Skip to content
Child care center 

The Learning Palace

2300 N 10th St Ste A, McAllen, TX 78501
licensed capacity
60
open each week
6 days
a week, county median
$144
year first permitted
2020

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Licensed by the stateInspection record

About

About The Learning Palace

The Learning Palace is a licensed child care center in McAllen, Texas. The state has permitted it since July 3, 2020, for up to 60 children, serving infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

It is open Monday to Saturday, 7:00 AM to 6:30 PM.

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation made 6 visits in the last 3 years and cited 1 rule across 1 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

InfantsSchool-ageAccepts child care subsidyWeekend hours

Ages served: infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Hours today
Closed today
Licensed capacity
60 children

Hours

Hours

Monday7:00 AM to 6:30 PM
Tuesday7:00 AM to 6:30 PM
Wednesday7:00 AM to 6:30 PM
Thursday7:00 AM to 6:30 PM
Friday7:00 AM to 6:30 PM
Saturday7:00 AM to 6:30 PM
SundayTodayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

AgesInfants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age childrenFrom the state license
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Licensed capacity60 childrenFrom the state license

Cost

Tuition and costs

The Learning Palace has not listed its tuition. For comparison, full-time infant care at a child care center in Hidalgo County has a median price of $144 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition. The county medians below are a starting point.
Hidalgo County medians, full time, per week

Infant

Center$144
Home daycare$131

Toddler

Center$136
Home daycare$126

Preschool

Center$133
Home daycare$124

School age

Center$126
Home daycare$120

County median full-time prices at centers and home daycares, U.S. Department of Labor, National Database of Childcare Prices, 2022 (the latest year). Not this daycare's rates; prices have risen since.

State record

Inspection reports for The Learning Palace

License

Status
Licensed and operating
License type
Full Permit
Capacity
60 children
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Permit issued
2020
License number
#1698544
See the state's record

Summary

6 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Jul 9, 2026: no rules cited

Rules cited on 1 of 6 visits · 1 rule in all · 1 corrected

  • Food and nutrition 1

For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 21 visits
  1. Jul 9, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Jul 2, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  3. Jul 14, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  4. Aug 12, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  5. Mar 27, 2024Inspection1 rule cited
    • Food and nutritionMedium risk

      746.801(2) - Required Records Maintained and Made Available - Infant Feeding Instructions

      “Feeding instructions for a child not yet eating table were not available for review at the time of inspection.”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 29, 2024

  6. Dec 22, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  7. Sep 15, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  8. Sep 6, 2023Inspection5 rules cited
    • Discipline and child guidanceMedium risk

      746.2207(a) - Screen Time Activities - Not Used for Under Two

      “Children ages 15mo-3yo were observed were observed watching TV during the morning routine.”

      The state verified the correction on Sep 15, 2023

    • Supervision and ratiosMedium High risk

      746.1605(1) - Child/Caregiver Ratio - 18 Months Difference in Age

      “One caregiver was providing care for a group of 9 children ages 15mo to 3yo. Age difference exceeded 18months.”

      The state verified the correction on Sep 15, 2023

    • Supervision and ratiosMedium High risk

      746.1013(a) - Director's Absence - Qualified Caregiver in Charge

      “Director was not present at arrival, a person in charge was not designated.”

      The state verified the correction on Sep 15, 2023

    • Supervision and ratiosMedium High risk

      746.1203(4) - Provide care consistent with child's habits, interests, strengths, special needs, including any special supervision needs

      “Children in the toddler / prek classroom were observed screaming, flighting, moving and climbing onto furniture.”

      The state verified the correction on Sep 15, 2023

    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium risk

      746.2603(1) - Space Requirements for Pre-Kindergarten Age - Does Not Limit Movement

      “A 3yo child was observed in a high chair during the morning routine.”

