Rosie's Playhouse
300 S 10th St, Donna, TX
We are a directory, not the daycare. We cannot hold a spot, enroll a child or answer questions about care.
Own this daycare? Claim itAbout
1st Choice Learning Academy is a licensed child care center in Donna, Texas. The state has permitted it since March 4, 2024, for up to 80 children, serving infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.
It is open Monday to Friday, 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM.
Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation made 23 visits in the last 3 years and cited 9 rules across 9 of them. The visit list, in the state's words, is below.
Hours
| Monday | 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM |
|---|---|
| Tuesday | 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM |
| Wednesday | 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM |
| Thursday | 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM |
| Friday | 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM |
| Saturday | Not listed |
| SundayToday | Not listed |
Programs
| Ages | Infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age childrenFrom the state license |
|---|---|
| Child care subsidy | Accepts state child care subsidiesFrom the state license |
| Licensed capacity | 80 childrenFrom the state license |
Cost
1st Choice Learning Academy has not listed its tuition. For comparison, full-time infant care at a child care center in Hidalgo County has a median price of $144 a week (U.S. Department of Labor, 2022).
State record
23 visits in the last 3 years · Last visit Jun 10, 2026: no rules cited
Rules cited on 9 of 23 visits · 9 rules in all · 9 corrected
For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3.
A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.
Own this daycare? Add your response to the state record
746.4135(b) - Children's Products- Annual Certification
“An up to date Chilidren's Product Certification was not available for review. Last product certification was conducted on 9/25/2024. **Please note during inspection, director completed a new Children's Product Certification.***”
Corrected during the visit
746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees
“A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2025 data from January 20, 2026, determined the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2025 by January 15, 2026, as required.”
The state verified the correction on Jan 30, 2026
746.4135(b) - Children's Products- Annual Certification
“An up to date Chilidren's Product Certification was not available for review. Last product certification was conducted on 9/25/2024. **Please note during inspection, director completed a new Children's Product Certification.***”
Corrected during the visit
746.303(b) - Report Number of Employees
“A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2025 data from January 20, 2026, determined the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2025 by January 15, 2026, as required.”
The state verified the correction on Jan 30, 2026
745.641 - AP Background check results - Must receive notification prior to allowing subject to be present at your operation
“Two caregivers worked at the operation without a background check. It was confirmed during this inspection that one of the caregivers worked 5 days and the other caregiver worked 9 days at the operation without a background check clearance.”
The state verified the correction on Jun 10, 2025
746.2415(b) - AP Cribs - Only Snug Fitting Sheet and Crib Mattress Cover Allowed if Infant Younger than 12 Months of Age
“A child younger than 12 months old was observed covered with a blanket up to their neck while in the crib.”
The state verified the correction on Jul 9, 2025
746.1203(3)(D) - Personal use of electronic devices, such as cell phones, MP3 players, tablets, and video games
“Based on the preponderance of evidence gathered during this investigation, it has been concluded that a caregiver did not obtained permission from the director nor the parent to video tape a child and upload the video in a Facebook post.”
Corrected during the visit
746.1203(3)(D) - Personal use of electronic devices, such as cell phones, MP3 players, tablets, and video games
“Based on the preponderance of evidence gathered during this investigation, it has been concluded that a caregiver did not obtained permission from the director nor the parent to video tape a child and upload the video in a Facebook post.”
Corrected during the visit
746.5101(a) - Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months
“An up to date fire inspection was not available for review. The last fire inspection conducted was on 7/12/2023.”
The state verified the correction on Aug 22, 2024
746.3401(a) - Annual Sanitation Inspection
“Annual health inspection is up to date.”
The state verified the correction on Aug 7, 2024
746.2207(a) - Screen Time Activities - Not Used for Under Two
“Three children less than 2 years old were observed watching televison.”
Corrected during the visit
Reviews
If your child goes or went here, your review helps other parents. We check every review against our review guidelines.
300 S 10th St, Donna, TX
Donna, TX 78537 · infants to school-age · Home daycare: the provider shares the address with families
510 S Salinas Blvd, Donna, TX
1714 Hunt Ave, Donna, TX
407 N Salinas Blvd, Donna, TX
2010 Redskin Ave Ste B, Donna, TX
1404 Silver Ave, Donna, TX
1402 Silver Ave, Donna, TX
401 S Main St, Donna, TX
FAQ
Yes. Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists it as licensed and operating, with a permit issued March 4, 2024.
Texas Health and Human Services, Child Care Regulation lists the most recent visit on June 10, 2026, with no rules cited. It lists 23 visits in the last 3 years.
Yes. Inspectors cited 9 rules across 9 of 23 visits in the last 3 years; 9 show a correction in the state record. For comparison: 78% of Texas daycares had at least one rule cited in the last 3 years; the typical daycare had 3. A cited rule is what an inspector found on the day of a visit. It is not a rating of the daycare today.
80, the licensed capacity on the state record. It is licensed to serve infants, toddlers, preschoolers and school-age children.
Yes. The state record says it accepts child care subsidies.
Monday to Friday, 7:00 AM to 6:00 PM. These are the hours on the state record. Holiday hours can differ.
It has not listed its tuition. Call (956) 706-5737 to ask.
(956) 706-5737.
2301 E Business Highway 83 Ste C, Donna, TX 78537. The nearest other daycare we list is Guzman Head Start Academy, 0.4 miles away.