Skip to content
Child care center 

St. Stephen's Episcopal School-Houston

1800 Sul Ross St, Houston, TX 77098
licensed capacity
152
open each week
5 days
a week, county median
$185
year first permitted
1986

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Licensed by the stateInspection record

About

About St. Stephen's Episcopal School-Houston

St. Stephen's Episcopal School-Houston is a licensed child care center in Houston, Texas. The state has permitted it since April 30, 1986, for up to 152 children, serving infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 7:15 AM to 6:00 PM. It describes a Faith-based and Montessori approach, with summer camp and toddler care.

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation made 6 visits in the last 3 years and cited 5 rules across 2 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

InfantsMontessoriSchool-ageSummer campFaith-based

Ages served: infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children

From the state license. Ages it lists: 15 Months-8th Grade
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Hours today
7:15 AM to 6:00 PM
Licensed capacity
152 children

Hours

Hours

MondayToday7:15 AM to 6:00 PM
Tuesday7:15 AM to 6:00 PM
Wednesday7:15 AM to 6:00 PM
Thursday7:15 AM to 6:00 PM
Friday7:15 AM to 6:00 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

AgesInfants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age childrenFrom the state license. It lists: 15 Months-8th Grade
ProgramsSummer camp and toddler care
ApproachFaith-based (Episcopal), Montessori
Licensed capacity152 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

St. Stephen's Episcopal School-Houston has not listed its tuition. For comparison, full-time infant care at a child care center in Harris County has a median price of $185 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition. The county medians below are a starting point.
Harris County medians, full time, per week

Infant

Center$185
Home daycare$164

Toddler

Center$172
Home daycare$155

Preschool

Center$167
Home daycare$153

School age

Center$156
Home daycare$144

County median full-time prices at centers and home daycares, U.S. Department of Labor, National Database of Childcare Prices, 2022 (the latest year). Not this daycare's rates; prices have risen since.

State record

Inspection reports for St. Stephen's Episcopal School-Houston

License

Status
Licensed and operating
License type
Full Permit
Capacity
152 children
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Permit issued
1986
License number
#183614
See the state's record

Summary

6 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Sep 8, 2026: no rules cited

Rules cited on 2 of 6 visits · 5 rules in all · 4 corrected

  • Safety and hazards 2
  • Health, medication and illness 1
  • Discipline and child guidance 1
  • Staff training and qualifications 1

For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 14 visits
  1. Sep 8, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Aug 25, 2026Inspection4 rules cited
    • Safety and hazardsHigh risk

      746.5101(a) - Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months

      “A fire inspection has not been conducted since June 5,2025.”

      The state verified the correction on Sep 30, 2026

    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.3401(a) - Annual Sanitation Inspection

      “An annual sanitation inspection has not been conducted since April 9,2025.”

      Correction date in the state record: Sep 11, 2026

    • Discipline and child guidanceHigh risk

      746.2805(3) - Prohibited Punishments - Grabbing and Pulling

      “A caregiver grabbed and pulled a child in care.”

      The state verified the correction on Sep 8, 2026

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1309(e) - Documented Annual Training- Required Content

      “Training certificates reviewed for 2 employee's file did not contain documentation of the required topics shown below: - Handling, Storing and Disposing of Hazardous Materials - Understanding Building and Physical Premises Safety - Responding to Food Allergies - Preventing the Spread of Communicable Diseases - Emergency Preparedness - Administering Medication”

      The state verified the correction on Sep 11, 2026

  3. Apr 9, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  4. Aug 26, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  5. Aug 27, 2024Inspection1 rule cited
    • Safety and hazardsHigh risk

      746.5101(a) - Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months

      “The annual fire inspection has not been conducted since June of 2023.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 28, 2024

  6. Aug 9, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  7. Aug 10, 2023Inspection1 rule cited
    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.801(3) - Required Records Maintained and Made Available - Personnel and Training Records

      “6 out of 10 personnel and training records were not available for review during operating hours.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 25, 2023

  8. Jul 26, 2023Inspection1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.909 - Access to Personnel Records

      “Licensing staff did not have the access to all personnel records upon request during hours of operation.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 10, 2023

  9. Aug 22, 2022Inspection6 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1309(a) - Documented Annual Training Area - 24 Hours Required

      “Two staff records reviewed were missing 5 hours of annual trainings.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 23, 2022

    • Health, medication and illnessMedium risk

      746.4003(a) - First Aid Kit - Incomplete Kit

      “The first aid kit is missing the guide to first aid.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 24, 2022

    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.5205(1) - Fire Drill Monthly - Exit in 3 Minutes