      The state verified the correction on Sep 15, 2023

  9. Aug 17, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  10. Aug 14, 2023Inspection1 rule cited
    • Supervision and ratiosMedium High risk

      746.1605(1) - Child/Caregiver Ratio - 18 Months Difference in Age

      “A group of 9 children ages 13mo-3yo were combined in the toddler classroom. Age difference exceed 18 months.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 17, 2023

Show 11 earlier visits
  1. Aug 14, 2023Visit1 rule cited
    • Supervision and ratiosMedium High risk

      746.1605(1) - Child/Caregiver Ratio - 18 Months Difference in Age

      “A group of 9 children ages 13mo-3yo were combined in the toddler classroom. Age difference exceed 18 months.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 17, 2023

  2. Jul 31, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  3. Jun 16, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  4. May 31, 2023Inspection5 rules cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.501(a)(18) - Written Operational Policies - Promotion of Physical Activity

      “Operational Policies were reviewed and following information is missing: -Outdoor and Physical Activity Policy -Procedures for providing and applying insect repellent and sunscreen -Procedures for conducting health checks -Information on vaccine-preventable diseases for employees -Information regarding the Under the gang-free zone”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 7, 2023

    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.603(a) - Children's Records Maintained

      “One of out of seven children's files were reviewed was not available for review at the time of inspection.”

      The state verified the correction on May 31, 2023

    • Food and nutritionMedium risk

      746.401(6) - Posting Requirements - Daily menu, including all snacks and meals served by the child care center

      “Menu posted is from last week. Note: This was corrected at inspection when provider printed and updated the menu posted.”

      Corrected during the visit

    • Discipline and child guidanceMedium risk

      746.2417(1) - Activities for Infants - Outdoor Play Daily

      “Infant-age children did not participate in outdoor play as described on the daily schedule.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 16, 2023

    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.901 - Required Personnel Records

      “Five staff records were reviewed. One is missing copy of high school diploma and Administering Medications training for one staff member could not be located.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 2, 2023

  5. Mar 6, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  6. Feb 22, 2023Inspection8 rules cited
    • Health, medication and illnessMedium risk

      746.603(a)(4) - Children's Records - Immunizations

      “Six out ten children's files reviewed are missing immunization records.”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 1, 2023

    • Supervision and ratiosMedium High risk

      746.1601 - Child/ Caregiver Ratio - 13 or More Children

      “One caregiver was providing care for 5 children ages 5mo, 7mo, 7mo, 12mo and 12mo.”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 6, 2023

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.901(5) - Required Personnel Records- Training Hours

      “Certificates for three out of five staff training records reviewed were not available for review at the time of inspection, including certificates for the following topics: Hazardous Materials Food Allergies Emergency Preparedness Building and Physical Premises Safety Communicable Diseases”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 1, 2023

    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.301(2) - Notification of Change in Space

      “Operation reconfigured the operation's layout. Four classrooms were removed and two new infant classrooms were designated. Note: This was corrected at inspection when operation updated layout and agreed to a reduction of capacity.”

      Corrected during the visit

    • Safety and hazardsMedium risk

      746.4135(b) - Children's Products- Annual Certification

      “Children's Product Safety Certification was last signed / certified on 01/01/2021.”

      The state verified the correction on Feb 24, 2023

    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.3401(a) - Annual Sanitation Inspection

      “Last health inspection was conducted on 02/21/2022.”

      The state verified the correction on Feb 28, 2023

    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.5205(1) - Fire Drill Monthly - Exit in 3 Minutes

      “Based on information provided by staff members a fire drill has not been conducted during 2023.”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 2, 2023

    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.3701 - Safety - Areas Free From Hazards

      “Televisions in the toddler and toddler / prek room are not anchored. There was a mopping bucket with water on the hall that leads to the children's restroom. There was a cleaning product in the sink outside the children's restroom. Sprinkler system is located next to the children's restroom and accessible to children.”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 6, 2023

  7. May 6, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  8. Apr 19, 2022Inspection13 rules cited
    • Food and nutritionMedium High risk

      746.3301(f) - Nutrition and Food Service - Drinking Water Available and Served

      “No water was available or served during lunch.”

      Corrected during the visit

    • Safety and hazardsMedium risk

      746.801(10) - Required Records Maintained and Made Available - Safety Documentation for Emergency Drills, Fire Extinguishers, & Smoke Detectors

      “Last emergency practices documented are from 2021. Per provided they were conducted last month but were not documented.”

      The state verified the correction on May 6, 2022

    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.603(a) - Children's Records Maintained

      “Five children record were reviewed; two of the records were not available for review. One file is missing health statement. Another file is missing admission date, parent telephone number, emergency contact address and immunization records.”

