Skip to content
Child care center 

Lollipops and Dragons

723 N Padre Ave, Weslaco, TX 785964.5· 24 reviews
licensed capacity
100
open each week
6 days
a week, county median
$144
year first permitted
2017

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Licensed by the stateInspection record

About

About Lollipops and Dragons

Lollipops and Dragons is a licensed child care center in Weslaco, Texas. The state has permitted it since February 6, 2017, for up to 100 children, serving infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

It is open Monday to Saturday, 6:30 AM to 6:00 PM. It says it provides meals.

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation made 8 visits in the last 3 years and cited 3 rules across 2 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

InfantsSchool-ageMeals providedAccepts child care subsidyWeekend hoursOpens before 7 AM

Ages served: infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Hours today
Closed today
Licensed capacity
100 children

Hours

Hours

Monday6:30 AM to 6:00 PM
Tuesday6:30 AM to 6:00 PM
Wednesday6:30 AM to 6:00 PM
Thursday6:30 AM to 6:00 PM
Friday6:30 AM to 6:00 PM
Saturday6:30 AM to 6:00 PM
SundayTodayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

AgesInfants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age childrenFrom the state license
Daily lifeMeals provided; Snacks provided
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Assistance it acceptsCCMS
TransportationTransportation (transportation to most Weslaco schools)
Languagesbilingual (language not specified)
AccreditationTexas Rising Star (4-Star)
Licensed capacity100 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

Lollipops and Dragons has not listed its tuition. For comparison, full-time infant care at a child care center in Hidalgo County has a median price of $144 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition. The county medians below are a starting point.
Hidalgo County medians, full time, per week

Infant

Center$144
Home daycare$131

Toddler

Center$136
Home daycare$126

Preschool

Center$133
Home daycare$124

School age

Center$126
Home daycare$120

County median full-time prices at centers and home daycares, U.S. Department of Labor, National Database of Childcare Prices, 2022 (the latest year). Not this daycare's rates; prices have risen since.

State record

Inspection reports for Lollipops and Dragons

License

Status
Licensed and operating
License type
Full Permit
Capacity
100 children
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Permit issued
2017
License number
#1644024
See the state's record

Summary

8 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Sep 24, 2026: no rules cited

Rules cited on 2 of 8 visits · 3 rules in all · 3 corrected

  • Building, equipment and play areas 1
  • Staff training and qualifications 1
  • Records and paperwork 1

For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 16 visits
  1. Sep 24, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Dec 9, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  3. Oct 23, 2025Inspection2 rules cited
    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium High risk

      746.2403(6) - Infant Care Area - Not Used as a Passageway

      “In order to get to the preschool room, the children must walkthrough the infant room to arrive at their classroom which is the very North class in the building.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 9, 2025

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1309(e) - Documented Annual Training- Required Content

      “Out of the staff files being reviewed, it wsa noted that one staff member did not have the following trainings; Preventing and controlling the spread of communicable diseases; Administering medication and Handling, sotring and idsposing of hasardous materials. The year under review was 6/23/24-6/22/25.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 9, 2025

  4. Mar 11, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  5. Feb 25, 2025VisitNo rules cited
  6. Jan 21, 2025Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2024 data from January 16, 2025, revealed the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 24, 2025

  7. Oct 25, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  8. Nov 20, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  9. Feb 1, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  10. Dec 28, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
Show 6 earlier visits
  1. Dec 27, 2022VisitNo rules cited
  2. Dec 5, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  3. May 24, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  4. Mar 31, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  5. Jan 18, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  6. Jan 5, 2022InspectionNo rules cited

Copied from Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation on October 1, 2026; the state's records start around Sep 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Lollipops and Dragons

Home daycare

ABC Kids

Weslaco, TX 78599 · infants to school-age · Home daycare: the provider shares the address with families

FAQ

Questions about Lollipops and Dragons

Is Lollipops and Dragons licensed?

Yes. Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists it as licensed and operating, with a permit issued February 6, 2017.

When was Lollipops and Dragons last inspected?

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists the most recent visit on September 24, 2026, with no rules cited. It lists 8 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Lollipops and Dragons had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 3 rules across 2 of 8 visits in the last 3 years; 3 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Lollipops and Dragons care for?

100, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

Does Lollipops and Dragons accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Lollipops and Dragons' hours?

Monday to Saturday, 6:30 AM to 6:00 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Lollipops and Dragons cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (956) 647-5262 to ask.

What is Lollipops and Dragons' phone number?

(956) 647-5262.

Where is Lollipops and Dragons?

723 N Padre Ave, Weslaco, TX 78596. The nearest other daycare we list is Blue Fairy Daycare & Learning Academy, 0.2 miles away.

Sources: Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation (license and visits) · U.S. Department of Labor, 2022 (county prices).