Skip to content
Child care center 

Bright Scholars Academy

2023 Plantation Dr, Conroe, TX 773014.0· 41 reviews
licensed capacity
123
open each week
5 days
a week, county median
$185
year first permitted
2019

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Licensed by the stateInspection record

About

About Bright Scholars Academy

Bright Scholars Academy is a licensed child care center in Conroe, Texas. The state has permitted it since August 22, 2019, for up to 123 children, serving infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 6:30 AM to 6:30 PM. It describes its programs: after-school care, infant care, pre-k and preschool.

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation made 20 visits in the last 3 years and cited 28 rules across 7 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

InfantsPreschool / pre-KBefore- and after-schoolSummer campAccepts child care subsidyOpens before 7 AM

Ages served: infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: rates, current openings and staff-to-child ratio.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Hours today
6:30 AM to 6:30 PM
Licensed capacity
123 children

Hours

Hours

MondayToday6:30 AM to 6:30 PM
Tuesday6:30 AM to 6:30 PM
Wednesday6:30 AM to 6:30 PM
Thursday6:30 AM to 6:30 PM
Friday6:30 AM to 6:30 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

AgesInfants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age childrenFrom the state license
ProgramsAfter-school care, infant care, pre-k, preschool, summer camp and toddler care
EnrichmentWriting and reading classes
StaffHighly qualified staff
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Licensed capacity123 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

Bright Scholars Academy has not listed its tuition. For comparison, full-time infant care at a child care center in Montgomery County has a median price of $185 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition. The county medians below are a starting point.
Montgomery County medians, full time, per week

Infant

Center$185
Home daycare$164

Toddler

Center$172
Home daycare$155

Preschool

Center$167
Home daycare$153

School age

Center$156
Home daycare$144

County median full-time prices at centers and home daycares, U.S. Department of Labor, National Database of Childcare Prices, 2022 (the latest year). Not this daycare's rates; prices have risen since.

State record

Inspection reports for Bright Scholars Academy

License

Status
Licensed and operating
License type
Full Permit
Capacity
123 children
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Permit issued
2019
License number
#1687078
See the state's record

Summary

20 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Sep 14, 2026: no rules cited

Rules cited on 7 of 20 visits · 28 rules in all · 28 corrected

  • Transportation 9
  • Supervision and ratios 6
  • Records and paperwork 3
  • Discipline and child guidance 2
  • Safe sleep 2
  • Building, equipment and play areas 2
  • Food and nutrition 1
  • Health, medication and illness 1
  • Safety and hazards 1
  • Staff training and qualifications 1

For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 30 visits
  1. Sep 14, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  2. Apr 29, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  3. Apr 22, 2026Inspection5 rules cited
    • Discipline and child guidanceMedium risk

      746.2207(a) - Screen Time Activities - Not Used for Under Two

      “Upon arriving to the center, there were multiple children under two years old in a classroom where a movie was being played.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 29, 2026

    • Supervision and ratiosMedium High risk

      746.1601 - Child/ Caregiver Ratio - 13 or More Children

      “One caregiver was supervising 21 children ages 11 months to 4 years old. Two additional caregivers arrived after a few minutes.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 29, 2026

    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.1205(a)(4) - Supervision ensures each child’s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child’s on going activity

      “A caregiver left 21 children ages infant to four years old alone in a classroom to answer the door at the center.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 29, 2026

    • Safe sleepHigh risk

      746.2429 - Covering Infant's Head or Crib

      “Upon arrival, an infant was sleeping in a bouncer with a blanket over their face.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 29, 2026

    • Safe sleepHigh risk

      746.2426(a)(1) - Infant May Not Sleep in a Restrictive Device

      “Upon arriving to the center, a child was observed sleeping in a bouncer chair.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 29, 2026

  4. Mar 20, 2026Complaint investigation4 rules cited
    • Supervision and ratiosMedium High risk

      746.1601 - Child/ Caregiver Ratio - 13 or More Children

      “Based on information gathered during the DFPS investigation, evidence shows one caregiver supervising 26 children ages infant to school age.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 29, 2026

    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.1003(4) - Director Responsibilities - Employees Supervised

