A Spot 4 Tots Learning Academy
131 W Chelten Ave, Philadelphia, PA
We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.
Own this daycare? Claim itAbout
Way To Grow is a group home daycare in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It is certified by the state, for up to 12 children.
It is open Monday to Friday, 7:30 AM to 3:00 PM. It describes a Play-based approach, with drop-in care, preschool, summer camp and toddler care. It says it provides meals. It lists monthly tuition from $1,000 to $1,300. As a home daycare, the provider shares the address with families when you call.
Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning made 6 visits in the last 3 years and cited 56 rules across 5 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.
Hours
| MondayToday | 7:30 AM to 3:00 PM |
|---|---|
| Tuesday | 7:30 AM to 3:00 PM |
| Wednesday | 7:30 AM to 3:00 PM |
| Thursday | 7:30 AM to 3:00 PM |
| Friday | 7:30 AM to 3:00 PM |
| Saturday | Not listed |
| Sunday | Not listed |
Programs
| Ages | 2 - 5 1/2 years |
|---|---|
| Setting | Group child care homeFrom the state license |
| Programs | Drop-in care, preschool, summer camp and toddler care |
| Approach | Play-based |
| Daily life | Meals provided; Snacks provided |
| Child care subsidy | Accepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license |
| Licensed capacity | 12 childrenFrom the state license |
Cost
Way To Grow lists monthly tuition from $1,000 to $1,300.
| Monthly · program, in its own words | Price |
|---|---|
| Ages 2 - 3 1/2 years, 3 full days a week, monthly payment | $1,100 |
| Ages 2 - 3 1/2 years, 5 full days a week, monthly payment | $1,300 |
| Ages 3 1/2 - 5 1/2 years, 3 full days a week, monthly payment | $1,000 |
| Ages 3 1/2 - 5 1/2 years, 5 full days a week, monthly payment | $1,200 |
| Weekly · program, in its own words | Price |
|---|---|
| Ages 2 - 3 1/2 years, 3 full days a week | $275 |
| Ages 2 - 3 1/2 years, 5 full days a week | $325 |
| Ages 3 1/2 - 5 1/2 years, 3 full days a week | $250 |
| Ages 3 1/2 - 5 1/2 years, 5 full days a week | $300 |
State record
6 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Dec 23, 2025: 7 rules cited
Rules cited on 5 of 6 visits · 56 rules in all · 54 corrected
For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14.
A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.
Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record
3280.26(c) Training regarding plan
“During the inspection on 1/8/26 the file record for staff person #1 did not include annual emergency plan training.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 8, 2026
3280.191 Individual Records
“During the inspection 1/8/2026 facility person #2 was observed providing direct child care but did not have a file record established (did not have the required documentation).”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 15, 2026
3280.181(c) Emergency info/agreement updated 6 mos
“During the inspection on 1/8/26 the file record for child#4 did not include a review and update of the emergency contact information and the financial agreement at least once in a 6-month period or as soon as there is a change in the information.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 15, 2026
3280.124(b)(3) Parent home/work address, phone
“During the inspection on 1/8/26 the file records for child #1, 2 and 3 did not include the home and work addresses and telephone numbers of the enrolling parent on the emergency contact form.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 15, 2026
3280.123(a)(3) Services proceeded
“During the inspection on 1/8/26 the file record for child#1 did not include a signed child service report/observation.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 15, 2026
3280.124(b)(7) Name/address/phone release person
“During the inspection on 1/8/26 the file records for child # 1 and 2 did not include the name, address and telephone number of the individual designated by the parent to whom the child may be released on emergency contact form.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 15, 2026
3280.32(a)/3280.192(4) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information
“During the inspection on 1/8/26 facility person #2 was observed coming into direct contact with children and did not have a state police clearance, child abuse clearance, DHS FBI clearance, NSOR, mandated reporter training and a signed disclosure statement.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 8, 2026
3280.26(c) Training regarding plan
“During the inspection on 1/21/25 the file record for staff person #1 did not include emergency plan training.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 28, 2025
3280.34(b)(5)/3280.192(2)(ii) HS/GED + 2 yrs/Exp, educ., training prior to facility
“During the inspection on 1/21/2025 the file records for staff person #1 did not include verification of child care experience, and education prior to service at the facility.”
