Skip to content
Child care center 

Grapeland ISD Early Learning Center

776 N Olive St, Grapeland, TX 75844
licensed capacity
149
open each week
5 days
a week, county median
$129
year first permitted
2020

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Licensed by the stateInspection record

About

About Grapeland ISD Early Learning Center

Grapeland ISD Early Learning Center is a licensed child care center in Grapeland, Texas. The state has permitted it since January 2, 2020, for up to 149 children, serving infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 6:45 AM to 5:45 PM.

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation made 9 visits in the last 3 years and cited 14 rules across 5 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

InfantsSchool-ageAccepts child care subsidyOpens before 7 AM

Ages served: infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Hours today
Closed today
Licensed capacity
149 children

Hours

Hours

Monday6:45 AM to 5:45 PM
Tuesday6:45 AM to 5:45 PM
Wednesday6:45 AM to 5:45 PM
Thursday6:45 AM to 5:45 PM
Friday6:45 AM to 5:45 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayTodayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

AgesInfants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age childrenFrom the state license
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Licensed capacity149 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

Grapeland ISD Early Learning Center has not listed its tuition. For comparison, full-time infant care at a child care center in Houston County has a median price of $129 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition. The county medians below are a starting point.
Houston County medians, full time, per week

Infant

Center$129
Home daycare$117

Toddler

Center$121
Home daycare$112

Preschool

Center$118
Home daycare$110

School age

Center$112
Home daycare$105

County median full-time prices at centers and home daycares, U.S. Department of Labor, National Database of Childcare Prices, 2022 (the latest year). Not this daycare's rates; prices have risen since.

State record

Inspection reports for Grapeland ISD Early Learning Center

License

Status
Licensed and operating
License type
Full Permit
Capacity
149 children
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Permit issued
2020
License number
#1690763
See the state's record

Summary

9 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Aug 25, 2026: 5 rules cited

Rules cited on 5 of 9 visits · 14 rules in all · 14 corrected

  • Records and paperwork 5
  • Staff training and qualifications 3
  • Supervision and ratios 2
  • Discipline and child guidance 2
  • Safety and hazards 1
  • Health, medication and illness 1

For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 12 visits
  1. Aug 25, 2026Inspection5 rules cited
    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.5205(1) - Fire Drill Monthly - Exit in 3 Minutes

      “There was no documentation that fire drills had been conducted in the months of June and July.”

      The state verified the correction on Sep 1, 2026

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1309(e) - Documented Annual Training- Required Content

      “The required annual training on the following topics had not been completed by 4 caregivers. The required training topics 3. administering medication One lacked 4.preventing and responding to emergencies due to food or an allergic reaction.”

      The state verified the correction on Sep 8, 2026

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1311(e) - Director Annual Training - Additional required topics

      “The required annual training on the following topics had not been completed by the director. The required training topic was 3. administering medication.”

      The state verified the correction on Sep 8, 2026

    • Health, medication and illnessMedium risk

      746.603(a)(4) - Children's Records - Immunizations

      “There were 2 children's records that lacked the immunizations for their age.”

      The state verified the correction on Sep 8, 2026

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium High risk

      746.1309(d) - Documented Annual Training - Caregivers of Children Under 24 Months Required

      “Two caregivers lacked the training when caring for children under 24 months (Shaken Baby Syndrome, Sudden Infant Death Syndrome, and Early Brain Development.”

