Skip to content
Child care center 

International School of San Antonio

6739 Callaghan Rd, San Antonio, TX 78229
licensed capacity
73
open each week
5 days
a week, county median
$160
year first permitted
2021

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Licensed by the stateInspection record

About

About International School of San Antonio

International School of San Antonio is a licensed child care center in San Antonio, Texas. The state has permitted it since December 17, 2021, for up to 73 children, serving toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM. It describes a Bilingual / immersion approach, with pre-k, preschool and summer camp.

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation made 9 visits in the last 3 years and cited 5 rules across 4 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

Preschool / pre-KSchool-ageSummer campBilingual program

Ages served: toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children

From the state license. Ages it lists: PK3 through 5th grade
Ask when you call: rates, current openings and staff-to-child ratio.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Hours today
7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Licensed capacity
73 children

Hours

Hours

MondayToday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Tuesday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Wednesday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Thursday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Friday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayNot listed
From the state licenseHours it lists: “Mon-Fri 7am-5:30pm, Sat-Sun closed”

Programs

Programs and care

AgesToddlers, preschoolers and school-age childrenFrom the state license. It lists: PK3 through 5th grade
ProgramsPre-K, preschool and summer camp
ApproachBilingual / immersion (Mandarin Chinese, French, Spanish)
StaffBachelor's degrees; many hold master's/doctoral degrees
Discounts5% sibling discount; 10% off camps and classes
LanguagesFrench, Mandarin Chinese, Spanish
Licensed capacity73 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

International School of San Antonio has not listed its tuition. For comparison, full-time toddler care at a child care center in Bexar County has a median price of $160 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition. The county medians below are a starting point.
Bexar County medians, full time, per week

Infant

Center$171
Home daycare$154

Toddler

Center$160
Home daycare$148

Preschool

Center$156
Home daycare$146

School age

Center$149
Home daycare$139

County median full-time prices at centers and home daycares, U.S. Department of Labor, National Database of Childcare Prices, 2022 (the latest year). Not this daycare's rates; prices have risen since.

State record

Inspection reports for International School of San Antonio

License

Status
Licensed and operating
License type
Full Permit
Capacity
73 children
Ages
Toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Permit issued
2021
License number
#1725315
See the state's record

Summary

9 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit May 18, 2026: 1 rule cited

Rules cited on 4 of 9 visits · 5 rules in all · 5 corrected

  • Supervision and ratios 2
  • Building, equipment and play areas 1
  • Safety and hazards 1
  • Records and paperwork 1

For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 20 visits
  1. May 18, 2026Inspection1 rule cited
    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium High risk

      746.4907(a)(1) - Installation and Maintenance of Loose-fill Surfacing - Six Inches if Equipment 5 Ft or Less

      “The loose-fill on the playground is not installed to the required depth of six inches under and around the playground structure.”

      The state verified the correction on May 31, 2026

  2. Sep 11, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  3. Aug 6, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  4. May 21, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  5. Oct 10, 2024Inspection2 rules cited
    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.5307(b) - Fire Extinguishers Serviced

      “Four of the fire extinguishers were last serviced on 8.2023.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 15, 2024

    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.603(a) - Children's Records Maintained

      “One of the six children files was unavailable for review. One of the six children was missing the immunization records.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 15, 2024

  6. May 8, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  7. Apr 1, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  8. Mar 21, 2024Inspection1 rule cited
    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.1205(a)(2) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know number of children responsible for

      “The teacher in the PreK Spanish classroom stated there were 10 children in care when there were actually 11 children in care.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 1, 2024

  9. Mar 19, 2024Visit1 rule cited
    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.1205(a)(4) - Supervision ensures each child’s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child’s on going activity

      “It was determined based on the interviews conducted and information gathered that an incident had occurred when a three-year child was left in the classroom unsupervised.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 1, 2024

  10. Oct 20, 2023Inspection3 rules cited
    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium High risk

      746.3701(5) - Safety - Play Materials and Equipment Safe

      “On the Preschool playground four CVC white pipes were observed unattached.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 24, 2023

    • Health, medication and illnessMedium risk

      746.3809 - Medication No Longer Used

      “An allergy medication stored in the office was observed to have expired 10/2021.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 24, 2023

    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.5202(1) - Emergency Preparedness Plan - Evacuation, relocation, and sheltering/lock-down procedures

      “The emergency preparedness plan did not specify the designated location or address of this location. Included the emergency evacuation route and relocation diagram.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 26, 2023