Correction date in the state record: Feb 4, 2025
3280.192(1) Name, address, and phone
“During the inspection on 1/21/25 the file record for staff person #1 did not include the name, address and telephone number of the facility person.”
Correction date in the state record: Feb 4, 2025
3280.192(2)(i) Age
“During the inspection on 1/21/25 the file record for staff person # 1 did not include verification of age.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 31, 2025
3280.14/3280.21 Pertinent Laws & Regulations/Communication with Parents
“Staff person #1-- was observed to be caring for children unsupervised. Staff person #1-- has not completed the following pre-service training required prior to caring for children unsupervised: (mandated reporter training).”
Correction date in the state record: Feb 5, 2025
3280.63 Unsafe Areas in Outdoor Space
“During the inspection on 1/16/25 the outdoor play space was observed having trash bags and debris.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 16, 2025
3280.35(1) HS/GED
“During the inspection on 1/16/2025 the file records for staff person # 2 and 3 did not include verification of child care experience, education prior to service at the facility.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 30, 2025
3280.124(b)(6) Insurance coverage information
“During the inspection on 1/16/2025 the file records for child # 1 and 3 did not include health insurance coverage and policy number for a child under a family policy or Medical Assistance benefits on the emergency contact form.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 23, 2025
3280.151(a)/3280.192(3) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter/Health assessment, TB test
“During the inspection on 1/16/2025 the file for staff person #3 did not include an initial health assessment.”
Correction date in the state record: Feb 16, 2025
3280.182(3) Consent for emergency medical care required prior to admission
“During the inspection on 1/16/2025 the file records for child # 1 and 3 did not include signed parental consent for emergency medical care for the child.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 23, 2025
3280.182(5) Consent for administration of minor first-aid required prior to admission
“During the inspection 1/16/25 the file records for child # 1 and 3 did not include signed parental consent for administration of minor first-aid procedures by facility staff.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 23, 2025
3280.192(2)(i) Age
“During the inspection on 1/16/25 the file record for staff persons # 3 did not include verification of age.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 17, 2025
3280.192(5) Two written references
“During the inspection on 1/16/2025 the file records for staff person#2 and 3 did not include two written, non-family references from individuals attesting to the person's suitability to serve as a facility person.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 30, 2025
3280.94(a)(1) Every 60 days
“During the inspection on 1/16/25 the last fire drill observed on file was 11/13/24”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 30, 2025
3280.32(a)/3280.192(4) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information
“During the inspection on 1/16/2025 staff person# 1 was observed providing direct child care and their file included an expired DHS FBI Clearance dated: 2/21/19 and NSOR clearance dated: 11/15/19. The file record for staff person#2 did not include a state police clearance and did not include a NSOR.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 16, 2025
3280.123(a) Signed
“During the inspection on 1/16/25 the file records for child #3 did not include a financial agreement form signed by the operator and parent.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 23, 2025
3280.123(a)(1) Amount of fee
“During the inspection on 1/16/25 the file record for child # 3 did not include an agreement that specified the amount of the fee to be charged per day or per week.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 23, 2025
3280.123(a)(2) Date fee to be paid
“During the inspection on 1/16/25 the file record for child #3 did not include an agreement that specified the date on which the fee is to be paid.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 23, 2025
3280.123(a)(5) Designated release persons
“During the inspection on 1/16/25 the file record for child # 3 did not include an agreement that specified the persons designated by a parent to whom the child may be released.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 23, 2025
3280.91(a) Stairs, exits, etc. unobstructed
“During the inspection on 1/16/25 a exit/back door was observed blocked by pillows.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 16, 2025
3280.123(a)(6) Admission date
“During the inspection on 1/16/25 the file records for child # 2 and 3 did not include an agreement that specified the date of the child's admission.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 23, 2025
3280.124(b)(7) Name/address/phone release person
“During the inspection on 3/8/24 the file record for child # 3 did not include the name, address and telephone number of the individual designated by the parent to whom the child may be released on emergency contact form.”
