Skip to content
Child care center 

Crafton Children's Corner

2644 Banksville Rd Suite 100, Pittsburgh, PA 152164.5· 12 reviews
licensed capacity
88
open each week
5 days

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Certified by the stateInspection record

About

About Crafton Children's Corner

Crafton Children's Corner is a child care center in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. It is certified by the state, for up to 88 children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM.

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning made 2 visits in the last 3 years and cited 20 rules across 2 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

Accepts child care subsidy
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Ask the daycare
Hours today
7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Licensed capacity
88 children

Hours

Hours

MondayToday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Tuesday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Wednesday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Thursday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Friday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Licensed capacity88 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

Crafton Children's Corner has not listed its tuition.

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition.

State record

Inspection reports for Crafton Children's Corner

License

Status
Certified by the state and operating
License type
Certificate of Compliance
Capacity
88 children
License number
#CER-00249587
See the state's record

Summary

2 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Oct 9, 2025: 10 rules cited

Rules cited on 2 of 2 visits · 20 rules in all · 20 corrected

  • Safety and hazards 5
  • Staff training and qualifications 5
  • Building, equipment and play areas 4
  • Supervision and ratios 3
  • Food and nutrition 2
  • Health, medication and illness 1

For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 6 visits
  1. Oct 9, 2025Inspection10 rules cited
    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.21 General Health and Safety

      “A crib sheet in a crib used for sleeping in the infant room was observed to be loose. Loose crib sheets pose a potential risk of entanglement and suffocation for an infant.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 9, 2025

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.75(b) Inaccessible to children

      “The first aid kit in the toddler room was observed on top of stacked items stored behind a low bookshelf and was accessible to the children.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 9, 2025

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.75(c) Has all items

      “The first aid kit in the toddler room was observed to be missing soap.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 10, 2025

    • Food and nutrition

      3270.161(a) Wholesome

      “Commercially packaged, sliced apples, labeled, "keep refrigerated", were found in a lunch box in a backpack in a cubby in the pre-kindergarten room and was at risk of spoilage.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 9, 2025

    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.124(b)(7) Name/address/phone release person

      “Emergency contact information for child #1 and child #2 was missing the release person's address.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 19, 2025

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.77(a) No peeling paint or plaster

      “Peeling, yellow paint was observed on the climbing apparatus in the outdoor play area.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 10, 2025

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.102(a) Clean and good repair

      “In the pre-kindergarten room, a plastic toy pot, lid was observed to be cracked and broken.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 9, 2025

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.102(a) Clean and good repair

      “The toddler room was cardboard blocks were observed to be in poor repair, having corners that were deteriorating, and pieces were flaking off.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 10, 2025

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.91(a) Stairs, exits, etc. unobstructed

      “In the one-year-olds room, push toys, observed to be hanging on the gate in front of the exit to the outdoor play area, were obstructing the exit doorway.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 9, 2025

    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.21 General Health and Safety

      “The hallway garbage can contained a used cup and straw. The garbage can did not have a plastic liner bag.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 9, 2025

  2. Oct 3, 2024Inspection10 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(e)(4)(i)/3270.31(f)(10) Age and Training/Health and Safety Training - Pediatric First Aid and CPR

      “Staff person #5 has not completed the following required pre-service training within 90 days of their date of hire (see LIS code sheet): Pediatric First Aid/Pediatric CPR and Get Started with Center-based Care: Building Blocks for Quality.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 10, 2024

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(f) Health and Safety Training

      “Staff person #2 has acceptable pediatric first aid/CPR training in an approved curriculum; however, the trainer has not provided documentation that they are PQAS-certified in that training topic.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 3, 2024

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.14/3270.21 Pertinent Laws & Regulations/General Health and Safety

      “The emergency plan on file did not address continuity of operations. The file for Staff Person #5 did not contain the Pa. Health and Safety update 2022 which was required to be completed by 12.30.22, as per Announcement C-22-06.”

