Skip to content
Child care center 

Academy of Little Scholars

8802 W Montgomery Rd, Houston, TX 770885.0· 6 reviews
licensed capacity
46
open each week
5 days
a week, county median
$185
year first permitted
1998

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Licensed by the stateInspection record

About

About Academy of Little Scholars

Academy of Little Scholars is a licensed child care center in Houston, Texas. The state has permitted it since September 2, 1998, for up to 46 children, serving infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 6:00 AM to 6:00 PM.

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation made 5 visits in the last 3 years and cited 11 rules across 3 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

InfantsSchool-ageAccepts child care subsidyOpens before 7 AM

Ages served: infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Hours today
6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Licensed capacity
46 children

Hours

Hours

MondayToday6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Tuesday6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Wednesday6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Thursday6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
Friday6:00 AM to 6:00 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

AgesInfants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age childrenFrom the state license
Child care subsidyAccepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license
Licensed capacity46 childrenFrom the state license
A daycare without an item may still offer it; ask.

Cost

Tuition and costs

Academy of Little Scholars has not listed its tuition. For comparison, full-time infant care at a child care center in Harris County has a median price of $185 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition. The county medians below are a starting point.
Harris County medians, full time, per week

Infant

Center$185
Home daycare$164

Toddler

Center$172
Home daycare$155

Preschool

Center$167
Home daycare$153

School age

Center$156
Home daycare$144

County median full-time prices at centers and home daycares, U.S. Department of Labor, National Database of Childcare Prices, 2022 (the latest year). Not this daycare's rates; prices have risen since.

State record

Inspection reports for Academy of Little Scholars

License

Status
Licensed and operating
License type
Full Permit
Capacity
46 children
Ages
Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Permit issued
1998
License number
#535288
See the state's record

Summary

5 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Jan 21, 2026: 1 rule cited

Rules cited on 3 of 5 visits · 11 rules in all · 11 corrected

  • Staff training and qualifications 5
  • Records and paperwork 2
  • Building, equipment and play areas 2
  • Health, medication and illness 1
  • Food and nutrition 1

For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

The state lists conditions on this permit.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 9 visits
  1. Jan 21, 2026Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2025 data from January 20, 2026, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2025 by January 15, 2026, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 27, 2026

  2. Oct 14, 2025Inspection9 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1309(c) - Documented Annual Training - 1 hour in Prevention, Recognition and Reporting of child maltreatment

      “A caregiver's annual training was evaluated from October 18, 2023, to October 18, 2024, and it was found to be missing child maltreatment training.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 24, 2025

    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium High risk

      746.4901(a) - Active Play Surfacing In Use Zones - Loose Fill or Unitary Surfacing

      “The loose-fill in the playground consists of less than an inch of mulch.”

      The state verified the correction on Nov 4, 2025

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1309(e) - Documented Annual Training- Required Content

      “A caregiver's annual training was evaluated from October 18, 2023, to October 18, 2024, and it was found to be missing emergency preparedness training.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 24, 2025

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium High risk

      746.1311(d) - Director Annual Training - Caring for children under 24 months

      “The director s annual training was evaluated from March 2, 2024, to March 2, 2025, and it was found to be missing the required training for caring for children under 24 months.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 24, 2025

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1311(c) - Director Annual Training -Required 1 hour in prevention, recognition and reporting of child maltreatment

      “The director s annual training was evaluated from March 2, 2024, to March 2, 2025, and it was found to be missing child maltreatment training.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 24, 2025

    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium risk

      746.4803 - Measurement of Use Zone for Stationary Equipment

      “CCR observed stationary equipment positioned less than six feet from the perimeter.”

      The state verified the correction on Nov 4, 2025

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1311(e) - Director Annual Training - Additional required topics

      “The director s annual training was evaluated from March 2, 2024, to March 2, 2025, and it was found to be missing Emergency preparedness, administering medication, food or an allergic reaction, and Handling and storing training.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 24, 2025

    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.613(b) - Immunization Records, Exceptions, and Exemptions Current

      “A child's affidavit for exemption for immunization expired on February 28, 2024.”

      The state verified the correction on Oct 28, 2025

    • Food and nutritionMedium risk

      746.2421(b) - Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days

      “An infant feeding sheet for the month of October was not available during the inspection.”

