Skip to content
Home daycareHours not listed· call to confirm

Clara J Piper Family Child Care Home

Carmichaels, PA 15320 · home daycare: the provider shares the address with families

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Certified by the stateInspection record

About

About Clara J Piper Family Child Care Home

Clara J Piper Family Child Care Home is a home daycare in Carmichaels, Pennsylvania. It is certified by the state, for up to 6 children.

As a home daycare, the provider shares the address with families when you call.

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning made 3 visits in the last 3 years and cited 20 rules across 2 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

Accepts child care subsidy
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, the address and how to visit, staff-to-child ratio, teacher qualifications and hours.
Type
Home daycare
Ages
Ask the daycare
Hours today
Not listed
Licensed capacity
6 children

Hours

Hours

Hours not listed. Call (724) 970-5289 to confirm.
Call to confirm

Programs

Programs and care

SettingFamily child care homeFrom the state license
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Licensed capacity6 childrenFrom the state license

Cost

Tuition and costs

Clara J Piper Family Child Care Home has not listed its tuition.

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition.

State record

Inspection reports for Clara J Piper Family Child Care Home

License

Status
Certified by the state and operating
License type
Certificate of Compliance
Capacity
6 children
License number
#CER-00255538
See the state's record

Summary

3 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Mar 3, 2026: 12 rules cited

Rules cited on 2 of 3 visits · 20 rules in all · 20 corrected

  • Records and paperwork 9
  • Safety and hazards 4
  • Health, medication and illness 2
  • Discipline and child guidance 2
  • Supervision and ratios 1
  • Background checks 1
  • Staff training and qualifications 1

For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 5 visits
  1. Mar 3, 2026Inspection12 rules cited
    • Safety and hazards

      3290.24(b) Emergency plan

      “The facility's emergency plan was not reviewed annually. Documented review dates on the cover of the plan were 1/12/25 and 2/24/26.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 10, 2026

    • Records and paperwork

      3290.181(d) Dated signature affixed

      “The financial agreement for child #2 was signed but not dated by the parent.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 31, 2026

    • Health, medication and illness

      3290.151(a)(2)/3290.192(2) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter/Health assessment, TB test

      “The health assessment for staff #1 was not updated within 24 months. The previous health assessment was dated 1/18/24. The most recent health assessment, dated 2/13/26, is now current.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 10, 2026

    • Health, medication and illness

      3290.131(a)/3290.182(1) Within 60 days/Initial and subsequent health assessments

      “The initial health report for child #1 was dated more than 60 days following their first day of attendance. A current health report is now on file.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 10, 2026

    • Records and paperwork

      3290.124(b)(6) Insurance coverage information

      “The emergency contact information for child #1 and child #2 did not include health insurance coverage and policy number.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 31, 2026

    • Records and paperwork

      3290.124(b)(5) Information re: disability

      “The emergency contact information for child #3 and child #4 did not include information on the child's special needs or disability. The boxes on the form were left blank.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 31, 2026

    • Records and paperwork

      3290.124(b)(3) Parent home/work address, phone

      “The emergency contact information for child #3 and child #4 did not include the enrolling parent's work address and phone number. The boxes on the form were left blank.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 31, 2026

    • Records and paperwork

      3290.124(b)(2) Physician name, address, phone

      “The emergency contact information for children #1, #3, and #4 did not include complete contact information for their physician or source of medical care.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 31, 2026

    • Supervision and ratios

      3290.123(a)(5) Designated release persons

      “The agreement for child #2 did not include the persons designated by the parent to whom the child may be released.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 31, 2026

    • Discipline and child guidance

      3290.123(a)(3) Services provided

      “The file for child #4 did not include documentation of sharing a child service report with the parent in the last 6 months. The most recent signed report on file was dated 10/04/24.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 31, 2026

    • Background checks

      3290.32(a)/3290.192(3) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information

      “The files for staff #1 and household member #2 contained state police and child abuse clearances which were not renewed within 60 months. The state police clearance for staff #1 was previously obtained 1/15/21 and was renewed on 2/06/26. The previous child abuse clearance for staff #1 was obtained 1/27/21 and was renewed on 2/11/26. The previous state police clearance for household member #2 was obtained on 1/15/21 and was renewed on 2/02/26. The previous child abuse clearance for household member #2 was obtained on 1/27/21 and was renewed on 2/12/26. Current clearances are now on file for both individuals.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 10, 2026

    • Safety and hazards

      3290.24(d) Emergency plan

      “Emergency drills were not conducted annually. Drill documentation is dated 1/13/25 and 2/19/26. A current emergency drill is now on file.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 10, 2026

  2. Mar 26, 2025Inspection8 rules cited
    • Records and paperwork

      3290.123(a)(4) Arrival/departure times

      “The agreement for child #4 did not specify the child's arrival and departure times.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 3, 2025

    • Records and paperwork

      3290.123(a)(2) Date fee to be paid

      “The agreement for child #1 did not specify the date on which the fee is to be paid.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 3, 2025

    • Safety and hazards

      3290.115(a)(2) Above-ground pool inaccessible

      “The above ground pool was not made inaccessible in accordance with the swimming pool barrier guidelines of the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission. The sides of the pool were not 48 inches above ground around the entire perimeter. Measurements taken at various areas were 43 and 46 inches. Additionally, multiple cinder blocks were close to the pool walls creating a risk of climbing on the blocks and accessing the pool. The cinder blocks were tied to the pool cover with rope and intended to hold the cover in place.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 6, 2025

