Skip to content
Child care center 

Southern Littles Academy

702 E Expressway 83 Ste B21, Donna, TX 785375.0· 3 reviews
licensed capacity
50
open each week
5 days
a week, county median
$144
year first permitted
2021

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Licensed by the stateInspection record

About

About Southern Littles Academy

Southern Littles Academy is a licensed child care center in Donna, Texas. The state has permitted it since November 3, 2021, for up to 50 children, serving infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM.

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation made 16 visits in the last 3 years and cited 8 rules across 5 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

InfantsSchool-ageAccepts child care subsidy

Ages served: infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Hours today
Closed today
Licensed capacity
50 children

Hours

Hours

Monday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Tuesday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Wednesday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Thursday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Friday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayTodayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

AgesInfants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age childrenFrom the state license
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Licensed capacity50 childrenFrom the state license

Cost

Tuition and costs

Southern Littles Academy has not listed its tuition. For comparison, full-time infant care at a child care center in Hidalgo County has a median price of $144 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition. The county medians below are a starting point.
Hidalgo County medians, full time, per week

Infant

Center$144
Home daycare$131

Toddler

Center$136
Home daycare$126

Preschool

Center$133
Home daycare$124

School age

Center$126
Home daycare$120

County median full-time prices at centers and home daycares, U.S. Department of Labor, National Database of Childcare Prices, 2022 (the latest year). Not this daycare's rates; prices have risen since.

State record

Inspection reports for Southern Littles Academy

License

Status
Licensed and operating
License type
Full Permit
Capacity
50 children
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Permit issued
2021
License number
#1720253
See the state's record

Summary

16 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Aug 31, 2026: no rules cited

Rules cited on 5 of 16 visits · 8 rules in all · 8 corrected

  • Discipline and child guidance 3
  • Supervision and ratios 2
  • Health, medication and illness 2
  • Records and paperwork 1

For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 24 visits
  1. Aug 31, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Aug 5, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  3. Jul 23, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  4. Jul 22, 2026Complaint investigation3 rules cited
    • Supervision and ratiosMedium High risk

      746.1203(3)(A) - Administrative and clerical duties that take caregiver's attention away from children

      “Based on the information gathered throughout this investigation, it has been concluded that the caregiver was doing clerical work while caring for children instead of following the classroom's lesson plan and schedule.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 31, 2026

    • Discipline and child guidanceMedium risk

      746.2203(b) - Written Activity Plans - Plan Followed by Caregiver

      “Based on the information gathered throughout this investigation, it has been concluded that the designated caregiver was not following the classroom's designated lesson plan as children were watching television and not in their learning centers.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 31, 2026

    • Discipline and child guidanceMedium risk

      746.2207(c)(1) - Screen Time Activities - Related to Planned Activities

      “Based on the information gathered throughout this investigation, it has been concluded that the screen time provided to the children was not part of the planned lesson plan.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 31, 2026

  5. Apr 7, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  6. Mar 31, 2026Inspection1 rule cited
    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.3503(a) - Diaper Changing Equipment - Smooth, Non-absorbent, Easy to Clean Surface

      “Diaper changing mat in the toddler class was observed torn.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 7, 2026

  7. Jan 22, 2026Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2025 data from January 20, 2026, determined the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2025 by January 15, 2026, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 30, 2026

  8. Jun 11, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  9. May 16, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  10. Nov 8, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
Show 14 earlier visits
  1. Aug 7, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Apr 29, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  3. Apr 18, 2024Inspection1 rule cited
    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.3505(a) - Diapering Procedures - Caregiver's Hands Washed

      “A caregiver did not wash her hands between diaper changes.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 29, 2024

  4. Mar 20, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  5. Feb 26, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  6. Feb 23, 2024Complaint investigation2 rules cited
    • Discipline and child guidanceMedium risk

      746.2207(a) - Screen Time Activities - Not Used for Under Two

      “This standard was found deficient as a group of children were observed watching television during operational hours.”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 20, 2024

    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.2401(7) - Basic Requirements for Infants - Never Unsupervised

      “This standard was found deficient as an infant child was left unsupervised in the classroom for less than a minute. Please note: Child was unharmed.”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 20, 2024

  7. Oct 11, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  8. Oct 10, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  9. Sep 29, 2023VisitNo rules cited
  10. Aug 31, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  11. Oct 10, 2022Inspection3 rules cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.901(4) - Required Personnel Records - Required Affidavit

      “Out of the staff files reviewed, two staff were lacking the required affidavit.”

      The state verified the correction on Nov 1, 2022

    • Records and paperworkMedium High risk

      746.605(6) - Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact

      “Out of the children's files reviewed, two had incomplete information for the person to contact in case of an emergency. (NOTE: corrected during inspection by calling parent for missing information.)”

      Corrected during the visit

    • Health, medication and illnessLow risk

      746.901(3) - Required Personnel Records - TB Test

      “Out of the staff files reviewed, 2 were lacking verification of a TB test.”

      The state verified the correction on Nov 1, 2022

  12. Apr 11, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  13. Apr 8, 2022Inspection2 rules cited
    • Discipline and child guidanceHigh risk

      746.1201(1) - Responsibilities of Employees and Caregivers -Demonstrate Competency, Good Judgment, Self-control

      “A caregiver did not use good judgement by allowing all infants to sleep with blankets. (NOTE: Caregiver removed all blankets.)”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 11, 2022

    • Safe sleepHigh risk

      746.2415(b) - AP Cribs - Only Snug Fitting Sheet and Crib Mattress Cover Allowed if Infant Younger than 12 Months of Age

      “There were 3 infants asleep in their assigned cribs/playpens who had blankets in with them.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 11, 2022

  14. Feb 25, 2022Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 3, 2022

Copied from Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation on October 1, 2026; the state's records start around Sep 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Southern Littles Academy

FAQ

Questions about Southern Littles Academy

Is Southern Littles Academy licensed?

Yes. Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists it as licensed and operating, with a permit issued November 3, 2021.

When was Southern Littles Academy last inspected?

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists the most recent visit on August 31, 2026, with no rules cited. It lists 16 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Southern Littles Academy had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 8 rules across 5 of 16 visits in the last 3 years; 8 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Southern Littles Academy care for?

50, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

Does Southern Littles Academy accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Southern Littles Academy's hours?

Monday to Friday, 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Southern Littles Academy cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (956) 461-1333 to ask.

What is Southern Littles Academy's phone number?

(956) 461-1333.

Where is Southern Littles Academy?

702 E Expressway 83 Ste B21, Donna, TX 78537. The nearest other daycare we list is Kids R Us Academy, under 0.1 miles away.

Sources: Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation (license and visits) · U.S. Department of Labor, 2022 (county prices).