Skip to content
Child care center 

Discovery Years Learning Center

6847 Addicks Satsuma Rd, Houston, TX 770844.9· 60 reviews
licensed capacity
95
open each week
5 days
weekly, posted tuition
$75
year first permitted
1997

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Licensed by the stateInspection record

About

About Discovery Years Learning Center

Discovery Years Learning Center is a licensed child care center in Houston, Texas. The state has permitted it since September 22, 1997, for up to 95 children, serving toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 6:30 AM to 6:30 PM. It describes its programs: after-school care, before-school care, drop-in care and full-time care. It says it provides meals. It lists weekly tuition from $75 to $230.

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation made 6 visits in the last 3 years and cited 2 rules across 2 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

Before- and after-schoolSummer campMeals providedAccepts child care subsidyOpens before 7 AMPosts tuition

Ages served: toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Hours today
Closed today
Licensed capacity
95 children

Hours

Hours

Monday6:30 AM to 6:30 PM
Tuesday6:30 AM to 6:30 PM
Wednesday6:30 AM to 6:30 PM
Thursday6:30 AM to 6:30 PM
Friday6:30 AM to 6:30 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayTodayNot listed
From the state licenseHours it lists: “6:30 AM to 6:30 PM, Monday through Friday”

Programs

Programs and care

AgesToddlers, preschoolers and school-age childrenFrom the state license
ProgramsAfter-school care, before-school care, drop-in care, full-time care, part-time care, preschool, summer camp and toddler care
CurriculumFrogStreet Pre-K Curriculum
EnrichmentSoccer Program
Daily lifeMeals provided; Snacks provided. Potty training: 3 Years (NOT fully potty trained/need help)
SafetyOutdoor playground
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
AccreditationTexas Rising Star
Licensed capacity95 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

Discovery Years Learning Center lists weekly tuition from $75 to $230. For comparison, full-time toddler care at a child care center in Harris County has a median price of $172 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).

Weekly · program, in its own wordsPrice
MDO 3 years-5 years, 2 Days$90
MDO 3 years-5 years, 3 Days$135
MDO 3 years-5 years, 5 Days$180
MDO 18 Months to 35 Mos, 2 Days$100
MDO 18 Months to 35 Mos, 3 Days$150
MDO 18 Months to 35 Mos, 5 Days$200
Showing 6 of 12 · Show all 12
Preschool Program, 3 Years$210
Preschool Program, 3 Years (NOT fully potty trained/need help)$220
Schooler Program, AM & PM$115
Schooler Program, AM Only$75
Schooler Program, PM Only$95
Toddler Program, 18 Months$230
Daily · program, in its own wordsPrice
Daily Rate$55
Schooler Holiday Add-on, AM & PM$15
Schooler Holiday Add-on, AM Only$25
Registration Fee $100 per Family$100
Hourly Rate$15 an hour
15 posted prices. Rates change, so confirm before you enroll.
Harris County medians, full time, per week

Infant

Center$185
Home daycare$164

Toddler

Center$172
Home daycare$155

Preschool

Center$167
Home daycare$153

School age

Center$156
Home daycare$144

County median full-time prices at centers and home daycares, U.S. Department of Labor, National Database of Childcare Prices, 2022 (the latest year). Not this daycare's rates; prices have risen since.

State record

Inspection reports for Discovery Years Learning Center

License

Status
Licensed and operating
License type
Full Permit
Capacity
95 children
Ages
Toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Permit issued
1997
License number
#524867
See the state's record

Summary

6 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Sep 16, 2026: no rules cited

Rules cited on 2 of 6 visits · 2 rules in all · 2 corrected

  • Staff training and qualifications 2

For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 15 visits
  1. Sep 16, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Apr 27, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  3. Apr 16, 2026VisitNo rules cited
  4. Sep 17, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  5. Oct 22, 2024Visit1 rule cited
    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium High risk

      746.1107(2) - Additional Minimum Qualifications for Caregivers - HS Diploma, Equivalent, Certification of Completion

      “1 out of 8 personnel files reviewed obtained a high school diploma from Marquee, a fraudelent company producing high school diplomas.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 30, 2024

  6. Sep 23, 2024Inspection1 rule cited
    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium High risk

      746.1107(2) - Additional Minimum Qualifications for Caregivers - HS Diploma, Equivalent, Certification of Completion

      “1 out of 8 personnel files reviewed obtained a high school diploma from Marquee, a fraudelent company producing high school diplomas.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 22, 2024

  7. Oct 5, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  8. Jan 27, 2023Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2022 by January 15, 2023, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 30, 2023

  9. Oct 26, 2022Inspection1 rule cited
    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.3701(1) - Safety - Electrical Outlets Covered

      “During the inspection one room was not observed with childproof covers. Note: this was corrected at the inspection time.”

      Corrected during the visit

  10. Jul 11, 2022Visit1 rule cited
    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.305(a)(2) - AP Report Child Injury Requiring Medical Treatment by a Health-Care Professional or Hospitalization

      “Based on information obtained during the investigation, a violation of this minimum standard did occur.”

      The state verified the correction on Jul 25, 2022

Show 5 earlier visits
  1. May 18, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  2. May 14, 2022VisitNo rules cited
  3. Feb 28, 2022Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Feb 28, 2022

  4. Nov 18, 2021InspectionNo rules cited
  5. Nov 2, 2021Inspection2 rules cited
    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.1203(2) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know Group Responsible For

      “Two caregivers in different classrooms were not aware of how many children they had in care.”

      The state verified the correction on Nov 18, 2021

    • Safety and hazardsMedium High risk

      746.5015(c) - Safety Requirements for Sprinkler Play - Equipment and Water Hoses Kept Out of Child's Reach

      “There was an unrolled water hose on the playground. The children were using the equipment where the water hose and this can cause a child or adult to trip.”

      The state verified the correction on Nov 18, 2021

Copied from Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation on October 1, 2026; the state's records start around Sep 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Discovery Years Learning Center

FAQ

Questions about Discovery Years Learning Center

Is Discovery Years Learning Center licensed?

Yes. Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists it as licensed and operating, with a permit issued September 22, 1997.

When was Discovery Years Learning Center last inspected?

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists the most recent visit on September 16, 2026, with no rules cited. It lists 6 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Discovery Years Learning Center had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 2 rules across 2 of 6 visits in the last 3 years; 2 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Discovery Years Learning Center care for?

95, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

Does Discovery Years Learning Center accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Discovery Years Learning Center's hours?

Monday to Friday, 6:30 AM to 6:30 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Discovery Years Learning Center cost?

Weekly tuition from $75 to $230, as it lists it.

What is Discovery Years Learning Center's phone number?

(281) 861-0404.

Where is Discovery Years Learning Center?

6847 Addicks Satsuma Rd, Houston, TX 77084. The nearest other daycare we list is Kinder Bloom Academy, 0.2 miles away.

Sources: Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation (license and visits) · U.S. Department of Labor, 2022 (county prices).