      The state verified the correction on May 6, 2022

    • Safety and hazardsHigh risk

      746.5209(c) - No Blocked or Locked Doors as Exits

      “Front door is labeled as an amergency exit and was locked at arrival.”

      The state verified the correction on May 6, 2022

    • Supervision and ratiosMedium High risk

      746.1605 - Child/Caregiver Ratio - 18 Months Difference in Age

      “A total of 14 children ages 12 mo to 4yo were combined for lunch in the prek room. Age difference exceeded 18 months.”

      The state verified the correction on May 6, 2022

    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.3417(1) - Children Handwashing Before Eating

      “Children used hand sanitizer prior to lunch instead of washing their hands.”

      The state verified the correction on May 6, 2022

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium High risk

      746.1315(b) - Each Caregiver and the Director Must Have Current Training in pediatric CPR

      “Three out of three staff training records reviewed are pediatric CPR Training, two of the records are also missing pediatric first aid training.”

      The state verified the correction on May 6, 2022

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1309(e) - Documented Annual Training- Required Content

      “Three staff training records were reviewed. Two staff members are missing training on safe sleep/shaken baby/ early brain development. Three staff member are missing administering medications training. One staff member is missing communicable diseases training.”

      The state verified the correction on May 6, 2022

    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium High risk

      746.2411(2)(I) - Safety Requirements for Play Yards - Label for Each Infant

      “Play-yard in the infant rorom were not labeled with the children's names nor assigned number.”

      The state verified the correction on May 6, 2022

    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium High risk

      746.3407 - Maintenance of Building, Grounds and Equipment

      “One of the boy's restroom is inaccessible to children due to pending repairs as the sink is at rik of falling.”

      The state verified the correction on May 6, 2022

    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.501(a)(6) - Written Operational Policies - Parental Notifications

      “Operation policies were reviewed and are missing the following: (6) explained how parent notification will be conducted (9) safe sleep policy including restrictions regarding cribs, bedding, blankets and toys (13) explain enrollment procedure (18) physical and outdoor activity policy (28) policy regarding employee vaccinations (b)((2) inform parent regarding gang free zone”

      The state verified the correction on May 6, 2022

    • Discipline and child guidanceMedium risk

      746.2203(a) - Written Activity Plans

      “There are daily schedules and lesson plans posted around the operation but were not observed being followed. The lesson plans posted do not indicate the age group and dates they are designated for. Infant children were not observed participating in morning outdoor play. Infant schedule indicates TV time is allowed at 5:30 PM. Toddler and Prek Room do not indicate times for AM outdoor play nor physical activity. Children remained sited for 30 minutes while waiting for lunch.”

      The state verified the correction on May 6, 2022

    • Food and nutritionMedium High risk

      746.3317 - Food Service and Preparation Requirement - Safe and Sanitary

      “There is raw ground beef stored above a container with uncovered corn dogs in fridge.”

      The state verified the correction on May 6, 2022

  9. Mar 16, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  10. Mar 1, 2022Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required. Note: This was corrected when provider completed the survey after February 24, 2022.”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 1, 2022

  11. Mar 1, 2022Inspection1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required. Note: This was corrected when provider completed the survey after February 24, 2022.”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 1, 2022

Copied from Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation on October 1, 2026; the state's records start around Sep 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near The Learning Palace

FAQ

Questions about The Learning Palace

Is The Learning Palace licensed?

Yes. Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists it as licensed and operating, with a permit issued July 3, 2020.

When was The Learning Palace last inspected?

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists the most recent visit on July 9, 2026, with no rules cited. It lists 6 visits in the last 3 years.

Has The Learning Palace had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 1 rule across 1 of 6 visits in the last 3 years; 1 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can The Learning Palace care for?

60, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

Does The Learning Palace accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are The Learning Palace's hours?

Monday to Saturday, 7:00 AM to 6:30 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does The Learning Palace cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (956) 540-7140 to ask.

What is The Learning Palace's phone number?

(956) 540-7140.

Where is The Learning Palace?

2300 N 10th St Ste A, McAllen, TX 78501. The nearest other daycare we list is St. John's Episcopal Day School, 0.2 miles away.

Sources: Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation (license and visits) · U.S. Department of Labor, 2022 (county prices).