Correction date in the state record: Mar 15, 2024
3280.181(c) Emergency info/agreement updated 6 mos
“During the inspection on 3/8/24 the file records for child#1,2, and 3 did not include a review and update the emergency contact information and the financial agreement at least once in a 6-month period or as soon as there is a change in the information.”
Correction date in the state record: Mar 15, 2024
3280.171(b)/3280.171(c) Safe pick-up and drop-off in writing/Safe routes posted
“Ongoing noncompliance- During the inspection on 3/8/24 the facility did not have a safe routes plan posted.”
Correction date in the state record: Mar 8, 2024
3280.131(b)(2) Toddler/preschool: updated health report every 12 months
“During the inspection on 3/8/24 the file records for child #2 did not include an updated health assessment.”
Correction date in the state record: Apr 8, 2024
3280.124(f) Updated every 6 months
“During the inspection on 2/29/2024 the file record for child #4 did not include an update in writing emergency contact information once in a 6-month period or as soon as there is a change in the information.”
Correction date in the state record: Mar 15, 2024
3280.52(a)(1) Primary staff person present
“During the inspection on 3/8/24 staff person #1 was observed with 7 children alone, the youngest child was two years old.”
Correction date in the state record: Mar 8, 2024
3280.123(a) Signed
“During the inspection on 3/8/24 the file record for child #4 did not include a completed financial agreement form signed by the operator and parent.”
Correction date in the state record: Mar 15, 2024
3280.124(e) Written emergency plan posted
“Ongoing noncompliance- During the inspection on 3/8/24 the facility did not have a written plan identifying the means of transporting a child to emergency care and staffing provisions in the event of an emergency posted conspicuously in every child care space”
Correction date in the state record: Mar 8, 2024
3280.94(a)(1) Every 60 days
“During the inspection on 1/25/24 the facility did not have a fire drill log or any record of any fire drills.”
Correction date in the state record: Feb 8, 2024
3280.32(a)/3280.192(4) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information
“During the inspection on 1/25/2024 the file record for staff person #3 did not include a state police clearance, NSOR clearance, disclosure statement and mandated reporter training. The file record for staff person #4 did not include a state police clearance, FBI clearance, NSOR clearance, disclosure statement and mandated reporter training. The file record for staff person# 5 did not include state police clearance, child abuse clearance, FBI clearance, NSOR clearance, disclosure clearance and mandated reporter training. Facility Person #3,4 and 5--- may not work in a child care position at the facility.”
Correction date in the state record: Feb 25, 2024
3280.26(c) Training regarding plan
“During the inspection on 1/25/24 the file records for staff person #3, 4 and 5 did not include emergency plan training.”
Correction date in the state record: Feb 1, 2024
3280.14/3280.21 Pertinent Laws & Regulations/Communication with Parents
“Staff person #2--- has not completed the following required pre-service training within 90 days of their date of hire (see LIS code sheet): (Pediatric First Aid & Health & safety training). During the inspection on 1/25/2024 the facility had an emergency plan that did not address prevention of shaken baby syndrome, volunteer emergency preparedness training, practice drills, and continuity of operations.”
Correction date in the state record: Feb 9, 2024
3280.131(a) Health Information
“During the inspection on 1/25/2024 the file records for child #1 did not include an initial health assessment.”
Correction date in the state record: Feb 25, 2024
3280.35(1)/3280.192(2)(ii) HS/GED/Exp, educ., training prior to facility
“During the inspection on 1/25/2024 the file records for staff person #3, 4 and 5 did not include verification of child care experience, education and training prior to service at the facility.”