      “Based on information gathered during the DFPS investigation, the director is not ensuring all employees are supervised during hours of operation to ensure children are safe.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 29, 2026

    • Discipline and child guidanceHigh risk

      746.2805 - Prohibited Punishments - No Harsh, Cruel or Unusual

      “Based on information gathered during the DFPS investigation, evidence supports caregivers restraining, grabbing and pulling a child.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 29, 2026

    • Supervision and ratiosMedium High risk

      746.1605(1) - Child/Caregiver Ratio - 18 Months Difference in Age

      “Based on the information gathered during the DFPS investigation, including video footage, an infant can be seen in the same classroom as school age children. It also shows one caregiver supervising over 26 children ages infant to school age.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 29, 2026

  5. Feb 19, 2026Visit1 rule cited
    • TransportationHigh risk

      746.5625(a) - Electronic Child Safety Alarm - is equipped in each vehicle

      “The center has not installed the required child safety alarm system in a vehicle used to transport children.”

      The state verified the correction on Feb 26, 2026

  6. Feb 3, 2026InspectionNo rules cited
  7. Jan 28, 2026Inspection11 rules cited
    • TransportationHigh risk

      746.5617(a)(5) - Required Equipment in Vehicles - Fire Extinguisher

      “One of the centers transportation vehicles did not have a fire extinguisher.”

      The state verified the correction on Feb 2, 2026

    • TransportationHigh risk

      746.5625(a) - Electronic Child Safety Alarm - is equipped in each vehicle

      “One of the centers vehicle used to transport the children did not have the required child electronic child safety alarm.”

      The state verified the correction on Feb 19, 2026

    • TransportationHigh risk

      746.5617(a)(2) - Required Equipment in Vehicles - Emergency Medical Information

      “One of the centers vehicles used to transport did not have the children's emergency medical transport and treatment authorization forms.”

      The state verified the correction on Feb 3, 2026

    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.401(9) - Posting Requirements - List entitled "Current Employees"--sized at least 81/2 X 11 inches, printed legibly, include employee first and last name

      “The center did not have a current employee list posted.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 30, 2026

    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium High risk

      746.4901(a) - Active Play Surfacing In Use Zones - Loose Fill or Unitary Surfacing

      “Outside play equipment did not have the required loose fill or unitary surfacing material.”

      The state verified the correction on Feb 9, 2026

    • TransportationHigh risk

      746.5617(a)(1) - Required Equipment in Vehicles - List of Children

      “One of the centers vehicles used for transportation did not contain a list of children being transported.”

      The state verified the correction on Feb 3, 2026

    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.603(a)(1) - Children's Records - Enrollment Agreement

      “One child's file reviewed did not have the required enrollment agreement.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 30, 2026

    • TransportationHigh risk

      746.5617(a)(4) - Required Equipment in Vehicles - Emergency Telephone Numbers for Each Child

      “One of the vehicles used for transportation did not have the emergency contact phone numbers for the children.”

      The state verified the correction on Feb 3, 2026

    • TransportationHigh risk

      746.5617(a)(6) - Required Equipment in Vehicles - First-aid Kit

      “One of the vehicles used to transport the children did not contain a first aid kit.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 30, 2026

    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium High risk

      746.4907(a)(2) - Installation and Maintenance of Loose-fill Surfacing - Nine Inches if Equipment Greater Than 5 Ft.

      “A play structure over five feet tall did not have the required nine inches of loose fill material underneath or surrounding it.”

      The state verified the correction on Feb 9, 2026

    • TransportationMedium High risk

      746.5617(a)(3) - Required Equipment in Vehicles - Information About Facility

      “One of the centers vehicle used for transportation did not have the required information about the center.”

      The state verified the correction on Feb 3, 2026

  8. Dec 30, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  9. Dec 22, 2025VisitNo rules cited
  10. Feb 19, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
Show 20 earlier visits
  1. Jan 28, 2025Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A Review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2024 data from January 22, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 28, 2025

  2. Dec 6, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  3. Nov 25, 2024VisitNo rules cited
  4. Mar 26, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  5. Feb 26, 2024Inspection5 rules cited
    • Food and nutritionMedium risk

      746.2421(b) - Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days

      “There were 3 infants in care during inspection with feeding instructions on file that had not been updated since November 2023, January 4th and December 2023. The operation confirmed these children were in care and not on table food. The operation was able to correct the feeding instructions during inspection when they contacted parents to complete updated forms.”

