Skip to content
Child care center 

Irene A. Oakley Champion Learning Center

3509 Old York Rd, Philadelphia, PA 191404.3· 6 reviews
licensed capacity
85
open each week
5 days

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Certified by the stateInspection record

About

About Irene A. Oakley Champion Learning Center

Irene A. Oakley Champion Learning Center is a child care center in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It is certified by the state, for up to 85 children, serving school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM.

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning made 3 visits in the last 3 years and cited 25 rules across 2 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

School-ageAccepts child care subsidy

Ages served: school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
School-age children
Hours today
7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Licensed capacity
85 children

Hours

Hours

MondayToday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Tuesday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Wednesday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Thursday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Friday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

AgesSchool-age childrenFrom the state license
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Licensed capacity85 childrenFrom the state license

Cost

Tuition and costs

Irene A. Oakley Champion Learning Center has not listed its tuition.

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition.

State record

Inspection reports for Irene A. Oakley Champion Learning Center

License

Status
Certified by the state and operating
License type
Certificate of Compliance
Capacity
85 children
Ages
School-age children
License number
#CER-00256573
See the state's record

Summary

3 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit May 27, 2026: no rules cited

Rules cited on 2 of 3 visits · 25 rules in all · 25 corrected

  • Records and paperwork 8
  • Safety and hazards 4
  • Staff training and qualifications 4
  • Supervision and ratios 3
  • Health, medication and illness 2
  • Building, equipment and play areas 1
  • Background checks 1
  • Transportation 1
  • Discipline and child guidance 1

For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 5 visits
  1. May 27, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Apr 2, 2025Inspection7 rules cited
    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(b)(3) Parent home/work address, phone

      “During renewal inspection certification rep reviewed children's files. Emergency contact for child 2 and 3 were missing work addresses and telephone numbers of the enrolling parent.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 2, 2025

    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.124(b)(7) Name/address/phone release person

      “During renewal inspection certification rep reviewed children's files. Emergency contact for child 3 was missing address of the individual designated by the parent to whom the child may be released.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 2, 2025

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.95(b) Director or designated staff person ensure compliance

      “During renewal inspection certification rep checked fire extinguishers. Last date fire extinguishers were inspected was 10/2023. Last fire inspection at the facility was 10/2023. Fire alarm was not tested every 30 days.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 7, 2025

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.69(b) 110º F or less

      “During renewal inspection certification rep checked the water temperature in Little Explorers. The water temperature was 114° F.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 2, 2025

    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.51 Similar Age Level

      “During renewal inspection certification rep observed two classrooms out of ratio. Staff in Bubble Guppies had 12 children by themselves and the staff in Shining Stars had 12 children by themselves. Age of the youngest child in each room was 3.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 2, 2025

    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.123(a)(5) Designated release persons

      “During renewal inspection certification rep reviewed children's files. Fee agreement for child 1 did not specify the persons designated by a parent to whom the child may be released.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 2, 2025

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(2) Date fee to be paid

      “During renewal inspection certification rep reviewed children's files. Fee agreement for child 3 did not specify the date on which the fee is to be paid.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 2, 2025

  3. Mar 4, 2024Inspection18 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.27(c) Training regarding plan

      “During renewal inspection certification rep reviewed staff files. Staff 2,3,4,5,6,8 and 9 were missing emergency plan training.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 6, 2024

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.82(h) Handwashing signs

      “During renewal inspection certification rep observed missing handwashing signs above the toilets in preschool 2”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 6, 2024

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.77(a) No peeling paint or plaster

      “During renewal inspection certification rep observed chipped paint in Preschool 1, Preschool 2 and Plaster in the infant room.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 6, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.66(a) Locked or inaccessible

      “During renewal inspection certification rep observed diaper cream (A&D) accessible to children in the infant room.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 21, 2024

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.34(a)(6) Staff evaluations

      “During renewal inspection certification rep reviewed staff files. Staff 2,3,4,6,7 and 8 were missing annual evaluations.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 21, 2024

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a)/3270.192(4) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information

      “During renewal inspection certification rep reviewed staff files. Staff 2 has state police criminal clearance on file but it has pending status.During renewal inspection certification rep reviewed staff files. Staff 1 was missing witness signature on the disclosure statement. Staff 9 was missing disclosure statement. Staff 9 was missing mandated reporter training”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 6, 2024

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(2) Date fee to be paid

      “During renewal inspection certification rep reviewed children's file. Fee agreement for child 1,2,3 and 4”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 21, 2024

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(1) Amount of fee

      “During renewal inspection certification rep reviewed children's files. Child 1, 2 and 3 did not specify the amount of the fee to be charged per day or per week.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 21, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.31(e)(4)(ii) Fire safety - 1 yr.

