Skip to content
Child care center 

La Petite Academy

1810 W 18th St, Houston, TX 77008
licensed capacity
102
open each week
5 days
a week, county median
$185
year first permitted
1986

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Licensed by the stateInspection record

About

About La Petite Academy

La Petite Academy is a licensed child care center in Houston, Texas. The state has permitted it since October 13, 1986, for up to 102 children, serving infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 6:30 AM to 6:30 PM.

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation made 14 visits in the last 3 years and cited 18 rules across 8 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

InfantsSchool-ageAccepts child care subsidyOpens before 7 AM

Ages served: infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Hours today
Closed today
Licensed capacity
102 children

Hours

Hours

Monday6:30 AM to 6:30 PM
Tuesday6:30 AM to 6:30 PM
Wednesday6:30 AM to 6:30 PM
Thursday6:30 AM to 6:30 PM
Friday6:30 AM to 6:30 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayTodayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

AgesInfants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age childrenFrom the state license
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Licensed capacity102 childrenFrom the state license

Cost

Tuition and costs

La Petite Academy has not listed its tuition. For comparison, full-time infant care at a child care center in Harris County has a median price of $185 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition. The county medians below are a starting point.
Harris County medians, full time, per week

Infant

Center$185
Home daycare$164

Toddler

Center$172
Home daycare$155

Preschool

Center$167
Home daycare$153

School age

Center$156
Home daycare$144

County median full-time prices at centers and home daycares, U.S. Department of Labor, National Database of Childcare Prices, 2022 (the latest year). Not this daycare's rates; prices have risen since.

State record

Inspection reports for La Petite Academy

License

Status
Licensed and operating
License type
Full Permit
Capacity
102 children
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Permit issued
1986
License number
#133307- 684
See the state's record

Summary

14 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit May 26, 2026: 3 rules cited

Rules cited on 8 of 14 visits · 18 rules in all · 18 corrected

  • Records and paperwork 5
  • Health, medication and illness 3
  • Food and nutrition 3
  • Safety and hazards 2
  • Supervision and ratios 2
  • Staff training and qualifications 2
  • Building, equipment and play areas 1

For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

The state lists conditions on this permit.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 22 visits
  1. May 26, 2026Inspection3 rules cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.801(12) - Required Records Maintained and Made Available - Sanitation Inspection Report

      “The operation's current health inspection report was not available during the inspection.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 8, 2026

    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.5205(1) - Fire Drill Monthly - Exit in 3 Minutes

      “CCR reviewed the operation's fire drill practices and found that the fire drills were not completed within three minutes for the months of March, April, and May.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 9, 2026

    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium High risk

      746.4907(a)(1) - Installation and Maintenance of Loose-fill Surfacing - Six Inches if Equipment 5 Ft or Less

      “The operation has three playground equipment that does not meet the required six inches of loose fill.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 25, 2026

  2. Feb 5, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  3. Jan 23, 2026Inspection2 rules cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium High risk

      746.303(a)(4) - Report Change in Director

      “The operation failed to report to licesning a change in director.”

      The state verified the correction on Feb 5, 2026

    • Supervision and ratiosMedium High risk

      746.1601 - Child/ Caregiver Ratio - 13 or More Children

      “During the inspection I observed one caregiver caring for 17 children with a specified age group of 2 years. Raito is 1:11, the caregiver was over ratio by 6.”

      The state verified the correction on Feb 5, 2026

  4. Jan 22, 2026Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2025 data from January 20, 2026, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2025 by January 15, 2026, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 23, 2026

  5. May 30, 2025Inspection1 rule cited
    • Health, medication and illnessLow risk

      746.611(a)(1) - Required Health Statement - Written, dated within past year, indicates child is physically able to participate in operation's child-care program

      “During the inspection it was found 4 out of 7 child records did not have a health statement on file.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 9, 2025

  6. Jan 21, 2025Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023 data from January 17, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 23, 2024

  7. Jan 15, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  8. Jan 3, 2025Complaint investigation2 rules cited
    • Food and nutritionMedium risk

      746.3309(a)(1) - Parent Provided Meals/Snacks - Parent Choice

      “The operation does not have a written agreement in regard to the parent providing snacks for their child while in care.”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 20, 2025

    • Food and nutritionMedium High risk

      746.3301(d) - Nutrition and Food Service - Child must not go more than 3 hours

      “A child went over more than 3 hours without eating while in care at the operation.”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 20, 2025

  9. Nov 18, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  10. Nov 7, 2024VisitNo rules cited
Show 12 earlier visits
  1. Jun 11, 2024Inspection1 rule cited
    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.901(5) - Required Personnel Records- Training Hours

      “I was able to see four out of the five caregiver training. One caregiver is still missing the training documentation.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 14, 2024

  2. May 31, 2024Inspection7 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.901(5) - Required Personnel Records- Training Hours

      “They was not documentation for training hours for the director or five caregivers.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 11, 2024

    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.501(a)(22) - Written Operational Policies Procedures for Parent Review Licensing Reports & How to Access Rules

