Skip to content
Child care center 

A Better Class Learning Academy

501 Kirby Dr, West Columbia, TX 774865.0· 2 reviews
licensed capacity
27
open each week
5 days
a week, county median
$172
year first permitted
2016

We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.

Own this daycare? Claim it
Licensed by the stateInspection record

About

About A Better Class Learning Academy

A Better Class Learning Academy is a licensed child care center in West Columbia, Texas. The state has permitted it since April 11, 2016, for up to 27 children, serving toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

It is open Monday to Friday, 7:30 AM to 4:30 PM.

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation made 5 visits in the last 3 years and cited 12 rules across 4 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.

School-age

Ages served: toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children

From the state license
Ask when you call: rates, current openings, staff-to-child ratio and teacher qualifications.
Type
Child care center
Ages
Toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Hours today
Closed today
Licensed capacity
27 children

Hours

Hours

Monday7:30 AM to 4:30 PM
Tuesday7:30 AM to 4:30 PM
Wednesday7:30 AM to 4:30 PM
Thursday7:30 AM to 4:30 PM
Friday7:30 AM to 4:30 PM
SaturdayNot listed
SundayTodayNot listed
From the state license

Programs

Programs and care

AgesToddlers, preschoolers and school-age childrenFrom the state license
Licensed capacity27 childrenFrom the state license

Cost

Tuition and costs

A Better Class Learning Academy has not listed its tuition. For comparison, full-time toddler care at a child care center in Brazoria County has a median price of $172 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).

Ask the daycare for its ratesIt has not listed its tuition. The county medians below are a starting point.
Brazoria County medians, full time, per week

Infant

Center$185
Home daycare$164

Toddler

Center$172
Home daycare$155

Preschool

Center$167
Home daycare$153

School age

Center$156
Home daycare$144

County median full-time prices at centers and home daycares, U.S. Department of Labor, National Database of Childcare Prices, 2022 (the latest year). Not this daycare's rates; prices have risen since.

State record

Inspection reports for A Better Class Learning Academy

License

Status
Licensed and operating
License type
Full Permit
Capacity
27 children
Ages
Toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children
Permit issued
2016
License number
#1596300
See the state's record

Summary

5 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Jan 22, 2026: 1 rule cited

Rules cited on 4 of 5 visits · 12 rules in all · 12 corrected

  • Records and paperwork 4
  • Staff training and qualifications 3
  • Building, equipment and play areas 3
  • Health, medication and illness 1
  • Safety and hazards 1

For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3.

A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

The state lists conditions on this permit.

Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record

See all 7 visits
  1. Jan 22, 2026Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2025 Survey data from January 17, 2026, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2025 by January 15, 2026 as required.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 22, 2026

  2. Dec 19, 2025InspectionNo rules cited
  3. Nov 20, 2024Inspection4 rules cited
    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1311(a) - Director Annual Training 30 Hours Required

      “The director has 20 hours out of the 30 required hours of training for the previous training year.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 5, 2024

    • Health, medication and illnessMedium risk

      746.603(a)(4) - Children's Records - Immunizations

      “One child's file out of four reviewed does not have an immunizations record in their file.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 2, 2024

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1309(a) - Documented Annual Training Area - 24 Hours Required

      “The caregiver only has 20 out of the 24 hours of annual training for the previous training year.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 5, 2024

    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.901 - Required Personnel Records

      “Personnel records were not complete for the director and the caregiver. The personal history statement, affidavit, proof of pre-service, proof of orientation, and copies of ID were missing from the files. Note: The documents were observed at the last inspection for record keeping but have been misplaced.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 6, 2024

  4. Jan 19, 2024Visit1 rule cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium Low risk

      746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees

      “The operation has not reported the number of employees who left employment as required by January 15, 2024.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 23, 2024

  5. Nov 28, 2023Inspection6 rules cited
    • Records and paperworkMedium risk

      746.5205(4) - Documentation of Drills

      “Documentation of drills must include time started, time exited the building, date, and initials of person conducting the drill.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 8, 2023

    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium High risk

      746.4805(d) - Measurement of Use Zone for Slides - No Overlap

      “The use zone at the exit of two of the slides is over lapping with the slide next to it.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 6, 2023

    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium High risk

      746.4805(a) - Measurement of Use Zone for Slides - in Front of Access and on Sides

      “The three slides on the playground do not have the required 6 feet of use zone.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 6, 2023

    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium risk

      746.4751(b) - Maintenance Procedures for Active Play - Monthly Maintenance Checklist

      “Monthly check lists have not been completed.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 8, 2023

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1311(e) - Director Annual Training - Additional required topics

      “The director has not completed the training in this section.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 6, 2023

    • Safety and hazardsHigh risk

      746.5101(a) - Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months

      “The last documented fire inspection was completed in 2021.”

      The state verified the correction on Dec 7, 2023

  6. Dec 6, 2022InspectionNo rules cited
  7. Dec 8, 2021Inspection4 rules cited
    • Health, medication and illnessMedium risk

      746.603(a)(4) - Children's Records - Immunizations

      “One child's file out of four reviewed does not have an immunization record. Note: The immunization record was obtained during the inspection.”

      Corrected during the visit

    • Safety and hazardsHigh risk

      746.3407(12) - Mark Cleaning Supplies, Toxic Materials; Keep Separate from Food and Inaccessible to Children

      “Cleaning supplies were observed accessible to children in the restroom. Note: The director removed the cleaning supplies from the restrooom and out of reach of children.”

      Corrected during the visit

    • Building, equipment and play areasMedium High risk

      746.3407(8) - Garbage Inaccessible to Children; Maintained in Sanitary Manner

      “There is a large active ant pile on the playground. Note: A picture was taken for the file.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 5, 2022

    • Staff training and qualificationsMedium risk

      746.1309(e) - Documented Annual Training- Required Content

      “There is no documentation of the trainings completed under this topic.”

      The state verified the correction on Jan 14, 2022

Copied from Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation on October 1, 2026; the state's records start around Sep 2021. Rule wording, severity and dates are the state's.

Reviews

Parent reviews

No parent reviews yet

If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.

Your rating

Daycares near A Better Class Learning Academy

FAQ

Questions about A Better Class Learning Academy

Is A Better Class Learning Academy licensed?

Yes. Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists it as licensed and operating, with a permit issued April 11, 2016.

When was A Better Class Learning Academy last inspected?

Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists the most recent visit on January 22, 2026, with 1 rule cited. It lists 5 visits in the last 3 years.

Has A Better Class Learning Academy had rules cited by the state?

Yes. Inspectors cited 12 rules across 4 of 5 visits in the last 3 years; 12 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.

How many children can A Better Class Learning Academy care for?

27, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.

Does A Better Class Learning Academy accept child care subsidies?

The state record does not list it as accepting subsidies. Ask the provider directly.

What are A Better Class Learning Academy's hours?

Monday to Friday, 7:30 AM to 4:30 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.

How much does A Better Class Learning Academy cost?

It has not listed its tuition. Call (979) 299-2007 to ask.

What is A Better Class Learning Academy's phone number?

(979) 299-2007.

Where is A Better Class Learning Academy?

501 Kirby Dr, West Columbia, TX 77486. The nearest other daycare we list is Kids Academy Learning Center, 0.5 miles away.

Sources: Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation (license and visits) · U.S. Department of Labor, 2022 (county prices).