Skip to content
Child care center 

Hemphill Scholars

730 Sabine St, Hemphill, TX 759485.0· 1 review
licensed capacity
85
open each week
5 days
a week, county median
$129
year first permitted
2020

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Licensed by the stateInspection record

About

About Hemphill Scholars

Hemphill Scholars is a licensed child care center in Hemphill, Texas. The state has permitted it since June 11, 2020, for up to 85 children, serving infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 7:00 AM to 5:30 PM.

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation made 6 visits in the last 3 years and cited 2 rules across 2 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

InfantsSchool-ageAccepts child care subsidy

Ages served: infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Hours today
Closed today
Licensed capacity
85 children

Hours

Hours

Monday7:00 AM to 5:30 PM
Tuesday7:00 AM to 5:30 PM
Wednesday7:00 AM to 5:30 PM
Thursday7:00 AM to 5:30 PM
Friday7:00 AM to 5:30 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayTodayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

AgesInfants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age childrenFrom the state license
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Licensed capacity85 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

Hemphill Scholars has not listed its tuition. For comparison, full-time infant care at a child care center in Sabine County has a median price of $129 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition. The county medians below are a starting point.
Sabine County medians, full time, per week

Infant

Center$129
Home daycare$117

Toddler

Center$121
Home daycare$112

Preschool

Center$118
Home daycare$110

School age

Center$112
Home daycare$105

County median full-time prices at centers and home daycares, U.S. Department of Labor, National Database of Childcare Prices, 2022 (the latest year). Not this daycare's rates; prices have risen since.

State record

Inspection reports for Hemphill Scholars

License

Status
Licensed and operating
License type
Full Permit
Capacity
85 children
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Permit issued
2020
License number
#1693839
See the state's record

Summary

6 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Jan 23, 2026: 1 rule cited

Rules cited on 2 of 6 visits · 2 rules in all · 2 corrected

  • Records and paperwork 2

For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 14 visits
  1. Jan 23, 2026Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “The operation did not report via online provider account the number of employees who ceased working at the operation during the previous calendar year by January 15th, 2026 as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Feb 3, 2026

  2. Dec 22, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  3. Dec 11, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  4. Jan 24, 2025Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A Review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2024 data from January 22, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 27, 2025

  5. Jan 8, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  6. Feb 7, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  7. Mar 15, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  8. Feb 7, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  9. Feb 2, 2023VisitNo rules cited
  10. Aug 31, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
Show 4 earlier visits
  1. Aug 29, 2022Visit1 rule cited
    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.2401(7) - Basic Requirements for Infants - Never Unsupervised

      “An infant was left unsupervised for approximately 10 minutes.”

      The state verified the correction on Sep 9, 2022

  2. May 4, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  3. Mar 2, 2022Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22nd, 2022, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 4, 2022

  4. Nov 30, 2021InspectionNo rules cited

Copied from Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation on October 1, 2026; the state's records start around Sep 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Hemphill Scholars

FAQ

Questions about Hemphill Scholars

Is Hemphill Scholars licensed?

Yes. Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists it as licensed and operating, with a permit issued June 11, 2020.

When was Hemphill Scholars last inspected?

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists the most recent visit on January 23, 2026, with 1 rule cited. It lists 6 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Hemphill Scholars had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 2 rules across 2 of 6 visits in the last 3 years; 2 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Hemphill Scholars care for?

85, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

Does Hemphill Scholars accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Hemphill Scholars' hours?

Monday to Friday, 7:00 AM to 5:30 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Hemphill Scholars cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (936) 201-1288 to ask.

What is Hemphill Scholars' phone number?

(936) 201-1288.

Where is Hemphill Scholars?

730 Sabine St, Hemphill, TX 75948. The nearest other daycare we list is First Baptist Christian Preschool, 0.8 miles away.

Sources: Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation (license and visits) · U.S. Department of Labor, 2022 (county prices).