Skip to content
Child care center 

Alpha Academy

1647 Candytuft Ct, Houston, TX 770384.8· 17 reviews
licensed capacity
51
open each week
5 days
a week, county median
$185
year first permitted
2002

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Licensed by the stateInspection record

About

About Alpha Academy

Alpha Academy is a licensed child care center in Houston, Texas. The state has permitted it since December 11, 2002, for up to 51 children, serving infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 6:00 AM to 6:30 PM. It describes its programs: pre-k.

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation made 2 visits in the last 3 years and cited 16 rules across 1 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

InfantsPreschool / pre-KSchool-ageAccepts child care subsidyOpens before 7 AM

Ages served: infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children

From the state license. Ages it lists: Infants-12 Years
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Hours today
Closed today
Licensed capacity
51 children

Hours

Hours

Monday6:00 AM to 6:30 PM
Tuesday6:00 AM to 6:30 PM
Wednesday6:00 AM to 6:30 PM
Thursday6:00 AM to 6:30 PM
Friday6:00 AM to 6:30 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayTodayNot listed
From the state licenseHours it lists: “Mon – Fri / 6:00am – 6:30pm”

Programs

Programs and care

AgesInfants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age childrenFrom the state license. It lists: Infants-12 Years
ProgramsPre-K
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Assistance it acceptsNCI Program
DiscountsHISD Staff Discounts
AccreditationTexas Rising Star (4-star)
Licensed capacity51 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

Alpha Academy has not listed its tuition. For comparison, full-time infant care at a child care center in Harris County has a median price of $185 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition. The county medians below are a starting point.
Harris County medians, full time, per week

Infant

Center$185
Home daycare$164

Toddler

Center$172
Home daycare$155

Preschool

Center$167
Home daycare$153

School age

Center$156
Home daycare$144

County median full-time prices at centers and home daycares, U.S. Department of Labor, National Database of Childcare Prices, 2022 (the latest year). Not this daycare's rates; prices have risen since.

State record

Inspection reports for Alpha Academy

License

Status
Licensed and operating
License type
Full Permit
Capacity
51 children
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Permit issued
2002
License number
#818659
See the state's record

Summary

2 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Oct 2, 2025: 16 rules cited

Rules cited on 1 of 2 visits · 16 rules in all · 16 corrected

  • Safety and hazards 5
  • Staff training and qualifications 5
  • Records and paperwork 5
  • Health, medication and illness 1

For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 5 visits
  1. Oct 2, 2025Inspection16 rules cited
    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.5202(2) - Emergency Preparedness Plan - Communication Procedures

      “The emergency preparedness plan does not include the emergency phone number for the center, does not state how the center will communicate with emergency authorities and CHild Care Regulation.”

      The state verified the correction on Nov 8, 2025

    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.5202(1) - Emergency Preparedness Plan - Evacuation, relocation, and sheltering/lock-down procedures

      “The emergency preparedness plan does not state how children will be evacuated from the center and how children under the age of 2 will be evacuated.”

      The state verified the correction on Nov 3, 2025

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1311(e) - Director Annual Training - Additional required topics

      “The director did not receive training in communicable diseases including immunizations and understanding building and physical premises safety for the August 2024-August 2025 training year.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 3, 2025

    • Health, medication and illnessLow risk

      746.611(a)(1) - Required Health Statement - Written, dated within past year, indicates child is physically able to participate in operation's child-care program

      “Of the six children's records evaluated, five lacked the name and address of the doctor who examined the child within the past year.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 15, 2025

    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.405(b)(1) - Required posting of name, address, and telephone number - Local CCR office

      “The emergency telephone number posting included the incorrect telephone number for the local Child Care Regulation Office. This was corrected at inspection.”

