Skip to content
Child care center 

Sunrise Preschools #123

9880 South Rural Road #116, Tempe, AZ 852844.8· 161 reviews
licensed capacity
178
open each week
5 days
a week, county median
$270

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Licensed by the stateInspection record

About

About Sunrise Preschools #123

Sunrise Preschools #123 is a licensed child care center in Tempe, Arizona. It is licensed by the state, for up to 178 children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 6:00 AM to 6:30 PM. It describes its programs: after-school care, before-school care, infant care and part-time care. It says it provides meals.

Arizona Department of Health Services, Bureau of Child Care Licensing made 3 visits in the last 3 years and cited 10 rules across 2 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

InfantsPreschool / pre-KBefore- and after-schoolSummer campMeals provided
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio, teacher qualifications and whether it accepts child care subsidies.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Ask the daycare
Hours today
Closed today
Licensed capacity
178 children

Hours

Hours

Monday6:00 AM to 6:30 PM
Tuesday6:00 AM to 6:30 PM
Wednesday6:00 AM to 6:30 PM
Thursday6:00 AM to 6:30 PM
Friday6:00 AM to 6:30 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayTodayNot listed

Programs

Programs and care

ProgramsAfter-school care, before-school care, infant care, part-time care, pre-k, preschool, summer camp and toddler care
CurriculumHighReach Learning Curriculum
Daily lifeUSDA food program (CACFP); Meals provided; Snacks provided
Parent updatesParent app (SPS Moments)
AccreditationNECPA accredited, Other accreditation (Quality First Rated: 5 Stars)
Licensed capacity178 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

Sunrise Preschools #123 has not listed its tuition. For comparison, full-time infant care at a child care center in Maricopa County has a median price of $270 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition. The county medians below are a starting point.
Maricopa County medians, full time, per week

Infant

Center$270
Home daycare$180

Toddler

Center$210
Home daycare$171

Preschool

Center$210
Home daycare$171

School age

Center$175
Home daycare$150

County median full-time prices at centers and home daycares, U.S. Department of Labor, National Database of Childcare Prices, 2022 (the latest year). Not this daycare's rates; prices have risen since.

State record

Inspection reports for Sunrise Preschools #123

License

Status
Licensed and operating
License type
Licensed Child Care Center
Capacity
178 children
License number
#CDC-17599
See the state's record

Summary

3 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Apr 21, 2026: no rules cited

Rules cited on 2 of 3 visits · 10 rules in all

  • Building, equipment and play areas 4
  • Food and nutrition 2
  • Health, medication and illness 2
  • Staff training and qualifications 1
  • Safe sleep 1

For comparison: 96% of Arizona daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 12.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 3 visits
  1. Apr 21, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Apr 24, 2025Inspection4 rules cited
    • Building, equipment and play areas

      AAC R9-5-605.B.1. B. A licensee shall ensure that:1. All designated exits, corridors, and passageways that provide escape from the building are unobstructed and unlocked during hours of operation;

      “Findings: Based on the Compliance Officers’ observations, the designated emergency exit door leading to the exterior in the 1s Room was locked with the deadbolt.”
    • Staff training and qualifications

      AAC R9-5-401.3. A licensee shall ensure that staff members meet the following qualifications for employment or volunteer service at a facility:3. A teacher-caregiver is 18 years of age or older and provides the licensee with documentation of one of the following: a. Six months of child care experience and: i. A high school diploma or high school equivalency diploma; or ii. At least 12 credit hours from an accredited college or university, including at least six credit hours in early childhood, child development, or a closely-related field; b. Associate or bachelor degree from an accredited college or university in early childhood, child development, or a closely-related field; or c. N.A.C., C.D.A., or C.C.P. credential;

      “Findings: Based on the Compliance Officers’ review of 6 staff files, Staff #3’s file (DOE 8/20/23) contained education documentation from a foreign country. The file lacked documentation that the licensee had obtained verification of the education’s equivalency to at least a high school diploma.”
    • Food and nutrition

      AAC R9-5-502.C.1.l. C. A licensee shall ensure that:1. A staff member providing child care services in an infant room: l. Obtains written, current, and dated dietary instructions from a parent or health care provider regarding the method of feeding and types of foods to be prepared or fed to an infant at the facility;

      “Findings: Based on the Compliance Officers’ review of the Infant feeding instructions and on a discussion with the infant room staff, the following infant feeding instructions lacked information: *Child 1 - The staff stated the child was eating purée foods but the form did not specify if the child was eating purée versus solid foods. The form lacked the amount and frequency of the feedings and only stated to feed “on demand’; *Child 2 - Staff stated the child was eating purée but the form did not specify if the child was eating purée versus solid foods. The form lacked the amount and frequency of the feedings and only stated to feed “on demand”; *Child 3 - Staff stated the child was eating purée foods but the form did not specify if the child was eating purée versus solid foods. The form lacked the amount and frequency of the feedings and only stated to feed “on demand”; *Child 4 - The form stated the child was eating solid foods but the form did not state the amount of food to be fed; and *Child 5 - Staff stated the child was on solid foods but the form did not specify if the child was eating purée versus solid foods. The form lacked the amount and frequency of the feedings and only stated to feed “on demand”. The staff stated the child was also on formula but the amount of formula to be fed to the child was not specified.”
    • Building, equipment and play areas

