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 1, 2023

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.102(a) Clean and good repair

      “Observed several damaged playground toys on the school age playground.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 1, 2023

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.151(a)/3270.192(3) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter/Health assessment, TB test

      “The files for staff #7, #8, #13, #14, #15, and #17 contain health assessments that were initially obtained or renewed late. #7 due 9/16/23 and obtained 9/26/23; #8 due 11/7/22 and obtained 11/30/22; #13 due 10/5/23 and obtained 10/6/23; #14 due 6/2023 and obtained 9/2023; #15 due 1/2023 and obtained 2/2023; #17 due 3/2023 and obtained 9/2023.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 1, 2023

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.151(a)/3270.192(3) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter/Health assessment, TB test

      “The file for staff #5 lacks a valid health assessment. The health assessment on file exceeded 12 months old at the time of hire. It was 14 months old.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 15, 2023

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.151(c)(2)/3270.192(3) Mantoux TB/Health assessment, TB test

      “The files for staff #7 and #8 contain late TB tests. #7 due 9/16 23 and obtained 9/24/23; #8 due 11/7/22 and obtained 11/30/22.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 1, 2023

Show 5 earlier visits
  1. Jul 27, 2023VisitNo rules cited
  2. Oct 18, 2022Inspection5 rules cited
    • Safety and hazards

      3270.27(f) Emergency plan

      “The facility has not sent a copy of the most recent emergency plan to the local municipality and to the county emergency management agency.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 15, 2022

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a)/3270.192(4) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information

      “The file for staff #1 contains a criminal clearance that was obtained late. The operator indicates that a timely clearance was obtained prior to employment but could not be located at a later time. The clearance that is now on file is acceptable.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 9, 2022

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a) Comply with CPSL

      “Staff #1 and #3 had not completed the following required pre-service training within the 90 days of their date of hire (see LIS code sheet). The file for staff #1 contained a mandated reporter training dated 10/12/22, which was greater than 90 days after their date of hire (see LIS code sheet). The file for staff #3 contained a mandated reporter training dated 10/11/22, which was greater than 90 days after their date of hire (see LIS code sheet).”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 9, 2022

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a) Comply with CPSL

      “Staff #2 has not completed the mandated reporter training within the 90 days of their date of hire (see LIS code sheet).”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 1, 2022

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.37(b)(1)/3270.192(2)(ii) HS/GED/Exp, educ., training prior to facility

      “The file for staff #4 lacks verification of an education (high school diploma). The diploma that is on file needs to be interpretted since it is in another language other than English.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 5, 2022

  3. Jul 20, 2022Visit3 rules cited
    • Background checks

      3270.32(a)/3270.192(4) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information

      “The file for staff #1 lacks verification of the NSOR clearance. Staff #1 was observed providing lifeguarding duties for children at the pool on 7/20/22 under the supervision of other staff with valid NSOR clearances. Staff #1 was not provisionally hired.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 15, 2022

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.151(a)/3270.192(3) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter/Health assessment, TB test

      “The file for staff #1 lacks a current health assessment.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 15, 2022

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.151(c)(2)/3270.192(3) Mantoux TB/Health assessment, TB test

      “The file for staff #1 lacks a current TB test.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 15, 2022

  4. Jun 22, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  5. Oct 22, 2021Inspection13 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(e)(4)(ii)/3270.192(2)(iii) Fire safety - 1 yr./Exp, educ., training at facility

      “Based on documentation at the facility, the following staff members did not participate in fire safety training annually as required. Training was completed in October 2020 and again on 11/2/21; Staff #1 -5, #8 -13, #15 , #16, #18 - 26, and #30 - 36. The files for these staff members now contain documentation of current fire safety training. The files for staff #29 and #37 do not contain documentation of current fire safety training. The most recent training on file for both staff occurred 11/5/19.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 18, 2021

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(f)/3270.31(f)(10) Health and Safety Training/Health and Safety Training - Pediatric First Aid and CPR

      “The file for staff #27 contained documentation of receiving Pediatric CPR and first aid training more than 90 days after their start date of 5/26/21. The files for the following staff, hired prior to 12/19/20, contained documentation of receiving Pediatric CPR and First Aid after the deadline of 6/17/21; #7 -11, #17, #19, #23, #25, #28, #35, and #36. Staff received the training on 11/02/21.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 18, 2021

