Skip to content
Child care center 

Maggies Playhouse Daycare & Learning

1416 Bywood Ave, Upper Darby, PA 190824.6· 8 reviews
licensed capacity
32
open each week
7 days

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Certified by the stateInspection record

About

About Maggies Playhouse Daycare & Learning

Maggies Playhouse Daycare & Learning is a child care center in Upper Darby, Pennsylvania. It is certified by the state, for up to 32 children, serving school-age children.

It is open every day, 6:30 AM to 6:00 PM.

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning made 4 visits in the last 3 years and cited 19 rules across 3 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

School-ageAccepts child care subsidyOpen every day

Ages served: school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
School-age children
Hours today
6:30 AM to 6:00 PM
Licensed capacity
32 children

Hours

Hours

MondayToday6:30 AM to 6:00 PM
Tuesday6:30 AM to 6:00 PM
Wednesday6:30 AM to 6:00 PM
Thursday6:30 AM to 6:00 PM
Friday6:30 AM to 6:00 PM
Saturday6:30 AM to 6:00 PM
Sunday6:30 AM to 6:00 PM

Programs

Programs and care

AgesSchool-age childrenFrom the state license
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Licensed capacity32 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

Maggies Playhouse Daycare & Learning has not listed its tuition.

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition.

State record

Inspection reports for Maggies Playhouse Daycare & Learning

License

Status
Certified by the state and operating
License type
Certificate of Compliance
Capacity
32 children
Ages
School-age children
License number
#CER-00251786
See the state's record

Summary

4 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Aug 5, 2026: no rules cited

Rules cited on 3 of 4 visits · 19 rules in all · 18 corrected

  • Health, medication and illness 8
  • Safety and hazards 3
  • Records and paperwork 3
  • Staff training and qualifications 2
  • Building, equipment and play areas 1
  • Supervision and ratios 1
  • Food and nutrition 1

For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 6 visits
  1. Aug 5, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Jan 15, 2026Inspection8 rules cited
    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.76 Building Surfaces

      “During the renewal inspection on 1/15/26 there was a hole in the wall observed in the infant classroom in need of repair.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 30, 2026

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.192(5) Two written references

      “During the renewal inspection on 1/15/26 the file reviewed for staff person #2 only has (1) written reference attesting to suitability to serve as a facility person.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 9, 2026

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.75(c) Has all items

      “During the renewal inspection on 1/15/26 the first aid kit reviewed in the preschool classroom did not contain scissors and tape.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 30, 2026

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.131(b)(2)/3270.182(1) Toddler/preschool: updated health report every 12 months/Initial and subsequent health reports

      “During the renewal inspection on 1/15/26 the file reviewed for child #1 did not contain an updated health report.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 30, 2026

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.151(a) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter

      “During the renewal inspection on 1/15/26 the health assessment reviewed for staff person #1 was more than 24 months old.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 30, 2026

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.82(h) Handwashing signs

      “During the renewal inspection on 1/15/26 there was no handwashing sign posted by the sink in the older toddler classroom.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 30, 2026

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(e)(4)(i) Age and Training

      “During the renewal inspection on 1/15/26 the first aid/ cpr certification reviewed for staff person #1 was not renewed before the expiration of the most current certification.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 29, 2026

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.65 Protective Outlet Covers 5 yrs. or less

      “During the renewal inspection on 1/15/26 there were uncovered electrical outlets observed in the infant classroom.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 15, 2026

  3. Jan 15, 2025Inspection4 rules cited
    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(1) Amount of fee

      “During the renewal inspection on 01/16/25 the fee agreement reviewed for child #1 and child 3 did not specify the amount of the fee to be charged per day or per week.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 28, 2025

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.182(3) Consent for emergency medical care required prior to admission

      “During the renewal inspection on 01/16/25 the file reviewed for child #1, child #2, and child #3 did not contain signed parental consent for emergency.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 28, 2025

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.182(5) Consent for administration of minor first-aid required prior to admission

      “During the renewal inspection the file reviewed for child #1, child #2, and child #3 did not contain signed parental consent for administration of minor first aid procedures by facility staff.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 28, 2025

    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.123(a)(5) Designated release persons

      “During the renewal inspection on 01/16/25 the fee agreement reviewed for child #1 and child #3 did not specify the person designated by parent to whom the child may be released.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 28, 2025

  4. Dec 28, 2023Inspection7 rules cited
    • Safety and hazards

      3270.65 Protective Outlet Covers 5 yrs. or less

      “During the renewal inspection on 12/28/23 missing electrical outlet covers were observed in downstairs play area.”
    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(b)(4)/3270.182(3) Written consent/Consent for emergency medical care required prior to admission

      “During the renewal inspection on 12/28/23 the emergency contact form reviewed for child #1 did not contain signed parental consent for emergency medical care.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 5, 2024

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(6)/3270.182(2) Admission date/Application, admission, withdrawal dates

      “During the renewal inspection on 12/28/23 the fee agreement reviewed for child #1 did not include date of admission.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 5, 2024

    • Food and nutrition

      3270.107 Refrigerator

      “During the renewal inspection on 12/28/23 the refrigerator in classroom #2 did not contain a thermometer.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 5, 2024

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.82(h) Handwashing signs

      “During the renewal inspection on 12/28/23 the handwashing signs in the bathroom did not include requirement of washing hands after toileting and before eating.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 5, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.27(f) Emergency plan

      “During the renewal inspection on 12/28/23 provider was unable to produce documentation confirming that emergency plan was sent to local municipality and county emergency management agency.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 5, 2024

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.75(c) Has all items

      “During the renewal inspection on 12/28/23 the first aid kit located in classroom #2 was missing tweezers.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 5, 2024

  5. Feb 22, 2023Inspection2 rules cited
    • Background checks

      3270.32(a)/3270.192(4) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information

      “The facility was not in compliance with the CPSL and with Chapter 3490 (relating to protective services): One staff person's record did not contain the required CPSL hiring documents. . (#1- hired 2/27/23- no proof of request for NSOR prior to working with children and no record of completed NSOR within 45 days of hire)”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 22, 2023

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.27(a)(6) Emergency plan

      “There was no written record of an emergency drill completed annually as specified in these regulations.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 22, 2023

  6. Mar 17, 2022InspectionNo rules cited

Copied from Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning on October 2, 2026; the state's records start around Jun 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Maggies Playhouse Daycare & Learning

FAQ

Questions about Maggies Playhouse Daycare & Learning

Is Maggies Playhouse Daycare & Learning licensed?

Yes. Maggies Playhouse Daycare & Learning is certified by the state and operating. This is how Pennsylvania authorizes this type of child care.

When was Maggies Playhouse Daycare & Learning last inspected?

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning lists the most recent visit on August 5, 2026, with no rules cited. It lists 4 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Maggies Playhouse Daycare & Learning had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 19 rules across 3 of 4 visits in the last 3 years; 18 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Maggies Playhouse Daycare & Learning care for?

32, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve school-age children.

Does Maggies Playhouse Daycare & Learning accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Maggies Playhouse Daycare & Learning's hours?

Every day, 6:30 AM to 6:00 PM. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Maggies Playhouse Daycare & Learning cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (484) 461-2123 to ask.

What is Maggies Playhouse Daycare & Learning's phone number?

(484) 461-2123.

Where is Maggies Playhouse Daycare & Learning?

1416 Bywood Ave, Upper Darby, PA 19082. The nearest other daycare we list is Treasure Island Academy III, 0.1 miles away.

Sources: Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning (license and visits).