Skip to content
Child care center 

Summit Early Learning-Susquehanna

590 University Ave, Selinsgrove, PA 178705.0· 2 reviews
licensed capacity
130
open each week
5 days

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Certified by the stateInspection record

About

About Summit Early Learning-Susquehanna

Summit Early Learning-Susquehanna is a child care center in Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania. It is certified by the state, for up to 130 children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 6:00 AM to 5:30 PM.

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning made 4 visits in the last 3 years and cited 11 rules across 3 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

Accepts child care subsidyOpens before 7 AM
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Ask the daycare
Hours today
Closed today
Licensed capacity
130 children

Hours

Hours

Monday6:00 AM to 5:30 PM
Tuesday6:00 AM to 5:30 PM
Wednesday6:00 AM to 5:30 PM
Thursday6:00 AM to 5:30 PM
Friday6:00 AM to 5:30 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayTodayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Licensed capacity130 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

Summit Early Learning-Susquehanna has not listed its tuition.

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition.

State record

Inspection reports for Summit Early Learning-Susquehanna

License

Status
Certified by the state and operating
License type
Certificate of Compliance
Capacity
130 children
License number
#CER-00252986
See the state's record

Summary

4 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Feb 13, 2026: 1 rule cited

Rules cited on 3 of 4 visits · 11 rules in all · 11 corrected

  • Staff training and qualifications 3
  • Building, equipment and play areas 2
  • Safety and hazards 2
  • Background checks 2
  • Supervision and ratios 1
  • Safe sleep 1

For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 8 visits
  1. Feb 13, 2026Complaint investigation1 rule cited
    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.21 General Health and Safety

      “Staff person #1 was suspected of using marijuana during working hours.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 12, 2026

  2. Jan 23, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  3. Jan 21, 2025Inspection6 rules cited
    • Safe sleep

      3270.106(f) 2 feet apart

      “During the physical site inspection in the infant room, there was not 2 feet of space between the cribs where an infant was sleeping.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 29, 2025

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.76 Building Surfaces

      “During the physical site inspection in the Head Start room there was a loose toilet seat observed in the last stall of the bathroom.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 28, 2025

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(f)/3270.192(2)(ii) Health and Safety Training/Exp, educ., training prior to facility

      “1. In reviewing of the new Director/staff person #1's file, it contained verification of completion of Health and Safety training that was late in obtaining. (See LIS code sheet; training completed 10/24/24). 2. In reviewing of the new Director/staff person #1's file, it contained verification of Emergency Plan training that was late in obtaining (See LIS code sheet, training completed 12/12/24).”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 6, 2025

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(e)(4)(i) Age and Training

      “In reviewing of staff files, staff person #7's file contained updated Pediatric First Aid and CPR training that was late in obtaining (previous 9/2/22, updated 10/14/24).”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 13, 2025

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.27(c) Training regarding plan

      “1. In reviewing of staff files, staff person #2 and staff person #6's files contained initial Emergency Plan training that was late in completing (past the first 90 days of employment). 2. In reviewing of staff files, staff person #9's file did not contain verification of completion of Emergency Plan training. 3. In reviewing of staff files, staff person #3, staff person #4, staff person #5, staff person #7, staff person #8, staff person #10, and staff person #11's files did not contained verification of completion of Emergency Plan training that was late in obtaining (#3--10/3/23, 12/12/24; #4--10/3/23, 1/3/25; #5--10/3/23, 1/29/25; #7--3/9/23, 1/3/25; #8--3/9/23, 2/4/25; #10--11/15/23, 1/29/25; #11--10/3/23, 1/3/25).”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 6, 2025

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.31(e)(4)(ii) Fire safety - 1 yr.

      “In reviewing of staff files, staff person #3, staff person #5, and staff person #7's files contained completion of annual fire safety training that was late in obtaining (#3--8/11/23, 1/10/25, #5--8/11/23, 2/4/25, #7--8/11/23, 1/2/25).”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 6, 2025

  4. Jan 25, 2024Inspection4 rules cited
    • Background checks

      3270.32(a) Comply with CPSL

      “During the review of the staff files, staff person #1's file contained a NSOR clearance that was late in obtaining (past the 45 days from initial hire date-see LIS code sheet). NSOR clearance was dated 12/7/23.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 16, 2024

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a) Comply with CPSL

      “During the review of the staff files, staff person #2's file contained a NSOR clearance that was late in obtaining (past the 45 days from initial hire date-see LIS code sheet). NSOR clearance was dated 10/18/23.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 16, 2024

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.77(a) No peeling paint or plaster

      “During the physical site inspection, a small area of peeling paint was observed on the outdoor porch in the toddler area. Picture sent on 1/29/24 to the Certification Rep via email from the Director of the area having been scraped.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 16, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.66(a) Locked or inaccessible

