Skip to content
Child care center 

Light of Houston Bilingual Academy

14511 1/2 Woodforest Blvd, Houston, TX 770154.6· 65 reviews
licensed capacity
55
open each week
5 days
weekly, posted tuition
$170
year first permitted
2024

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Licensed by the stateInspection record

About

About Light of Houston Bilingual Academy

Light of Houston Bilingual Academy is a licensed child care center in Houston, Texas. The state has permitted it since August 26, 2024, for up to 55 children, serving infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 6:30 AM to 5:30 PM. It describes a Bilingual / immersion approach, with after-school care, infant care, pre-k and preschool. It says it provides meals. It lists weekly tuition from $170 to $210.

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation made 19 visits in the last 3 years and cited 29 rules across 12 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

InfantsPreschool / pre-KBefore- and after-schoolMeals providedAccepts child care subsidyOpens before 7 AMBilingual programPosts tuition

Ages served: infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children

From the state license. Ages it lists: 6 weeks – 12 years
Ask when you call: current openings and staff-to-child ratio.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Hours today
6:30 AM to 5:30 PM
Licensed capacity
55 children

Hours

Hours

MondayToday6:30 AM to 5:30 PM
Tuesday6:30 AM to 5:30 PM
Wednesday6:30 AM to 5:30 PM
Thursday6:30 AM to 5:30 PM
Friday6:30 AM to 5:30 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

AgesInfants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age childrenFrom the state license. It lists: 6 weeks – 12 years
ProgramsAfter-school care, infant care, pre-k, preschool and toddler care
ApproachBilingual / immersion (English/Spanish)
CurriculumFrog Street
StaffLicensing requirements including background checks and FBI fingerprints
Daily lifeMeals provided; Snacks provided. Potty training: Toileting, potty training, hand-washing and feeding
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Parent updatesParent app (Brightwheel)
MoreFounded 2009
Licensed capacity55 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

Light of Houston Bilingual Academy lists weekly tuition from $170 to $210. For comparison, full-time infant care at a child care center in Harris County has a median price of $185 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).

Weekly · program, in its own wordsPrice
Infant (6 weeks – 12 months)$210
Pre - K (3-4 years)$170
Toddlers A (18-24 months)$190
Toddlers B (2-3 years)$180
Waddlers (12-18 months)$200
5 posted prices. Rates change, so confirm before you enroll.
Harris County medians, full time, per week

Infant

Center$185
Home daycare$164

Toddler

Center$172
Home daycare$155

Preschool

Center$167
Home daycare$153

School age

Center$156
Home daycare$144

County median full-time prices at centers and home daycares, U.S. Department of Labor, National Database of Childcare Prices, 2022 (the latest year). Not this daycare's rates; prices have risen since.

State record

Inspection reports for Light of Houston Bilingual Academy

License

Status
Licensed and operating
License type
Full Permit
Capacity
55 children
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Permit issued
2024
License number
#1790672
See the state's record

Summary

19 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Aug 13, 2026: 1 rule cited

Rules cited on 12 of 19 visits · 29 rules in all · 24 corrected

  • Records and paperwork 9
  • Health, medication and illness 4
  • Building, equipment and play areas 4
  • Safety and hazards 3
  • Transportation 3
  • Supervision and ratios 2
  • Staff training and qualifications 2
  • Discipline and child guidance 1
  • Background checks 1

For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 19 visits
  1. Aug 13, 2026Inspection1 rule cited
    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.613(b) - Immunization Records, Exceptions, and Exemptions Current

      “Five out of six children's files did not have immunization records for review during the inspection.”