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a)/3270.192(4) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information

      “The file for staff #16 did not contain a valid state police clearance. The clearance on file lacked the date it was disseminated from the system. The date requested was 10/5/18. The file for staff #30, with a start date of 12/29/07, did not contain a completed NSOR certificate. Staff #16 and #30 may not work in a child care position at the facility.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 18, 2021

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.32(a)/3270.192(2)(iii) Comply with CPSL/Exp, educ., training at facility

      “Based on documentation at the facility, staff #15 and #30 did not update mandated reporter training within 60 months as required. Staff #15 previously completed the training on 8/08/16 and updated it on 9/21/21. Staff #30 previously completed the training on 4/7/15. The updated training completed by staff #30 on 8/28/21 was not from an approved source. Based on documentation, staff #17 did not complete mandated reporter training within 90 days of hire as required. Staff #17 was hired on 11/02/20 and completed the training on 10/26/21. Both staff #15 and #17 now have documentation of current training on file.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 18, 2021

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.34(a)(6) Staff evaluations

      “The files for staff #22, #26, #29, and #37 did not contain written evaluations completed within the last 12 months.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 31, 2021

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.66(a) Locked or inaccessible

      “The following toxics were observed to be accessible to children on 10/22/21; Lysol in an unlocked storage room in the outdoor play space and hand sanitizer in a cabinet drawer in the hallway on the lower level.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 18, 2021

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.69(b) 110º F or less

      “The water temperature in the 2 sinks in the school age restroom at the end of the hall measured 118° F on 10/22/21.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 18, 2021

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.76 Building Surfaces

      “Protruding sharp wires were observed on the bottom of the gate and fence of the outdoor toddler play area.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 18, 2021

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.102(a)/3270.103 Clean and good repair/Small Toys and Objects

      “A highchair cover in the young toddler room was cracked with the inner foam filling exposed and accessible. A broken Styrofoam cup was observed in the toddler outdoor play space.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 18, 2021

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.151(a)/3270.192(3) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter/Health assessment, TB test

      “The files for staff #13, #18, #22, #24, and #26 contained health assessments which were not updated within 24 months as required. The most recent health assessments on file for these staff are now current. The files for staff #25 and #29 did not contain current health assessments.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 18, 2021

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.25(a) Availability of certificate of compliance and applicable regulations

      “The operator did not provide parents with information on how to access the regulations in this chapter electronically and did not provide them with instructions for contacting the appropriate regional child care office.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 18, 2021

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.27(c)/3270.192(2)(iii) Training regarding plan/Exp, educ., training at facility

      “The file for staff #37 did not contain documentation of current emergency plan training. The most recent training on file was dated 9/06/19.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 18, 2021

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(f)/3270.192(2)(iii) Health and Safety Training/Exp, educ., training at facility

      “The files for staff #14, #16, #24, all employed for over 90 days, did not contain documentation of completing health and safety training topics 1 through 9 as described in 3270.31f.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 18, 2021

Copied from Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning on October 2, 2026; the state's records start around Jun 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Elizabeth Seton Center-Childrens Program

FAQ

Questions about Elizabeth Seton Center-Childrens Program

Is Elizabeth Seton Center-Childrens Program licensed?

Yes. Elizabeth Seton Center-Childrens Program is certified by the state and operating. This is how Pennsylvania authorizes this type of child care.

When was Elizabeth Seton Center-Childrens Program last inspected?

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning lists the most recent visit on July 15, 2026, with no rules cited. It lists 9 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Elizabeth Seton Center-Childrens Program had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 49 rules across 8 of 9 visits in the last 3 years; 48 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Elizabeth Seton Center-Childrens Program care for?

205, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve school-age children.

Does Elizabeth Seton Center-Childrens Program accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Elizabeth Seton Center-Childrens Program's hours?

Monday to Friday, 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Elizabeth Seton Center-Childrens Program cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (412) 561-8400 to ask.

What is Elizabeth Seton Center-Childrens Program's phone number?

(412) 561-8400.

Where is Elizabeth Seton Center-Childrens Program?

1900 Pioneer Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15226. The nearest other daycare we list is Vivian E Ray, 0.6 miles away.

Sources: Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning (license and visits).