      Corrected during the visit

    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.605(16) - Required Admission Information-Completed Food Allergy Plan

      “A child in care with a diagnosed fire ant allergy requiring an epinephrine auto injector per documentation by medical professional, did not have the epinephrine auto injector at the operation to accompany the emergency plan.”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 12, 2024

    • Safety and hazardsMedium risk

      746.4135(b) - Children's Products- Annual Certification

      “The director/ operation did not have the product annual certification on file readily available for review during the inspection.”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 12, 2024

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium High risk

      746.1301(a)(6)(A) - Training Requirements for Employees, Caregivers, and Directors - 30 Annual Training

      “The director only had 2 of the required 30 hours of training on file for review during the inspection for hire date 1/4/23-1/4/24.”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 12, 2024

    • TransportationHigh risk

      746.5625(a) - Electronic Child Safety Alarm - is equipped in each vehicle

      “It was observed that the operation has two vehicles for transportation, neither vehicle had a working child safety alarm.”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 26, 2024

  6. Jan 2, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  7. Dec 20, 2023VisitNo rules cited
  8. Dec 18, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  9. Nov 20, 2023Inspection1 rule cited
    • Supervision and ratiosHigh risk

      746.1205(a)(2) - Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know number of children responsible for

      “A caregiver in the school age classroom did not know how many children the caregiver was responsible for. The caregiver reported having 18 children then reported having 20 children, there were 20 children in the classroom. The caregiver was working on the sign in and out log to count the children.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 18, 2023

  10. Nov 8, 2023VisitNo rules cited
  11. Mar 14, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  12. Sep 9, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  13. Aug 31, 2022VisitNo rules cited
  14. Apr 7, 2022Inspection4 rules cited
    • Health, medication and illnessHigh risk

      746.613(a) - Required Immunizations

      “One child's file was missing the DTap and [name] immunizations.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 11, 2022

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1311(a) - Director Annual Training 30 Hours Required

      “The director was missing the annual training hours.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 11, 2022

    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.901(2) - Required Personnel Records- Meets Requirements

      “One staff's file was missing the education requirements.”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 11, 2022

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1309(a) - Documented Annual Training Area - 24 Hours Required

      “Two staff's files reviewed were missing the annual training hours.[”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 11, 2022

  15. Mar 17, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  16. Mar 9, 2022VisitNo rules cited
  17. Mar 3, 2022Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 survey data from January 15, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by January 15, 2022, as required”

      The state verified the correction on Mar 3, 2022

  18. Oct 26, 2021InspectionNo rules cited
  19. Oct 8, 2021InspectionNo rules cited
  20. Oct 7, 2021Complaint investigation1 rule cited
    • Supervision and ratiosMedium High risk

      746.1601 - Child/ Caregiver Ratio - 13 or More Children

      “Based off of information obtained through the investigation, the operation has been out of ratio.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 26, 2021

Copied from Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation on October 1, 2026; the state's records start around Sep 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Bright Scholars Academy

FAQ

Questions about Bright Scholars Academy

Is Bright Scholars Academy licensed?

Yes. Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists it as licensed and operating, with a permit issued August 22, 2019.

When was Bright Scholars Academy last inspected?

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists the most recent visit on September 14, 2026, with no rules cited. It lists 20 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Bright Scholars Academy had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 28 rules across 7 of 20 visits in the last 3 years; 28 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Bright Scholars Academy care for?

123, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

Does Bright Scholars Academy accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Bright Scholars Academy's hours?

Monday to Friday, 6:30 AM to 6:30 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Bright Scholars Academy cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (936) 242-6802 to ask.

What is Bright Scholars Academy's phone number?

(936) 242-6802.

Where is Bright Scholars Academy?

2023 Plantation Dr, Conroe, TX 77301. The nearest other daycare we list is Kids Kingdom, 0.3 miles away.

Sources: Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation (license and visits) · U.S. Department of Labor, 2022 (county prices).