      Correction date in the state record: Sep 26, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.27(a)(6) Emergency plan

      “The annual emergency drill's completed at the facility were dated 12/7/2022 and 12/12/2023, more than 12 months apart.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 18, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.27(f) Emergency plan

      “The facility does not have documentation verifying that the most recent emergency plan was submitted to the local municipality and to the county emergency management agency.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 18, 2024

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(e) Age and Training

      “The file for staff person #1 was lacking proof of 12 hours of annual PD training.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 3, 2024

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.102(a) Clean and good repair

      “The play kitchen in the preschool room had an exposed bolt sticking out that could be dangerous to the children. The play mats in the 1yo room were cracking and peeling. The rest mats in the 1yo room were also cracking and peeling and not in good repair.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 3, 2024

    • Food and nutrition

      3270.161(d) Potentially hazardous food refrigerated

      “Multiple children's lunch boxes were observed in the Pre-K room unrefrigerated, and a yogurt was observed inside of one lunch box and a cheese stick inside of the other lunchbox, which can be hazardous if not properly refrigerated. Multiple children's lunch boxes were observed in the Pre-K Counts room unrefrigerated, and a yogurt was observed inside of one of the lunch boxes, which can be hazardous if not properly refrigerated.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 3, 2024

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.35(b)/3270.192(2)(ii) Group sup qualifications/Exp, educ., training prior to facility

      “The file for staff person #2 was missing a transcript or verification of experience to qualify them as a group supervisor.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 18, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.27(a)(5) Emergency plan

      “The facilities emergency plan did not state they would make accommodations for infants, toddlers, children with disabilities or children with chronic medical conditions. The facilities parent letter did not state they would make accommodations for infants, toddlers, children with disabilities or children with chronic medical conditions.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 18, 2024

  3. Oct 30, 2023Inspection11 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(e)(4)(i)/3270.192(2)(iii) Age and Training/Exp, educ., training at facility

      “The file for Staff #1 contained documentation of Pediatric First-Aid/CPR training on 2.15.21 and 6.6.23, which exceeded the expiration of the 2021 training.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 13, 2023

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.27(f) Emergency plan

      “As confirmed by the operator, the Emergency Plan was not sent to the local municipality or to the county emergency management agency.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 18, 2023

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(f)(10) Health and Safety Training - Pediatric First Aid and CPR

      “The file for Staff #3 (see IS Code Sheet) contained documentation of Pediatric First-Aid/CPR training on 6.6.23, which exceeded 90 days of hire.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 13, 2023

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.133(6) Written consent

      “The Albuterol Sulfate Inhaler, for Child #3, in Room B, did not contain written consent for administration of the medication.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 10, 2023

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.94(a)(1) Every 60 days

      “The fire drill documentation showed that a fire drill was held on 4.5.23 and not again until 7.20.23, which exceeded the 60-day requirement.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 13, 2023

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.133(5) Original label

      “The Epinephrine Injection, for Child #2, in Room C, had an expiration date of 9/2023.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 10, 2023

    • Background checks

      3270.192(4) CPSL information

      “The file for Staff #3 did not contain a signed Disclosure Statement.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 10, 2023

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a) Comply with CPSL

      “The file for Staff #2 (see IS Code Sheet), contained a Child Abuse Clearance dated 6.24.22, which was after initial service. The file for Staff #3 (see IS Code Sheet), did not contain an NSOR Certificate or application dated prior to initial service. The file for Staff #4 contained State Police Clearances dated 2.28.17 and 4.28.22, Child Abuse Clearances dated 5.21.18 and 5.26.23, and FBI Clearances dated 5.10.18 and 5.24.23, which exceeded the 60-month renewal requirement.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 13, 2023

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.82(h) Handwashing signs

      “A handwashing sign was not posted at the toilet, in the first stall, in the restroom used by the preschool children.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 27, 2023

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.131(d)(5)/3270.131(e)(3) Immunization record/Dismissal policy

      “The Immunization Record, in the file for Child #1, did not contain documentation of the Influenza vaccination, and an exemption letter was not available.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 10, 2023

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.75(c) Has all items

      “The First-Aid Kit, in Room E, did not contain tape.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 18, 2023

  4. Oct 10, 2022Inspection12 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.34(a)(6) Staff evaluations

      “The file for Staff #1 contained written evaluations dated 9.20.21 and 9.29.22, which exceeded the 12-month requirement. The file for Staff #3 (see IS Code Sheet), did not contain a written evaluation in 2021.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 24, 2022

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a)/3270.192(4) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information

      “The file for Staff #2 (see IS Code Sheet), contained a State Police Clearance dated 9.28.22, which exceeded the start date, and no application was available. The file for Staff #3, contained State Police Clearances dated 7.11.16 and 8.10.21, and Child Abuse Clearances dated 7.12.16 and 9.2.21, which exceeded the 60-month renewal requirement. The file for Staff #5, contained Child Abuse Clearances dated 2.2.17 and 3.11.22, which exceeded the 60-month renewal requirement.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 21, 2022

