Berties Family Child Care
1217 Shouse Blvd, Winston-Salem, NC
We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.
Own this daycare? Claim itAbout
Little Leaders Learning Center is a licensed home daycare in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. It is licensed by the state, for up to 8 children, serving infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.
As a home daycare, the provider shares the address with families when you call.
The North Carolina Division of Child Development and Early Education made 7 visits in the last 3 years and cited 54 rules across 5 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.
Hours
Programs
| Ages | Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age childrenFrom the state license |
|---|---|
| Setting | Family child care homeFrom the state license |
| Child care subsidy | Accepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license |
| Licensed capacity | 8 childrenFrom the state license |
Cost
Little Leaders Learning Center has not listed its tuition. For comparison, full-time infant care at a home daycare in Forsyth County has a median price of $188 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).
State record
7 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Mar 26, 2026: 15 rules cited
Rules cited on 5 of 7 visits · 54 rules in all · 54 corrected
For comparison: 92% of North Carolina daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 8.
A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.
Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record
Copies of the required information for an additional caregiver was not on file in the home and/or made available for review.
The state verified the correction on Apr 8, 2026
For off-premise activities occurring on regular basis, the standing permission for 12 months had expired.
The state verified the correction on Apr 8, 2026
Sleeping infants, ages 12 months and younger were not visually checked every 15 minutes.
The state verified the correction on Apr 8, 2026
Hazardous cleaning supplies and other items that might be poisonous e.g. toxic plants, were not out of reach or in locked storage when children were in care.
Corrected during the visit
The operator did not review the EPR Plan annually or when information in the plan changed to ensure all information is current.
The state verified the correction on Apr 8, 2026
A child care operator did not notify the Division of any new child care providers, as defined in G.S. 110-90.2(a)(2), who were hired or moved into the child care facility within five business days.
The state verified the correction on Apr 8, 2026
Operator did not implement and follow the written safe sleep policy adopted to maintain a safe sleep environment.
The state verified the correction on Apr 8, 2026
The written plan of care did not specify the names of individuals who will be responsible for the care of children when the operator attends to routine tasks.
Corrected during the visit
The written plan of care did not specify times for completing routine tasks and did not include those times on the written schedule.
Corrected during the visit
Summary of the NC Child Care Law was not given to each child's parent, guardian, or full-time custodian before the child was enrolled in the home and/or signed statement was not on file.
The state verified the correction on Apr 8, 2026
Operator did not provide a physically safe and healthy indoor and outdoor environment that meets the developmental needs of the children in care.
The state verified the correction on Apr 8, 2026
Operator did not complete the required number of on-going training hours as specified in rule.
The state verified the correction on Apr 8, 2026
Signed and dated statement which attests that a copy of the discipline policy was given to and discussed with a parent/guardian of each child prior to enrollment was not on file in the home.
The state verified the correction on Apr 8, 2026
Operator did not maintain accurate daily attendance records including documentation of arrival and departure for all children in care, including the operator's own preschool children.
The state verified the correction on Apr 8, 2026
Items used for starting fires, such as matches, accelerants, and lighters, were not kept in locked storage.
Corrected during the visit
Products that are labeled “keep out of reach of children” with an additional warning(s) on the label, were not kept in locked storage while children were in care.
Corrected during the visit
Individual who provides care for 5 hours or more a week, did not complete ITS-SIDS training prior to caring for infants.
The state verified the correction on Oct 9, 2025
The operator did not review the EPR Plan annually or when information in the plan changed to ensure all information is current.
The state verified the correction on Oct 5, 2025
The EPR Plan did not include the location of the Ready to Go File and/or required information.
Corrected during the visit
The operator did not conduct a quarterly lockdown or shelter-in-place drill and or the drill record was incomplete.
The state verified the correction on Oct 5, 2025
Operator has not developed, adopted and complied with a written safe sleep policy.
The state verified the correction on Oct 5, 2025
Operator did not provide a physically safe and healthy indoor and outdoor environment that meets the developmental needs of the children in care.
Corrected during the visit
Operator did not maintain accurate daily attendance records including documentation of arrival and departure for all children in care, including the operator's own preschool children.
Corrected during the visit
Record of monthly fire drills, giving the date, time of day and length of time to evacuate, and operator's signature, were not available.
The state verified the correction on Oct 5, 2025
Monthly check for hazards on the outdoor play area was not completed using a form supplied by the Division.
The state verified the correction on Oct 5, 2025
Items used for starting fires, such as matches, accelerants, and lighters, were not kept in locked storage.
Corrected during the visit
Operator did not successfully complete a CPR course as referenced in Rule.1702(b)(2) CPR training was not renewed on or before the expiration of the certification.
The state verified the correction on Oct 5, 2025
Operator did not successfully complete a first aid course as referenced in Rule.1702(b)(2) First aid training was not renewed on or before the expiration of the certification.
The state verified the correction on Oct 5, 2025
The professional development plan was not maintained in the personnel file.
Corrected during the visit
Operator did not review the abusive head trauma and shaken baby syndrome policy with staff and/or the acknowledgement of the review did not contain required items or was not available for review.