      Correction date in the state record: Aug 27, 2026

  2. Jul 30, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  3. Jul 10, 2026Inspection1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium High risk

      746.207(a) - AP Parent Notification of Liability Insurance - If No Insurance Must Notify Parent in Writing at Enrollment

      “The operation did not have the required parent notification for not carrying liability insurance at the time of the inspection.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 17, 2026

  4. Jun 24, 2026Inspection4 rules cited
    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.3701 - Safety - Areas Free From Hazards

      “CCR observed trash bins accessible to children and damaged wood along the playground border could both pose tripping hazards and increase the risk of incidents.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jul 8, 2026

    • Health, medication and illnessHigh risk

      746.605(11) - Required Admission Information - Emergency Medical Authorization

      “A child's admission record was missing the authorization for emergency medical attention.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 26, 2026

    • Safety and hazardsHigh risk

      746.3407(12) - Mark Cleaning Supplies, Toxic Materials; Keep Separate from Food and Inaccessible to Children

      “The playground was observed to have lawn pesticide and cleaning supplies accessible to children.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 24, 2026

    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.601(c) - Provide Access to Children's Records - Licensing

      “A child's file was not provided upon request during the inspection.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jun 26, 2026

  5. Jun 23, 2026Visit2 rules cited
    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium High risk

      746.4605(b)(4) - Equipment Prohibited for Younger Than 4 Yrs - Over-head Rings

      “Restricted equipment, overhead rings were accessible to children of age two resulting in injury to a child.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 30, 2026

    • Discipline and child guidanceHigh risk

      746.1201(1) - Responsibilities of Employees and Caregivers -Demonstrate Competency, Good Judgment, Self-control

      “A caregiver failed to remove a chair in the playground that allowed a child to reach for the overhead rings, resulting in a fall. The caregiver did not immediately check on the injured child after falling.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 30, 2026

  6. Oct 8, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  7. Sep 26, 2025Inspection5 rules cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium High risk

      746.605(6) - Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact

      “Four of the chilidren records are missing an emergency contact address.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 9, 2025

    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.1205(a)(4) - Supervision ensures each child’s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child’s on going activity

      “Children in a classroom were left unattended when a caregiver left a classroom to open the front door. This was corrected when the caregiver returned to the classroom and an additional caregiver stepped into the classroom.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 8, 2025

    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.501(a)(26) - Written Operational Policies - Preventing and Responding to Abuse and Neglect

      “The operational policies does not include all of the requirements for preventing and responding to abuse and neglect.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 8, 2025

    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.3401(a) - Annual Sanitation Inspection

      “The current expired sanitation inspection was conducted on 9.9.24”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 8, 2025

    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.501(a)(23) - Written Operational Policies - Procedures parents access minimum standards online, TX A/N hotline, and HHSC website

      “The operational policy does not include how parents can access minimum standards online, texas abuse and neglect hotline, and HHSC website.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 8, 2025

  8. Sep 2, 2025Visit2 rules cited
    • Records and paperworkHigh risk

      746.305(a)(6) - Report Situation Placing Children at Risk

      “The operation did not notify Licensing within the 48 hour time frame of a parent concern.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 31, 2025

    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.801(19) - Required Records Maintained and Made Available - Tracking System

      “The operation did not provide the sign in sheets for all classrooms on the date of the incident.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 31, 2025

  9. Aug 28, 2025Inspection3 rules cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium High risk

      746.605(6) - Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact

      “Four of the chilidren records are missing an emergency contact address.”

      The state verified the correction on Sep 26, 2025

    • Background checksHigh risk

      745.621(a)(2) - AP Initial background checks submitted - At the time you hire someone

      “A caregiver responsible for children did not have a background check submitted prior to being responsible for children.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 29, 2025

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium High risk

      746.1315(b) - Each Caregiver and the Director Must Have Current Training in pediatric CPR

      “The cpr on file for the director expired on 5.2025.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 29, 2025

  10. Jan 17, 2025Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “It was found that the number of employees who ceased working at the operation in 2024 was not reported through the provider portal by 1/15/25.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 29, 2025

Show 9 earlier visits
  1. Jan 14, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Jan 9, 2025VisitNo rules cited
  3. Jan 1, 2025VisitNo rules cited
  4. Jun 25, 2024Inspection2 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1111 - Education Outside of U.S.