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(e)(4)(ii)/3270.192(2)(iii) Fire safety - 1 yr./Exp, educ., training at facility

      “The files for Staff #3 did not contain verification of Fire Safety training in 2021.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 21, 2022

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(e)(4)(i) Age and Training

      “The file for Staff #1 contained documentation of completion of Pediatric First-Aid/CPR training on 1.30.19 and 7.3.21, which exceeded the renewal requirement. The file for Staff #3 contained documentation of completion of Pediatric First-Aid/CPR training on 3.7.20 and 3.16.22, which exceeded the renewal requirement.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 21, 2022

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.124(b)(2) Physician name, address, phone

      “The Emergency Contact form, in the file for Child #1, did not contain the address of the child's physician or source of medical care.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 24, 2022

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(b)(3) Parent home/work address, phone

      “The Emergency Contact form, in the file for Child #1, did not contain the enrolling parent's work address or work phone number. The Emergency Contact form, in the file for Child #2, did not contain the enrolling parent's work address.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 24, 2022

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(1) Amount of fee

      “The Agreement, in the file for Child #3, did not specify the amount of the fee to be charged per day or per week.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 21, 2022

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.82(h) Handwashing signs

      “The hall restroom, used by preschool children, did not have a handwashing sign posted at two toilets.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 21, 2022

    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.124(b)(7) Name/address/phone release person

      “The Emergency Contact form, in the file for Child #1 and Child #3, did not contain the address of the release person.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 24, 2022

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.151(a)/3270.192(3) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter/Health assessment, TB test

      “The two most recent Health Assessments, in the file for Staff #5, exceeded the 24-month renewal requirement.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 21, 2022

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.192(5) Two written references

      “The file for Staff #6 did not contain two written, nonfamily references, as only one was available.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 24, 2022

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.131(e)(1)/3270.182(1) Exemption documentation from parent/guardian/Initial and subsequent health reports

      “The Immunization Record, in the file for Child #1, did not contain documentation of the influenza vaccination according to the ACIP recommendation.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 25, 2022

  5. Feb 2, 2022Complaint investigation1 rule cited
    • Discipline and child guidance

      3270.113(b) No physical punishment

      “Staff person #1 was observed roughly placing Child #1, #2, and #3, all young toddlers, on their rest mats repeatedly when they would not stay on their mats at nap time.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 24, 2022

  6. Oct 29, 2021Inspection21 rules cited
    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.135(a)(3) Disposable diapers

      “During an observed diaper change in the older toddler room, a staff person was observed opening the hands free can to dispose of the diaper with their hand, not the foot pedal.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 5, 2021

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.134(a) Child's hands washed

      “During an observed diaper change in the older toddler room, a staff person was observed not washing the child's hands after diapering.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 5, 2021

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(h)/3270.192(2)(iii) Health and Safety Training/Exp, educ., training at facility

      “The file for Staff #7, with a hire date of 7/28/21, lacked documentation of health and safety training numbers 1 - 9, as listed in the regulation 3270.31(f). Training was required to be completed within 90 days of hire, 10/26/21,”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 30, 2021

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.171(c) Safe routes posted

      “The safe drop off and pick up procedures notification was not posted in the facility.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 9, 2021

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.25(a) Availability of certificate of compliance and applicable regulations

      “The provider did not have verification of notifying parents information on how to access the Chapter 3270 child care center regulations electronically or instructions for contacting the appropriate regional child care office.”

      Correction date in the state record: Dec 30, 2021

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.151(c)(2)/3270.192(3) Mantoux TB/Health assessment, TB test

      “The tuberculosis test on file for Staff person #4, with a hire date of 1/8/21, is dated 9/23/18, more than 12 months prior to hire.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 5, 2021

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.151(a)/3270.192(3) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter/Health assessment, TB test

      “The file for Staff person #4, with a hire date of 1/8/21, does not include an initial health assessment dated within 12 months of the first day of employment.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 5, 2021

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.27(c)/3270.192(2)(iii) Training regarding plan/Exp, educ., training at facility

      “The files for Staff person #1, #2, #3, and #4, previously employed by the legal entity, who all began employment at the new location on 7/19/21, do not include documentation of emergency plan training for the new location. The file for Staff person #7, with a date of hire of 7/28/21, includes verification of emergency plan training, dated 8/26/21, not at hire. The file for staff person #8, with a hire date of 10/25/21, does not include verification of emergency plan training completed at hire.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 12, 2021