    • Safety and hazards

      3290.63 Protective Outlet Covers 5 yrs. or less

      “One electrical outlet in the care space lacked a protective cover. The outlet was accessible to children 5 years of age or younger.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 26, 2025

    • Discipline and child guidance

      3290.18 General Health and Safety

      “Staff person #1 has completed Pediatric first aid and CPR training, however the training was not completed through a Pennsylvania Quality Assurance System (PQAS) approved curriculum/ the trainer has not provided documentation that they are PQAS-certified in that training curriculum.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 29, 2025

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3290.31(g) Age and training

      “Staff person #1 has completed Pediatric first aid and CPR training, however the training was not completed through a Pennsylvania Quality Assurance System (PQAS) approved curriculum/ the trainer has not provided documentation that they are PQAS-certified in that training curriculum.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 29, 2025

    • Records and paperwork

      3290.181(d) Dated signature affixed

      “The emergency contact forms for children #1 and #2, enrolled since 9/30/24, lacked dated parental signatures prior to 3/03/25. Current signatures are now on file.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 5, 2025

    • Records and paperwork

      3290.124(b)(6) Insurance coverage information

      “The emergency contact form for child #3 did not include health insurance information.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 26, 2025

  3. Mar 6, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  4. Mar 28, 2023Inspection7 rules cited
    • Records and paperwork

      3290.124(b)(3) Parent home/work address, phone

      “Child file #1 lacked the enrolling parents' home and work address and telephone numbers on the emergency contact form.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 2, 2023

    • Discipline and child guidance

      3290.18 General Health and Safety

      “The facility lacked a plan to train volunteers and a statement regarding the continuity of operations in the event of an emergency in their emergency plan by June 30, 2022 as per Announcement C-22-04 Updated Emergency Preparedness and Response Planning Regulations and Requirements.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 6, 2023

    • Discipline and child guidance

      3290.18 General Health and Safety

      “Staff person #1 completed the Pennsylvania Health and Safety Update 2022 on 2/14/23 which was after the required date of 12/30/22 according to Announcement C-22-06.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 14, 2023

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3290.31(f) Age and training

      “Staff person #1 completed 10 hours of professional development from 12/19/21-12/19/22, two additional hours of professional development were borrowed from trainings completed after 12/19/22.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 5, 2023

    • Safety and hazards

      3290.24(d) Emergency plan

      “The facility lacked documentation and details of an emergency drill conducted at the facility at least annually.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 6, 2023

    • Safety and hazards

      3290.24(g) Emergency plan

      “The facility lacked documentation of the emergency plan updates being submitted to the local and county emergency management agency.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 6, 2023

    • Health, medication and illness

      3290.131(e)(1) Parent written verification from Doctor.

      “Child files #2 and #3 lacked documentation of the influenza vaccination administered in accordance with the schedule recommended by the ACIP.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 2, 2023

  5. Mar 29, 2022Inspection4 rules cited
    • Safety and hazards

      3290.24(d) Emergency plan

      “An annual emergency drill was not conducted.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 5, 2022

    • Safety and hazards

      3290.95(a)/3290.95(b) System in compliance/Operator or designated staff responsibility

      “The fire detection system was not tested every 30 days during the periods from 4/3/2021 to 5/7/2021 to 6/10/2021 to 7/17/2021 to 8/19/2021; 9/9/2021 to 10/13/2021; and 11/7/2021 to date of inspection on 3/29/2022.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 5, 2022

    • Safety and hazards

      3290.24(a)(5) Emergency plan

      “The facility's emergency plan did not provide for accommodations of infants and toddlers, children with disabilities, and children with chronic medical conditions.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 6, 2022

    • Safety and hazards

      3290.94(a)(1) Every 60 days

      “Fire drills were not conducted every 60 days during the periods from 2/22/2021 to 5/17/2021 to 8/19/2021 to 11/7/2021 to 2/7/2022.”

      Correction date in the state record: Apr 5, 2022

Copied from Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning on October 2, 2026; the state's records start around Jun 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Clara J Piper Family Child Care Home

FAQ

Questions about Clara J Piper Family Child Care Home

Is Clara J Piper Family Child Care Home licensed?

Yes. Clara J Piper Family Child Care Home is certified by the state and operating. This is how Pennsylvania authorizes this type of child care.

When was Clara J Piper Family Child Care Home last inspected?

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning lists the most recent visit on March 3, 2026, with 12 rules cited. It lists 3 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Clara J Piper Family Child Care Home had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 20 rules across 2 of 3 visits in the last 3 years; 20 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Clara J Piper Family Child Care Home care for?

6, the licensed capacity on the state record.

Does Clara J Piper Family Child Care Home accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Clara J Piper Family Child Care Home's hours?

Its hours are not listed. Call (724) 970-5289 to confirm.

How much does Clara J Piper Family Child Care Home cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (724) 970-5289 to ask.

What is Clara J Piper Family Child Care Home's phone number?

(724) 970-5289.

Where is Clara J Piper Family Child Care Home?

Carmichaels, PA 15320. It is a home daycare, so the provider shares the street address with families directly.

Sources: Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning (license and visits).