      “Fire drills are not being conducted monthly. The last drill conducted was on 11/4/2021. Also, fire drills are not being conducted in 3 minutes or less.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 29, 2022

    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.5205(2) - Sheltering Drill For Severe Weather-Four times a calendar year

      “There is no documentation of at least four severe weather drills practiced within the past year.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 29, 2022

    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.5205(3) - Sheltering Drills for Lock-Down-4 times in a calendar year

      “There is no documentation of at least four lock down drills practiced within the past year.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 29, 2022

    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.901(4) - Required Personnel Records - Required Affidavit

      “Three staff records reviewed were missing the Notarized Licensing Affidavit for Applicants for Employment Form 2985.”

      The state verified the correction on Sep 6, 2022

  10. May 12, 2022Inspection2 rules cited
    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium High risk

      746.3407 - Maintenance of Building, Grounds and Equipment

      “1/ There was a leak from the ceiling in the exit path between Orientation 1 and Orientation 2. Picture taken. Compliance date : 06/13/2022. 2/ There were three broken tiles on the bathroom floors and door in Primary 01 that could potentially be a tripping hazard. Pictures taken. Compliance date : 05/19/2022.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 10, 2022

    • Safety and hazardsHigh risk

      746.5311(a) - Smoke-Detection System

      “The control panel for the fire alarm system in front of classroom Primary 3 showing error 'System trouble. SLC Relay. Sys : T'. Picture taken.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 10, 2022

Show 4 earlier visits
  1. Mar 9, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Mar 8, 2022Complaint investigation1 rule cited
    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium High risk

      746.3407 - Maintenance of Building, Grounds and Equipment

      “There was algae on the outside wall from the walkway to the playground. There was mold on the outside windows facing the playground of the classroom Primary 2. Pictures taken.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 11, 2022

  3. Mar 3, 2022Visit3 rules cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 Survey data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 2, 2022

    • Safety and hazardsHigh risk

      746.5311(a) - Smoke-Detection System

      “The control panel for the fire alarm system in front of classroom Primary 3 showing error 'System trouble. Wireless NAC. SLC Relay'. Picture taken.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 6, 2022

    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium High risk

      746.3407(9) - Floors, ceilings and Walls in Good Repair and Clean

      “Multiple classrooms have paint peeling, water damage, broken floor tiles, and broken and missing ceiling tiles. One classroom has torn floor carpet, and another has a non-working light. Pictures taken.”

      The state verified the correction on May 12, 2022

  4. Mar 3, 2022Complaint investigation3 rules cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 Survey data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 2, 2022

    • Safety and hazardsHigh risk

      746.5311(a) - Smoke-Detection System

      “The control panel for the fire alarm system in front of classroom Primary 3 showing error 'System trouble. Wireless NAC. SLC Relay'. Picture taken.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 6, 2022

    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium High risk

      746.3407(9) - Floors, ceilings and Walls in Good Repair and Clean

      “Multiple classrooms have paint peeling, water damage, broken floor tiles, and broken and missing ceiling tiles. One classroom has torn floor carpet, and another has a non-working light. Pictures taken.”

      The state verified the correction on May 12, 2022

Copied from Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation on October 1, 2026; the state's records start around Sep 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near St. Stephen's Episcopal School-Houston

FAQ

Questions about St. Stephen's Episcopal School-Houston

Is St. Stephen's Episcopal School-Houston licensed?

Yes. Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists it as licensed and operating, with a permit issued April 30, 1986.

When was St. Stephen's Episcopal School-Houston last inspected?

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists the most recent visit on September 8, 2026, with no rules cited. It lists 6 visits in the last 3 years.

Has St. Stephen's Episcopal School-Houston had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 5 rules across 2 of 6 visits in the last 3 years; 4 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can St. Stephen's Episcopal School-Houston care for?

152, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

Does St. Stephen's Episcopal School-Houston accept child care subsidies?

The state record does not list it as accepting subsidies. Ask the provider directly.

What are St. Stephen's Episcopal School-Houston's hours?

Monday to Friday, 7:15 AM to 6:00 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does St. Stephen's Episcopal School-Houston cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (713) 821-9100 to ask.

What is St. Stephen's Episcopal School-Houston's phone number?

(713) 821-9100.

Where is St. Stephen's Episcopal School-Houston?

1800 Sul Ross St, Houston, TX 77098. The nearest other daycare we list is Miss Pattycake Childcare, LLC d/b/a Miss Pattycake Montessori, 0.5 miles away.

Sources: Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation (license and visits) · U.S. Department of Labor, 2022 (county prices).