The Aspen Grove School
1600 Christian St, Philadelphia, PA
We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.
Own this daycare? Claim itAbout
GPY Christian Street Early Learning Center is a child care center in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It is certified by the state, for up to 289 children, serving school-age children.
It is open Monday to Friday, 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM. It describes its programs: after-school care, before-school care, full-time care and pre-k. It says it provides meals. It lists monthly tuition from $271 to $558.
Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning made 13 visits in the last 3 years and cited 28 rules across 12 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.
Hours
| MondayToday | 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM |
|---|---|
| Tuesday | 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM |
| Wednesday | 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM |
| Thursday | 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM |
| Friday | 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM |
| Saturday | Not listed |
| Sunday | Not listed |
Programs
| Ages | School-age childrenFrom the state license |
|---|---|
| Programs | After-school care, before-school care, full-time care, pre-k, preschool and toddler care |
| Enrichment | Arts, STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math), Leadership Development, Literacy, Service Learning, Health |
| Staff | All staff meet or exceed state requirements and have access to continuous education and training |
| Daily life | USDA food program (CACFP); Snacks provided |
| Safety | Protected entryway with key fob system |
| Child care subsidy | Accepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license |
| Discounts | Sibling discount (not applied to online registration) |
| Parent updates | Parent app (Tadpoles) |
| Licensed capacity | 289 childrenFrom the state license |
Cost
GPY Christian Street Early Learning Center lists monthly tuition from $271 to $558.
| Monthly · program, in its own words | Price |
|---|---|
| BASE After School, 5 Days (School Year 2025-2026) | $419 |
| BASE Before & After School, 5 Days (School Year 2025-2026) | $558 |
| BASE Before School, 5 Days (School Year 2025-2026) | $271 |
| Registration Fee | $60 |
State record
13 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Apr 29, 2026: 12 rules cited
Rules cited on 12 of 13 visits · 28 rules in all · 28 corrected
For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14.
A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.
Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record
3270.124(e) Written emergency plan posted
“The facility's written plan identifying the means of transporting a child to emergency care and staffing provisions in the event of an emergency was not posted in several classrooms. (2 preschool classrooms and in the school age classroom)”
Correction date in the state record: May 29, 2026
3270.123(a)(3) Services proceeded
“Several children's records did not contain a child service report that had been completed within the past 6 months. #1, #2, and #3)”
Correction date in the state record: May 29, 2026
3270.123(a) Signed
“Two children's records did not contain a signed agreement in accordance with this regulation.”
Correction date in the state record: May 29, 2026
3270.32(a)/3270.192(4) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information
“The facility was not in compliance with the CPSL and with Chapter 3490 (relating to protective services): One facility person's records did not contain the required CPSL hiring documents (#1 hired 6/24/24- no NSOR)”
Correction date in the state record: Apr 29, 2026
3270.27(a)(5) Emergency plan
“The facility's emergency plan did not provide for accommodations for infants, toddlers, children with disabilities, and children with chronic medical conditions.”
Correction date in the state record: May 29, 2026
3270.182(2) Application, admission, withdrawal dates
“Two children's agreements did not specify the date of the child's admission.”
Correction date in the state record: May 29, 2026
3270.27(a)(6) Emergency plan
“There was no written record of an emergency drill completed annually as specified in these regulations.”
Correction date in the state record: May 29, 2026
3270.124(f)/3270.181(c) Updated every 6 months/Emergency info/agreement updated 6 mos
“One child's record did not contain emergency contact and financial agreement information that had been reviewed and updated within the past 6 months. (#4)”
Correction date in the state record: May 29, 2026
3270.124(c) Each child care space
“Children were observed being cared for in the toddler and preschool classrooms and the emergency contact information for all the children were not present in the classrooms.”
Correction date in the state record: May 29, 2026
3270.124(a) Each child emergency contact person
“Two children's records lacked emergency contact information as specified in these regulations. (#2 and #3)”
Correction date in the state record: May 29, 2026
3270.14/3270.21 Pertinent Laws & Regulations/General Health and Safety
“The facility lacked written policies on the prevention of shaken baby syndrome, abusive head trauma, and child maltreatment.”
Correction date in the state record: May 29, 2026
3270.113(a) Supervised at all times
“On 3/9/26, a staff person directed a child to go to his classroom, and child was observed in the hallway alone and unsupervised.”
Correction date in the state record: Apr 29, 2026
3270.124(e) Written emergency plan posted
“The facility's written plan identifying the means of transporting a child to emergency care and staffing provisions in the event of an emergency was not posted in several classrooms. (2 preschool classrooms and in the school age classroom)”
Correction date in the state record: May 29, 2026
3270.123(a)(3) Services proceeded
“Several children's records did not contain a child service report that had been completed within the past 6 months. #1, #2, and #3)”
Correction date in the state record: May 29, 2026
3270.123(a) Signed
“Two children's records did not contain a signed agreement in accordance with this regulation.”