      The state verified the correction on Sep 1, 2026

  2. Jul 22, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  3. Jun 12, 2026Complaint investigation1 rule cited
    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.1205(a)(4) - Supervision ensures each child’s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child’s on going activity

      “During the DFPS investigation, it was determined that a child was left unsupervised on the playground.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 22, 2026

  4. Jan 23, 2026Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “The operation did not report via online provider account the number of employees who ceased working at the operation during the previous calendar year by January 15th, 2026 as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Feb 3, 2026

  5. Aug 27, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  6. Apr 16, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  7. Apr 9, 2025Complaint investigation6 rules cited
    • Discipline and child guidanceHigh risk

      746.2805 - Prohibited Punishments - No Harsh, Cruel or Unusual

      “Witnesses confirmed that children were sprayed with water bottles as a means of discipline.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 27, 2025

    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.2401(7) - Basic Requirements for Infants - Never Unsupervised

      “DFPS staff observed an infant left in an enclosed play area unsupervised.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 27, 2025

    • Discipline and child guidanceHigh risk

      746.1201(1) - Responsibilities of Employees and Caregivers -Demonstrate Competency, Good Judgment, Self-control

      “Evidence obtained during a DFPS investigation concluded that a caregiver exercised poor judgment in her aggressive handling of an infant in care. The caregiver was terminated for her actions.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 27, 2025

    • Records and paperworkHigh risk

      746.305(a)(6) - Report Situation Placing Children at Risk

      “An incident under investigation by DFPS staff involving allegations of abuse/neglect was not reported to CCR staff/Statewide intake within the appropriate timeframe.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 27, 2025

    • Records and paperworkHigh risk

      746.307(a) - Parental Communication - Notify Immediately about Allegation of Abuse, Neglect or Exploitation

      “The parents were not appropriately informed within the required timeframe of an incident involving their child which was associated with abuse/neglect allegations warranting DFPS investigation.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 27, 2025

    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.521(8) - Parent right to review video recordings of alleged incident of abuse or neglect involving parent child

      “The parents whose child was involved in a DFPS investigation associated with abuse/neglect allegations requested to review the camera footage associated with the incident under investigation but were not allowed to do so as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Aug 27, 2025

  8. Jan 24, 2025Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A Review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2024 data from January 22, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 27, 2025

  9. Sep 11, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  10. Oct 3, 2023Inspection4 rules cited
    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.3605(a)(2) - Child Becomes Ill in Care - Keep Apart from Others

      “A child who became ill in care was not separated from the other children appropriately. This was corrected at the time of inspection.”

      Corrected during the visit

    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.801(5) - Required Records Maintained and Made Available - Employees' Attendance

      “There was no tracking system to account for director's presence.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 6, 2023

    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.2403(1) - Infant Care Area - Able to See, Hear and Intervene

      “A caregiver's view of two infants in the classroom was blocked by a shelve as she was sitting on the floor with another infant. The caregiver changed positions so that visual supervision could be maintainend, therefore the deficiency was corrected at inspection.”

      Corrected during the visit

    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium High risk

      746.3407(8) - Garbage Inaccessible to Children; Maintained in Sanitary Manner

      “There were two garbage cans missing tops with food exposed. This was corrected at the time of inspection.”

      Corrected during the visit

Show 2 earlier visits
  1. Oct 27, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Nov 17, 2021InspectionNo rules cited

Copied from Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation on October 1, 2026; the state's records start around Sep 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Grapeland ISD Early Learning Center

FAQ

Questions about Grapeland ISD Early Learning Center

Is Grapeland ISD Early Learning Center licensed?

Yes. Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists it as licensed and operating, with a permit issued January 2, 2020.

When was Grapeland ISD Early Learning Center last inspected?

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists the most recent visit on August 25, 2026, with 5 rules cited. It lists 9 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Grapeland ISD Early Learning Center had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 14 rules across 5 of 9 visits in the last 3 years; 14 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Grapeland ISD Early Learning Center care for?

149, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

Does Grapeland ISD Early Learning Center accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Grapeland ISD Early Learning Center's hours?

Monday to Friday, 6:45 AM to 5:45 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Grapeland ISD Early Learning Center cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (936) 687-2056 to ask.

What is Grapeland ISD Early Learning Center's phone number?

(936) 687-2056.

Where is Grapeland ISD Early Learning Center?

776 N Olive St, Grapeland, TX 75844.

Sources: Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation (license and visits) · U.S. Department of Labor, 2022 (county prices).