Skip to content
Child care center 

Unique Learners Academy

7634 Bellfort St, Houston, TX 77061
licensed capacity
79
open each week
6 days
a week, county median
$185
year first permitted
2024

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Licensed by the stateInspection record

About

About Unique Learners Academy

Unique Learners Academy is a licensed child care center in Houston, Texas. The state has permitted it since April 3, 2024, for up to 79 children, serving infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

It is open Monday to Saturday, 5:00 AM to 6:30 PM.

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation made 28 visits in the last 3 years and cited 25 rules across 15 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

InfantsSchool-ageAccepts child care subsidyWeekend hoursOpens before 7 AM

Ages served: infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Hours today
Closed today
Licensed capacity
79 children

Hours

Hours

Monday5:00 AM to 6:30 PM
Tuesday5:00 AM to 6:30 PM
Wednesday5:00 AM to 6:30 PM
Thursday5:00 AM to 6:30 PM
Friday5:00 AM to 6:30 PM
Saturday5:00 AM to 6:30 PM
SundayTodayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

AgesInfants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age childrenFrom the state license
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Licensed capacity79 childrenFrom the state license

Cost

Tuition and costs

Unique Learners Academy has not listed its tuition. For comparison, full-time infant care at a child care center in Harris County has a median price of $185 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition. The county medians below are a starting point.
Harris County medians, full time, per week

Infant

Center$185
Home daycare$164

Toddler

Center$172
Home daycare$155

Preschool

Center$167
Home daycare$153

School age

Center$156
Home daycare$144

County median full-time prices at centers and home daycares, U.S. Department of Labor, National Database of Childcare Prices, 2022 (the latest year). Not this daycare's rates; prices have risen since.

State record

Inspection reports for Unique Learners Academy

License

Status
Licensed and operating
License type
Full Permit
Capacity
79 children
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Permit issued
2024
License number
#1786344
See the state's record

Summary

28 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Jun 24, 2026: 1 rule cited

Rules cited on 15 of 28 visits · 25 rules in all · 25 corrected

  • Records and paperwork 6
  • Supervision and ratios 5
  • Discipline and child guidance 3
  • Safety and hazards 3
  • Health, medication and illness 2
  • Food and nutrition 2
  • Staff training and qualifications 1
  • Transportation 1
  • Safe sleep 1
  • Building, equipment and play areas 1

For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 29 visits
  1. Jun 24, 2026Inspection1 rule cited
    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.1205(a)(4) - Supervision ensures each child’s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child’s on going activity

      “Two caregivers did not know the ages of children in their care. This was corrected when the person in charge knew the information for the children in care.”

      Corrected during the visit

  2. Jun 11, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  3. May 21, 2026Inspection1 rule cited
    • Supervision and ratiosMedium High risk

      746.1205(a)(3) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know children's names and ages

      “One caregiver was observed not knowing the ages of the children she was supervising.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 11, 2026

  4. May 18, 2026Complaint investigation2 rules cited
    • Discipline and child guidanceMedium High risk

      746.2807 - Employees Discipline Own Children

      “There was sufficient evidence to support the allegations that a caregiver disciplined their child at the operation.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 30, 2026

    • Discipline and child guidanceHigh risk

      746.1201(1) - Responsibilities of Employees and Caregivers -Demonstrate Competency, Good Judgment, Self-control

      “Based on the preponderance of evidence good judgement was not used when a caregiver was videoed using profound language such as cursing in front of children.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 30, 2026

  5. Apr 30, 2026Inspection1 rule cited
    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.3421(a) - Infant Handwashing - Individual Cloth

      “A caregiver was observed not washing an infants hands after completing a diaper change. This was corrected when the caregiver washed the infants hands.”

      Corrected during the visit

  6. Apr 9, 2026Inspection3 rules cited
    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.3701 - Safety - Areas Free From Hazards

      “There were several safety concerns on the outdoor play area including a hole in the fence behind a play hose that could allow for a small child to slip through, gates that were open and a broken gate which could allow for a child to get out of the fenced area. There was also trash on the playground.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 10, 2026

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1309(e) - Documented Annual Training- Required Content

      “Five out of five staff folders reviewed were missing the training for preventing and responding to emergencies due to food or an allergic reaction.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 16, 2026

    • Supervision and ratiosMedium High risk

      746.1205(a)(3) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know children's names and ages

      “One caregiver was observed not knowing the ages of the four students in care and the information was not posted.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 30, 2026

  7. Jan 21, 2026Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2025 Survey data, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2025 by January 15, 2026, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 23, 2026

  8. Aug 13, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  9. Aug 12, 2025VisitNo rules cited
  10. Jul 16, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
Show 19 earlier visits
  1. Jul 1, 2025Inspection1 rule cited
    • Safety and hazardsHigh risk

      746.5101(a) - Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months

      “The operations fire inspection permit expired 6/10/2025.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 3, 2025

  2. Jun 5, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  3. Jun 3, 2025Complaint investigation5 rules cited
    • Records and paperworkHigh risk