      AAC R9-5-605.B.10. B. A licensee shall ensure that:10. Toilet rooms are ventilated to the outside of the building, either by a screened window open to the outside air or by an exhaust fan and duct system that is operated when the toilet room is in use;

      “Findings: Based on the Compliance Officers’ observations, in the 4s room’s bathroom, the exhaust fan was not operating.”
  3. May 14, 2024Inspection6 rules cited
    • Building, equipment and play areas

      AAC R9-5-605.B.1. B. A licensee shall ensure that:1. All designated exits, corridors, and passageways that provide escape from the building are unobstructed and unlocked during hours of operation;

      “Findings: Based on CO #1's observations, the following designated emergency exits were locked from the inside with a deadbolt lock: Toddler 1 room, PS-A room, and PS-B room.”
    • Health, medication and illness

      AAC R9-5-501.C.9. C. A licensee shall ensure that a staff member:9. Does the following when a parent permits or asks a staff member to apply personal products on an enrolled child, such as petroleum jelly, diaper rash ointments, sun screen or sun block preparations, toothpaste, and baby diapering preparations: a. Obtains the enrolled child’s personal products from the enrolled child’s parent or, if the licensee provides the personal products for use by the enrolled child, obtains written approval for use of the products from the enrolled child’s parent; b. Labels the personal products with the enrolled child’s name; and c. Keeps the personal products inaccessible to enrolled children;

      “Findings: Based on CO #1's observations, in the Toddler 1 room, there were 10 personal products that lacked the enrolled children's first and last name.”
    • Health, medication and illness

      AAC R9-5-503.A.1. A. A licensee shall ensure that each diaper changing area required in R9-5-601(4) contains:1. A nonabsorbent, sanitizable diaper changing surface that is: a. Seamless and smooth, and b. Kept clear of items not required for diaper changing;

      “Findings: Based on CO #1's observations, in the Infant room, there was peeling laminate exposing unsealed pressed wood on the border of the diaper changing table. There was a gap surrounding the faucet of the diaper changing table sink.”
    • Building, equipment and play areas

      AAC R9-5-603.C. C. Except as provided in subsection (D), a licensee shall ensure that an outdoor activity area:1. Is enclosed by a fence: a. A minimum of 4 feet high; b. Secured to the ground; and c. With either vertical or horizontal open spaces on the fence or gate that do not exceed 4.0 inches; 2. Is maintained free from hazards, such as exposed concrete footings and broken toys; and 3. Has gates that are kept closed while an enrolled child is in the outdoor activity area

      “Findings: Based on Compliance Officer (CO) #1's observations, there was peeling rubber coating on the first step of the play structure on the Preschool playground.”
    • Food and nutrition

      AAC R9-5-502.C.1.l. C. A licensee shall ensure that:1. A staff member providing child care services in an infant room: l. Obtains written, current, and dated dietary instructions from a parent or health care provider regarding the method of feeding and types of foods to be prepared or fed to an infant at the facility;

      “Findings: Based on CO #1's observations, in the Infant room, the dietary feeding instructions were not available for Child #1, Child #2, and Child #3.”
    • Safe sleep

      AAC R9-5-502.A.8.b. A. A licensee providing child care services for infants shall: 8. Provide a crib for each infant that: b. Has a commercially waterproofed mattress; and

      “Findings: Based on CO #1's observations, there were 10 crib mattresses that were ripped at the corners making them no longer commercially waterproof.”

Copied from Arizona Department of Health Services, Bureau of Child Care Licensing on October 2, 2026; the state's records start around Sep 2023. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Sunrise Preschools #123

FAQ

Questions about Sunrise Preschools #123

Is Sunrise Preschools #123 licensed?

Yes. Arizona Department of Health Services, Bureau of Child Care Licensing lists it as licensed and operating.

When was Sunrise Preschools #123 last inspected?

Arizona Department of Health Services, Bureau of Child Care Licensing lists the most recent visit on April 21, 2026, with no rules cited. It lists 3 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Sunrise Preschools #123 had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 10 rules across 2 of 3 visits in the last 3 years. For comparison: 96% of Arizona daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 12. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Sunrise Preschools #123 care for?

178, the licensed capacity on the state record.

What are Sunrise Preschools #123's hours?

Monday to Friday, 6:00 AM to 6:30 PM. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Sunrise Preschools #123 cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (480) 705-8212 to ask.

What is Sunrise Preschools #123's phone number?

(480) 705-8212.

Where is Sunrise Preschools #123?

9880 South Rural Road #116, Tempe, AZ 85284. The nearest other daycare we list is M.P.A. - Chandler, 0.2 miles away.

Sources: Arizona Department of Health Services, Bureau of Child Care Licensing (license and visits) · U.S. Department of Labor, 2022 (county prices).