      Corrected during the visit

    • Records and paperworkHigh risk

      746.201(1) - Policies Comply with Rules

      “The parent handbook lacked the following information: 1. Requirements for indoor/outdoor physical activity, benefits of indoor//outdoor physical activity, duration of indoor/outdoor physical activity, type of indoor/outdoor physical activity, the setting, recommended clothing and footwear, criteria used when the weather prevents outdoor play and plan for physical activity when outdoor play is limited. 2. Instructions on how parents may access Minimum Standards, the HHSC website and contact information for the local Child Care Regulation Office. 3. Staff vaccination policy”

      The state verified the correction on Nov 8, 2025

    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.5202(5) - Emergency Preparedness Plan-Reunification Plan

      “The emergency preparedness plan does not state how children will be reunited with their parents once the emergency is over,”

      The state verified the correction on Nov 8, 2025

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1311(c) - Director Annual Training -Required 1 hour in prevention, recognition and reporting of child maltreatment

      “The director did not complete training in the recognition of child abuse and neglect for the August 2024-August 2025 training year.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 3, 2025

    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.603(a)(2) - Children's Records - Admission Information

      “Of the six children's records evaluated, the following information was missing: 1. One lacked the address for the emergency contact 2. One lacked authorization for emergency medical care. 3. One lacked the phone number of the child's doctor”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 15, 2025

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium High risk

      746.1311(d) - Director Annual Training - Caring for children under 24 months

      “The director did not one clock hour of training in SIDS, Shaken Baby Syndrome, Abusive Head Trauma and Understanding Early CHildhood Brain Development for the August 2024-August 2025 training year.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 3, 2025

    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.5202(4) - Emergency Preparedness Plan-Continuity of Care Until Children Released

      “The emergency preparedness plan does not state how children will be cared for during the emergency.”

      The state verified the correction on Nov 8, 2025

    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.5202(3) - Emergency Preparedness Plan - Essential Documentation

      “The emergency preparedness plan does not state how the center will evacuate the building with parent contact information, emergency contact information and emergency medical authorization information for each child.”

      The state verified the correction on Nov 3, 2025

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1309(e) - Documented Annual Training- Required Content

      “Of the six personnel records evaluated, two did not receive training in communicable diseases including immunizations and understanding building and physical premises safety for the September 2024-September 2025 training year.”

      The state verified the correction on Nov 3, 2025

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1309(c) - Documented Annual Training - 1 hour in Prevention, Recognition and Reporting of child maltreatment

      “Of the six personnel records evaluated, two did not complete training in the recognition of child abuse and neglect for the September 2024-September 2025 training year.”

      The state verified the correction on Nov 3, 2025

    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.401(9) - Posting Requirements - List entitled "Current Employees"--sized at least 81/2 X 11 inches, printed legibly, include employee first and last name

      “The list of current employees did not include all staff that are working at the center, This was corrected at inspection.”

      Corrected during the visit

    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.901(5) - Required Personnel Records - Required Affidavit (Form 2912)

      “Of the six personnel records evaluated, two lacked the pre-employment affidavit.”

      The state verified the correction on Nov 3, 2025

  2. Oct 4, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  3. Oct 6, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  4. Oct 7, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  5. Oct 21, 2021InspectionNo rules cited

Copied from Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation on October 1, 2026; the state's records start around Sep 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Alpha Academy

FAQ

Questions about Alpha Academy

Is Alpha Academy licensed?

Yes. Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists it as licensed and operating, with a permit issued December 11, 2002.

When was Alpha Academy last inspected?

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists the most recent visit on October 2, 2025, with 16 rules cited. It lists 2 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Alpha Academy had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 16 rules across 1 of 2 visits in the last 3 years; 16 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Alpha Academy care for?

51, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

Does Alpha Academy accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Alpha Academy's hours?

Monday to Friday, 6:00 AM to 6:30 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Alpha Academy cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (281) 820-3399 to ask.

What is Alpha Academy's phone number?

(281) 820-3399.

Where is Alpha Academy?

1647 Candytuft Ct, Houston, TX 77038. The nearest other daycare we list is Eternity Christian Childcare, 0.7 miles away.

Sources: Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation (license and visits) · U.S. Department of Labor, 2022 (county prices).