Show 10 earlier visits
  1. Dec 1, 2022Inspection3 rules cited
    • Safe sleepMedium risk

      746.4503(a) - Individual Cot, Bed, or Mat for Each Walking Child Through 4 Years of Age

      “Two mats were observed torn exposing the cotton.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 5, 2022

    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.901(4) - Required Personnel Records - Required Affidavit

      “One of the six staff didn't have an affidavit available for review.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 5, 2022

    • Records and paperworkMedium High risk

      746.605(6) - Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact

      “Six of the six children files didn't have emergency contact addresses. One of the six children files didn't have release information. One of the six children files didn't have healthcare authorization information. Two of the six children files didn't have food allergy information.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 5, 2022

  2. Sep 27, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  3. Sep 14, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  4. Sep 12, 2022Visit1 rule cited
    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.1203(4) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Supervision of Children

      “During the course of the investigation supervision was determined to have occurred after a four-year child walked out of the front of the building of the operation unsupervised. The child was brought in by a staff member into the building after 1 minute 30 seconds.”

      The state verified the correction on Sep 27, 2022

  5. Aug 10, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  6. Jun 28, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  7. Jan 28, 2022Visit1 rule cited
    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.305(a)(4) - Report Outbreak of Communicable Illness

      “Based upon information gathered and interviews conducted Licensing nor the Health Department were notified within 48 hours by the operation.”

      The state verified the correction on Feb 2, 2022

  8. Dec 8, 2021Inspection4 rules cited
    • Background checksHigh risk

      746.901(7) - Required Personnel Records-Proof of DFPS background checks

      “One of the six staff files did not have a background check verification available. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection when the eligibility letter was provided and filed.”

      Corrected during the visit

    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.501(a)(5) - Written Operational Policies - Emergencies

      “The operational policy did not specify procedures for handling medical emergencies. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection when procedures were added to the Operational policy.”

      Corrected during the visit

    • Records and paperworkHigh risk

      746.605(12) - Required Admission Information - Emergency Medical Authorization

      “Two of the six children files did not have Emergency authorization information available.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 13, 2021

    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.401(8) - Posting Requirements - Telephone Numbers

      “Emergency Telephone Numbers was not available for review. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection when Form 7243 was provided, filled out and posted.”

      Corrected during the visit

  9. Nov 2, 2021Inspection1 rule cited
    • Safety and hazardsMedium risk

      746.4135(b) - Children's Products- Annual Certification

      “The required Consumer Product Safety Commission form was unavailable for review. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection when reviewing and posting of the Consumer Product form was provided.”

      Corrected during the visit

  10. Oct 4, 2021Inspection2 rules cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.801(6) - Required Records Maintained and Made Available - Liability Insurance

      “The liability insurance reviewed online expired on 9/7/2021. This was corrected at inspection when the liability insurance was available and submitted online with an expiration of 9/7/2022.”

      Corrected during the visit

    • Health, medication and illnessHigh risk

      746.3807(1) - Storage of Medication - Inaccessible to Children

      “In the PreK Paris classroom children's individual storage bins were observed with sunscreen spray bottles accessible to the children. This was corrected at inspection when the sunscreen spray bottles were removed and stored in the office.”

      Corrected during the visit

Copied from Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation on October 1, 2026; the state's records start around Sep 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near International School of San Antonio

FAQ

Questions about International School of San Antonio

Is International School of San Antonio licensed?

Yes. Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists it as licensed and operating, with a permit issued December 17, 2021.

When was International School of San Antonio last inspected?

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists the most recent visit on May 18, 2026, with 1 rule cited. It lists 9 visits in the last 3 years.

Has International School of San Antonio had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 5 rules across 4 of 9 visits in the last 3 years; 5 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can International School of San Antonio care for?

73, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

Does International School of San Antonio accept child care subsidies?

The state record does not list it as accepting subsidies. Ask the provider directly.

What are International School of San Antonio's hours?

Monday to Friday, 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does International School of San Antonio cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (210) 920-4315 to ask.

What is International School of San Antonio's phone number?

(210) 920-4315.

Where is International School of San Antonio?

6739 Callaghan Rd, San Antonio, TX 78229. The nearest other daycare we list is Castle Hills Learning Center and Day Care #6, 0.6 miles away.

Sources: Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation (license and visits) · U.S. Department of Labor, 2022 (county prices).