      “During renewal inspection certification rep reviewed staff files. Staff 2,3,4,5 and 8 were missing fire safety training.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 6, 2024

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(4) Arrival/departure times

      “During renewal inspection certification rep reviewed children's file. Fee agreement for child 1 and 2 did not specify the child's arrival and departure times.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 21, 2024

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(6)/3270.182(2) Admission date/Application, admission, withdrawal dates

      “During renewal inspection certification rep reviewed children's file. Fee agreement for child 1,2,3 and 4 did not specify the date of the child's admission.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 21, 2024

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(b)(3) Parent home/work address, phone

      “During renewal inspection certification rep reviewed children's files. Emergency contact for child 1,2 and 4 was missing work addresses and telephone numbers of the enrolling parent.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 21, 2024

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(b)(6) Insurance coverage information

      “During renewal inspection certification rep reviewed children's file. Emergency contact for child 3 was missing health insurance coverage.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 6, 2024

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.151(c)(3)/3270.192(3) Exam communicable disease/Health assessment, TB test

      “During renewal inspection certification rep reviewed staff files. Staff 6 physical on file was dated 1-18-22. Physical for staff 8 was dated 9-8-21.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 21, 2024

    • Transportation

      3270.182(6) Signed parental consent for transportation, walking excursions, swimming and wading

      “During renewal inspection certification rep reviewed children's files. Emergency contact for child 2 was missing signed parental consent for transportation, walking excursions, swimming and wading.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 27, 2024

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.192(2)(ii)/3270.192(2)(iv) Exp, educ., training prior to facility/Transcript, diploma and letters

      “During renewal inspection certification rep reviewed staff files. Experience for staff 8 needs to be verified.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 21, 2024

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.31(e) Age and Training

      “During renewal inspection certification rep reviewed staff files. Staff 1 was missing 6.5 annual training hours,”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 6, 2024

    • Discipline and child guidance

      3270.123(a)(3) Services proceeded

      “During renewal inspection certification rep reviewed children's file. Fee agreement for child 2 and 3 were missing CSR's (child service report)”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 6, 2024

  4. Mar 28, 2023Inspection7 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.192(5) Two written references

      “At time of renewal inspection, the file for staff person #4 did not include two written, non-family references.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 14, 2023

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.131(b)(1) Infant: updated health report every 6 months

      “At time of renewal inspection, the file for child #1 had a health assessment dated 9/19/22.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 17, 2023

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.34(a)(6) Staff evaluations

      “At time of renewal inspection, staff person #2 did not have documentation of receiving a written staff evaluation within the past 12 months.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 14, 2023

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.77(a) No peeling paint or plaster

      “At time of renewal inspection, chipped yellow paint was observed on the wall by the exit door and the blue sofa.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 17, 2023

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.33(a)/3270.192(2)(ii) Each staff person meets quals/Exp, educ., training prior to facility

      “At time of renewal inspection, the file for staff person #4, identified as an aide, did not include any documentation of education to qualify for the position.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 7, 2023

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a) Comply with CPSL

      “At time of renewal inspection, the file for facility person #3 did not include documentation of completing mandated reporter training.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 3, 2023

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.14/3270.21 Pertinent Laws & Regulations/General Health and Safety

      “At time of renewal inspection, staff person #1 did not have documentation of completing the required 1-hour health and safety training update by 12/30/2022.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 10, 2023

  5. Mar 1, 2022Inspection3 rules cited
    • Safety and hazards

      3270.66(a) Locked or inaccessible

      “AT TIME OF RENEWAL INSPECTION, CLOROX WIPES WERE OBSERVED UNDER THE SINK IN THE PRE-SCHOOL ROOM AND WERE ACCESSIBLE TO CHILDREN. DIAPER CREAM WAS OBSERVED UNDER THE CHANGING TABLE IN THE TODDLER ROOM AND WERE ACCESSIBLE TO CHILDREN.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 31, 2022

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.103 Small Toys and Objects

      “AT TIME OF RENEWAL INSPECTION, PLASTIC BAGS WERE OBSERVED UNDER THE SINK IN THE INFANT/TODDLER ROOM AND WERE ACCESSIBLE TO CHILDREN.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 31, 2022

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.74 Emergency Numbers Posted

      “AT TIME OF RENEWAL INSPECTION, THE REQUIRED EMERGENCY PHONE NUMBER WERE NOT POSTED BY THE PHONE IN THE INFANT/TODDLER ROOM.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 31, 2022

Copied from Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning on October 2, 2026; the state's records start around Jun 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Irene A. Oakley Champion Learning Center

FAQ

Questions about Irene A. Oakley Champion Learning Center

Is Irene A. Oakley Champion Learning Center licensed?

Yes. Irene A. Oakley Champion Learning Center is certified by the state and operating. This is how Pennsylvania authorizes this type of child care.

When was Irene A. Oakley Champion Learning Center last inspected?

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning lists the most recent visit on May 27, 2026, with no rules cited. It lists 3 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Irene A. Oakley Champion Learning Center had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 25 rules across 2 of 3 visits in the last 3 years; 25 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Irene A. Oakley Champion Learning Center care for?

85, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve school-age children.

Does Irene A. Oakley Champion Learning Center accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Irene A. Oakley Champion Learning Center's hours?

Monday to Friday, 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Irene A. Oakley Champion Learning Center cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (215) 229-2870 to ask.

What is Irene A. Oakley Champion Learning Center's phone number?

(215) 229-2870.

Where is Irene A. Oakley Champion Learning Center?

3509 Old York Rd, Philadelphia, PA 19140. The nearest other daycare we list is The Childrens Castle Learning Center, 0.1 miles away.

Sources: Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning (license and visits).