Skip to content
Child care center 

Brainy Bunch Educational Center

4904 Rising Sun Ave, Philadelphia, PA 191205.0· 7 reviews
licensed capacity
53
open each week
5 days

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Certified by the stateInspection record

About

About Brainy Bunch Educational Center

Brainy Bunch Educational Center is a child care center in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It is certified by the state, for up to 53 children, serving school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 6:00 AM to 6:30 PM.

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning made 3 visits in the last 3 years and cited 29 rules across 3 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

School-ageAccepts child care subsidyOpens before 7 AM

Ages served: school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
School-age children
Hours today
6:00 AM to 6:30 PM
Licensed capacity
53 children

Hours

Hours

MondayToday6:00 AM to 6:30 PM
Tuesday6:00 AM to 6:30 PM
Wednesday6:00 AM to 6:30 PM
Thursday6:00 AM to 6:30 PM
Friday6:00 AM to 6:30 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

AgesSchool-age childrenFrom the state license
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Licensed capacity53 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

Brainy Bunch Educational Center has not listed its tuition.

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition.

State record

Inspection reports for Brainy Bunch Educational Center

License

Status
Certified by the state and operating
License type
Certificate of Compliance
Capacity
53 children
Ages
School-age children
License number
#CER-00252534
See the state's record

Summary

3 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Feb 12, 2026: 6 rules cited

Rules cited on 3 of 3 visits · 29 rules in all · 29 corrected

  • Records and paperwork 7
  • Health, medication and illness 6
  • Safety and hazards 4
  • Discipline and child guidance 3
  • Supervision and ratios 3
  • Building, equipment and play areas 2
  • Staff training and qualifications 2
  • Background checks 1
  • Food and nutrition 1

For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 3 visits
  1. Feb 12, 2026Inspection6 rules cited
    • Discipline and child guidance

      3270.123(a)(3) Services proceeded

      “At the time of the inspection, the file of child #4 did not include the child service report.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 20, 2026

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.77(a) No peeling paint or plaster

      “At the time of the inspection, peel paint was observed on the preschool doorframe and the back wall of the main room.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 18, 2026

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(f)/3270.181(c) Updated every 6 months/Emergency info/agreement updated 6 mos

      “At the time of the inspection, the file of child #2-4 did not include a 6 month review of the emergency contact and the financial agreement.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 18, 2026

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.82(h) Handwashing signs

      “At the time of the inspection, handwashing was not observed by staff #3 and child #4-5 after diaper changes at 11:35 AM.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 27, 2026

    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.124(b)(7) Name/address/phone release person

      “At the time of the inspection, the file of child #1 did not include the address and phone number of the release person designated by the parent to whom the child may be released.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 18, 2026

    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.27(c) Training regarding plan

      “At the time of the inspection, the annual review of the emergency plan was not included in the file of staff person #1 and 2.”

      Correction date in the state record: Feb 18, 2026

  2. Mar 17, 2025Inspection14 rules cited
    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.131(e)/3270.182(1) ACIP recommended immunization record /Initial and subsequent health reports

      “At the time of inspection, child #5 did not have documentation of immunization record on file.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 26, 2025

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(c) Each child care space

      “At the time of inspection, children Emergency Contact Forms were not available in the individual childcare space for which each child was receiving care.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 20, 2025

    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.124(b)(7) Name/address/phone release person

      “At the time of inspection, children #1, #2, #4, and #6 Emergency Contact Forms did not include the addresses of the individuals designated by the parent to whom the child may be released.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 26, 2025

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(b)(4)/3270.182(3) Written consent/Consent for emergency medical care required prior to admission

      “At the time of inspection, children #4 and #5 Emergency Contact Forms did not include written consent by parent for emergency medical care.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 19, 2025

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(b)(3) Parent home/work address, phone

      “At the time of inspection, children #1, #2, and #3 Emergency Contact Forms did not list enrolling parents work addresses. Children #1, #2, #3, #5 and #6 Emergency Contact Forms did not list the enrolling parents work telephone numbers. Child”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 26, 2025

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.124(b)(2)/3270.124(b)(6) Physician name, address, phone/Insurance coverage information

      “At the time of inspection, child #5 Emergency Contact Form did not list the name, address or telephone number of the child's physician/medical facility. Children #1, #3, and #5 Emergency Contact Forms did not list the health insurance policy information.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 26, 2025

    • Supervision and ratios

      3270.123(a)(5) Designated release persons

      “At the time of inspection, children #1, #3 and #6 Financial Agreement Forms did not specify the persons designated by a parent to whom the child may be released.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 25, 2025