Correction date in the state record: May 29, 2026
3270.32(a)/3270.192(4) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information
“The facility was not in compliance with the CPSL and with Chapter 3490 (relating to protective services): One facility person's records did not contain the required CPSL hiring documents (#1 hired 6/24/24- no NSOR)”
Correction date in the state record: Apr 29, 2026
3270.27(a)(5) Emergency plan
“The facility's emergency plan did not provide for accommodations for infants, toddlers, children with disabilities, and children with chronic medical conditions.”
Correction date in the state record: May 29, 2026
3270.182(2) Application, admission, withdrawal dates
“Two children's agreements did not specify the date of the child's admission.”
Correction date in the state record: May 29, 2026
3270.27(a)(6) Emergency plan
“There was no written record of an emergency drill completed annually as specified in these regulations.”
Correction date in the state record: May 29, 2026
3270.124(f)/3270.181(c) Updated every 6 months/Emergency info/agreement updated 6 mos
“One child's record did not contain emergency contact and financial agreement information that had been reviewed and updated within the past 6 months. (#4)”
Correction date in the state record: May 29, 2026
3270.124(c) Each child care space
“Children were observed being cared for in the toddler and preschool classrooms and the emergency contact information for all the children were not present in the classrooms.”
Correction date in the state record: May 29, 2026
3270.124(a) Each child emergency contact person
“Two children's records lacked emergency contact information as specified in these regulations. (#2 and #3)”
Correction date in the state record: May 29, 2026
3270.14/3270.21 Pertinent Laws & Regulations/General Health and Safety
“The facility lacked written policies on the prevention of shaken baby syndrome, abusive head trauma, and child maltreatment.”
Correction date in the state record: May 29, 2026
3270.113(a) Supervised at all times
“On 3/9/26, a staff person directed a child to go to his classroom, and child was observed in the hallway alone and unsupervised.”
Correction date in the state record: Apr 29, 2026
3270.51 Similar Age Level
“On 1/7/26, a staff person left the classroom leaving another staff person supervising 15 preschool age children, thus staff/child ratios were not in compliance.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 21, 2026
3270.113(a)(1) Staff assigned to specific children
“During the complaint investigation conducted on July 8, 2025, the Certification Representative interviewed the Director, who confirmed that a child had been left alone in the building during transition time.”
Correction date in the state record: Jul 10, 2025
3270.113(a) Supervised at all times
“During the complaint investigation conducted on July 8, 2025, the Certification Representative interviewed the Director, who confirmed that a child had been left alone in the building during transition time.”
Correction date in the state record: Jul 17, 2025
3270.113(a)(1) Staff assigned to specific children
“During a complaint investigation inspection conducted on 06/13/25, the Certification Representative verified the complaint stating Staff #1 allowed the children to go to the restroom alone.”
Correction date in the state record: Jun 13, 2025
3270.31(f)(10) Health and Safety Training - Pediatric First Aid and CPR
“During a renewal inspection conducted on 1/15/25, the Certification Representative reviewed the content of records of Staff #7, Staff # 11, and Staff #20. Staff #7, Staff #11, and Staff #20 content of records did not include a Pediatric First Aid Certificate training.”
Correction date in the state record: Mar 10, 2025
3270.192(2)(iv) Transcript, diploma and letters
“During a renewal inspection conducted on 1/15/25, the Certification Representative reviewed the content of records of Staff #7, Staff #8, and Staff #21. Staff #7, Staff #8, and Staff #21 content of records did not include evidence of education.”
Correction date in the state record: Feb 10, 2025
3270.151(c)(2)/3270.192(3) Mantoux TB/Health assessment, TB test
“During a renewal inspection conducted on 1/15/25, the Certification Representative reviewed the content of records for Staff #6, Staff #7, Staff #8, Staff #10, Staff #11, Staff #19, and Staff #21. Staff # 6, #7, #8, #11, #19, and #19 content of records did not contain a completed initial Heath Assessment form. Staff # 10 content of records contain an expired Health Assessment.”
Correction date in the state record: Mar 10, 2025
3270.14/3270.21 Pertinent Laws & Regulations/General Health and Safety
“During a renewal inspection conducted on 1/15/25, the Certification Representative reviewed the content of records of Staff # 6, Staff # 7, and Staff #20. Staff #6, Staff #7, and Staff #20 content of records did not contain a Heath and Safety training.”
Correction date in the state record: Feb 10, 2025
3270.24(a)/3270.191 Immediate access/Individual Records
“During an allocated unannounced monitoring inspection conducted on 07/03/24, the Certification Representative request for new hire Staff's #1, Staff's #2, and Staff 's #3 content of records. Staff's #1, Staff's #2, and Staff's #3 content of records was not on the premises.”