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(e)(4)(i)/3270.192(2)(iii) Age and Training/Exp, educ., training at facility

      “The most recent Pediatric First Aid/CPR training on file for Staff person #1, dated 3/13/21, is dated after the expiration of the previous training, completed 2/18/19. The most recent Pediatric First Aid/CPR training on file for Staff person #2, dated 4/10/21, is dated after the expiration of the previous training, completed 2/18/19. The most recent Pediatric First Aid/CPR training on file for Staff person #3, dated 4/10/21, is dated after the expiration of the previous training, completed 2/18/19. The file for Staff person #7, with a hire date of 7/28/21, does not include verification of completed pediatric First Aid/CPR training, which was required to be completed within 90 days of hire, 10/26/21.”
    • Background checks

      3270.32(a)/3270.192(4) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information

      “The signed disclosure statement on file for Staff person #5, with a hire date of 9/27/21, is dated 10/19/21, not at hire. The NSOR on file for Staff person #6, with a hire date of 8/19/21, and whose provisional hire period ended on 10/3/21, is dated 10/21/21, after the provisional period ended. The signed disclosure statement on file for Staff person #7, with a hire date of 7/28/21, is dated 8/1/21, not at hire.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 5, 2021

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.75(a) In child care spaces

      “The lunch room, where children have meals and snacks, does not contain a first aid kit.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 5, 2021

    • Food and nutrition

      3270.107 Refrigerator

      “The refrigerator in the pre-toddler room, where children's lunches are stored, did not have an operable thermometer.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 5, 2021

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.124(b)(2) Physician name, address, phone

      “The emergency contact form on file for Child #1 does not include the telephone number for the child's physician/health care provider. The emergency contact form on file for Child #5 does not include the complete address for the child's physician/health care provider.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 10, 2021

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(b)(3) Parent home/work address, phone

      “The emergency contact form on file for Child #1, #2, #3, #4, and #5 does not include the address and/or telephone number for the enrolling parent's place of employment.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 8, 2021

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(b)(6) Insurance coverage information

      “The emergency contact form on file for Child #2 and #5 does not include the health insurance coverage information for the child's health insurance.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 8, 2021

    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.124(b)(7) Name/address/phone release person

      “The emergency contact form on file for Child #2 and #5 does not include a complete address for all listed release persons.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 10, 2021

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(c) Each child care space

      “Children were observed in the lunch room without the emergency contact forms being in the room. Children from the preschool room were observed in the Pre-K Counts room without the emergency contact forms being in the classroom. There was a child receiving care in the pretoddler room without the emergency contact form being in the classroom where he was receiving care.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 5, 2021

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.124(e) Written emergency plan posted

      “There was no emergency transportation plan posted in any of the classrooms or the lunch room in the facility.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 5, 2021

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.131(d)(5)/3270.131(e)(1) Immunization record/Exemption documentation from parent/guardian

      “The immunization record on file for Child #4, who is 4 years old, includes 2 of 3 Hepatitis B vaccinations, as recommended by the ACIP for a child this age.”
    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.131(d)(8) Age appropriate screenings complete

      “The current health assessment on file for Child #3 does not indicate that all age-appropriate screenings have been conducted as recommended by the American Academy of Pediatrics”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 19, 2021

    • Food and nutrition

      3270.166(4) Bottles labeled

      “There were feeding bottles in the Infant room which were not labeled with the child's name for whom they were intended.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 5, 2021

Copied from Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning on October 2, 2026; the state's records start around Jun 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Crafton Children's Corner

FAQ

Questions about Crafton Children's Corner

Is Crafton Children's Corner licensed?

Yes. Crafton Children's Corner is certified by the state and operating. This is how Pennsylvania authorizes this type of child care.

When was Crafton Children's Corner last inspected?

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning lists the most recent visit on October 9, 2025, with 10 rules cited. It lists 2 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Crafton Children's Corner had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 20 rules across 2 of 2 visits in the last 3 years; 20 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Crafton Children's Corner care for?

88, the licensed capacity on the state record.

Does Crafton Children's Corner accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Crafton Children's Corner's hours?

Monday to Friday, 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Crafton Children's Corner cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (412) 563-2273 to ask.

What is Crafton Children's Corner's phone number?

(412) 563-2273.

Where is Crafton Children's Corner?

2644 Banksville Rd Suite 100, Pittsburgh, PA 15216. The nearest other daycare we list is Laura Kress Family Child Care Home, 0.3 miles away.

Sources: Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning (license and visits).