      746.305(a)(6) - Report Situation Placing Children at Risk

      “Based on the information obtained during the investigation, there is sufficient evidence to support the operation did not report a child exiting the building.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 16, 2025

    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.1205(a)(4) - Supervision ensures each child’s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child’s on going activity

      “Based on evidence obtained during the investigation, there was sufficient evidence to support the school age classroom was unsupervised.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 16, 2025

    • Records and paperworkHigh risk

      746.307(b)(4) - Parental Communication - Situation that Placed a Child at Risk

      “Based on the information obtained during the investigation, there is sufficient evidence to support the operation did not notify parent of child exiting the building.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 16, 2025

    • Food and nutritionMedium High risk

      746.1203(3)(B) - Meal preparation, except when 12 or fewer children are in care

      “Based on the evidence obtained, the school age caregiver prepares food in the kitchen while in ratio.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 16, 2025

    • Discipline and child guidanceMedium High risk

      746.2202(3) - Planned activities designed to meet special care needs-Intervention or specialized services

      “Based on the information obtained during the investigation, there is sufficient evidence to support a student was denied early childhood intervention services.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 16, 2025

  4. May 29, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  5. May 14, 2025Inspection1 rule cited
    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.2401(7) - Basic Requirements for Infants - Never Unsupervised

      “The infant caregiver was observed leaving the infant classroom unspervised to answer the front door.”

      The state verified the correction on May 29, 2025

  6. Apr 30, 2025Inspection2 rules cited
    • TransportationHigh risk

      746.5617(a)(5) - Required Equipment in Vehicles - Fire Extinguisher

      “The fire extinguisher was observed in the back of the transportation unsecured. Note: Photo was taken.”

      The state verified the correction on May 14, 2025

    • Food and nutritionMedium High risk

      746.2419(8) - Requirements for Feeding Infants - Other Use of Handwashing Sink

      “Bottles were observed on the infant changing table. Note: Pictures were taken during inspection.”

      Corrected during the visit

  7. Jan 17, 2025Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2024 data revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 27, 2025

  8. Oct 15, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  9. Oct 10, 2024VisitNo rules cited
  10. Oct 7, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  11. Oct 4, 2024Inspection1 rule cited
    • Safe sleepHigh risk

      746.2426(a)(1) - Infant May Not Sleep in a Restrictive Device

      “A three month old infant was observed sleeping in a restrictive device.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 15, 2024

  12. Oct 3, 2024VisitNo rules cited
  13. Aug 5, 2024VisitNo rules cited
  14. Jun 24, 2024VisitNo rules cited
  15. Mar 20, 2024Inspection3 rules cited
    • Health, medication and illnessMedium risk

      746.603(a)(4) - Children's Records - Immunizations

      “One child did not have their most recent immunizations in their file.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 2, 2024

    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium High risk

      746.4805(b) - Measurement of Use Zone for Slides - Six Feet High or Less

      “The use zones in front of two slides were blocked on the smaller playset.”

      Corrected during the visit

    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.401(5) - Posting Requirements - Activity Plans for each group of children in the child care center

      “The infant and toddler classrooms did not have posted written activity plans.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 1, 2024

  16. Jan 26, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  17. Jan 19, 2024Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023 data, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2023 by January 15, 2024, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 22, 2024

  18. Dec 14, 2023Inspection1 rule cited
    • Safety and hazardsMedium risk

      746.801(10) - Required Records Maintained and Made Available - Safety Documentation for Emergency Drills, Fire Extinguishers, & Smoke Detectors

      “The operation had not documented their smoke detector or fire extinguisher checks. This was corrected when the director re-checked the items and documented them on the correct licensing form.”

      Corrected during the visit

  19. Oct 6, 2023Inspection2 rules cited
    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium High risk

      746.4805(b) - Measurement of Use Zone for Slides - Six Feet High or Less

      “The use zone in front of the slide did not extend at least six feet.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 17, 2023

    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium risk

      746.4803 - Measurement of Use Zone for Stationary Equipment

      “The use zone for the "Jeep" equipment does not extend at least six feet on each side.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 17, 2023

Copied from Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation on October 1, 2026; the state's records start around Sep 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Unique Learners Academy

FAQ

Questions about Unique Learners Academy

Is Unique Learners Academy licensed?

Yes. Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists it as licensed and operating, with a permit issued April 3, 2024.

When was Unique Learners Academy last inspected?

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists the most recent visit on June 24, 2026, with 1 rule cited. It lists 28 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Unique Learners Academy had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 25 rules across 15 of 28 visits in the last 3 years; 25 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Unique Learners Academy care for?

79, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

Does Unique Learners Academy accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Unique Learners Academy's hours?

Monday to Saturday, 5:00 AM to 6:30 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Unique Learners Academy cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (832) 523-1230 to ask.

What is Unique Learners Academy's phone number?

(832) 523-1230.

Where is Unique Learners Academy?

7634 Bellfort St, Houston, TX 77061. The nearest other daycare we list is Bellfort Street KinderCare, 0.5 miles away.

Sources: Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation (license and visits) · U.S. Department of Labor, 2022 (county prices).