      “In the operational policies the operation did not have how parents could find the most recent inspection report or how the parent could contact the local licensing office.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 17, 2024

    • Supervision and ratiosMedium High risk

      746.1605(1) - Child/Caregiver Ratio - 18 Months Difference in Age

      “In the toddler classroom they was a child that was 17 months old the oldest child in the class was 3 years old, which is more then 18 months older then the youngest child.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 11, 2024

    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.3415(7) - Employee Handwashing After Handling or Cleaning Bodily Fluids

      “A caregiver did not wash their hands after cleaning a child's nose.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 11, 2024

    • Food and nutritionMedium risk

      746.2421(b) - Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days

      “Six infants did not have an updated feeding instruction form.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 11, 2024

    • Safety and hazardsHigh risk

      746.5101(a) - Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months

      “The operation did not have an updated fire inspection report.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 3, 2024

    • Health, medication and illnessMedium risk

      746.603(a)(4) - Children's Records - Immunizations

      “One child is missing immunization recrods.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 11, 2024

  3. Apr 2, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  4. Mar 19, 2024VisitNo rules cited
  5. Jun 8, 2023Inspection1 rule cited
    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium High risk

      746.3407 - Maintenance of Building, Grounds and Equipment

      “In the pre-K classroom they was paint coming off the wall and in the pre-school classroom board coming off the wall.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 26, 2023

  6. Mar 29, 2023Inspection7 rules cited
    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.305(a)(1) - Report Unsafe Facility Occurrence

      “The operation did not report to licensing that a part of their building unsafe and unsanitary for children.”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 29, 2023

    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.2407 - Infant Care Area Furnishings and Equipment -Use of Safety Straps

      “Two infants were observed without safety straps in highchairs. Corrected: When the caregiver fastened the safety straps.”

      Corrected during the visit

    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.5205(1) - Fire Drill Monthly - Exit in 3 Minutes

      “The operation did not conduct a fire drill the month of February.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 6, 2023

    • Safe sleepMedium risk

      746.4503(b) - Cots, Beds, Mats Labeled With Child's Name

      “The cots in the toddler classroom were not labeled.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 6, 2023

    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.3401(a) - Annual Sanitation Inspection

      “It was observed the operation did not have the most updated sanitation inspection. The last inspection was 2/22/2022.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 27, 2023

    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.5202(1) - Emergency Preparedness Plan - Evacuation, relocation, and sheltering/lock-down procedures

      “The emergency preparedness plan is missing how children 24 months and with limited mobility, will be evacuated out of the operation.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 12, 2023

    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.3819 - Food Allergy Emergency Plan Signed by Parents and Health Care Professional

      “One of the children were observed to have allergies and did not have a food allergy plan.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 11, 2023

  7. Oct 25, 2022Inspection1 rule cited
    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.1203(2) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know Group Responsible For

      “The caregiver stated they had 15 children, when I counted it was 16 children in care. Corrected: When the caregiver ensure all children were checked in and recounted the children.”

      Corrected during the visit

  8. Oct 3, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  9. Sep 29, 2022Visit1 rule cited
    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.1203(4) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Supervision of Children

      “The child was left alone in a classroom unsupervised by a caregiver.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 25, 2022

  10. Aug 11, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  11. Jun 29, 2022Inspection3 rules cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.901(4) - Required Personnel Records - Required Affidavit

      “An caregiver was missing a affidavit in their file.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 30, 2022

    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.801(5) - Required Records Maintained and Made Available - Employees' Attendance

      “The director did not have a time sheet or documentation on when she is in the operation.”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 30, 2022

    • Safe sleepMedium risk

      746.4503(b) - Cots, Beds, Mats Labeled With Child's Name

      “In the two year old classroom all cots were not labeled with children's names or numbers”

      The state verified the correction on Jun 30, 2022

  12. Nov 16, 2021InspectionNo rules cited

Copied from Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation on October 1, 2026; the state's records start around Sep 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near La Petite Academy

Home daycare

Joy Caka

Houston, TX 77018 · infants to school-age · Home daycare: the provider shares the address with families

FAQ

Questions about La Petite Academy

Is La Petite Academy licensed?

Yes. Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists it as licensed and operating, with a permit issued October 13, 1986.

When was La Petite Academy last inspected?

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists the most recent visit on May 26, 2026, with 3 rules cited. It lists 14 visits in the last 3 years.

Has La Petite Academy had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 18 rules across 8 of 14 visits in the last 3 years; 18 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can La Petite Academy care for?

102, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

Does La Petite Academy accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are La Petite Academy's hours?

Monday to Friday, 6:30 AM to 6:30 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does La Petite Academy cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (713) 862-8092 to ask.

What is La Petite Academy's phone number?

(713) 862-8092.

Where is La Petite Academy?

1810 W 18th St, Houston, TX 77008. The nearest other daycare we list is Kidz World Learning Center, 0.1 miles away.

Sources: Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation (license and visits) · U.S. Department of Labor, 2022 (county prices).