Skip to content
Child care center 

Rucker Head Start

5201 Vinett Ave, Houston, TX 77017
licensed capacity
97
open each week
5 days
a week, county median
$167
year first permitted
2020

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Licensed by the stateInspection record

About

About Rucker Head Start

Rucker Head Start is a licensed child care center in Houston, Texas. The state has permitted it since December 14, 2020, for up to 97 children, serving preschoolers and school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM.

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation made 7 visits in the last 3 years and cited 6 rules across 3 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

School-age

Ages served: preschoolers and school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Preschoolers and school-age children
Hours today
Closed today
Licensed capacity
97 children

Hours

Hours

Monday8:00 AM to 4:00 PM
Tuesday8:00 AM to 4:00 PM
Wednesday8:00 AM to 4:00 PM
Thursday8:00 AM to 4:00 PM
Friday8:00 AM to 4:00 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayTodayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

AgesPreschoolers and school-age childrenFrom the state license
Licensed capacity97 childrenFrom the state license

Cost

Tuition and costs

Rucker Head Start has not listed its tuition. For comparison, full-time preschool care at a child care center in Harris County has a median price of $167 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition. The county medians below are a starting point.
Harris County medians, full time, per week

Infant

Center$185
Home daycare$164

Toddler

Center$172
Home daycare$155

Preschool

Center$167
Home daycare$153

School age

Center$156
Home daycare$144

County median full-time prices at centers and home daycares, U.S. Department of Labor, National Database of Childcare Prices, 2022 (the latest year). Not this daycare's rates; prices have risen since.

State record

Inspection reports for Rucker Head Start

License

Status
Licensed and operating
License type
Full Permit
Capacity
97 children
Ages
Preschoolers and school-age children
Permit issued
2020
License number
#1698103
See the state's record

Summary

7 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Nov 10, 2025: no rules cited

Rules cited on 3 of 7 visits · 6 rules in all · 6 corrected

  • Records and paperwork 2
  • Health, medication and illness 2
  • Staff training and qualifications 1
  • Background checks 1

For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 14 visits
  1. Nov 10, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Nov 7, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  3. Nov 12, 2024Inspection2 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium High risk

      746.1301(a)(4)(A) - Training Requirements for Employees, Caregivers, and Directors - Pediatric CPR

      “It was found that 4 employees did not have valid CPR/first aid.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 18, 2024

    • Background checksHigh risk

      745.635(2) - AP Background check determination - If ineligible then you must immediately remove subject from operation and confirm to CBCU receipt of notice letter

      “A caregiver was present at the operation with an ineligible background check.”

      The state verified the correction on Nov 13, 2024

  4. Aug 29, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  5. Aug 16, 2024Complaint investigation3 rules cited
    • Records and paperworkHigh risk

      746.305(a)(6) - Report Situation Placing Children at Risk

      “An incident in which a child was placed at risk was not reported to Childcare Licensing as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 25, 2024

    • Health, medication and illnessMedium risk

      746.707 - Incident/Illness Report Form Shared with Parent

      “Based on the information found during the investigation, there was sufficient evidence that an incident report was not shared with the parent.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 25, 2024

    • Health, medication and illnessMedium risk

      746.701(5) - Licensing Incident/Illness Report Form - Situations Placing Children at Risk

      “An incident report was not on record or provided for review during the investigation.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 25, 2024

  6. Feb 13, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  7. Dec 5, 2023Inspection1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium High risk

      746.303(a)(4) - Report Change in Director

      “The director on record with licensing is no longer the director for the operation. The director on record ceased being the director in August 2023. There is a new director for the operation that licensing was not notified about. The new director took over director responsibilites in August 2023.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 6, 2023

  8. Dec 20, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  9. Dec 9, 2022Inspection1 rule cited
    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.3701(1) - Safety - Electrical Outlets Covered

      “In Room 32 there were electrical outlets accessible to the children that were not covered. Note: This was corrected during the inspection.”

      Corrected during the visit

  10. Dec 9, 2022Visit1 rule cited
    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.3701(1) - Safety - Electrical Outlets Covered

      “In Room 32 there were electrical outlets accessible to the children that were not covered. Note: This was corrected during the inspection.”

      Corrected during the visit

Show 4 earlier visits
  1. Aug 2, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Feb 25, 2022Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Feb 25, 2022

  3. Dec 13, 2021Inspection1 rule cited
    • Background checksHigh risk

      745.621(b)(1)(A) - AP Renewal background checks submitted -No later than 5 yrs from date last submitted subjects initial or renewal fingerprint-based criminal hist check

      “One caregiver does not have renewed background check. Became inactive 8.23.2021”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 3, 2022

  4. Dec 9, 2021VisitNo rules cited

Copied from Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation on October 1, 2026; the state's records start around Sep 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Rucker Head Start

FAQ

Questions about Rucker Head Start

Is Rucker Head Start licensed?

Yes. Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists it as licensed and operating, with a permit issued December 14, 2020.

When was Rucker Head Start last inspected?

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists the most recent visit on November 10, 2025, with no rules cited. It lists 7 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Rucker Head Start had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 6 rules across 3 of 7 visits in the last 3 years; 6 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Rucker Head Start care for?

97, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve preschoolers and school-age children.

Does Rucker Head Start accept child care subsidies?

The state record does not list it as accepting subsidies. Ask the provider directly.

What are Rucker Head Start's hours?

Monday to Friday, 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Rucker Head Start cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (713) 845-7467 to ask.

What is Rucker Head Start's phone number?

(713) 845-7467.

Where is Rucker Head Start?

5201 Vinett Ave, Houston, TX 77017. The nearest other daycare we list is Nga Thi Tran, 0.5 miles away.

Sources: Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation (license and visits) · U.S. Department of Labor, 2022 (county prices).