Correction date in the state record: Jul 23, 2024
3270.135(e) 2 hour diaper check
“During a complaint investigation conducted on 07/03/24. the Certification Representative reviewed communication board between the parent and teacher for day 06/14/2024, and there was no indication of the child being changed every two hours.”
Correction date in the state record: Jul 24, 2024
3270.24(a)/3270.191 Immediate access/Individual Records
“During an allocated unannounced monitoring inspection conducted on 07/03/24, the Certification Representative request for new hire Staff's #1, Staff's #2, and Staff 's #3 content of records. Staff's #1, Staff's #2, and Staff's #3 content of records was not on the premises.”
Correction date in the state record: Jul 23, 2024
3270.135(e) 2 hour diaper check
“During a complaint investigation conducted on 07/03/24. the Certification Representative reviewed communication board between the parent and teacher for day 06/14/2024, and there was no indication of the child being changed every two hours.”
Correction date in the state record: Jul 24, 2024
3270.19(a)/3270.32(a) Required to report/Comply with CPSL
“During a complaint investigation conducted on 4/26/24, the Certification Representative inquired the program director if Childline was called for the alleged abuse made by the parent. The program director contacted the regional director to inquire if Childline was notified of the alleged abuse made by the parent. The Regional Director, no ChildLine was not contacted, only OCDEL.”
Correction date in the state record: Apr 26, 2024
3270.113(a)(1) Staff assigned to specific children
“During a complaint investigation conducted on 3/15/24, the Certification Representative interviewed the Director of program. Director verified that Staff #2 did not know the child was outside the classroom and did not do the final count of the children after the class entered the classroom.”
Correction date in the state record: Mar 15, 2024
3270.151(a)/3270.192(3) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter/Health assessment, TB test
“During a renewal inspection conducted on 2/14/24, the Certification Representative reviewed Staff's # 7 content of records, Staff's 7 content of records indicated an expired Health Assessment.”
Correction date in the state record: Feb 16, 2024
3270.113(a) Supervised at all times
“During the compliant investigation inspection conducted on 11/08/23 reported on 11/02/23, the certification representative spoke to Staff #1 and Staff #2 verifying child #1 was left for 30 seconds by staff # 2 outside the door coming in from the playground.”
Correction date in the state record: Nov 17, 2023
3270.113(a) Supervised at all times
“During the compliant investigation inspection conducted on 11/08/23 reported on 11/02/23, the certification representative spoke to Staff #1 and Staff #2 verifying child #1 was left for 30 seconds by staff # 2 outside the door coming in from the playground.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 15, 2024
3270.113(a) Supervised at all times
“During the compliant investigation inspection conducted on 11/08/23 reported on 11/02/23, the certification representative spoke to Staff #1 and Staff #2 verifying child #1 was left for 30 seconds by staff # 2 outside the door coming in from the playground.”
Correction date in the state record: Jan 5, 2024
3270.113(a)(1) Staff assigned to specific children
“During a complaint investigation conducted on 10/20/23, the Certification Representative interviewed Staff #1 regarding an incident that occurred on 10/17/23. Staff # 1 stated, "it was verified on the camera placed in the back stairwell that child #1, child #2, and child #3 were left unattended for three minutes.”
Correction date in the state record: Oct 27, 2023
3270.151(c)(3)/3270.151(c)(5) Exam communicable disease/Physician/CRNP assessment
“At the time of inspection, the health assessment for staff person # 1 did not include an examination for communicable diseases or suitability to provide child care.”
Correction date in the state record: Apr 17, 2023
3270.151(a) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter
“At the time of inspection, staff person # 2 did not have verification of a valid health assessment.”
Correction date in the state record: Apr 24, 2023
3270.31(h) Health and Safety Training
“At the time of inspection, staff persons #3,4,5 and 6 did not have verification of the updated health and safety child care training.”
Correction date in the state record: Apr 21, 2023
3270.113(a) Supervised at all times
“Per the provider's admission, a child was left unsupervised for approximately 10 minutes while under the supervision of staff persons # 1 and 2.”
Correction date in the state record: Feb 27, 2023
3270.113(b) No physical punishment
“STAFF PERSON #1 WAS OBSERVED USING A FORM A PHYSICAL PUNISHMENT ON CHILD #1.”
Correction date in the state record: Aug 19, 2022
3270.31(f) Health and Safety Training
“AT THE TIME OF INSPECTION STAFF PERSON # 10 DID NOT HAVE VERIFICATION OF HEALTH AND SAFETY PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT TRAINING AS REQUIRED WITHIN 90 DAYS OF HIRE.”