      “During the physical site inspection in the PreK Counts room, peppermint oil that was marked "Keep out of the reach of children" was accessible to the children, being on the staff's desk. (Director removed the oil from the desk while Certification Rep was on site on this day.)”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 16, 2024

  5. Oct 20, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  6. Jan 26, 2023Inspection6 rules cited
    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.151(a) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter

      “During the review of the staff files, staff person #9 (previous 8/11/20; updated 10/20/22) and staff person #8 (previous 11/10/20; updated 3/1/23) files contained updated health assessments that were late in obtaining.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 23, 2023

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.76 Building Surfaces

      “During the physical site inspection in the Pre K room, there was a toilet seat observed to be loose.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 27, 2023

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(e)(4)(i) Age and Training

      “During review of the staff files, staff person #6 had not renewed her Pediatric First Aid and CPR training prior to the previous certification expiring (previous certification good through 8/2022; new certification obtained 2/17/23).”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 17, 2023

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.27(c) Training regarding plan

      “During review of the staff files, staff person #1 (training completed 2/27/23), staff person #2 (training completed 2/15/23), staff person #3 (training completed 2/15/23), staff person #4 (training completed 2/15/23), staff person #5 (training completed 2/15/23), and staff person #7 (training completed 2/15/23) had not completed emergency plan training within the first 90 days of hire (see LIS code sheet)”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 23, 2023

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.27(c) Training regarding plan

      “During the review of the staff files, staff person #6, staff person #8, staff person #9, staff person #10, staff person #11, staff person #12, staff person #13, staff person #14, staff person #15, staff person #16, staff person #17, staff person #18, and staff person #19's files did not contain documentation of completing annual emergency plan training.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 23, 2023

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.77(a) No peeling paint or plaster

      “During the physical site inspection in the Beach House room, peeling paint was observed in the back corner of the room behind the rocker.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 23, 2023

  7. Jul 15, 2022Complaint investigation3 rules cited
    • Discipline and child guidance

      3270.19(b) Child abuse reporting

      “An incident involving staff person #1 grabbing child #1 by the neck and child #1 reporting he was choked was not reported to Childline by the center.”

      Correction date in the state record: Sep 28, 2022

    • Discipline and child guidance

      3270.19(a) Required to report

      “An incident involving staff person #1 grabbing child #1 by the neck and child #1 reporting he was choked was not reported to Childline by the center.”

      Correction date in the state record: Sep 28, 2022

    • Discipline and child guidance

      3270.113(b) No physical punishment

      “Child #1 became upset when told it was time to transition to go inside. Child #1 spit at staff person #1 in the face and ran from staff person #1. Staff person #1 ran after child #1. Staff person #1 grabbed child #1 by the neck to stop him. Staff person #1 stated that she was trying to redirect child #1 to get in line to go back inside with the other children. Child #1 stated the staff person had choked him.”

      Correction date in the state record: Sep 28, 2022

  8. Jan 5, 2022Inspection2 rules cited
    • Safety and hazards

      3270.31(e)(4)(ii) Fire safety - 1 yr.

      “In reviewing of staff files, Staff person #1's file did not contain documentation of completion of annual fire safety training. (Last fire safety training documentation was from 9/2020.)”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 9, 2022

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.27(c) Training regarding plan

      “During the review of the staff files, Staff person #2, Staff person #3, Staff person #4, and Staff person #5's files did not contain documentation of receiving annual emergency plan training. (Staff persons #2, #3, and #5-training was 6 months late, and Staff person #4 had no documentation of training in 2021, last documented 9/2020).”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 9, 2022

Copied from Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning on October 2, 2026; the state's records start around Jun 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Summit Early Learning-Susquehanna

FAQ

Questions about Summit Early Learning-Susquehanna

Is Summit Early Learning-Susquehanna licensed?

Yes. Summit Early Learning-Susquehanna is certified by the state and operating. This is how Pennsylvania authorizes this type of child care.

When was Summit Early Learning-Susquehanna last inspected?

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning lists the most recent visit on February 13, 2026, with 1 rule cited. It lists 4 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Summit Early Learning-Susquehanna had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 11 rules across 3 of 4 visits in the last 3 years; 11 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Summit Early Learning-Susquehanna care for?

130, the licensed capacity on the state record.

Does Summit Early Learning-Susquehanna accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Summit Early Learning-Susquehanna's hours?

Monday to Friday, 6:00 AM to 5:30 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Summit Early Learning-Susquehanna cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (570) 372-4082 to ask.

What is Summit Early Learning-Susquehanna's phone number?

(570) 372-4082.

Where is Summit Early Learning-Susquehanna?

590 University Ave, Selinsgrove, PA 17870. The nearest other daycare we list is Summit CSD-Wesley UMC, 0.3 miles away.

Sources: Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning (license and visits).