Correction date in the state record: Feb 8, 2024
3280.67(d) Contaminated trash in closed plastic-lined receptacle
“During the inspection on 1/25/2024 the trash can contaminated by human secretions or excrement was not in closed, plastic lined receptacles.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 29, 2024
3280.75(c) Has all items
“During the inspection on 1/25/24 the first-aid kits in the facility was missing scissors and soap.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 25, 2024
3280.124(e) Written emergency plan posted
“During the inspection on 1/25/24 the facility did not have a written plan identifying the means of transporting a child to emergency care and staffing provisions in the event of an emergency posted conspicuously in every child care space”
3280.131(b)(2) Toddler/preschool: updated health report every 12 months
“During the inspection on 1/25/2024 the file records for child #3 did not include an updated health assessment.”
Correction date in the state record: Feb 25, 2024
3280.151(a)/3280.192(3) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter/Health assessment, TB test
“During the inspection on 1/25/2024 the file for staff person #3 did not include an initial health assessment. The file record for staff person #1 did not include an updated/subsequent health assessment.”
Correction date in the state record: Feb 25, 2024
3280.171(b)/3280.171(c) Safe pick-up and drop-off in writing/Safe routes posted
“During the inspection on 1/25/2024 the facility did not have a safe routes plan posted”
3280.24(a) Availability of certificate of compliance and applicable regulations
“During the inspection on 1/25/2024 the facility did not have information on how to access the regulations electronically and with instructions for contacting the appropriate regional child care office.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 26, 2024
3280.26(a)(6) Emergency plan
“During the inspection on 1/25/2024 the facility did not have a fire drill log and there was no record of an emergency drill be conducted.”
Correction date in the state record: Feb 8, 2024
3280.192(5) Two written references
“During the inspection on 1/25/2024 the file records for staff person#3, 4 and 5 did not include two written, non-family references from individuals attesting to the person's suitability to serve as a facility person.”
Correction date in the state record: Feb 8, 2024
3280.31(e) Age and training
“During the inspection 1/25/24 the file record for staff person # 1 and 2 did not include annual minimum of 12 clock hours of child care training.”
Correction date in the state record: Feb 8, 2024
3280.26(f) Emergency plan
“During the inspection on 1/25/2024 it was determined that the operator did not send a copy of the emergency plan and subsequent plan updates to the local municipality and to the county emergency management agency.”
Correction date in the state record: Feb 1, 2024
3280.192(2)(i) Age
“During the inspection on 1/25/2024 the file record for staff persons #1, 2,3,4, and 5 did not include verification of age.”
Correction date in the state record: Feb 1, 2024
3280.192(1) Name, address, and phone
“During the inspection on 1/25/2024 the file records for staff person #1,2,3,4, and 5 did not include the name, address and telephone number of the facility person.”
Correction date in the state record: Feb 1, 2024
3280.181(c) Emergency info/agreement updated 6 mos
“During the inspection on 1/25/2024 the file records for child#1, 2 and 3 did not include a review and update the emergency contact information and the financial agreement at least once in a 6-month period or as soon as there is a change in the information.”
Correction date in the state record: Feb 1, 2024
3280.123(a)(5) Designated release persons
“During renewal inspection on March 17, 2023, the agreements of children #2 and #5 did not specify the persons designated by a parent to whom the child may be released.”
Correction date in the state record: Apr 16, 2023
3280.14/3280.20 Pertinent Laws & Regulations/General Health and Safety
“During renewal inspection on March 17, 2023, the facility did not have a Shaken Baby Syndrome, Abusive Head Trauma and Child Maltreatment policy, and did not have a Continuity of Operations plan.”
Correction date in the state record: Apr 16, 2023
3280.26(a)(5) Emergency plan
“During renewal inspection on March 17, 2023, the facility emergency plan did not provide accommodations for toddlers, children with disabilities or children with chronic medical conditions.”