      “Two caregivers had education documents that were not translated and did not state or provide information showing the document is equivalent to a High School diploma.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 31, 2024

    • Health, medication and illnessMedium risk

      746.603(a)(3) - Children's Records - Health Statement

      “Three children's files did not have a health statement on file after 12 months of admission.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 3, 2024

  5. May 22, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  6. May 6, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  7. Apr 24, 2024Inspection6 rules cited
    • TransportationMedium High risk

      746.5619 - Plan to Handle Transportation Emergencies

      “There was no transportation emergency plan or procedure found for review.”

      The state verified the correction on May 2, 2024

    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium High risk

      746.3407(8) - Garbage Inaccessible to Children; Maintained in Sanitary Manner

      “During the walkthrough of the outdoor play space, 2 small baggies with solied diapers were found accessible along with an empty red solo cup and other trash materials on the ground.”

      The state verified the correction on May 6, 2024

    • TransportationHigh risk

      746.5617(a)(4) - Required Equipment in Vehicles - Emergency Telephone Numbers for Each Child

      “Parent and Emergency contact information was not available in the transportation bus or attached to the transportation log.”

      The state verified the correction on May 2, 2024

    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.4603(4) - Prohibited Equipment - Exercise Rings, Trapeze Bars, Free-Swinging Ropes

      “Swinging trapeze rings were found hanging in the outdoor large play area.”

      The state verified the correction on May 6, 2024

    • Supervision and ratiosMedium High risk

      746.1605(1) - Child/Caregiver Ratio - 18 Months Difference in Age

      “During the inspection at naptime, it was found in the infant room that there were 5 children total with the youngest being 2 months old and two toddlers of the age of 2 years old. This was corrected when the two toddlers were moved back to the toddler room.”

      The state verified the correction on May 6, 2024

    • TransportationHigh risk

      746.5617(a)(2) - Required Equipment in Vehicles - Emergency Medical Information

      “There was no emergency medical information attached to the transportation log for the children requiring transportation.”

      The state verified the correction on May 2, 2024

  8. Feb 6, 2024Visit1 rule cited
    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium risk

      746.4913 - Required Documentation for Unitary Surfacing Materials

      “Unitary surfacing documentation could not be provided for outdoor play equipment that require unitary surfacing or loose-fill surfacing.”

      The state verified the correction on Feb 13, 2024

  9. Jan 11, 2024Inspection1 rule cited
    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium risk

      746.4803 - Measurement of Use Zone for Stationary Equipment

      “The use zone for a climbing dome in the outside play area does not extend 6 feet in all directions.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 17, 2024

Copied from Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation on October 1, 2026; the state's records start around Sep 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Light of Houston Bilingual Academy

FAQ

Questions about Light of Houston Bilingual Academy

Is Light of Houston Bilingual Academy licensed?

Yes. Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists it as licensed and operating, with a permit issued August 26, 2024.

When was Light of Houston Bilingual Academy last inspected?

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists the most recent visit on August 13, 2026, with 1 rule cited. It lists 19 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Light of Houston Bilingual Academy had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 29 rules across 12 of 19 visits in the last 3 years; 24 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Light of Houston Bilingual Academy care for?

55, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

Does Light of Houston Bilingual Academy accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Light of Houston Bilingual Academy's hours?

Monday to Friday, 6:30 AM to 5:30 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Light of Houston Bilingual Academy cost?

Weekly tuition from $170 to $210, as it lists it.

What is Light of Houston Bilingual Academy's phone number?

(832) 659-0625.

Where is Light of Houston Bilingual Academy?

14511 1/2 Woodforest Blvd, Houston, TX 77015. The nearest other daycare we list is Galena Park I.S.D. Childcare Center, 0.3 miles away.

Sources: Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation (license and visits) · U.S. Department of Labor, 2022 (county prices).