      The state verified the correction on Nov 4, 2025

  3. Jan 17, 2025Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023 data from January 17, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 23, 2025

  4. Oct 28, 2024InspectionNo rules cited
  5. Nov 10, 2023InspectionNo rules cited
  6. Nov 15, 2022Inspection7 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium High risk

      746.1309(d) - Documented Annual Training - Caregivers of Children Under 24 Months Required

      “One caregiver did not receive training in Shaken Baby Syndrome, Abusive Head Trauma and Understanding Early Childhood Brain Development for the March 2021-March 2022 training year. The caregiver will need to receive make-up training hours that will not count towards the current training year.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 8, 2022

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium High risk

      746.1311(d) - Director Annual Training - Caring for children under 24 months

      “The director did not receive training in SIDS, Shaken Baby Syndrome, Abusive Head Trauma, Understanding Early Childhood Brain Development for the March 2021-March 2022 training year. This will be make-up training hours and will not count towards the current training year.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 8, 2022

    • Records and paperworkHigh risk

      746.201(1) - Policies Comply with Rules

      “The operational policies does not include the following information: 1. The benefits of physical activity and outdoor play; the duration of physical activity at your operation, both indoor and outdoor; type of physical activity children will participate in; each setting in which your physical activity program will take place; recommended clothing and footwear; plan for physical activity when the weather prevents outside activities. 2. Instructions on how parents may contact the local Child Care Regulation Office. 3. Safe sleep policy for infants 12 months old and younger. 4. Staff vaccination policy.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 19, 2022

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium High risk

      746.1301(4)(A) - Training Requirements for Employees, Caregivers, and directors - Pediatric CPR

      “Of the four personnel records evaluated, two have not completed a valid CPR training course. The caregivers completed a CPR training course on-line.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 8, 2022

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1309(e) - Documented Annual Training- Required Content

      “Two caregivers were lacking training in the following topics: Caregiver A needs training in administering medications, food allergies and handling, storing and disposing of hazardous materials. Caregiver B needs training in handling, storing and disposing of hazardous materials. This will be make-up training hours and will not count towards the current training year.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 8, 2022

    • Records and paperworkMedium High risk

      746.2431 - Infant Daily Report - Share with Parent

      “Daily infant reports are not being completed and provided to the parents.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 8, 2022

    • Food and nutritionMedium risk

      746.2421(a) - Written Feeding Instructions - Signed and Dated by Parent or Health-Care Professional

      “Written feeding instructions were not available for one infant.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 8, 2022

  7. Mar 2, 2022Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required”

      The state verified the correction on Apr 8, 2022

  8. Jan 4, 2022Visit1 rule cited
    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.3401(a) - Annual Sanitation Inspection

      “There is no documentation showing that health inspection was complete.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 4, 2022

  9. Nov 19, 2021Inspection1 rule cited
    • Health, medication and illnessMedium High risk

      746.3401(a) - Annual Sanitation Inspection

      “There is no documentation showing that health inspection was complete.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 4, 2022

Copied from Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation on October 1, 2026; the state's records start around Sep 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near Academy of Little Scholars

FAQ

Questions about Academy of Little Scholars

Is Academy of Little Scholars licensed?

Yes. Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists it as licensed and operating, with a permit issued September 2, 1998.

When was Academy of Little Scholars last inspected?

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists the most recent visit on January 21, 2026, with 1 rule cited. It lists 5 visits in the last 3 years.

Has Academy of Little Scholars had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 11 rules across 3 of 5 visits in the last 3 years; 11 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can Academy of Little Scholars care for?

46, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

Does Academy of Little Scholars accept child care subsidies?

Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.

What are Academy of Little Scholars' hours?

Monday to Friday, 6:00 AM to 6:00 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does Academy of Little Scholars cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (281) 820-3332 to ask.

What is Academy of Little Scholars' phone number?

(281) 820-3332.

Where is Academy of Little Scholars?

8802 W Montgomery Rd, Houston, TX 77088. The nearest other daycare we list is Kings Kids Houston Childcare, 0.8 miles away.

Sources: Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation (license and visits) · U.S. Department of Labor, 2022 (county prices).