Correction date in the state record: Apr 16, 2023
3280.124(b)(7) Name/address/phone release person
“During renewal inspection on March 17, 2023, the emergency contact information of child#1 did not include the address of the individual designated by the parent to whom the child may be released.”
Correction date in the state record: Apr 16, 2023
3280.192(2)(ii)/3280.192(2)(iv) Exp, educ., training prior to facility/Transcript, diploma and letters
“During renewal inspection on March 17, 2023, the record of staff #1 did not contain verification of education or experience.”
Correction date in the state record: Apr 16, 2023
3280.182(8) Copy of initial and subsequent agreements. Parent receives original.
“During renewal inspection on March 17, 2023, the record of child #1 did not contain a financial agreement.”
Correction date in the state record: Apr 16, 2023
3280.151(c)(2)/3280.192(3) Mantoux TB /Health assessment, TB test
“During renewal inspection on March 17, 2023, the health assessment of staff #1 did not contain documentation of Tuberculin testing.”
Correction date in the state record: Apr 16, 2023
3280.131(e)/3280.131(e)(1) ACIP recommended immunization record /Exemption documentation from parent/guardian
“During renewal inspection on March 17, 2023, the health information of child #3 did not include updated written verification from a medical professional of ongoing vaccines in accordance with the recommendations of the ACIP, and the health information of child #4 did not indicate the child has received an influenza vaccine within the previous year as recommended by the ACIP.”
Correction date in the state record: Apr 16, 2023
3280.26(f) Emergency plan
“During renewal inspection on March 17, 2023, the operator did not have documentation that a copy of the emergency plan was sent to the local municipality and the county emergency management agency.”
Correction date in the state record: Apr 16, 2023
3280.26(a)(1) Emergency plan
“DURING INITIAL INSPECTION ON SEPTEMBER 12, 2022, THE FACILITY EMERGENCY PLAN DID NOT SPECIFY EMERGENCY LOCK DOWN PROVISIONS.”
Correction date in the state record: Oct 3, 2022
3280.69(a) 110º F or less
“DURING INITIAL INSPECTION ON SEPTEMBER 12, 2022, THE WATER TEMPERATURE MEASURED AT 114°F.”
Correction date in the state record: Sep 29, 2022
3280.17 Liability Insurance
“DURING INITIAL INSPECTION ON SEPTEMBER 12, 2022, THE PROVIDER DID NOT HAVE A COPY OF THE COMPREHENSIVE GENERAL LIABILITY INSURANCE POLICY ON FILE AT THE FACILITY.”
Correction date in the state record: Oct 13, 2022
Reviews
If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.
131 W Chelten Ave, Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA 19144 · Home daycare: the provider shares the address with families
138 W Chelten Ave # 48, Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA 19144 · Home daycare: the provider shares the address with families
Philadelphia, PA 19144 · Home daycare: the provider shares the address with families
Philadelphia, PA 19144 · Home daycare: the provider shares the address with families
Philadelphia, PA 19144 · Home daycare: the provider shares the address with families
Philadelphia, PA 19144 · Home daycare: the provider shares the address with families
Philadelphia, PA 19144 · Home daycare: the provider shares the address with families
FAQ
Yes. Way To Grow is certified by the state and operating. This is how Pennsylvania authorizes this type of child care.
Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning lists the most recent visit on December 23, 2025, with 7 rules cited. It lists 6 visits in the last 3 years.
Yes. Inspectors cited 56 rules across 5 of 6 visits in the last 3 years; 54 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.
12, the licensed capacity on the state record.
Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.
Monday to Friday, 7:30 AM to 3:00 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.
Monthly tuition from $1,000 to $1,300, as it lists it.
(215) 820-3187.
Philadelphia, PA 19144. It is a home daycare, so the provider shares the street address with families directly.