Correction date in the state record: Apr 26, 2022
3270.32(a) Comply with CPSL
“THE FILE OF STAFF PERSON #8 DOH (SEE LIS CODE SHEET), DID NOT CONTAIN A COPY OF THE NSOR AS REQUIRED UNDER THE CPSL. THE FILE OF STAFF PERSON #10 DOH (SEE LIS CODE SHEET), DID NOT CONTAIN A COPY OF THE NSOR AS REQUIRED UNDER THE CPSL. THE FILE OF STAFF PERSON #11 DOH (SEE LIS CODE SHEET), DID NOT CONTAIN A COPY OF THE CRIMINAL HISTORY CLEARANCE, NSOR OR FBI HISTORY INFORMATION AS REQUIRED UNDER THE CPSL.”
Correction date in the state record: Apr 25, 2022
3270.106(a) Clean, age appropriate
“AT THE TIME OF INSPECTION CERTIFICATION REPRESENTATIVE OBSERVED CHILDREN PRESCHOOL AGE CHILDREN SLEEPING ON REST EQUIPMENT NOT LABELED FOR SPECIFIC CHILD.”
Correction date in the state record: Apr 8, 2022
3270.151(a)/3270.192(3) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter/Health assessment, TB test
“AT THE TIME OF INSPECTION STAFF PERSON # 9 DID NOT HAVE VERIFICATION OF A CURRENT HEALTH ASSESSMENT.”
Correction date in the state record: Apr 29, 2022
3270.151(c)(3)/3270.151(c)(5) Exam communicable disease/Physician/CRNP assessment
“AT THE TIME OF INSPECTION THE HEALTH ASSESSMENT FOR STAFF PERSON # 8 DID NOT INCLUDE AN EXAMINATION FOR COMMUNICABLE DISEASES OR SUITABILITY TO PROVIDE CHILD CARE.”
Correction date in the state record: Apr 27, 2022
3270.31(e)(4)(ii) Fire safety - 1 yr.
“AT THE TIME OF INSPECTION STAFF PERSON # 9 DID NOT HAVE VERIFICATION OF ANNUAL FIRESAFETY TRAINING.”
Correction date in the state record: Apr 26, 2022
3270.31(e)(4)(i) Age and Training
“AT THE TIME OF INSPECTION STAFF PERSONS #1,2,3,4,5,7,8,10 AND DID NOT HAVE VERIFICATION OF PEDIATRIC FIRST AND PEDIATRIC CRP.”
Correction date in the state record: Apr 29, 2022
3270.134(a) Child's hands washed
“AT THE TIME OF INSPECTION CERTIFICATION REPRESENTATIVE OBSERVED A CHILD IN THE YOUNG TODDLER ROOM HANDS NOT WASHED AFTER BEING DIAPERED.”
Correction date in the state record: Nov 22, 2021
3270.76 Building Surfaces
“AT THE TIME OF INSPECTION CERTIFICATION REPRESENTATIVE OBSERVED SEVERAL DAMAGE CEILING TILES IN THE TODDLER ROOM ON THE FIRST FLOOR.”
Correction date in the state record: Dec 10, 2021
3270.76 Building Surfaces
“AT THE TIME OF INSPECTION CERTIFICATION REPRESENTATIVE OBSERVED SEVERAL DAMAGE CEILING TILES IN THE TODDLER ROOM ON THE FIRST FLOOR. CONTINUOUS NONCOMPLIANCE”
3270.21 General Health and Safety
“PER PROVIDER ADMISSION, CHILD #1 RAN INTO THE STREET AND WAS LIGHTLY STRUCK BY A CAR WHEN CROSSING THE STREET.”
Correction date in the state record: Sep 21, 2021
3270.113(a) Supervised at all times
“PER THE PROVIDER, CHILD #1 WAS LEFT ALONE IN A CLASSROOM ON THE SECOND FLOOR.”
Correction date in the state record: Sep 10, 2021
Reviews
If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.
1600 Christian St, Philadelphia, PA
1415 Catharine St, Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA 19146 · Home daycare: the provider shares the address with families
1620 Christian St, Philadelphia, PA
1119 S 18th St, Philadelphia, PA
800 S 20th St, Philadelphia, PA
629 S 19th St, Philadelphia, PA
1740 South St Suite Ll 100, Philadelphia, PA
1613 South St # 21, Philadelphia, PA
FAQ
Yes. GPY Christian Street Early Learning Center is certified by the state and operating. This is how Pennsylvania authorizes this type of child care.
Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning lists the most recent visit on April 29, 2026, with 12 rules cited. It lists 13 visits in the last 3 years.
Yes. Inspectors cited 28 rules across 12 of 13 visits in the last 3 years; 28 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.
289, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve school-age children.
Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.
Monday to Friday, 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.
Monthly tuition from $271 to $558, as it lists it.
(215) 735-5800.
1724 Christian St, Philadelphia, PA 19146. The nearest other daycare we list is Sunrise Ost at Edwin M Stanton Elementary, 0.1 miles away.