Corrected during the visit
The operator and/or staff member did not take the required identifying information for each child participating in the off-premise activity as outlined in rule .1721(a )(3).
The state verified the correction on Apr 14, 2025
For off-premise activities occurring on regular basis, the standing permission for 12 months had expired.
The state verified the correction on Apr 14, 2025
Hazardous cleaning supplies and other items that might be poisonous e.g. toxic plants, were not out of reach or in locked storage when children were in care.
Corrected during the visit
The EPR Plan did not include the location of the Ready to Go File and/or required information.
Corrected during the visit
Operator did not give written notice of the written plan of care amendment to parents of all children enrolled, at least 30 days before the change was implemented. Each parent did not sign a statement acknowledging the receipt and explanation of the amendment. The operator did not retain the acknowledgment in the child's record for as long as the child was enrolled in the home and a copy was not maintained on file for review by Division representatives.
The state verified the correction on Apr 14, 2025
Operator did not maintain accurate daily attendance records including documentation of arrival and departure for all children in care, including the operator's own preschool children.
Corrected during the visit
Copy of each child's health assessment, including the operator's own preschool child(ren), was not on file within 30 days of enrollment.
The state verified the correction on Apr 14, 2025
Products that are labeled “keep out of reach of children” with an additional warning(s) on the label, were not kept in locked storage while children were in care.
Corrected during the visit
Operator did not provide a physically safe and healthy indoor and outdoor environment that meets the developmental needs of the children in care.
Corrected during the visit
Operator did not maintain accurate daily attendance records including documentation of arrival and departure for all children in care, including the operator's own preschool children.
Corrected during the visit
Electrical outlets not in use were not covered.
Corrected during the visit
The professional development plan was not maintained in the personnel file.
The state verified the correction on Apr 24, 2024
The operator and/or staff member did not take the required identifying information for each child participating in the off-premise activity as outlined in rule .1721(a )(3).
The state verified the correction on Apr 24, 2024
For off-premise activities occurring on regular basis, the standing permission for 12 months had expired.
The state verified the correction on Apr 24, 2024
Infant feeding plans did not include the required information, including but not limited to the type and amount of milk, formula and food, and the frequency of feedings, and/or was not available for reference.
The state verified the correction on Apr 24, 2024
Plastic bags, toys, and toy parts small enough to be swallowed, including but not limited to materials that can be easily torn apart such as foam rubber and styrofoam, were accessible to children under the age of three.
Corrected during the visit
The operator did not review the EPR Plan annually or when information in the plan changed to ensure all information is current.
The state verified the correction on Apr 24, 2024
Caregivers did not document compliance with visually checking on sleeping infants aged 12 months or younger and/or the documents were not maintained for a minimum of 30 days.
The state verified the correction on Apr 24, 2024
Safe sleep policy and poster about safe sleep practices was not posted in a prominent place in the infant sleeping room or area where parents and caregivers are able to view daily.
The state verified the correction on Apr 24, 2024
The written plan of care did not specify times for completing routine tasks and did not include those times on the written schedule.
The state verified the correction on Apr 24, 2024
Operator did not maintain a record of on-going training in which he/she has participated.
The state verified the correction on Apr 24, 2024
Each child's hands were not washed before and after eating.
The state verified the correction on Apr 24, 2024
Electrical outlets not in use were not covered.
Corrected during the visit
Corrosive agents, pesticides, bleaches, detergents, cleansers, polishes, and products under pressure in an aerosol dispenser and any substance that may be hazardous to a child if ingested, inhaled, or handled were not kept in locked storage when children were in care.
The state verified the correction on Apr 24, 2024
Reviews
If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.
1217 Shouse Blvd, Winston-Salem, NC
Winston-Salem, NC 27105 · infants to school-age · Home daycare: the provider shares the address with families
Winston-Salem, NC 27105 · infants to school-age · Home daycare: the provider shares the address with families
Winston-Salem, NC 27105 · infants to school-age · Home daycare: the provider shares the address with families
Winston-Salem, NC 27105 · infants to school-age · Home daycare: the provider shares the address with families
Winston-Salem, NC 27105 · infants to school-age · Home daycare: the provider shares the address with families
Winston-Salem, NC 27105 · infants to school-age · Home daycare: the provider shares the address with families
Winston-Salem, NC 27105 · infants to school-age · Home daycare: the provider shares the address with families
Winston-Salem, NC 27105 · infants to school-age · Home daycare: the provider shares the address with families
FAQ
Yes. The North Carolina Division of Child Development and Early Education lists it as licensed and operating.
The North Carolina Division of Child Development and Early Education lists the most recent visit on March 26, 2026, with 15 rules cited. It lists 7 visits in the last 3 years.
Yes. Inspectors cited 54 rules across 5 of 7 visits in the last 3 years; 54 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 92% of North Carolina daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 8. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.
8, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.
Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.
Its hours are not listed. Call (336) 377-3292 to confirm.
It has not listed its tuition. Call (336) 377-3292 to ask.
(336) 377-3292.
Winston-Salem, NC 27105. It is a home daycare, so the provider shares the street address with families directly.