Skip to content
Group home daycare 

First Place Learning

Manchester, PA 17345 · home daycare: the provider shares the address with families4.9· 28 reviews
licensed capacity
12
open each week
5 days

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Certified by the stateInspection record

About

About First Place Learning

First Place Learning is a group home daycare in Manchester, Pennsylvania. It is certified by the state, for up to 12 children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM. It describes a STEM / STEAM approach. As a home daycare, the provider shares the address with families when you call.

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning made 4 visits in the last 3 years and cited 10 rules across 4 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

STEM / STEAM
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, the address and how to visit and staff-to-child ratio.
Type
Group home daycare
Ages
6 months to 4 years
Hours today
Closed today
Licensed capacity
12 children

Hours

Hours

Monday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Tuesday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Wednesday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Thursday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Friday7:00 AM to 6:00 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayTodayNot listed
Hours it lists: “Monday through Friday 6:30 AM - 6:00 PM”

Programs

Programs and care

Ages6 months to 4 years
SettingGroup child care homeFrom the state license
ApproachSTEM / STEAM
StaffProvider holds a degree in early childhood education
MoreFounded 2022
Licensed capacity12 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

First Place Learning has not listed its tuition.

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition.

State record

Inspection reports for First Place Learning

License

Status
Certified by the state and operating
License type
Certificate of Compliance
Capacity
12 children
License number
#CER-00250543
See the state's record

Summary

4 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Jan 16, 2026: 2 rules cited

Rules cited on 4 of 4 visits · 10 rules in all · 10 corrected

  • Safety and hazards 3
  • Records and paperwork 3
  • Supervision and ratios 1
  • Health, medication and illness 1
  • Discipline and child guidance 1
  • Building, equipment and play areas 1

For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 6 visits
  1. Jan 16, 2026Inspection2 rules cited
    • Supervision and ratios

      3280.123(a)(5) Designated release persons

      “The agreement for child #1 does not specify the persons designated to whom the child may be released. The agreement for child #2 does not specify the persons designated to whom the child may be released.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 19, 2026

    • Health, medication and illness

      3280.151(a) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter

      “The health assessment for staff person #1 was not updated in a timely manner. This is evidenced by health assessments for staff person #1 being dated 10/24/2022 and 11/13/2024, which exceeds the 24 month requirement.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 19, 2026

  2. Aug 18, 2025Inspection2 rules cited
    • Safety and hazards

      3280.65 Protective Outlet Covers 5 yrs. or less

      “It was observed on 8/18/2025 protective receptacle covers were not placed in three (3) different electrical outlets in the basement child care space and are accessible to children 5 years of age or younger. (CORRECTED ON SITE)”

      Correction date in the state record: Aug 18, 2025

    • Safety and hazards

      3280.66(a) Locked or inaccessible - in original container

      “It was observed on 8/18/2025 a container of Clorox wipes was on the counter beside the sink in the kitchenette area in the basement child care space and was accessible to children. (CORRECTED ON SITE)”

      Correction date in the state record: Aug 18, 2025

  3. Jan 14, 2025Inspection1 rule cited
    • Records and paperwork

      3280.124(c) Each child care space

      “It was observed on 1/15/2025 emergency contact information was not present in the two child care spaces where children are receiving care.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 16, 2025

  4. Jan 23, 2024Inspection5 rules cited
    • Discipline and child guidance

      3280.123(a)(3) Services proceeded

      “A Child Service Report to provide information to the family about the child's growth and development in the context of the services being provided was not completed for Child # 2 (admission date see LIS code sheet) and Child #3 (admission date see LIS code sheet).”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 2, 2024

    • Records and paperwork

      3280.74 Emergency Numbers Posted

      “It was observed on 1/24/2024 the telephone number of the nearest hospital, police department, fire department, ambulance and poison control center was not posted by each telephone in the facility.”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 25, 2024

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3280.103 Small Toys and Objects

      “It was observed on 1/24/2024 plastic garbage bags are being stored in a drawer in the basement kitchenette that is accessible to children who are still placing objects in their mouths. (CORRECTED DURING THE INSPECTION)”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 24, 2024

    • Records and paperwork

      3280.124(b)(3) Parent home/work address, phone

      “Emergency contact information for Child #1 does not include the work address and telephone number of the enrolling parent. Emergency contact information for Child 2 does not include the work telephone number of the enrolling parent.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 2, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3280.66(a) Locked or inaccessible - in original container

      “It was observed on 1/24/2024 a Magic Eraser was not stored in an original labeled container or in a container that specifies the content. (CORRECTED DURING INSPECTION)”

      Correction date in the state record: Jan 24, 2024

  5. Mar 24, 2023Inspection5 rules cited
    • Records and paperwork

      3280.124(b)(7) Name/address/phone release person

      “The emergency contact information for Child #1 does not include the address of the individual designated by the parent to whom the child may be released.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 24, 2023

    • Health, medication and illness

      3280.134(b) Towels labeled and laundered

      “It was observed on 3/24/2023 a single cloth towel was in the bathroom located in the child care space and was being used by multiple people after handwashing. (CORRECTED ON SITE)”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 24, 2023

    • Health, medication and illness

      3280.135(a)(3) Disposable diapers

      “It was observed on 3/24/2023 when Staff Person #1 changed a soiled pull-up for Child #2 the soiled pull up was not discarded by immediately placing the pull-up into a plastic-lined, hands-free covered can.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 27, 2023

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3280.103 Small Toys and Objects

      “It was observed on 3/24/2023 a plastic bag was hanging in a cubbie that is accessible to children who are still placing objects in their mouths. (CORRECTED ON SITE)”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 24, 2023

    • Supervision and ratios

      3280.113(a) Supervised at all times

      “It was observed on 3/24/2023 Staff Person #1 was attending to Child #2 in the bathroom while Child #1 was laying on an activity mat that was around the corner and therefore out of the direct sight line of the staff member.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 24, 2023

  6. Jan 4, 2023InspectionNo rules cited

Copied from Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning on October 2, 2026; the state's records start around Jun 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near First Place Learning

FAQ

Questions about First Place Learning

Is First Place Learning licensed?

Yes. First Place Learning is certified by the state and operating. This is how Pennsylvania authorizes this type of child care.

When was First Place Learning last inspected?

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning lists the most recent visit on January 16, 2026, with 2 rules cited. It lists 4 visits in the last 3 years.

Has First Place Learning had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 10 rules across 4 of 4 visits in the last 3 years; 10 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can First Place Learning care for?

12, the licensed capacity on the state record.

Does First Place Learning accept child care subsidies?

The state record does not list it as accepting subsidies. Ask the provider directly.

What are First Place Learning's hours?

Monday to Friday, 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does First Place Learning cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (484) 300-6783 to ask.

What is First Place Learning's phone number?

(484) 300-6783.

Where is First Place Learning?

Manchester, PA 17345. It is a home daycare, so the provider shares the street address with families directly.

Sources: Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning (license and visits).