Skip to content
Child care center 

The Kipling School

620 Shepherd Dr, Houston, TX 770073.1· 11 reviews
licensed capacity
208
open each week
5 days
a week, county median
$185
year first permitted
2013

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Licensed by the stateInspection record

About

About The Kipling School

The Kipling School is a licensed child care center in Houston, Texas. The state has permitted it since June 19, 2013, for up to 208 children, serving infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM. It describes its programs: infant care, pre-k and summer camp.

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation made 9 visits in the last 3 years and cited 2 rules across 2 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

InfantsPreschool / pre-KSchool-ageSummer camp

Ages served: infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children

From the state license. Ages it lists: Infants – Pre-Kindergarten
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Hours today
7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Licensed capacity
208 children

Hours

Hours

MondayToday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Tuesday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Wednesday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Thursday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Friday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

AgesInfants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age childrenFrom the state license. It lists: Infants – Pre-Kindergarten
ProgramsInfant care, pre-k and summer camp
Licensed capacity208 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

The Kipling School has not listed its tuition. For comparison, full-time infant care at a child care center in Harris County has a median price of $185 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition. The county medians below are a starting point.
Harris County medians, full time, per week

Infant

Center$185
Home daycare$164

Toddler

Center$172
Home daycare$155

Preschool

Center$167
Home daycare$153

School age

Center$156
Home daycare$144

County median full-time prices at centers and home daycares, U.S. Department of Labor, National Database of Childcare Prices, 2022 (the latest year). Not this daycare's rates; prices have risen since.

State record

Inspection reports for The Kipling School

License

Status
Licensed and operating
License type
Full Permit
Capacity
208 children
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Permit issued
2013
License number
#1499069
See the state's record

Summary

9 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Sep 10, 2026: no rules cited

Rules cited on 2 of 9 visits · 2 rules in all · 2 corrected

  • Safety and hazards 1
  • Records and paperwork 1

For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

The state lists conditions on this permit.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 15 visits
  1. Sep 10, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Sep 17, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  3. Jun 30, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  4. Jun 16, 2025VisitNo rules cited
  5. Mar 7, 2025VisitNo rules cited
  6. Sep 17, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  7. May 24, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  8. May 15, 2024Complaint investigation1 rule cited
    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.4217(2) - Caring for Children Above or Below Ground Level - Follow any restrictions

      “Based upon the information obtained during the investigation, sufficient evidence was available to support the restrictions issued by the Fire Marshal had not been followed by allowing children under 2-years old to be cared for above ground level in the months of March and April 2024. CORRECTED - There were no children under 2-years-old being cared for in May 2024. Procedures have been put in place to ensure children who have not turned 2-years old will not be allowed upstairs.”

      Corrected during the visit

  9. Jan 18, 2024Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023, revealed the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2023 by January 15, 2024, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 18, 2024

  10. Oct 5, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
Show 5 earlier visits
  1. Sep 19, 2023Inspection7 rules cited
    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.4217(2) - Caring for Children Above or Below Ground Level - Follow any restrictions

      “Two children under 24 months old were being cared for above ground level.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 5, 2023

    • Safe sleepMedium High risk

      746.2409(a)(2) - Safety Requirements for Cribs - Snug Fitting Sheets

      “Sheets in four infant cribs were observed loose.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 5, 2023

    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.4135(a) - Children's Products- Review list and Remove unsafe products

      “A boppy pillow recalled 9/23/21 was observed to be in the infant room and in use by an infant in care.”

      Corrected during the visit

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium High risk

      746.1315(b)(1) - CPR Training and Recertification Adhere to Guidelines-skill based

      “Out of the five staff files evaluated during the inspection, one was obtained CPR training through the NationalCPRFountation which is an online class.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 6, 2023

    • Food and nutritionMedium risk

      746.2421(b) - Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days

      “Written feeding instructions for a child not yet on table food was last updated 08/06/2023”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 5, 2023

    • Supervision and ratiosMedium risk

      746.1613(a) - Reduction of child/caregiver naptime ratio by 50% allowed, If 13 or more children in care, children are 18 mo. or older and other standards met

      “Child/caregiver ratio was reduced for a group of children that included infants 12-17 months old.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 5, 2023

    • Safe sleepHigh risk

      746.2415(b) - AP Cribs - Only Snug Fitting Sheet and Crib Mattress Cover Allowed if Infant Younger than 12 Months of Age

      “A two month infant was observed sleeping with a white noise machine/speaker inside of their crib.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 5, 2023

  2. Oct 20, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  3. Oct 4, 2022Inspection6 rules cited
    • Safe sleepMedium risk

      746.4503(a) - Individual Cot, Bed, or Mat for Each Walking Child Through 4 Years of Age

      “In all classrooms some of the mats had tires and holes which the mat is no longer waterproof.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 20, 2022

    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.1203(2) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know Group Responsible For

      “The caregiver stated she had 10 children, then stated she had 8, when I counted their were 9 children in the classroom.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 20, 2022

    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.5401 - Requirement of Gas Leak Inspection

      “The operation has not had a gas inspection since 9/2/2020.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 5, 2022

    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.3503(a) - Diaper Changing Equipment - Smooth, Non-absorbent, Easy to Clean Surface

      “In the infant classrooms the changing table mats had holes in them.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 20, 2022

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.2505(4)(A) - Furnishings and Equipment for Toddlers - Bottles & Training Cups Labeled for Each Toddler

      “Some of the toddler cups were not labeled with their names and last initial of last name.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 20, 2022

    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium risk

      746.4505 - Storage for Individual Belongings

      “In some classrooms children did not have storage space to be their belongings and in some classrooms the areas were not labeled the with the child s name.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 20, 2022

  4. Feb 25, 2022Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Feb 25, 2022

  5. Oct 11, 2021InspectionNo rules cited

Copied from Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation on October 1, 2026; the state's records start around Sep 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near The Kipling School

FAQ

Questions about The Kipling School

Is The Kipling School licensed?

Yes. Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists it as licensed and operating, with a permit issued June 19, 2013.

When was The Kipling School last inspected?

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists the most recent visit on September 10, 2026, with no rules cited. It lists 9 visits in the last 3 years.

Has The Kipling School had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 2 rules across 2 of 9 visits in the last 3 years; 2 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can The Kipling School care for?

208, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

Does The Kipling School accept child care subsidies?

The state record does not list it as accepting subsidies. Ask the provider directly.

What are The Kipling School's hours?

Monday to Friday, 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does The Kipling School cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (713) 861-6743 to ask.

What is The Kipling School's phone number?

(713) 861-6743.

Where is The Kipling School?

620 Shepherd Dr, Houston, TX 77007. The nearest other daycare we list is Kipling School on Floyd, 0.1 miles away.

Sources: Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation (license and visits) · U.S. Department of Labor, 2022 (county prices).