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.123(a)(2)/3270.123(a)(7) Date fee to be paid/Services considered extra

      “At the time of inspection, child #1 and #3 Financial Agreement Forms did not specify when the fee is to be paid. Children #1 through #6 Financial Agreement Forms did not specify which services are to be considered as extra.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 20, 2025

    • Background checks

      3270.32(a)/3270.192(4) Comply with CPSL/CPSL information

      “At the time of inspection, staff person #1 with a nonexpired New Jersey (Exp:7/2027) driver's license on file did not have the required out of state clearances on file.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 25, 2025

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.151(c)(2)/3270.192(3) Mantoux TB/Health assessment, TB test

      “At the time of inspection, staff person #1 did not have a documented TB test on file.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 25, 2025

    • Food and nutrition

      3270.165 Menus

      “At the time of inspection, facility provides meals and did not have a menu posted in a conspicuous location.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 20, 2025

    • Records and paperwork

      3270.166(1) Written statement

      “At the time of inspection, child #2 did not have a written statement giving the formula and feeding schedule from the parent.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 28, 2025

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.182(5) Consent for administration of minor first-aid required prior to admission

      “At the time of inspection, children #4 and #5 Emergency Contact Forms did not contain written parental consent for administration of minor first-aid procedures.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 26, 2025

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.151(a)/3270.192(3) 12 months prior to service and every 24 months thereafter/Health assessment, TB test

      “At the time of inspection, staff person #1 did not have a health assessment on file.”

      Correction date in the state record: Mar 25, 2025

  3. Oct 28, 2024Inspection9 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualifications

      3270.34(b)(2)/3270.192(2)(iii) Bachelor's, 30 credits + 2 yrs/Exp, educ., training at facility

      “At the time of initial inspection, staff person #1 did not have required education credentials on file.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 28, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.65 Protective Outlet Covers 5 yrs. or less

      “At the time of initial inspection, outlet in staff bathroom accessible to children did not have cover on outlet by sink.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 28, 2024

    • Health, medication and illness

      3270.75(a) In child care spaces

      “At the time of initial inspection, there was not a first aid kit in the indoor playroom and the first aid kits in the childcare spaces were not transportable.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 29, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.81 Glass

      “At the time of initial inspection, there were no decals, visual strip or other visual identification on front entrance glass doors.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 29, 2024

    • Discipline and child guidance

      3270.101(c)(3) Visual development

      “At the time of initial inspection, infant room did not have adequate toys and materials for visual development.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2024

    • Discipline and child guidance

      3270.101(c)(4) Auditory development

      “At the time of initial inspection, the infant and preschool rooms did not have adequate toys and materials for auditory development/stimulation.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2024

    • Building, equipment and play areas

      3270.104(a) Clean, good repair, proper size

      “At the time of initial inspection, bookcases and shelving in infant room and main childcare space were not mounted, posing as a tipping hazard.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.27(a)(2) Emergency plan

      “At the time of initial inspection, facility's Emergency Evacuation Plan did not include immediate evacuation within walking distance of the facility.”

      Correction date in the state record: Nov 7, 2024

    • Safety and hazards

      3270.69(b) 110º F or less

      “At the time of initial inspection, water temperature in both bathrooms were measuring at 116 degrees.”

      Correction date in the state record: Oct 29, 2024

Copied from Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning on October 2, 2026; the state's records start around Jun 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Brainy Bunch Educational Center

FAQ

Questions about Brainy Bunch Educational Center

Is Brainy Bunch Educational Center licensed?

Yes. Brainy Bunch Educational Center is certified by the state and operating. This is how Pennsylvania authorizes this type of child care.

When was Brainy Bunch Educational Center last inspected?

Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning lists the most recent visit on February 12, 2026, with 6 rules cited. It lists 3 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Brainy Bunch Educational Center had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 29 rules across 3 of 3 visits in the last 3 years; 29 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 93% of Pennsylvania daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 14. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Brainy Bunch Educational Center care for?

53, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve school-age children.

Does Brainy Bunch Educational Center accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Brainy Bunch Educational Center's hours?

Monday to Friday, 6:00 AM to 6:30 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Brainy Bunch Educational Center cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (215) 324-1474 to ask.

What is Brainy Bunch Educational Center's phone number?

(215) 324-1474.

Where is Brainy Bunch Educational Center?

4904 Rising Sun Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19120. The nearest other daycare we list is Little Stars Daycare & Learning Center, 0.1 miles away.

Sources: Pennsylvania Department of Human Services, Office of Child Development and Early Learning (license and visits).